This business is not BBB accredited.

D & S Roofing LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (573) 644-3246 View Additional Phone Numbers 915 Westwood Dr, Jefferson City, MO 65109

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on D & S Roofing LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 19, 2010 Business started: 02/08/2010 Business started locally: 02/08/2010
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Sonya Garrison, Co-owner Mr. David Garrison, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sonya Garrison, Co-owner
Business Category

Home Improvements Roofing Contractors

Alternate Business Names
D and S Roofing LLC

Additional Locations


    1000 Pannell St. Ste. G

    Columbia, MO 65201


    915 Westwood Dr

    Jefferson City, MO 65109 (573) 415-2234 (573) 644-3374 (573) 644-3246


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company not responding to requests for guarantee/warranty services they promised in writing. D & S roofing put a new roof on our home on Nov. 10, 2010, at time of completion gave a 10 year leak free guarantee in writing with owner signature on document. Has had leaks twice, which has left water stains on bedroom ceiling, which now has to be repaired. Began calling after leak, first call on 7/8/2014. Owner said that he couldn't make it that week but would get back in touch. Waited several weeks for a return call, didn't get one so called back, got the same response from owner "can't make it this week". Waited three more weeks, called back several times and owner will not answer any of my calls at the two phone numbers I have.

Desired Settlement: D & S Roofing needs to come fix my roof as promised under their 10 year No Leak Guarantee as well as damage done to bedroom ceiling due to the roof leak, and cover cost of all materials to do so, as I have already paid for all roofing supplies once when they initially did the work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/17) */ Mr.***** purchased ridge vent though D&S told him it wasn't needed due to the low pitch of his roof. In doing so in this low pitch, water tends to blow up underneath and allow water to get inside.Mr. ***** called and asked that we come replace vent with standard 3 tab ridge which D&S originally suggested. We said we would do this however we have never given a time or day as we are very busy. Although we are sympathetic to his leak and damage we feel D&S is not responsible and do feel we should not have to pay for material as Mr. ***** went against our suggestion therfore our leak free labor guarantee is void. However We will be more than happy to go ahead and keep the labor guarantee and replace vent with 3 tab ridge but materials should be at the cost of Mr. *****. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/10/01) */ ALL roofing materials purchased was done so AT THE ADVISEMENT of D&S Roofing. I have their proposal in hand. D&S roofing replaced EVERYTHING that was on the original roof and NEVER advised against a ridge vent at the time of the proposal, when the supplies were ordered or during the job. AFTER WE HAD THE LEAK OCCUR, D&S THEN stated it would be best to remove the ridge vent and put a regular 3 tab ridge in its place, which ***** ******** agreed to pay for since I paid for the original materials that he ordered and installed. D&S NEVER said anything about a 3 tab ridge until AFTER the leak ocurred, and it was *****'s recommendation to remove the ridge vent and replace it with 3 tab ridge to stop the leaks AFTER the leaking happened, and that was recommended on the first phone call I made to him regarding the problem. D&S made the supply list and ordered ALL supplies themselves through Shelter Dist. in Jefferson City. ***** PUT A 10 YEAR LEAK GUARANTEE IN WRITING AFTER THE JOB WAS DONE, and payment was received. Him stating that his guarantee is void because, in his words I went against his advisement, is a blatant lie and carries no weight as he signed and dated everything on completion, 11/04/10. I have a copy and so does my insurance company and I will gladly provide this to the BBB. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2014/12/12) */ 12/12/14: The first time I contacted Mr. ******** he was going to come fix it but wanted me to pay for 1/2 the materials. I objected and said I have already paid for the material once. He then agreed to pay for the materials. He could not make it this week. He stopped taking my calls and has not come to check the leaks or damage to my house. His comments on the ridge vent are not true. The home has always had a ridge vent and this was not something I insisted he install. I want him to come and repair the roof taking the ridge vent off and putting a ridge cap on the home like he agreed to do the first time I talked to him. I am not bringing into this the damage to my ceiling. 12/12/14: I will accept the business coming to my home the first week of April 2015 to replace the ridge vent with a ridge cap. I will not hold the business responsible for the interior damage. Final Business Response /* (1000, 22, 2014/12/12) */ 12/12/14: Mediator called business and left a voice mail message. 12/12/14: We are willing to replace the ridge vent with a ridge cap and will come to his home the first week of April 2015. We understand he will not hold us responsible for the interior damage.

10/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had them install a roof last year in May 2013. we decided to use them to install windows and we had insurance money left and we have paid them in full for the windows and the labor to install them. We call and try to get them to do the work, they tell us they will be out, we'll be there next week. We feel we have been more than patient with them and would just like to get this over with.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to come and install the windows and repair the siding as contracted in a timely manner. If this not possible then return the amount they received from our insurance company. Total the insurance paid them is $2629.30 for the windows and siding.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/07/22) */ This is not my consumer. We do not do business in Columbia MO. Unfortunately this consumer did business with **** ********* who is impersonating our company name address and phone number. This consumer can contact the Columbia Police who will file a report on their behalf. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/22) */ See attached document Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2014/09/17) */ 10/02/14: In May of 2013, I paid a gentleman by the name of ***** ********* to replace the hail damaged roof on my home. ********* represented himself as an employee of D&S Roofing in Jefferson City, Missouri. ************ business card, flyers, and even his contract showed D&S roofing and the BBB logo was displayed on all three documents. In January of 2014, I paid ********* an additional $2639.20 to replace windows that had also been damaged by the hail storm. We have tried for the past 10 months to reach ********* on his cell phone (XXX-XXX-XXXX). When we are able to reach him he will promise to install the windows but never does. I spoke to D&S Roofing and have learned that ********* is not their employee and never has been and that he is fraudulently misrepresenting himself. I signed over an insurance check (in the amount of $2,6398.20) to ********* that was made out to me and my mortgage company. ********* signed the check and deposited it into a bank in Atlanta, GA. D&S Roofing has asked me to file a report with the Columbia, Missouri police department. I did, but the detective said he did not feel that any crimes have been committed. I have also filed a complaint with the Missouri Attorney General's Office. At this point, I am pretty sure that I've lost this money but any help that the BBB can provide will be appreciated. 10/16/14: I will look forward to a call from ***** ******** and will ask her to write a letter for me explaining what has happened. You may give her my phone number. Final Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/09/17) */ 10/03/14: Mediator left voice mail for ***** ******** at D&S Roofing. Would her company be willing to provide a signed/notarized affidavit stating that ***** ********* had no authority to conduct business for their company. Such a statement may help the consumer document her position and support the complaints that she has filed with the Columbia Police Department and the Missouri Attorney General's office. 10/16/14: (***** ********) In 2012, I entered into a one-year contract with a "storm chaser" from Texas to open an office in Columbia, Missouri. This company printed contracts and business cards. That contractor hired ***** ********** At some point, ***** ********* set up a new entity with the Missouri Secretary of State's office for a company called D and S Roofing & Construction. When my contract ended with the individual from Texas, ***** ********* continued to do work using the contracts and business cards that were in the office. ********* even used my home telephone number (that had been transferred to the Columbia office) to conduct business. When we finally transferred the phone back to our home, we were bombarded with calls from angry consumers who had paid ***** ********* for work that he had failed to do. It is my understanding that the Missouri Attorney General is negotiating with ********* at this time and that they have agreed not to press charges if he reimburses all consumers. I will be happy to contact Mrs. ******** directly and share information about how other consumers are trying to recover lost money. I will also write a letter for Mrs. ******** if that will help her in any way.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on D & S Roofing LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart