BBB Accredited Business since

Cardinal Home Improvements LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (636) 936-0086 Fax: (636) 922-9335 View Additional Phone Numbers 5055 Highway N STE 106, Cottleville, MO 63304 http://www.cardinalhomeimp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cardinal Home Improvements LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Cardinal Home Improvements LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Cardinal Home Improvements LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 25, 2005 Business started: 02/01/2005 Business started locally: 02/01/2005 Business incorporated 02/18/2005 in MO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Fawcett, President Ms. Kelly Morrison, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Fawcett, President
Business Category

Home Improvements Patio & Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Doors Fence Contractors Windows Screen Enclosures Fences - Vinyl


Additional Locations

  • 4760 Mid Rivers Mall Dr

    Cottleville, MO 63376 (636) 936-0085 (636) 936-0082 (636) 352-0015

  • 5055 Highway N STE 106

    Cottleville, MO 63304 (636) 936-0086

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never corrected sloppy job on trim w/ gutters allowing water to drip and freeze on front porch (illegible) other places where trim meets) Last Oct 2014 ***** ******* agreed to send *** ***** to correct. Before the appointment ***** called to say *** ***** had a fire at his home and would re-schedule shortly. That was the last time I was contacted by Cardinal.

Desired Settlement: Replace where allows water to drip all around house.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/12/28) */ We left a message December 21st and went by the 23rd but could not find any problems. I contacted the customer and set an appointment to come out again December 30th. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2016/02/17) */ 12/30/15 Cardinal Co. met w/homeowner. It was raining and they saw the problem. 1/2/16 Cardinal Co sent a siding specialist to determine problem and solution. 1/14/16 Cardinal sent siding specialist to correct errors and fix to customer satisfaction 2/12/16 claim released ***** ********

1/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cardinal Home Improvements was contracted to replace guttering, down spouts and guttering drains. Also, gutter covers. This was to be done on the front of the house and left corner. In addition, cover with (siding) the decorative wood siding on left and right of house including caulking beginning 06,03,15 This work was to take 2 weeks, as told to me by the Production Manager ****** ********* It is still not complete, 11,09,2015.The overrun, off the gutters, is still happening and the gutter cover on the front is still not installed, Cardinal Home Improvements has supplied a 10 year labor warranty and a lifetime manufactures warranty. Cardinal Home Improvements wants additional monies, I feel unjustly.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Repair Repair and replace all difficinaries without additional cost. Five months was costly enough. The overrun has damaged my mulch and landscaping. Pictures can be provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/12/28) */ We went out the 23rd and spoke to the customer and will provide additional assistance. We have not asked for any additional money. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2016/01/04) */ On December 21, 2015 Mr. ***** ******* (Production Manager) and Mr. **** ****** (Owner) came to my house to inspect their work and talk about my complaint Gutters Run Over and the damage it has caused, the gutter guard is still not installed, thus causing clogged up gutters. They stated that they will add another down spout on the right side of the porch ,as you are looking at the house from the street they stated the week of Dec. 28th, 2015, it is Jan 4 and they have not showed up. Final Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2016/01/25) */ We were scheduled to go out on 1/6 and do some work on the gutter system. The morning of, he called us to cancel the service because he was completely satisfied. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 21, 2016/01/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) System corrected itself

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a roof and deck installed by Cardinal Home Improvement in 2014. Almost 30k worth of work. Shortly after we had the roof installed we had a leak in our roof in our family room which caused damage. We had NO leaking before we got the new roof but it was the original roof was 20 years old and was damaged by all the storms we had received in our area. They sent someone out to fix the problem and they told us it wasnt the roof that it was our old skylight that was leaking and they put some adhesive or some glue of some sort on the bolts to the skylight to help fix the "problem". We didnt really have any rain the next few months until recently when we noticed the roof was leaking again. We contacted Cardinal again. After several phones calls they said they came back out while we werent home (mind you no one called me to tell me this and it took me calling them 4 times to find out what was going on)and it was still the skylight. When my boyfriend got on the roof he noticed some additional fresh roofing tar smeared on some of the shingles. We immediately called our insurance agent because of the damage and bc we didnt know what to do at this point. The insurance came out and noticed 2 of the three skylights were done the same way and the one that was leaking appeared to have holes under some of the shingles where old nails were that werent filled in and that the shingles were NOT installed properly. The water damage inside our home is $2500. I had to contact another roofing company since Cardinal Home Improvement wouldnt come out to fix the problem they caused and spend more money to do so. I even spoke to the new project manager ***** and the owner **** ******* who both told me that it was the skylight and it is not their problem. Neither one offered to even come out to the house to check it out for themselves. I also had a skylight company come out to examine the skylight and confirmed skylight is NOT leaking. Existing Head Flashing is where the leak is due to improper shingle install Product_Or_Service: Roof and Deck

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the work I had to pay the other roofer to do which is still in process and I would also like a refund for the damage that they caused by neglecting their shoddy installation and not taking care of the problem when we told them about it the first time. They had every opportunity to accept responsibility for making a mistake but instead would rather brush it under the rug and cost me, also 7 months pregnant, additional home damage, stress, anxiety, and TIME.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/04) */ On Oct, 8, 2013 Cardinal Home Improvements contracted with customer to replace a deck & perform an insurance project regarding a roof damaged by the storm. Upon re-measuring the job, prior to ordering and installation, it was recommended to the customer that the skylights were in need of replacement. Customer took it under consideration, and due to additional cost, denied replacement of skylights. After a seven month wait, at the customer's request, Cardinal completed the roof portion of the project on or about May 8, 2014. Upon completion, a balance of $5704.00 was due - the customer had no money to pay. Cardinal did not collect full balance until June 20, 2014. Throughout the entire process Cardinal has been more than flexible in regards to working with customer. Every time we have been contacted by homeowner we have responded immediately at no cost to customer. Every time the same result - as stated prior to install, the 20 year old skylight needed to be replaced. Same response from homeowner, can't afford it. The lead foreman has been out to inspect several times with the same recommendation skylight leaking and again this was at no cost to the customer. On 8/7/2014 Customer reported leaking due to severe thunderstorms. She demanded someone be out immediately! The lead foreman went out personally at about 2pm, in a complete downpour of rain, and tried to patch the skylight, at no cost to the customer even though replacement had been recommended several times prior. Cardinal contacted customer on 8/18/2014 in the am and set up a date and time for 8/19/2014 @ 12pm so all parties could discuss possible resolutions. At that time, the lead foreman was prepared to offer to remove & replace the three skylights and again at no charge to the customer, if the customer supplies materials - skylights. Customer cancelled the meeting that morning before we could get out there. After clearly recommending the skylights be replaced during roof installation, responding to every call and request to come out only to find the same skylight to be defective, waiting patiently for final payment, and realize that customer and her boyfriend were smearing our name on social media, and now with the B.B.B. I believe we have more than illustrated the excellent customer service that we are striving for with each project. At this time no refund can be justified based on this accurate account of the situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/09/09) */ Cardinal came out at 2pm on the date they mentioned however no one told me they came out. When I called them the next day to ask them why no one came out they had their manager call me back and tell me that someone had been out and they knocked on my door and we werent home. Why didnt they call me to tell me that? How am I to know they came out if they didnt bother to call and tell me. I have below an email from another roofing company and also pictures the insurance agent took on the three skylights. Two of them have the skylights shown installed right and the other does not. I also sent these to cardinal since they kept insisting that it was the skylight. The issue is they didnt install the shingles right around one of the 3 skylights. THE SKYLIGHT isn't the problem. I even had a skylight company come out to look and provide a bid. We know they are old and they need to be replaced but that wasn't the cause of the leak. Even they said the skylight wasnt leaking. I have attached the email from the roofer we got to come out, the bid for the skylight which states the problem is the shingles and the pictures to prove it. We cancelled the appointment they finally set up bc I am pregnant and cant get on the roof to make sure they dont do any funny business. They can clearly tell by the pictures that they didnt do the one skylight right for some reason. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2014/11/10) */ 11/11/14: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 11/11/14: We turned a claim into our insurance ****************** and they are attempting to recoup the damages from Cardinal. I will forward the damage estimates. I want them to pay for the damages they caused to my home by the improper installation of shingles located around the leaking skylight. 11/13/14: I will forward the documents tonight. 11/14/14: Received emailed documents from consumer. 11/14/14: I don't believe my insurance agent told him the company was not to blame. He is lying. I will get a lawyer and take him to court. He is responsible and I do not accept the skylight was leaking. His company improperly installed shingles around the skylight. Final Business Response /* (1000, 21, 2014/11/10) */ 11/14/14: I talked with agent **** ******* with ********* Insurance and she agreed the damage is not our fault. We highly recommended to replace the 20 year old skylights and she refused. We cannot be held responsible for leaking skylights and water damage to her home, due to her decision. I feel I have gone above and beyond to satisfy this customer. She has smeared my company on social media and I am not willing to pay for her damages or offer any additional resolution at this time.

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Cardinal Home Improvements LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart