BBB Accredited Business since

Alpha and Omega Construction

Additional Locations

Phone: (618) 792-4155 Fax: (312) 256-9702 2442 W Main St, Salem, IL 62881 http://www.constructionao.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alpha and Omega Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alpha and Omega Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Alpha and Omega Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 24, 2013 Business started: 08/28/2010 Business started locally: 08/28/2010 Business incorporated 09/19/2012 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Justin Matthews, Owner Danny Vaughn, Sales Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Justin Matthews, Owner
Business Category

Home Improvements Roofing Contractors Bathroom Remodeling Doors - Installation Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Garage Doors & Openers Garage Door Repair Contractors - Flooring Kitchen Remodeling Concrete Contractors Carpet Installation Floors - Garage Garage Builders Gutters & Downspouts

Alternate Business Names
Alpha & Omega Construction and Remodeling, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 2442 W Main St

    Salem, IL 62881 (618) 792-4155

  • PO Box 801

    Salem, IL 62881

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2014, A&O Cons. was hired to replace our roof, worn decking, jack up our sagging eves & remove & cap our chimney below the roof deck. On December 31, '14, water began leaking from our attic to our main level. A&O was contacted Jan. 1. '15, & we began working to find a solution to a condensation problem in our attic. Per our request, soffit vents were installed 2 weeks later after A&O acknowledged that the lack of vents was overlooked in the original bid. The condensation continued to cause immense water damage to the interior of our home & caused the roof decking to swell in areas & new shingles to curl. Mr. ******** blamed poor insulation for the condensation. Upon having other contractors inspect our home, it was discovered that our furnace exhaust was vented out of our chimney that A&O had removed to below the roof deck. They did not cap nor properly vent the chimney, just left it knocked down below the decking. From Oct. '14 to Feb. '15 our attic was being filled with heat & carbon monoxide from the exhaust causing the condensation which caused damage to our interior & roof. Also, since the roof was replaced, the sagging eves that went without repair are further detaching from our home.Through this process, Mr. ******** was quite difficult to work with. He was unwilling to acknowledge any possible fault of his own, but quickly found blame for our problem elsewhere, like with our insulation. He was argumentative when questions were asked, & quickly turned discussions into insults & accusations. The crew he sent to install the soffit vents agreed that the damage to our roof was extensive. They lead us to believe that we would have leaking from the curled shingles so they caulked around them, leaving us with a $6500 roof that is caulked. Verbal agreements were made to make repairs to the damaged shingles, but Mr. ******** has neglected to follow up. He has also neglected to return a call after 4 detailed messages were left on his business voicemail over the course of the last 4 weeks.

Desired Settlement: Though there is extensive damage to the interior we are only seeking the following be completed under written contract at no cost:-removal & replacement of damaged/worn decking-removal & replacement of damaged shingles-proper repair of eves-replacement of flashing in areas where nails punctured-rehang gutters to facilitate proper flow (not flowing properly since soffit work)If A&O Construction is unwilling to work with us we request a refund to hire someone else to complete the work listed

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@constructionao.com Mr. and Mrs. ***** requested that we remove their chimney down below the roof line, repair the decking and roof over the place where the chimney had been. Alpha and Omega Construction does not assume any liability, or contract for HVAC work. When we initially discussed removing the chimney with the home owner, we were informed that nothing was connected to the chimney. At that time, the home owner was made aware that the chimney would be taken down past the roof line and the decking would be closed in at that spot. We always verify with the home owner that the chimney has been abandoned before performing such removals. The claim that Mr. and Mrs. ***** have condensation in their attic now makes sense. If their furnace is venting into the attic space via the chimney, it is blowing warm humid air into the attic space which then makes contact with the cold underside of the roof deck in winter. This will cause rapid formation of condensation. It was not until we received this complaint through the Better Business Bureau that we had been made aware of any such connection to the chimney. Up until now they were simply telling us that there was a condensation problem, which we maintained was through no fault of our own because we have made sure that there is adequate ventilation in the attic space. In addition, we strongly advised against installing box vents in the roof. We advised the home owner that a ridge vent would provide better ventilation, but they insisted we install box vents instead. When the customer first made a complaint to us about the issue of condensation/ventilation we went back and installed vented soffit and attic chutes to direct the flow of intake air up and along the bottom of the roof decking. This was work that was not part of our original contract and we did this at our expense ($350 in material, as well as a day's labor for 2 carpenters) to try and please our customer and ensure that they had no further issues. Alpha and Omega Construction has made every effort to resolve any valid issues that have been brought to our attention by Mr. and Mrs. *****. We have made many visits back to their home to address their concerns and if at any time, we had been made aware of any issues that were relevant to roofing or the work that we have been contracted to complete, we would have taken steps to resolve the problem. We cannot be held responsible for conditions that existed prior to our work being performed, that are relevant to another licensed trade. Additionally, we find it noteworthy that Mrs. ***** is a coworker of Mrs. ******** ********* another customer that we did work for in that same time period. Mrs. ******** has also filed a complaint with the BBB, which has since been dismissed and classified as resolved. We feel that these two customers may be in communication with one another and are trying to take advantage of our company. The same day that we installed the soffit and attic chutes at no charge to Mrs. *****, we received a call from Mrs. ********* claiming that she too had ventilation issues and needed vented soffit. Thank you for your attention in this matter. ****** ******** Alpha and Omega Construction

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of 2014, ****** ******** put a roof on our home. On January 20, I noticed that my ceiling was beginning to crack. I contacted ****** about meeting him at our home to address the issue. He showed up unannounced while I was at work and notified me that there were not any issues found. I then asked him to return when we were available to allow him into the attic. He refused and said he would charge us for another trip. I then had another roofer, ***** from Affordable Roofing, come to my home to inspect my attic/ventilation issues. He found multiple things wrong. The issues included; poor quality ridge vent, ridge vent not cut out properly (which is enabling air flow), and the absence of a starter strip. I contacted ****** to see how we could get this issue fixed. ****** was extremely rude and unprofessional on the phone. He is refusing to fix the issues, as well as refusing to reimburse me the $1200 it will cost to fix the problem. ****** laughed at me on the phone multiple times, told me whatever several times, and told me this issue was ridiculous. I understand he believes his work is A+ quality, but clearly something is wrong. The condensation is causing my ceiling to crack, which in return is going to cost me more money to fix. I am by no means a professional in the roofing business, but I do expect to be treated as a paying customer. ****** also sent harassing text messages regarding my new roofer to me after our unpleasant conversation. I have not heard from him since (February 3, 2015.) Unfortunately this issue will end up costing me over $1000. However, I hope that by getting the real story heard, others will not have to suffer what my family has. Every person has the right to be treated with respect. Product_Or_Service: New roof and vents

Desired Settlement: Due to the heated nature of the conversation, I no longer have trust with ****** ********. I would prefer that he not work on my home anymore in the future. I would like for Mr. ******** to reimburse me the $1200 it is going to cost to fix the issues found. I understand we all make mistakes, but it that is no reason for him to treat me the way he did. I have also filed a complaint on www.idfpr.com.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ Mrs. ******** contacted me originally to do an estimate on her roof. Upon the initial consultation I found that there was not adequate ventilation with her roof. In the original quote we included the Owens Corning Sure Vent ridge vent. We install this product with every roof we guarantee. Vent Sure is an integral part of the Owens Corning Total Protection System. After the initial evaluation Mrs. ******** informed me she had a competitors bid from Affordable Roofing and asked if we price matched other roofing companies. I informed her that we did in fact do that if the products were comparable and she revealed the competitors quote. Upon receipt of the competitors bid I noticed that the salesman for affordable roofing was a former employee of ours that had been let go for inappropriate conduct on the job. At the time I did not mention these facts to Mrs. ********, only that ***** was previously employed by our company. Mrs. ******** informed me at the time that she felt much more comfortable dealing with myself than the salesman (*****) from Affordable Roofing. She proceeded to enter into contract with our company and we completed the work within two weeks of her signing the contract. After the project was complete Mrs. ******** was kind to make prompt payment. A month or two after we completed her project, Mrs. ******** notified me via text message that her roof had a slight leak around the chimney. We immediately scheduled a follow up to address her concerns. Upon inspection of her chimney we decided to replace the shingles and flashing in the affected area (that had already been replaced when we installed the new roof) to address the issue of a leak inside. This unrelated act in itself would prove that we have made a good faith effort to stand behind our work. From there we followed up after the next rainfall to make sure she was leak free. According to her all was well. Mrs. ******** contacted me in late January with a concern that her soffit was not a vented soffit and she felt we needed to look at it as she felt we had overlooked that aspect of her roof system. She claimed she had a crack in one spot of her home that she thought was related to improper ventilation. I was in the area the day following our conversation and I stopped in to double check her soffit. It in fact was a hidden vent soffit. I made a note of it and notified her that the soffit she had on her house was in fact vented and adequate. After that visit she notified me that her father in law had inspected our work from the attic and was concerned it may not be getting air flow due to the fact he could not see day light from in the attic. I explained to her that the ridge vent we use would not allow light through. I also explained to her that I had personally been on her job the day of the new roof install and witnessed the roof decking had been properly cut back. Although I was certain there was not an issue with the ridge vent, I made a second trip to her home to double check our Ventilation at the ridge. I got on the roof and inspected each section that had ridge vent and verified that the plywood had in fact been trimmed back properly. After inspecting the ridge vent I followed up with Mrs. ******** to notify her that she need not worry, the ridge vent was in fact installed properly. I also pointed out the fact that she may consider her house could be settling, as she mentioned a crack, not moisture. She made the comment that her roof is beautiful and it doesn't leak she just had a crack in her ceiling. When I attempted to make an appointment with Mrs. ******** when she could meet to let me in, she stated that she wouldn't be able to meet with me during business hours (during daylight) but that I would have to meet with her father-in-law at her home. I informed Mrs. ******** that in order for us to follow up with her on an interior issue like this she would need to be present and she insisted that there was not any time monday through friday during day light hours that she could meet me. Mrs. ******** then revealed that she called Affordable Roofing (The company that she didn't give her business to), to inspect our companies work. Mrs. ******** doesn't realize the conflict of interest that she created by calling Affordable Roofing back to her home. I feel that if she wanted to resolve her ceiling crack issue she might have been better off calling a Licensed Home Inspector. Our last correspondence from Mrs. ******** was via telephone and she said she would be talking to her husband and calling us back. I haven't heard from her since. In conclusion, I feel we have made a good faith effort to address all of Mrs. ******** legitimate concerns. I was personally on her project for the entire project and saw it though to completion. We have even addressed a leak spot and double checked all the issues that she had concerns with in reference to her concern for proper ventilation: that she believes led to a ceiling crack. Mrs. ******** says we didn't cut plywood back at the peak, and that it is visible from the attic but she has never provided documented pictures to substantiate this claim, which I requested. I take pride in my business and it is my family's livelihood. My companies reputation is one of excellence. If I felt there was any truth to Mrs. ******** claims I would be there tomorrow to address her concerns. I'm sorry she has some drywall cracking in her house but her issue isn't one of improper ventilation. I also feel that I have dealt with all of Mrs. ******** issues in a professional manner. (*****) from (Affordable Roofing), the Salesman that inspected our work has personally sent me threatening messages. He is a conflict of interest due to the fact he is a previous disgruntled employee of Alpha and Omega Construction. He was let go from our company on negative terms. Mrs. ******** has allowed ***** on her property since we completed the project and I'm not sure what he has done to our work since we completed her project.

12/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Alpha and Omega repair my bathroom floor. They came and fixed. then we had the plumber put in the new stool. the plumber would not because the floor was not level. We have contacted Alpha several times by phone, email and going to their office. The only answer we got was that they did not level homes. So we checked our house to see if any other placed was not level. The only spot was the bathroom they were suppose to fix. I am also upset about how unconcerned they are. All I wanted was some help but nothing from them. Now I guess I will have to have someone else fix the floor. After that the next step will be to sue them in small claims court.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like them to correct the problem. If they do not want to I want my money back.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2014/12/03) */ 12/3/2014: They did come in at the end of October and replaced the entire floor. We have not had a plumber out to install a stool for our elderly parents. I want to have plumber confirm it has been fixed. Will update you if you call next week. 12/10/2014: We have an ill family member and wont get a chance to have the plumber validate the work till after the holidays. If there is an issue I will call and reopen the case.

4/23/2014 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Alpha and Omega Construction
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart