BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Veterans Home Care LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Veterans Home Care LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Veterans Home Care LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2003 in MO Business started locally: 01/01/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Howard Laiderman, Owner Kathy Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Kathy
Principal: Mr. Howard Laiderman, Owner
Business Category

Home Health Services Veterans & Military Organizations Health & Medical - General Employee Assistance Programs

Alternate Business Names
H B Trading Horizon's Care Coordinator Patriots Home Care

Additional Locations

  • 11861 Westline Industrial Dr Ste 750

    Saint Louis, MO 63146 (877) 390-6377 (314) 514-2444

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was billing me for 47 hr/month @$24 for home care.  I used them 1 year 10 months. In January, I called to inquire about accumulated hrs. I talked to ******* ***** and she stated I had around 120 hours. I told her I only wanted the aid to come to my home 24 hours a month. Mrs ******* stated since I had so many hours accumulated she would not invoice me for February she would not do anything until she heard from me. i call and talked to a new case worker they assigned me Ms. ******. I call on March 4/2016 to inform her that I no longer needed the service and 03/03/2016 would be my last day of services. She put Mrs ******* on the Phone. I explained to Mrs ******* what I needed. she began to tell me what I couldn't do and treated that she would contact Va Pension that I no longer needed the pension. I told her that I had already contacted the veteran affairs and talked with them. they said It is my money to do as I please. Mrs ******* ***** said she would not send any invoiced through. until I get with her. on 3/08/2016 a withdrawal tried to clear my bank. I called Mr ****** she agan put Mr. ******* . Mrs ******* said she would see what happen because that invoice should not have gone through because she flag my account to stop invoicing in January . I used 28.97 hours in Feburary and 3 hrs. in march which left me 84.22 hour. Verteran home care invoiced me for 47 hour on 3/08/3016, invoiced 47 hr on 03/10/2016 and 47 on 03/31/2016. I have already stop services with them so why was I invoiced for services why if Mrs ******* say no invoice should have been invoice after januanry, and 3 was invoice to me, I don't understand. in on April 4/2016 a credit memo was done in their system for $2,039.52 for 84.98 rrs. x $24.00 tell me why was this adjustment made. I have tried to solved this with Mrs *******. I have called her on several occasions. she will not return my calls . I have talked to her supervisor Mr ****** ****** to no avail. I have left message on her line no return call. I call region office spoke with Mr***** ******* ************ today 05/06/2016to ask for his help. He call Mrs ******* she stated she has called me on several occasion which is incorrect. mrs. ******* is not telling the whole truth. I faxed her a letter on 04/25/2016 at12:24 pm asking for help. I left message 05/05,05/04,05/03,04/28, 04/26, 04/25,04/22,04/21,04/15,04/14,04/13,04/12, I did not call between march 9 and april 12 because they told me on the 8th of march it taks 6-8 week for refund I call to talk to Mr. ****** to check on refund. this when I started back to trying getting in touch with mrs. ******* *****. I just want what is due to me.

Desired Settlement: I just want the refund that is due to me.

Business Response:

We have spoken with Mrs. ******.  Under her Services Contract and Loan Agreement with VHC, starting in May 2014, Mrs. ****** arranged to receive a specified number of hours of home care per month (47) at an agreed upon hourly rate ($24 per hour).  VHC offered her a no interest loan to cover the costs of the homecare.  Mrs. ****** agreed to repay the loan once she started to receive VA benefits that would cover the homecare. She agreed to make loan payments each month via an ACH withdrawal from her bank account.  The VA benefit is a reimbursement benefit that reimburses the recipient after that recipient has paid for the care.  Therefore, the loan continues on a monthly basis so that Mrs. ******* is never out of pocket the money to pay for the care.   Mrs. ****** used the funds to pay the care providers for their time and for their mileage.

Our records show that by the start of 2016 she had accumulated 53.25 unused hours of home care. (In essence VHC had loaned her the funds to pay for 53.25 hours of care more than she received and she had repaid the loan for this amount.)  To address this accrual, VHC arranged with Mrs. ****** that she would not be loaned any funds and therefore not invoiced for loan payments until she used all of her accumulated hours.  As a result, she was not loaned funds for January 2016 and therefore she would not receive a loan payment invoice in February 2016. In January 2016 she used 28.97 hours of homecare leaving her a balance of 24.38 accumulated homecare hours.  In February used 30.15 hours- more than she had remaining and therefore VHC reinstituted her regular contract, she was loaned funds for the number of hours of care specified in the contract (47). VHC attempted to take an ACH payment in March to cover the February loan obligation. Mrs. ****** was credited for the 47 hours the loaned funds provided, which resulted in a credit of 41.13 accumulated hours. The February payment bounced and remained unpaid. Pursuant to the contract, she was loaned money in March for 47 hours (and credited those hours) but only used 3.15 hours, cancelling the services effective March 3, 2016.  At the time she cancelled Mrs. ****** owed VHC $2256.00 but had a credit for 84.98 hours.   The credit (84.98 x 24) was subtracted from the balance. $2256.00 - $2039.52 = $216.48.  This is the amount that VHC is seeking from Mrs. ******.

We know this is confusing, and our office has been working with Mrs. ****** to provide supporting documentation and explain how we arrived at the end figure. Please advise if we can provide additional information. 

4/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: January I received an overdraft fee on my account. This business is using my account to launder money because they see a Chrysler pension in there. They take more money out of my bank account than they put in. They are overcharging and not doing the right amount of work. I changed my bank account number and they are now afraid to ask me for the money. This is because I told them it was under investigation. They have been removing $300-$400 each time.

Desired Settlement: I think someone needs to investigate the company. They are putting fake hours in their system. I don't want any more calls from this company. I want them to erase my number from their account.

Business Response:

See longer explanation attached but in essence:

**** ***** applied for the VHC Vet Assist Program in December 2015 with her home care to start in January 2016 with VHC agency ****** ***** She was approved for 47 hours of home care services per month through the agency ****** ***** Golden Home provided 47 hours of care to **** ***** in January 2016.  VHC paid for the services provided pursuant to Ms. *****’ Loan Agreement with VHC and did not invoice Ms. ***** until after her VA Aid and Attendance pension was approved by the VA.  The VA approved Ms. ***** application and deposited $1149.00 into her bank account on February 12, 2106. At this time, Ms. ***** owed VHC $1146.80 for home care services she received in January. On February 19, 2016 Ms. ***** contacted VHC to cancel services because she would be moving. VHC contacted the home care agency providing services and requested any outstanding invoices for care. On February 26, 2016 VHC used its ACH authorization to withdraw $1146.80 from Ms. *****’ account – exactly what she owed for the home care services she received in January.  This is the one and only time VHC withdrew money form Ms. ***** account pursuant to her ACH authorization.

VHC has no knowledge of Ms. ***** having an overdraft fee assessed to her account in January. VHC withdrew no funds in January. VHC is not using Ms. ***** account to “launder money”.  VHC cannot “see” funds in Ms. ***** account. VHC does not put any money into Ms. ***** account and never has.  VHC charged Ms. ***** for 47 hours of care in January pursuant to the documentation received by the agency providing care. If this is incorrect, we ask her to forward the proper figures. VHC has not tried to process any additional ACH payments and has no knowledge of Ms. ***** changing account numbers. VHC has not asked Ms. **** for any more money because she does not owe VHC any additional funds.  VHC has only made the one withdrawal of $1146.80. 

4/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service for Veterans Homecare was cancelled by fax on January 6, 2016 to ***** ****** from ******* *******. ***** ****** told that their would be a refund check 4- 6 weeks. After several times try to contact by phone she said will receive refund around the middle of February. Still no return phone call. March 22, 2016 now. Refund should be around 1,600.00 to 1,700 dollars check for services not used. I am a survivor of a World War 11 veteran. Need the pension have low income salary for medical supplies 1,100.00 chair lift , Hospital bed might need also, medical bills. just came home from nursing home only a few months still need all help possible.

Desired Settlement: Just need refund owed from Veterans Homecare. Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *******

Consumer Response: The business sent the consumer a check in the mail. Consumer stated this has satisfied his complaint.

12/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Veterans Home Care promised to help assist with the application process to receive a pension from my deceased spouse who was a World War II veteran. They also said they would (fee free) loan money to pay for home care until the pension started. They are so helpful they sign you up for Direct deposit of your pension and give you a form to sign so they can withdraw their payment without bothering you every month.They are not home care providers, they contract the services out to local Home Care companies. They billed me $24.60 an hour for 47 hours a month which was the exact amount of my pension. They pay contractors $17 or $18 an hour, so they build fees into the contract. They continue to bill whether you use the hours or not, when I pointed this out -they said they were banking the hours. That was new, it wasn't in the contract. Each month I used 40 hours or less but they want the full pension. For the first four months, services were not delivered- then Veterans Home Care said that they fired the person who signed me up because of fraud. It is all Fraud. Product_Or_Service: Assistance with filing for pension/Home care

Desired Settlement: This company needs to be investigated because they target veterans and seniors. The referrals come from other reputable persons who may or may not know the full scope of this business. My referral came from a social worker. The contract is not complete and they are definitely over billing. I also think it's false advertising to say they provide home care and it's done without fees

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *** ******** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@veteranshomecare.com First let me start by explaining the services of Veteran Home Care ("VHC"): VHC is a private, for profit company that assists veterans and their spouses in applying for VA Aid and Attendance pension benefits and arranges for home care to allow aging and disabled veterans and their spouses to remain in their homes (rather than nursing homes or other live-in facilities). As described on the Department of Veteran Affairs website, The VA Aid and Attendance program provides an increase to monthly pensions for individuals who "require assistance in performing personal functions required in everyday living." Veterans Home Care is a private company not affiliated with the Department of Veterans Affairs ("VA"). Typically a VHC representative assists a veteran or family member in completing an application for VHC services and in completing an application for the VA Aid & Attendance benefits. VHC then reviews the client's application for VHC services, if VHC approves an application; the client is eligible for VHC assistance and receives confirmation that he has been found eligible for VHC services. If the client elects to, the client completes a Loan Agreement and a Services Agreement indicating the hours per month of care that VHC has approved for that client and the amount that may be borrowed on a monthly basis to cover the costs of that care. One of VHC's preferred home care agencies receives a "start of care" notice and contacts the client to start services. VHC also requests the necessary documentation and submits the client's application to the VA on the client's behalf for the Aid and Attendance benefits. Once a client receives the VA benefits, VHC provides ongoing case management and continues to work with the client to ensure the client remains in compliance with the VA regulations to maintain the benefits. The Aid and Attendance benefits provide qualified veterans and their surviving spouses with benefits to receive home care services. However, the VA's Aid and Attendance benefit only works as a reimbursement to the veteran or spouse; it will not pay for the care directly or be provided to the veteran prior to the care being received. Veterans only qualify for the benefit if their regularly occurring predictable total unreimbursed medical expenses are 105% of their Maximum Annual Pension Rate (MAPR) See 38 U.S.C.S 501(a); 38 C.F.R. 3.272 (g). As a consequence, many are caught in Catch-22 situations where they need the care and would qualify for the benefits but they can't afford to pay for the care upfront and therefore don't qualify and don't receive the care they need. To assist these needy veterans and surviving spouses, Veterans Home Care offers no-interest loans to clients to enable these clients to pay for receive the home care they need. In the process, the client incurs the expense that qualifies the client for the Aid and Attendance benefit. VHC limits the monthly loan amount to the monthly benefit anticipated to be awarded by the VA. VHC arranges for the services, the client is able to pay the caregivers with funds advanced by VHC pursuant to the Loan Agreement. VHC invoices the client for the funds advanced to pay for the care. The Client agrees to remit payment within ten days of the invoice date or at such time that Client receives retroactive VA reimbursement and monthly thereafter for any amounts due to VHC. Now to address this client's specific complaints: "Veterans Home Care promised to help assist with the application process to receive a pension from my deceased spouse who was a World War II veteran. They also said they would (fee free) loan money to pay for home care until the pension started. They are so helpful they sign you up for Direct deposit of your pension and give you a form to sign so they can withdraw their payment without bothering you every month." Response: This is all true. VHC offers its clients an interest-free loan to advance funds to pay for the needed home care and when clients receive the VA pension funds, the client uses the pension funds to repay the loan to VHC. With the client's authorization, the loan can be repaid via direct debit from the client's account. "They are not home care providers, they contract the services out to local Home Care companies. They billed me $24.60 an hour for 47 hours a month which was the exact amount of my pension." Response: This is correct. As VHC explains at the outset, VHC acts as a case manager and works with different providers nationwide to provide care to its clients. Ms. ****** qualified for the full amount of the pension based on her medical expenses including 47 hours of homecare. " They pay contractors $17 or $18 an hour, so they build fees into the contract. They continue to bill whether _you use the hours or not, when I pointed this out -they said they were banking the hours. That was new, it wasn't in the contract. Each month I used 40 hours or less but they want the full pension." Response: Yes, VHC is paid by the providers for its case management services. For the client to continue to qualify for the VA pension, the client must be able to show a predictable monthly expense as explained above. VHC bills the client for the hours of care planned for the client to receive. Barring unusual circumstances, the services are delivered as planned. Should the provider later report that more or less hours were provided than planned, VHC makes adjustments. "For the first four months, services were not delivered- then Veterans Home Care said that they fired the person who signed me up because of fraud. It is all Fraud." Response: VHC is not aware of the client not receiving services for the first four months and this is the first VHC has heard that the client is claiming that no services were provided from January - April 2015. The client enrolled to begin services in January 2015. VHC's records indicate the client began receiving care in January and VHC was invoiced by the provider for services beginning January 2015. In February, March and May, the client's daughter reported that the client was receiving the home care and the care provider was working out well. Prior to the client cancelling services, VHC loaned the client funds to pay for home care from January 1, 2015 through the first week of October 2015 anticipated it would be repaid as agreed once the client began to receive VA benefits. Even though the client is now receiving VA benefits, to date, VHC has only been repaid for one month of services. VHC has honored its agreements.

4/29/2015 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Veterans Home Care LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)