BBB Accredited Business since

Comia Home Builders & Roofing Inc.

Phone: (314) 575-0521 101 Royallmanor Ln, O Fallon, MO 63368 http://www.comiahomebuilders.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Comia Home Builders & Roofing Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Comia Home Builders & Roofing Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

33 Customer Reviews on Comia Home Builders & Roofing Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 33
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 33

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 2004 Business started: 10/26/2001 Business started locally: 10/26/2001 Business incorporated 10/26/2001 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Comia, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Comia, Owner
Business Category

Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builder Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Disability Remodeling Storm Damage Repair Windows - Installation & Service Windows & Siding - Installation & Service Hardwood Floor Contractors Floors - Hardwood Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Hail Repair Contractor - Commercial Contractor - General Green Builder Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair


Additional Locations

  • 101 Royallmanor Ln

    O Fallon, MO 63368 (314) 575-0521

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Comia Home Builders replaced my roof in 2014. After a hard rain June 2016 there was a leak in a corner in the dining room. I called and text your company and was told someone would come that week, but no one has. That was 3 weeks ago.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to come out and take a look at the leak.

11/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new roof back in September 2014. Right after the installation I noticed some of the shingles were lifting up so I contacted the owner ***** and he advised don't worry the shingles will lay flat once the roof temperature warms up. So now an entire year has past and all 4 seasons and there are shingles still lifted. At the end of August 2015 I spoke with *****, the owner of the company and advised him that the shingles on my roof were lifting up around the chimney. He advised me via e-mail there was a work order in place and he would send someone out within the following week. Well a few weeks had past and nothing had been done, nor was I contacted about the delay. So I contacted the owner again and he advised me that he had a emergency family situation that he was dealing with but would send someone out to take a look at it. It is now November and I definitely understand and sympathize with his situation that is going on but at the same time, I was promised a warranty/service and would like for my roof to appear brand new with all the shingles laying flat. Product_Or_Service: Tamko Heritage Harvest Gold Shingles Account_Number: invoice ****

Desired Settlement: I would like for someone from the company to come repair the problem. I want all the shingles to lay down flat in a uniform way like the rest of the roof and remain laying flat A.S.A.P.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/11/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *****, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@ComiaHomeBuilders.com The initial issue of the shingles being lifted up as the customer had stated was due to the roof being installed on a cool and cloudy day in mid September 2014. I think I had addressed the issue with the customer the day of the installation and had explained that shingles need sunlight and/or warm temperatures so that they will relax, lay flat and seal to one another. Once we got a couple warm sunny days the shingles over the entire roof did indeed lay flat and properly seal. The customer then contacted me at the end of August 2015 stating that there were still some shingles "lifted up" and had not yet laid down. I asked the customer if the roof was leaking at all and she stated that it was not so I advised the her that I would put in a work-order with my installation crew and that we would address the issue as soon as possible. Immediately following this conversation my brother which lives in California was in involved in a tragic accident and was very critically injured. I along with the core of my family traveled to California immediately to be by his side while on life support and in the CCU. The customer had contacted me again while I was out in California coping with the family emergency and asked the status of the repair. I explained my situation and stated that a work-order had been placed with my installation crew but I did not know the status at that time. I asked again if the roof was leaking in anyway and she stated that it was not. I went on to explain that I was still in California and would be for some time. I explained that since the roof was not leaking it sounds to be a cosmetic issue and I assured her that I would personally come by to assess the issue and take care of it accordingly as soon as I was back in town and able to. I left the conversation thinking that the customer was OK with that plan of action and that we were both on the same page. I spoke with my installation crew and evidently they had went by but did not notice anything wrong with the shingle installation but forgot to inform me of their findings. I returned back to St. Louis and had it on my schedule to go by and assess the issue myself the week in which the customer had filed the complaint. I never did hear from the customer since our last communication while I was in California and thought we were still on the same page and then I received notice of the complaint being filed on 11/3/15. I tried calling the customer right away but was not able to reach her directly and left a message for her to call me at her earliest convenience. I never did receive a call back but did receive an email a couple days later acknowledging receipt of the message and that I could come by at anytime. I went out to the customer's home on 11/7 to assess the issue. I discovered that all of the shingles on the roof were laying flat and sealed properly. I knocked on the door and asked the customer to show me where the area of concern was. She had pointed out 2 shingles, 1 on each side of a metal chimney chase, that were slightly lifted. After inspection I discovered that the the nails holding down the existing metal flashing which is part of the existing metal chimney chase had pulled loose from the old roof decking. This caused the old existing metal flashing to spring upward and lift the shingles on top of it slightly. This issue was not directly related to the installation of the new roof but it was an easy fix and I corrected the issue within a few minutes. I came down from the roof and explained the issue with the customer and told her that I went ahead and corrected it with some flat head decking screws under the shingles and also applied some roofing cement to insure that the shingles seal down even though the temperatures were cooler at the time. The customer seemed to understand the cause of the issue and thanked me. I went on to explain that this all happened during an unfortunate family emergency I had been dealing with and that if it hadn't been for that situation I would of been out sooner myself to assess the issue and correct it for her then as I did now. I explained to her that customer satisfaction is something that I take very seriously and that we have never received a customer complaint since 2001 when I started the business. I asked for her consideration in withdrawing the complaint given the circumstances and the fact that it was not an issue with the roof installation. I have yet to get a response but am hoping she will consider it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The owner of the company did finally come out and correct the problem and I was satisfied with him fixing the problem. Hopefully if any other problems arise in the future within my warranty, the company will still provide me with customer satisfaction.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

33 Customer Reviews on Comia Home Builders & Roofing Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart