BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/21/1985

Scott Lee Heating Co. Inc.

Phone: (314) 756-9444Fax: (314) 756-9436View Additional Phone Numbers11010 Gravois Ind Ct, Saint LouisMO 63128-2013 Send email to Scott Lee Heating Co. Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/21/1985

BBB has determined that Scott Lee Heating Co. Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Scott Lee Heating Co. Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Scott Lee Heating Co. Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Was charged twice for labor to replace a part beyond the scope of work requested and to which I verbally voiced objection to.
Scott-Lee installed a new furnace in my house in August 2013. I had been hearing noises from the furnace since moving in November 2013 so I called them in February 2015 to troubleshoot the furnace. They charged me an $85 service charge. I was told parts were covered under the 10-year warranty. The technician (****) told me the furnace heat exchanger had a problem, but it was too much trouble to fix. Then he told me that my humidifier had a bad solenoid valve, which was odd since I had just observed it working properly earlier in the year. He spent what I considered to be an inordinate amount of time fiddling with the solenoid and then announced that it would need to be replaced (no surprise considering how much he'd been experimenting with it). However, he said he did not have the part with him and that it would need to be ordered and installed at a later date. He did not tell me until he was leaving and having me sign paperwork that the part was NOT under warranty. I told him I would have them replace it ONLY if they would not charge additional labor because it was not my problem that he did not have the part with him. He assured me I would not have to pay any additional labor. The second tech ( ****) came in a few days and installed a new solenoid. I questioned him about the cost of the new part, which seemed excessive because I was charged $176 and I could buy one just like it for $25-$36. He showed me a price book which showed that the INSTALLED price of the valve - including labor - was $176. So despite being told I was not paying twice for labor, I was charged for two separate service calls plus an excessive amount for a part that actually turned out to be DIFFERENT that the original Lennox part. They used an AprilAire valve instead. The new valve is quite noisy and allows entirely too much water to flow, wasting water. Besides, I did not even ask that they LOOK at my humidifier, my concern was with THE FURNACE, which the original tech acknowledged was defective but did not repair. I paid $261 total for a repair I did not want or request and could have easily done myself for about $30 and done a much better job. The second tech, ****, also installed longer screws than stock, so now if I want to replace the media in my humidifier, I have to remove screws which will surely strip after 2-3 filter changes. I will NEVER use these people again, EVER.

Service Call # XXXXXX & XXXXXX

Desired Settlement

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** Service Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****
Dear Mr. *******,
I apologize that you feel cheated by our company, my first question is where do you feel you were charged twice by our company? The first technician that came out charged you an $85.00 trip and diagnostic fee, than when it was determined that your solenoid valve needed to be replaced he charged you $176.00 which is the flat rate for that repair. Our second technician **** that came out and installed the part **** did not have on his vehicle, charged you nothing. In regards to the Aprilaire valve being installed of a Lennox valve, that is because they no longer manufacture the part the replacement is made by Aprilaire.
In response to looking at the humidifier it is our companies policy to make sure all accessories are working properly before leaving a service or maintenance visit so there is less of a chance for failure down the road.
In response to not repairing the problem, we were called out for, we would be happy to send a different technician out to see if there is anything that was missed and can be resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told that the initial trip fee would cover labor to replace the valve. However, I was charged $85 PLUS $176, which is for parts and labor to install the valve. In other words, I paid for double labor instead of one labor charge plus parts. I should have only been charged for the PART COST, not the FLAT RATE for part and labor since I already paid you the $85 labor charge for the initial visit. It isn't my problem that the part was not on the first truck.

07/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On or about 04/16/13 I ordered a sheet metal box for my ductwork, i gave the company my drawing and or measurements. When I received the box it wasn't made to the drawing, I told him that and a different guy told me to go ahead and try and if it didn't work to let them know. i brought it back and they told me they couldn't do anything about and the only recourse would be for him charge me to make a new box. I reluctantly agreed because i needed the box.
I paid $56 each for the sheet metal boxes. My complaint is that he kept the first box and my money, I understand that he put labor into it but I paid for that box and feel I should be able to keep it.

Desired Settlement
I would like the box that I paid for returned or a full refund of $56.00

Business' Initial Response
I still have the part and they can pick it up at any time.
T. *****.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Roofing Contractors, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/21/1985Business started: 02/20/1978
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terrence J Scott (President) Larry Lee (Vice President)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Roofing Contractors, Heating Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Scott Lee Heating Co. Inc.

11010 Gravois Ind Ct

Saint Louis, MO 63128-2013

To | From


1 Locations

  • 11010 Gravois Ind Ct 

    Saint Louis, MO 63128-2013(314) 756-9444
    (636) 942-9949
    (636) 949-8662
    (636) 394-3351
    (636) 239-9988
    (314) 756-9440
    (636) 343-1444
    (314) 330-3545
    Fax: (314) 756-9436
    Fax: (314) 756-9436
    Fax: (314) 756-9436
    Fax: (314) 756-9436
    Fax: (314) 756-9436
    Fax: (314) 756-9436
    Fax: (314) 756-9436
    Fax: (314) 756-9436

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Scott Lee Heating Co. Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (636) 942-9949
  • (636) 949-8662
  • (636) 394-3351
  • (636) 239-9988
  • (314) 756-9440
  • (636) 343-1444
  • (314) 330-3545

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.