BBB Accredited Business since

Scott Lee Heating Co. Inc.

Phone: (314) 756-9444 Fax: (314) 756-9436 View Additional Phone Numbers 11010 Gravois Ind Ct, Saint Louis, MO 63128 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.scottleeheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scott Lee Heating Co. Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Scott Lee Heating Co. Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Scott Lee Heating Co. Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 1985 Business started: 02/20/1978 Business started locally: 02/20/1978
Business Management
Mr. Terrence J Scott, President Larry Lee, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terrence J Scott, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Contractors Roofing Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 11010 Gravois Ind Ct

    Saint Louis, MO 63128 (636) 942-9949 (636) 949-8662 (636) 394-3351 (636) 239-9988 (314) 756-9440 (636) 343-1444 (314) 330-3545 (314) 756-9444

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the end of July 2015 I had Scott-Lee Heating install a new Lennox ****** furnace and ***** air-conditioner. I recently determined that they installed a furnace with less capacity than what was stated in their contract. I sent a two page letter explaining their mistake along with documentation showing their contract, Lennox registration data and a photo of the label on the furnace. I requested that they replace the furnace with the one contracted and already paid for and to see that any replacement was properly registered with Lennox. This letter plus supporting documents was sent to them by USPS Certified mail with a Return Receipt. USPS tracking showed they received the letter on Monday morning 9/21/2015. I requested in my letter that they respond back to me with a date for a replacement install no later than Friday, 9/25/2015. On Monday September 28 I received a call from the sales consultant. He asked to come out to my home on Thursday October 1 which he did. He reviewed the installation and told me he would review his load analysis. I told him he could do that but the outcome did not change the terms of what was specified in their contract and I expected the correct furnace to be installed. He assured me that his company would take care of me and said he would get back with me early the next week of October 5, 2015. Today is October 12 and six business days have passed without him contacting me. This issue is now going on four weeks with no replacement furnace. Customers do not expect a vendor to unilaterally provide a unit of less capacity without the knowledge and consent of the home owner. The back of Scott-Lees contract is entitled Notice to Owners. Item number 2 states No changes or alterations in the work to be done under this Contract shall be made except by a written Change Order to this Contract signed by both parties. This company not only installed a unit of less capacity without my knowledge but also in the process violated the terms of their own contract.

Desired Settlement: Take ownership of your problem and install the Lennox furnace of the size and model specified in the contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ***** Pres Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@scottleeheating.com Salesman remarked that it was a replacement that needed to be done quickly and that he was trying to install the proper size equipment. He was not able to run the calculations to know the proper size furnace until the morning of the install and immediately changed the furnace size. The problem: he did not inform the homeowner of the change. If the homeowner wants the quoted furnace we will gladly replace it. Salesman is in contact with homeowner. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/10/26) */ I met with the sales consultant on October 16 and he explained how he followed up on the issue and determined that he had changed the furnace size the morning of the install and forgot to call me. I told him I appreciated him taking responsibility but that I still wanted the size called for in my contract. He setup the install for last Thursday October 22. The replacement was installed as requested that day. While I think a lapse in judgment took place I would also like to point out that of all the consultants that provide HVAC proposals, he was the best communicator and had the best command of his product line and company culture, which was the reason I selected Scott-Lee in the first place.

8/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was charged twice for labor to replace a part beyond the scope of work requested and to which I verbally voiced objection to. Scott-Lee installed a new furnace in my house in August 2013. I had been hearing noises from the furnace since moving in November 2013 so I called them in February 2015 to troubleshoot the furnace. They charged me an $85 service charge. I was told parts were covered under the 10-year warranty. The technician (****) told me the furnace heat exchanger had a problem, but it was too much trouble to fix. Then he told me that my humidifier had a bad solenoid valve, which was odd since I had just observed it working properly earlier in the year. He spent what I considered to be an inordinate amount of time fiddling with the solenoid and then announced that it would need to be replaced (no surprise considering how much he'd been experimenting with it). However, he said he did not have the part with him and that it would need to be ordered and installed at a later date. He did not tell me until he was leaving and having me sign paperwork that the part was NOT under warranty. I told him I would have them replace it ONLY if they would not charge additional labor because it was not my problem that he did not have the part with him. He assured me I would not have to pay any additional labor. The second tech ( ****) came in a few days and installed a new solenoid. I questioned him about the cost of the new part, which seemed excessive because I was charged $176 and I could buy one just like it for $25-$36. He showed me a price book which showed that the INSTALLED price of the valve - including labor - was $176. So despite being told I was not paying twice for labor, I was charged for two separate service calls plus an excessive amount for a part that actually turned out to be DIFFERENT that the original Lennox part. They used an AprilAire valve instead. The new valve is quite noisy and allows entirely too much water to flow, wasting water. Besides, I did not even ask that they LOOK at my humidifier, my concern was with THE FURNACE, which the original tech acknowledged was defective but did not repair. I paid $261 total for a repair I did not want or request and could have easily done myself for about $30 and done a much better job. The second tech, ****, also installed longer screws than stock, so now if I want to replace the media in my humidifier, I have to remove screws which will surely strip after 2-3 filter changes. I will NEVER use these people again, EVER. Service Call # XXXXXX & XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: $176.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/04/23) */ Contact Name and Title: *** Service Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@scottleeheating.com Dear Mr. *******, I apologize that you feel cheated by our company, my first question is where do you feel you were charged twice by our company? The first technician that came out charged you an $85.00 trip and diagnostic fee, than when it was determined that your solenoid valve needed to be replaced he charged you $176.00 which is the flat rate for that repair. Our second technician **** that came out and installed the part **** did not have on his vehicle, charged you nothing. In regards to the Aprilaire valve being installed of a Lennox valve, that is because they no longer manufacture the part the replacement is made by Aprilaire. In response to looking at the humidifier it is our companies policy to make sure all accessories are working properly before leaving a service or maintenance visit so there is less of a chance for failure down the road. In response to not repairing the problem, we were called out for, we would be happy to send a different technician out to see if there is anything that was missed and can be resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told that the initial trip fee would cover labor to replace the valve. However, I was charged $85 PLUS $176, which is for parts and labor to install the valve. In other words, I paid for double labor instead of one labor charge plus parts. I should have only been charged for the PART COST, not the FLAT RATE for part and labor since I already paid you the $85 labor charge for the initial visit. It isn't my problem that the part was not on the first truck.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Scott Lee Heating Co. Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)