BBB Accredited Business since

Alton Seamless Gutters & Home Improvements

Phone: (618) 465-8855 PO Box 1127, Alton, IL 62002


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alton Seamless Gutters & Home Improvements meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Alton Seamless Gutters & Home Improvements include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alton Seamless Gutters & Home Improvements
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 20, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2006 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/2006
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Michael Colley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Colley, Owner
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts Contractors - Gutters


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 1127

    Alton, IL 62002 (618) 465-8855

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 03/07/2012, I received an estimate for new gutters on my house.The work was done a few days later. At both ends of the front porch, water overflows the gutters every time it rains.. On the driveway side, the water splashes back on the brick porch. This is affecting the brickwork. I also paid $200 to remove and reinstall siding on the front gable. I have been contacting this company about these issues since 12/12. There was one attempt at repair. Since then I have contacted this company numerous times. I am sent straight to voicemail. (Although my husband's call from another line was answered. Last spring, someone came out, looked at the situation, said they'd be out next week and that is the last I heard from them. I called them one last time and gave them several weeks to respond. That is how I came to be here. Tonight I came home and my siding which cost me $200 to repair is hanging from the house and in pieces on my front porch.

Desired Settlement: I want the guttering on the front porch properly fixed. I do not want it jury rigged with additional pieces of guttering/metal. I also want my siding repaired. With a timely response, it would be on the gable, not on the porch. Otherwise, I would like a refund of the charges for that portion of the job so I can have it repaired.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/17) */ Report for work on her Home. All work done had A one-year workmanship guarantee.All work met our guarantee we would gladly prepare the home and an additional charge

10/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had some gutter work done and I assumed they were finished and paid. The next night, with all of the rain we've had, certain parts were leaking out of the end caps. I contacted them and they said they'd come out in a couple days. They never called back and never showed up. I called them back today and the man was ignorant on the phone and claimed the work was satisfactory but he'd come out and take a look. I told him he'd have to replace it and he got angry, telling me he'd caulk around the seams. I told him that was not acceptable and he hung up on me. I tried calling him back but he will not answer and I do not know if he is still going to come out and make good on this.

Desired Settlement: I want him to make the proper repairs if he will do it right. If he is just going to use caulk, that will not be satisfactory.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/08/06) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Alton Seamless Gutters & Home Improvements
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)