BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Metro Shooting Supplies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Metro Shooting Supplies include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Metro Shooting Supplies
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 13, 2007 Business started: 08/01/2004 Business started locally: 08/01/2004
Business Management
Ms. Amy King, Vice President Amy Chase, Office Manager Mr. Steven King, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Amy King, Vice President
Business Category

Guns & Gunsmiths Gun Dealers Gun sights, Scopes & Mounts


Additional Locations

  • 11434 Saint Charles Rock Rd

    Bridgeton, MO 63044

  • 209 N Illinois St

    Belleville, IL 62220 (314) 993-4867 (618) 234-9690

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Metro Shooting Supplies refused to offer an exchange or refund on a holster I purchased the day before. On December 26, 2015 at or around 1300 hours I spoke to a sales associate (Clerk ID 90) in great detail as to what my requirements were with respect to a holster for my Kimber 3.5? barrel automatic hand gun. The associate showed me a holster that I was not able to draw my hand gun with, but insisted it was the holster for me. I informed him it would not work for my needs, so he showed me a holster he uses, a Galco inside the pants leather holster. I was not all that impressed with the holster, but the sales associate was relentlessly pushing me into buying that holster. So I said I would try it out, and gave into his pushiness. I also asked him if he had a Viridian C5L I could look at because I was interested in purchasing that laser light system for my 9mm. He told me they didn?t carry that model, but showed me a Crimson Trace Railmaster. I was not all that impressed again, especially when he told me the price of the sight light. I indicated to him that I thought it was overpriced and I wasn?t interested in spending that kind of money for it. The sales associate kept badgering me into purchasing this item, but I kept diligent in my decision not to purchase this item despite all his attempts to close me on this sale by offering free batteries for life, and other rather unworthy comments/suggestions. When I got home from the store I tried the holster out on my person, and immediately had issues with it being comfortable in my pants along with draw issues and safety concerns. As I informed the associate, I was specifically concerned about the draw, safety, and whether it was the right fit for me. I decided I would take the holster back the following day to get it exchanged. So, I went back to the store for a replacement or refund the next day December 27, 2015 at or around 1300 hours. I walked up to the counter to discuss the problems I was having with the holster and that I wanted to exchange it for something that was more suitable for my needs. Immediately the associate behind the counter started in about how superior his knowledge was than mine with regard to the Illinois Conceal and Carry laws, and the purchase was not refundable or exchangeable. I simply asked him what the Illinois Conceal and Carry laws have to do with the purchase of my holster and I was not interested in his opinion with regard to his knowledge of the Conceal and Carry laws as I was well informed of the laws myself. The conversation about his knowledge of Illinois CC laws was not relevant. I deferred the conversation back to the refund or exchange of my holster for a holster that was more suitable for my needs. It was at this point I was told that there was a typed up sign on their cash register that said all ?sales are final? or something to that effect. I explained that my position was that the associate could have informed me of that fact knowing how particular I was in obtaining the right fit and my specific needs. The manager/owner who I was talking to immediately started getting loud and abusive (belligerent) linguistically with me regarding the matter. I explained to him that I didn?t think the customer consideration was taken into account and I would appreciate a reasonable resolution. He flat out refused to accommodate and/or deferred me to the ?all sales final? concept by telling me to sell it on EBay because the holster was my property and there was nothing he was going to do about it. I informed him I was very disappointed in his attitude and comments, that his competition is more eager to help customers with their needs by offering returns or exchanges rather than being overzealous sales associates. Also, asked him again to reconsider because I would never shop at that store again and I would inform all my friends and family of my experience with this business. He was not interested in his reputation because he said he didn?t care what I did. My suggestion to patrons of this store is to consider shopping at a store such as ****** ********* ********* **** **** or ***** **** for their gun and/or accessories. It has been my experience these store are more in tune to the customers? needs and more willing to resolve issues of returns and exchanges. Product_Or_Service: KingTuk IWB Holster Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: If a refund is not given. I will request a formal complaint to this matter to be visible to all potential inquiries of this business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/11) */ Contact Name and Title: *** **** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********************@yahoo.com For safety reasons, we do not accept returns nor exchange holsters. The reason for this is that a holster must work flawlessly in a life-threatening situation, when accessed by either law enforcement or a concealed carry individual. Holsters have to be form-fitting to a customer's gun, and while I'm sure this customer did not do so, we have had customers actually make alterations to holsters, then try to return them. For these reasons, we cannot resell a holster as new, once it has been used on a customer's gun, even for a short period of time. All of our holsters are guaranteed to be new when sold. To make our policy clear, we post multiple signs around the store and print on our receipts that there is a no-return policy. Since there is a no-return policy, we make sure we spend ample time with customers to ensure a proper fit. In this particular instance, our owner ***** and assistant manager **** spent about 45 minutes with the customer to make sure he found the right holster for his gun. When the customer returned, he complained that the holster didn't work, although he was wearing a clothing style that our staff told him during the shopping process would not comfortably conceal the holster and weapon. We understand that customers may sometimes have an adjustment period to get used to a new holster. But the fact is the holster the customer purchased works with his gun. He made the final decision to purchase it. The holster is not defective and we have multiple signs around the store stating all sales are final. Therefore, we cannot in good faith accept a return or exchange on the holster and sell it to another person as new and there is too much liability to sell used holsters. Thank you for your consideration in this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Metro Shooting Supplies
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)