BBB Accredited Business since

Shur Sav Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 725-4433 View Additional Phone Numbers 7434 Olive Blvd. St Louis Mo. 63130, Saint Louis, MO 63130 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shur Sav Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shur Sav Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 11, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 10/16/1984 in MO
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Peter J. Sarandos, Jr., President Mr. Christopher Sarandos, President Mr. Peter J. Sarandos, Sr., Chairman & CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter J. Sarandos, Jr., President
Business Category

Grocers - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Olive Hanley Inc Pete's Shur Sav Market

Additional Locations

  • 7434 Olive Blvd. St Louis Mo. 63130

    Saint Louis, MO 63130 (314) 367-4444

  • 6633 Vernon Ave

    Saint Louis, MO 63130 (314) 721-4950 (314) 725-4433


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased some fish from Petes on the 7th of July. Once Me and my mom got home and put away our grocery She realized the fish was not in our bag. We searched the car and house for the fish and could not find it. She called Petes they said it was not there so we went up there for my mom to show them the receipt and they looked at the cameras and said the cashier put it in our bag. No she put it in her bag or someone else's bag because it wasn't in mine. Once again we searched the car and house multiply more times after we left the store again no fish. Why would I drive 20 minutes back to a store to get some fish I already had when I could've just bought more someone else had my fish.

Desired Settlement: To be given my fish that was not in my bag.

Business Response:

I talked to my brother ***** and our manager, ***** about the incident. When ****** came back to the store to report she didn't have her fish they looked on the store's camera system for the transaction. They saw that ****** did indeed receive the fish.        The fish was put in a bag with lunch meat she had also purchased. The purchased items were put in a basket and the basket was taken by the customer. After this point we don't have any control over a customers  purchases. Did the customer put all of the bags in her car? If two people were shopping together did the other person get a wrong bag? If the fish was missing, why wasn't she missing her lunch meat also?As a gesture of goodwill, I would gladly give ****** a store credit for the amount in question.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I do not appreciate the way the business responded the fish was not in my bag.  I did not leave it in my basket and my mom who live with me was at the store shopping with me for your information so how did my fish get taken to another household if we're in the same household.  I would've taken the offer but their making it seem like someone need a handout by saying "As a gesture of goodwill" which I don't need a handout especially one for some 11 dollar fish.  I've been shopping there for years but never again will I shop at Petes because of this incident.  So thank u, but no thank u.


****** ****

2/9/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan 22 I went into there to pay my utility bill to ******* gas. Before I went there I went to the credit union 2 stores down, *** ***** ********* Credit Union. I put my checks in manually and the funds go in my account directly and immediately. I wrote the check for ******* *** and gave it to the cashier at Shur Sav. My check was run through two different systems. The utility bill was 241.00 and I was informed that my check was being run through and the cashier got a message was that the funds were declined, meaning the funds weren't available. I talked to manager that I do not know the name of and I told him I used to work for this bank and you know that the funds go in immediately. The check never went through. I paid through a visa card that same day. On January 26, and on January 28, and on February 1, charged my account 3 different times for $18 each time for a return check fee. ***** ********, one of the managers there, refunded one of the $18 charges on January 27. ***** gave me the number ********* which is the company that ran the check and told me to call them and see about getting a refund through them. The number I called only agents only, not for customer. So I couldn't do anything about this unless ***** or a manager from the store called to let them know.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $36 back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************** The customer presented a check for payment for a utility bill. The check was returned to a 3rd party bill processor ********** which incurred an overdraft fee to the customers account. Because of some confusion I personally reimbursed the charge. Several days later ********** submitted the check an additional 2 times which resulted in two more fees to the customer. At this point I have no control over her check. ********** is the company she needed to talk to so I gave the customer the only number I had. Apparently that # was of no help. To rectify the situation I will pay the $36.00 in fees even though this is not Shur sav's doing. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response. Thank you. According to Mr. ********, if Pete's Shur Sav was not liable for this discrepancy-********** is supposed to credit Pete's their money for this incident. Number one. Number two, Pete's should revisit their check acceptance policy-my check was ran twice for one transaction and that's not right. If my check didn't clear for only one system-that's it. Whomever is responsible for this matter, BOTH parties need to have a better understanding with BOTH systems, how they work and problem solving skills. The cashiers as well. I was spoken to by another manager at Pete's as if I was illiterate; like I had no knowledge period and no knowledge of my own financial information-that also proved to be accurate. Pete's has been apart of this neighborhood for a long time, but it really needs a make over of some employees and customer service. Mrs. *******

10/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a box of cereal from Pete's shur sav on 10/17/2014 and just open it today 10/10/2014. Ate some of the cereal then reach inside it was a white worm and a bug still alive in the box . so I immediately throw it off my hand and look closer and the white worm start crawling gross. and the bug was floating in my milk so I immediately call up to the store and complain to manager name ***** And he said because the box is closed when its ship to him its not his fault its *********** He also was very rude man then I said for one thing your store smell when you walk into and bought ********** cereal from different store and that never ever happen to me. I may not ever eat another box ********** cereal again and will not ever shop in that store again. I also contact ********** and the health dept.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Pete's shur sav is pointed the finger at ********** and I probably will be hearing from ********** on the next business day. so I want to find out who going to be held accountable for this so I can take further action. This is unacceptable and gross!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/20) */ ********** is the manufacturer of this product. It is packaged at a ********** plant. Any foreign object that may have gotten in the box had to happen at the ********** facility. That is why the Manager thought it was best to contact *********** We will gladly refund the customer's purchase price of the cereal and of course, we are very sorry this happened. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I also call ********** and of course like you there pointing the finger at somewhere or someone else. However this is beyond unsanitary and gross and cannot get that disgusting image out of my head. I could not eat for 24 hours afterward and even if attempt to eat now feel like going to throw up. this has scar me and made so terrified to even attempt to open another box of cereal. and I will never eat cereal ever again and I think your also part of the blame. the condition of store and smell is not good and I also purchase some best choice saltine cracker and there where stale. So with that being said no telling how long that been sitting on your shelf and what could have crawl in it.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Shur Sav Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)