BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/28/2013

Treasure Rooms

Find a Location

Phone: (636) 728-1899Fax: (636) 728-192517373 Chesterfield Airport Rd., ChesterfieldMO 63005 Send email to Treasure Rooms

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/28/2013

BBB has determined that Treasure Rooms meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Treasure Rooms' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Treasure Rooms
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: Purchased furniture on 8/10/13 for $2422.61 , some pieces were out of stock ( it was on sale)so they told me 4-6 months.
Purchased furniture on 8/10/13 for $2422.61 , some pieces were out of stock ( it was on sale)so they told me 4-6 months for everything to arrive. Never contact me when it merchandise to arrived, my number was scratched off the ticket per ******. I requested a refund. I never received any items or took delivery. The store manager told me no and they are keeping my money. They didn't offer me any solutions and now my son is being born 11/7/13 and now lost my money with treasure rooms and still no furniture from my son.

01/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: We received a defective chest which was returned to store to be fixed. We received a mirror and dresser that do not have predrilled holes.
We bought a set of furniture from this store for the sale price of around $2700. Upon delivery, on December 8, we sent back the tall chest of drawers because it creaked as it was moved, as though it were a 200 year old piece of furniture. For the amount of money spent and the quality expected from this company that was unacceptable. I was told by (NAME) that (NAME) would be in contact with me to let me know what was going on with that piece. There were also some drawers that did not seem to work as smoothly as others, on both furniture pieces and she said he would be in touch about that also. I have since, for a month, heard nothing back from anyone at that store and have called and left messages several times for both (NAME) and (NAME). I now received a call yesterday, December 7, from the warehouse, that my furniture is ready to be delivered and we set up a delivery date for Wednesday December 9. I have still not spoken with (NAME) to find out what actually took place with my furniture. Called again today and have not heard back. Furthermore, we are attempting to put together the mirror on the dresser, both of which are supposed to have pre-drilled holes a I was told by the store, and neither have them. We do not feel comfortable drilling into the mirror and possibly breaking it, or the dresser for that matter. I find it extremely frustrating that as a new mother to a less than 3 week old baby, I am having to spend my time trying to contact this company to find out answers to our issues when we could have spent much less money at Target and probably gotten better quality furniture and customer service. Also, we bought the furniture Labor Day weekend when there was a special running about spending a certain amount of money and receiving a free conversion kit or toddler rail. We did not receive those either. I am extremely disappointed with this store and it's employees.

Business' Initial Response
We have contacted the customer and have ordered a new 5 drawer chest for her. Our service manager will attach the mirror to her dresser. She seemed happy with this resolution.

Consumer's Final Response
I found out later the same evening I made this complaint that my chest of drawers had a brace put onto it and that was how they were delivering it back to me. It is unacceptable to fix a broken, brand new, expensive piece of furniture instead of replacing it. I could have gone to Goodwill to get something like that if that was what I was looking for instead of a good quality piece of new furniture.

10/18/2011Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Late delivery of products

Complaint: Furniture ordered at Treasure Rooms with Sales Rep: (___) on 7/8/11 with 50% deposit $1992.00 paid by credit card on ticket #XXXX and #XXXX was promised 4-6 weeks for delivery. On 8/4/11 the remaining balance $1992.00 was paid in full via credit card & we were informed that 2 of our 8 products had been received by their warehouse. However, Treasure Rooms stated they would not deliver until the entire product order was in the warehouse. Delivery was not scheduled and products not received until almost 13 weeks later on 10/4/11. We made many attempts to follow-up with the company between 8/4/11 and 10/4/11 and were met with multiple excuses for the delays in delivery. The company who sold the product, Treasure Rooms, seemed to blame the delivery company, the product manufacturer, etc. never taking responsibilty for their own miscommunications and false information. At one time, another sales representative (not (xxx) even called us to ask why we cancelled our delivery, when we had done no such thing. When our order was finally delivered, it was 30 minutes later than the 3 hour time slot in which they promised delivery, and the order was incomplete. We were told that it will be our responsibility to pick up the remaining products on our order, even though we paid for delivery up front, and had been told they would not deliver any of the items until the entire order was received. The only compensation for our time and trouble that was offered was a $10 credit and 10% off additional products purchased in the store. Even though our sales representative was seemingly understanding, the company failed to stand behind their original word and we feel we were patronized by their minimal offers. At this time, 10/10/11, we still do not have the last of our products from the original order on 7/8/11 and have not been contacted by Treasure Rooms for an estimated arrival date.

Business' Initial Response
We have contacted the customer and we will deliver the remaining product at no extra cost to the customer.

10/31/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/20/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Childrens, Baby Carriages & Strollers, Baby Car Seats, Carriages & Strollers, Childrens & Infants Wear - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/15/2003Business started: 01/01/1989
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1989, MO

Contact Information
Principal: Donna Cullen (Owner) Stephen Cullen (General Manager) Angela Phelps (Sales Manager)
Business Category

Furniture - Childrens, Baby Carriages & Strollers, Baby Car Seats, Carriages & Strollers, Childrens & Infants Wear - Retail

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Treasure Rooms

17373 Chesterfield Airport Rd.

Chesterfield, MO 63005

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 17373 Chesterfield Airport Rd. 

    Chesterfield, MO 63005(636) 728-1899

  • 283 Lamp and Lantern Vlg 

    Chesterfield, MO 63017-8209

  • 12325 Olive Street Road 

    Saint Louis, MO 63141

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Treasure Rooms is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Childrens

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.