BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/28/2013

Treasure Rooms

Find a Location

Phone: (636) 728-1899Fax: (636) 728-192517373 Chesterfield Airport Rd., ChesterfieldMO 63005 Send email to Treasure Rooms

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/28/2013

BBB has determined that Treasure Rooms meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Treasure Rooms' rating include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Treasure Rooms' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Treasure Rooms

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased furniture on 8/10/13 for $2422.61 , some pieces were out of stock ( it was on sale)so they told me 4-6 months.
Purchased furniture on 8/10/13 for $2422.61 , some pieces were out of stock ( it was on sale)so they told me 4-6 months for everything to arrive. Never contact me when it merchandise to arrived, my number was scratched off the ticket per ******. I requested a refund. I never received any items or took delivery. The store manager told me no and they are keeping my money. They didn't offer me any solutions and now my son is being born 11/7/13 and now lost my money with treasure rooms and still no furniture from my son.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund so I can purchase furniture or some solutions . they are keeping my money and I have nothing now.

01/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We received a defective chest which was returned to store to be fixed. We received a mirror and dresser that do not have predrilled holes.
We bought a set of furniture from this store for the sale price of around $2700. Upon delivery, on December 8, we sent back the tall chest of drawers because it creaked as it was moved, as though it were a 200 year old piece of furniture. For the amount of money spent and the quality expected from this company that was unacceptable. I was told by (NAME) that (NAME) would be in contact with me to let me know what was going on with that piece. There were also some drawers that did not seem to work as smoothly as others, on both furniture pieces and she said he would be in touch about that also. I have since, for a month, heard nothing back from anyone at that store and have called and left messages several times for both (NAME) and (NAME). I now received a call yesterday, December 7, from the warehouse, that my furniture is ready to be delivered and we set up a delivery date for Wednesday December 9. I have still not spoken with (NAME) to find out what actually took place with my furniture. Called again today and have not heard back. Furthermore, we are attempting to put together the mirror on the dresser, both of which are supposed to have pre-drilled holes a I was told by the store, and neither have them. We do not feel comfortable drilling into the mirror and possibly breaking it, or the dresser for that matter. I find it extremely frustrating that as a new mother to a less than 3 week old baby, I am having to spend my time trying to contact this company to find out answers to our issues when we could have spent much less money at Target and probably gotten better quality furniture and customer service. Also, we bought the furniture Labor Day weekend when there was a special running about spending a certain amount of money and receiving a free conversion kit or toddler rail. We did not receive those either. I am extremely disappointed with this store and it's employees.

Desired Settlement
I want a replacement mirror and dresser that have the predrilled holes as they were supposed to. I want a chest of drawers that is free from creaks because it was handled the correct way and is of the quality it should be. I want to be given the answers that I deserve as a paying customer about the issues that I am having. This is all fully paid for and we have been without a chest now for a month; huge inconvenience for a new family. If this cannot be done, I want it all returned and refunded, and we will take our business elsewhere as much as a headache that may be. I will never recommend this company to other people, as this is the second time now this store has caused problems for my family.

Business' Initial Response
We have contacted the customer and have ordered a new 5 drawer chest for her. Our service manager will attach the mirror to her dresser. She seemed happy with this resolution.

Consumer's Final Response
I found out later the same evening I made this complaint that my chest of drawers had a brace put onto it and that was how they were delivering it back to me. It is unacceptable to fix a broken, brand new, expensive piece of furniture instead of replacing it. I could have gone to Goodwill to get something like that if that was what I was looking for instead of a good quality piece of new furniture.

10/31/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On October 31st, 2010 furniture was purchased from Treasure Rooms in Chesterfield, MO. On December 4, the furniture was inspected for pick up at a warehouse. The warehouse would not let us inspect or open the crib, but we were able to look at the Hutch and Dresser. The hutch was damaged on the bottom corner with a large piece missing. The dresser had numerous scratches and defects. The Warehouse checked and there were two other dressers in stock. We inspected both and they had defects or damage to them as well. There was one dresser that would have worked if they would have let us switch the drawer out from another dresser. We contacted the store and a representative said that they would not let us switch the drawers and they couldn't do anything and would get back with us on Monday, December 6. On Monday, December 6, no one from Treasure Rooms had contacted us. We reported that there was damage to the crib that was discovered once we were able to get it home and inspect it. She asked for pictures to be taken and emailed. She'd stated that they re-ordered the hutch and dresser and it would be in on Monday, December 13. She stated that they would deliver this to our home and come and fix the crib this day as well. On Monday, December 13 no one called from Treasure Rooms. We contacted them and stated that the items would be in on Tuesday, December 14. On Tuesday, December 14, no one from Treasure Rooms called again. We contacted them and the same representative said that they would have to set up delivery and the warehouse would contact us back. The warehouse called on Thursday, December 16 for delivery on Friday, December 17. On Friday, December 17 the warehouse team delivered the hutch and the dresser. The hutch had damage to the right side of the bottom base and the dresser had a large scratch across the top right drawer. We called Treasure Rooms and they stated that they would send someone out to repair the items on Wednesday, December 22.
On Wednesday, December 22, he came to our house and put an overcoat finish on the Hutch and the dresser drawer. He took pictures of the damage as well as stated that he spoke with the manager and that she would have a new drawer ordered and he would bring it back to replace it. My wife was home when the repairman made the repairs. She has had a complicated high-risk pregnancy. He asked her to inspect the work, and she was able to briefly. The chemical overspray they had used was very potent and powerful. The repairman used this spray in the Baby's room and a window had to be opened and fan ventilation because the smell was overpowering. I stated that I would have her husband look at it when he got home since she could not be in the room with the smell that long as it would harm the baby. He'd stated that was fine and to call if there were any problems.
With the holidays and waiting on the room to ventilate, we were not able to fully inspect the work he'd did until Sunday, December 26. We noticed that at the same level at the damage to the hutch, there was overspray that matched the color of the hutch on our freshly, professional painted walls. On Monday, December 27, we called to report this damage. During this phone conversation, the same female representative became very aggressive and hostile on the phone. We asked to speak to the Manager. She came on the phone and said to email pictures. There were three photos sent that day. On Tuesday, December 28, A store associate said that she was not available to speak with us, but they had received the pictures and would contact us back. She called later that day and stated that they cannot fix the damage on the walls, they were not fixing the existing damaged pieces that we had that they promised they would and that they no longer wish to do business with us and don't don't want to talk to us again.

Desired Settlement
We would like to have the dammage to our house fixed as well as the damage to the product fixed as was promised on December 22, 2010.

Business' Initial Response
Customer received a price concession on her furniture to cover quality issues. She had a service rep call on her to fix other quality issues which she said was fine while service tech was in home.

Later she called about more issues and we stated clearly we would take back the furniture and provide refund. She responded by charging back the credit card to us and is now trying to keep the furniture for free.
We want our furniture back and any help the BBB can provide in expediting this would be welcome as we don't want to go to court.

She can buy her furniture any where she wants and not have to face the problems anymore.

Consumer's Final Response
5/18/2011: I do not want to let things lie. The company damaged my home. The wall damage cannot be simply painted over and needs professional help. I want new drawer that the company promised and paint fixed or a refund to cover cost of fixing wall paint.

5/25/2011: I did not know of the refund offer. The furniture has not been used because I was waiting for issue to be resolved. The baby sleeps in our room.

Business' Final Response
5/18/2011: I did not know whether the consumer had rescinded payment but I would be willing to let hing lie the way they are.

5/25/2011: I believe consumer's husband damaged the wall. The hutch had to be moved after drying. We offered to move it but the husband did it himself. We think the hutch hit the wall and color rubbed off. We are not willing to give any further concessions to consumer. We went to her house to fix furniture issues about four times and gave her a discount because she was unhappy. We had also offered a full refund in exchange for getting the furniture back but consumer did not accept. Now the furniture is used because consumer has had the furniture for months.

6/9/2011: A long time ago we offered to take back the furniture over the phone and give consumer a refund and she refused. We did not damage the wall and will not give her any money for new paint. Consumer asked for roughly $1,500 for new paint, an amount almost equal to the cost of the furniture. We believe consumer is merely looking to get as much money as possible even though we have already discounted the furniture. We will not continue mediation with this consumer about anything.

Consumer Response
Hello, I hope you are well. I just wanted to follow up and see the status of this. My daughter just turned 1 and we still have not been able to have her sleep in her crib or use her bedroom furniture waiting for this to be resoloved. We are expecting another baby in May and can't have two babies sleeping in our room. Can you give me an update? Thanks so much.
Best Wishes,
*****


Business Response
We never committed to an arbitration meeting and backed out. That is totally false. I would appreciate it if you would remove this statement. ***** ******, President of Treasure Rooms, Chesterfield, Mo.


Consumer Response
***** and I spoke at length on the phone about this. We recieved a small adjustment that was based on a special they were running at that time on the furniture, but this was before all the damage. They have yet to make good on their word to fix the damaged drawer and damage to our house. I would be available today to discuss this if you would like.

Best Wishes,
*****


Consumer Response
They never called to offer me a refund or ask me to return the furniture. I found this out by the information the BBB gave me. When I called them about this they were very rude and used profanity. They told me they did not want me as a customer and I should go elsewhere to buy furniture. I have not used this furniture and I am now expecting our 2nd child in 3 months. I have had to purchase 3 bassinets for my 1st child to sleep in. I have not spoken to them in a few months.


Consumer Response
To Whom It May Concern:

My husband and I were able to inspect the drawer this morning when my daughter woke up. (It was delivered yesterday during her nap, she didn't wake up till after 4pm, my husband had to work late last night and this morning when she woke up was the first time we were able to look at it)

There is a line that runs down the drawer and then swirls around. It looks as if this was a scratch that was painted over and repaired as the groove of the line is deep. I have attached two pictures. In the pictures the line is right above the break of the dresser and curves towards the right corner of the picture. I can get out a better camera if needed later this afternoon.

Please let me know when a new drawer will be delivered.
Best Wishes,


Business Response
12/04/2012: The consumer is not satisfied with the drawer we delivered. The piece is discontinued and we are no longer able to get another drawer. To try to make the consumer happy we are offering a $300 discount for her to keep dresser as is. If accepted we will mail her a check.

12/04/2012: We will put a check for her in the mail today.


Consumer Response
12/04/2012: I am not satisfied with drawer and it is my understanding that the manufacturer does have more drawers however since this has been going on for so long I am willing to accept the $300 to close this matter.

08/20/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Merchant failed to deliver furniture in condition it was purchased. Managers non-responsive to my requests to resolve the issue.

Items purchased: 4/6/2012
Romina Baby Station. Style: Ventianni. Floor Model (damaged)

On date of purchase, two of the items purchased were the floor model and we inspected in store (the baby station and a crib). We checked over the furniture carefully for any cosmetic damages. The wood was in tact, no scratches no discoloration on either the crib or the baby station. The tray was to be delivered to us in 3 months. The total was approximately $2200. Purchased from salesperson, (NAME).
Upon delivery on 4/11/2012, the baby station had a white film across the top. There is a distinct white cloudy/hazy discoloration. This was not seen in the store upon purchase. The crib was delivered with no blemishes or discoloration. The crib looked as it did when we were in the on date of purchase.
On 4/14/2012, My partner and I went to the merchant's store and reported the discoloration on the baby station. (NAME) told us to contact (NAME) in customer service at the following email address and include pictures: ***@treasurerooms.com. On 4/16/2012, I sent the email as instructed. On 4/17/2012, no reply to my email, so I called (NAME) at the merchant's main number (NUMBER). I was told he was not in, I left a message. On 4/18/2012, no reply. I resent the email requesting that they confirm they have received it. On 4/19/2012, no reply, I called again and was told that (NAME) was away due to a death in his family, he would return the following week and respond to me. On 4/26/2012, I called to request assistance from someone else, since (NAME) was not available. (NAME), was unable to explain what happened to the furniture. She transferred me to (NAME), the sales manager. He claimed that the furniture had this problem when we purchased it. Even though he argued, I clearly stated that the furniture was delivered in a condition different from the purchase condition and insisted a resolution. He said he would call me to schedule someone to look at the baby station damage. He took my phone number and said he would call me on 4/30/12 to set up a time for his consultant to come look at the furniture. I never received a phone call. Thursday, 5/3/2012 I called and asked for the store manager. I was told, by the Asst Manager, he was not in to leave a message. No response. I called again on 5/4/2012 and was told no manager was available, but he would return my call. (NAME), phoned me a couple hours later stating someone named (NAME) would call me. I asked who ***** was and she stated he is a person who would check my furniture that "does work for the store". On 5/8/2012, (NAME) scheduled an appt to come to my home on 5/11/2012, which he did. He looked at the baby station. He told us that it was a strange marking. It looked like "blushing" which he described as water damage, but wasn't. He stated it was not sun fading either and gave us detailed explanations as to why. He stated that it was unclear what would cause such markings. He apologized and said the only thing that could be done is to re-color the wood, but it may not help. Immediately, my partner and I went to the merchant's store in order to inform them of this and ask for a refund/return of the merchandise or for them to replace or fix the baby station. We were told there was no manager on duty and a salesperson told us that there was nothing she could do. Both this salesperson and (NAME) stated that since it was a floor model that we purchased it as is. We tried to explain that we understand the "as is" policy, but this is not what the furniture looked like when we purchased it, thus was not delivered "as is". We left since no manager was available. This same day, on 5/11/2012, (NAME) phoned me later, stating that they called the manager and that he stated they would not be able to do anything further for us because we purchased the furniture as is as a floor sample.

Desired Settlement
We purchased three items from this merchant
Romina Baby station: Style Ventianni. Floor Model (damaged)
Romina Crib. Style: Ventianni. Floor Model (undamaged)
Romina Changing Tray (not floor model, ordered through the merchant).

We would like a refund of all three items and we will happily return them. This merchant has demonstrated very poor customer service and we would like to never deal with them again.

Business Response
We received a charge back from the customers credit card company but decided not to dispute that charge. What has transpired is that the customer has gotten her money back. She requested we pick up the furniture and we did pick it up and it has been returned. The issue has been resolved with this consumer.


Business Response
The purpose of this e-mail is to notify you we have been in communication with . We received a chargeback notice from Mrs. which we have decided not to dispute. Mrs. and I spoke this morning to arrange for the return of her furniture.

01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Treasure Rooms is refusing to refund money on a order in which was delivered incomplete and the sales staff was incredibly rude.
I placed an order for furniture with my husband on August 16,2014. We were told by ****** our salesperson that the furniture is custom ordered and comes from a company in California and it would take 4 to 6 weeks. Although the receipt they gave me said up to three months. My husband and I called multiple times to check on the furniture and were constantly given the run around. I would call in the evening after work or on the weekends which is the most convenient time for me and they would say the company is closed that is making the furniture and they would call me back the next business day - I would never get a call back. So I would call again a few days later and they would say its still not ready they will give me an estimated ship date. The first was the 2nd week of October then the last week of October then the 2nd week of November and my husband called to cancel the furniture because no one would tell us when it was coming in - that day we were told it would be in the final week of November. When it was in Treasure Rooms then called immediately to collect payment because they refuse to set up delivery unless it is paid in full. The furniture was delivered on December 5th by ***************************. The delivery team was two very friendly very helpful men. They carried all the parts and pieces upstairs and began to set up the furniture. They began to set up the pieces and then called me up to the room. They wanted to know if the company had given me directions or a better picture of the completed bed. I said no but I had a picture on my phone from the day we had purchased the bunk beds. The men were working off a photo copy in black of white of a completed bunk bed - there were no directions at all. This bunk bed was a twin over full with a set of stairs that functioned as drawers and a bookcase and they had no directions to put the bed together safely and properly for my daughter to sleep. We then discovered that the upper bed was missing the head board which held the whole upper portion together. The men called the warehouse to see if the headboard was at the warehouse but it was not, they then asked me to call and speak to the store to see if it was there. It was already almost 5pm at this time but the guys were willing to go pick it up and come back and continue to complete the set up. When I called the store I spoke with ****** the salesperson and she said she would call the company from California to see if the piece was still there - to my surprise I was shocked because I was always told they were closed on Saturday - ****** then called me back and said they were not open - I said I did not expect them to be with it being Saturday. She said well I have the cell phone number but they did not answer. I then explained the situation and she said well the best they could do was research it on Monday and get back to me. By this time I was very frustrated and asked if they would call me first thing Monday to give me a status. She then told me to have the men put together the bottom bed ( which was the full) I said with the room the men would have to then take it apart to put together the twin (upper bed)when the parts came in. She assured me that was not the case - I assured her that I knew the room size and that it was not necessary to put the full together we would wait for the parts for the upper bed. She then put her manager on the phone - he asked me to have the full size bed put together so me and him had the same conversation as me and her but he was extremely rude raised his voice told me that I did not know what I was talking about and I quote " I thought you might want a place for your daughter to sleep" he did not say it nicely and it was on the verge of yelling at me - he was so loud that the delivery guys heard the whole conversation and said when I got off the phone that they could not believe how rude he was to me - my husband then asked them to take the furniture back and he helped the load it up.

Desired Settlement
We would like a full refund for both the product and delivery we paid for in the amount of $2,717.58.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** VP
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX **
Contact Email: ********@aol.com
The purpose of this email is to acknowledge your letter and respond accordingly. Ms. ******** bought the furniture on Aug. 16,2014 and was called on 11/19, 3 months from date ordered and so noted on the original receipt which she has noted on her copy as well... which we will fax to you since we can't seem make attachments to this response.

The receipt additionally says "Special Orders - NO CANCELLATIONS" This was made clear to her and she signed right below this disclaimer on the receipt.

Regarding delivery, the crew was new and we advised the customer that an experienced crew would come out and install the bed system to her satisfaction ; all at no cost to her.

Ms. ******** refused for no justifiable reason to accept this offer and said she was contacting an attorney; offering no reasonable explanation why she wouldn't accept delivery that week and berating personnel in the store.

She has receive certified mail restating our position and that she is in violation of our Terms of Sale and will forfeit all her deposits.

Copies of all docs are available, as always , to the BBB on request.

08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called the store on 12/17/13 to place an order. I spoke with them (a) and explained what i was trying to buy. I told her that i purchased 2 sets (******* young america, harbor town) back in 2009 for my sons and that i only got 1 hutch. For the other set i had the changing table and now wanted to get the set. She took my order, including my address because i told her i lived in maryland. I asked if delivery was available and was told yes. The purchase was made and i was emailed a handwritten receipt in the amount of $599. I had not heard anything from the company, so i started to call in mid february. On 2/20, i reached ****** again and inquired about my item. She said it had just arrived in the store. I asked why it was in the store and she said it needed to be delivered to me. I was upset because my understanding was that it would be delivered. I was charged nearly $300 on that day for delivery. Finally on 4/9 the item was delivered. It was too big and could not be safely mounted on the dresser, so the delivery men returned it to the truck. I emailed to let them know and got a reply from ***** who said ****** was out. On 4/14, i continued to call and on 4/15 reached her. She asked for pictures which were sent. Then she asked for pictures of a label which was also sent. I then received an email on 4/21 stating that they do not recognize the set i have and that there is a no refund policy for special orders. The receipt does not disclose this policy and i was not told when i placed the order.
Product_or_service: hutch for ******* young america set
Order_number: ****

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the purchase price of this item.i would like them to handle transactions in a more professional manner to cover the business and the consumer. Receipts should be emailed front and back. They need to be sure that all policies and procedures are communicated to the customer.

Business Response
Dear Sir or Madam,

The following is in response to a letter we received concerning ******** ******'s purchase of a product from our company on December 17, 2013.

Ms. ****** ordered a hutch from us in a specific color. The custom order timeframe on this hutch is 8-12 weeks for our supplier to build and ship to our distribution center. The hutch arrived at our distribution center late March and was shipped to Ms. ****** the same week.

We would like to inform you Ms. ****** received delivery of her hutch April 9, at which time she refused delivery of her hutch because it was too big to fit on top of an existing piece already inside Ms. ******'s home. It should be noted she did not call our company to report this, but rather e-mailed our company days later requesting a refund with no explanation.

In the nature of this transaction, it was the responsibility of the consumer to ensure the hutch would fit on top of the existing piece inside her home before placing an order with us. Furthermore, Ms. ****** did not mention to us she was planning to place this hutch on top of an older piece. All product specifications and dimensions are on our website for customer review. We strive to provide our customers with great products and customer service and this is order is no exception; we gave the customer exactly what she ordered in the timeframe we promised.

Our company's return policy is openly and clearly stated in the Customer Service page of our website indicating we do not accept returns on custom orders. On April 21, we indicated to Ms. ****** we would not be able to process a refund because the item was a custom order.

We believe this situation has been resolved in a fair and appropriate manner. Please contact me direct if there are any additional questions.


Sincerely,

*****


***** ******
General Manager
Treasure Rooms Baby & Kids
XXXXX ************ ******* **** Chesterfield, MO XXXXX
P ************
F ************
*******@treasurerooms.com



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am appalled at the level of dishonesty in this reply. I have documentation of all correspondence which I would like to share with the BBB. It will reflect the account in my initial complaint. I did not refuse the delivery as the invoice will show. I noted that it was too big as instructed by the delivery service. They stated it would not fit, no matter how they tried to adjust it on top of the other dresser. I email Treasure Rooms the moment the delivery service left my home at 3:59 that afternoon, not several days later. This was the email I sent
"The item was finally delivered to my home today. It is too big and does not fit on top of the Stanley Young America dresser. It was returned. Please notify me when it arrives back to your location so that I may receive my refund".

I also have a second email sent on 4/10 because I did not get a reply on the 9th. That email stated:

" Any idea when someone will contact me? I have called the store twice and have been unable to reach ****** who is the salesperson I ordered through.

Also, can someone please email me the receipt for what I was charged for delivery. The original order was placed on 12/17 and after calling some time, I was finally informed that the item was shipped to the warehouse instead of Maryland as requested. The delivery was charged to me on 2/20, but the receipt sent to me was the same one from the actual December order".

***** then replied on 4/10 with the following "********, I apologize ****** is out of office on Thursdays. She is back tomorrow and will be reaching out to you.

Obviously we are collecting information from Young America and the delivery service who is measuring the piece.

These things do take time... Please allow us to reach out to you tomorrow."

There is no mention of a no refund or no return policy at any time in the correspondence. On 4/14 I sent another email stating that I had not heard anything from ******.

After several phone calls, I finally reached ****** on the phone and she requested pictures of my set which were sent. On 4/21 I received an email from ****** with a different tone. It was only at this time I was told that there was a no refund policy.

So, in summary:
1. I did not refuse the delivery
2. I did tell ****** I was adding to an existing set purchased in 2009
3. I emailed at the time of the delivery
4. I provided an explanation for the return and refund request at the time I sent the initial email
5. I did not place the order on the internet. I called the store directly after getting their number off a site of Stanley Young America vendors
6. No one informed me nor do I have any documentation of a no refund policy. They did not decide a no refund policy existed until 12 days after I notified them of the problem with the furniture. If this policy exists, I should have been informed on 4/9 when I sent the first email.
7. This was NOT RESOLVED
8. THIS WAS NOT FAIR
9. I would still like to have my refund of the purchase price. In lieu of, I would be willing to accept a minimal restocking fee
10. The number of lies told in their reply is disgusting and in no way represents good customer service.
11. This is not a reputable business and the practices are deplorable.

I would be happy to provide documentation as proof of the communication I had with the company as their account is full of lies. I stand by my initial complaint and have the documentation to prove it.


Final Consumer Response
07-08-2014: I ordered a bookcase from Treasure Rooms go on top of sons dresser. when it was delivered ($300 delivery charge) it was too big and the shipper took it right back to truck. Treasure Rooms has not processed any refund to me. Would accept that I have to pay shipping and any restocking fee.

07-15-2014: Mediator left message for customer.

07-29-2014: Mediator made one more call to consumer to check in and left message.

Final Business Response
07-08-2014: I am very familiar with this case. the customer did not measure her space so when the hutch was delivered and did not fit she gave it back to the shipper. We have clear information on our web site that we do not do refunds on special orders which this was. The furniture was not returned to us. It is still sitting in the shippers warehouse in Maryland. We can't be expected to do a refund if customer did not do their due diligence and measure their space. As I had said our web site does clearly say that custom made furniture is not due a refund unless canceled within three days of order. I cant offer a refund to this customer.

07/24/2014Delivery Issues
06/19/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Childrens, Childrens & Infants Wear - Retail, Baby Car Seats, Carriages & Strollers, Baby Carriages & Strollers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/15/2003Business started: 01/01/1989
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1989, MO

Contact Information
Principal: Donna Cullen (Owner) Stephen Cullen (General Manager) Angela Phelps (Sales Manager)
Business Category

Furniture - Childrens, Childrens & Infants Wear - Retail, Baby Car Seats, Carriages & Strollers, Baby Carriages & Strollers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Treasure Rooms

17373 Chesterfield Airport Rd.

Chesterfield, MO 63005

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 17373 Chesterfield Airport Rd. 

    Chesterfield, MO 63005(636) 728-1899

  • 283 Lamp and Lantern Vlg 

    Chesterfield, MO 63017-8209

  • 12325 Olive Street Road 

    Saint Louis, MO 63141

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Treasure Rooms is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Childrens

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.