BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/25/2010

Foundation Recovery Systems

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 466-8664Fax: (660) 263-5664224 Sparks Ave, MoberlyMO 65270-2828 Send email to Foundation Recovery Systems

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/25/2010

BBB has determined that Foundation Recovery Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Foundation Recovery Systems' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Foundation Recovery Systems

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
09/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: About 6 years ago it was suggested by my bank(******** Bank) to repair my house's foundation in order to refinance it. The bank has hired Foundation Recovery Systems to do the work. The contracted work has been completed, however there was several issues right from the start. Other than filling the dirt back into where it was dug out, no landscaping was done. There was a stone work knocked off of the side of my house and the stones just left in the driveway. I was told by one of the workers that they are not brick layers, so they will not fix it.Today after 6 years I am refinishing my basement nand my contractor tells me that there is plenty of water coming in there. On top of that there is about 20 inch gap between the concrete in my driveway and the ground, so eventually it will collapse. Also there is 10 inches gap between my gutter and the intended plastic pipe drain taking the water away from the house. Since the work completed by the FRS came to the total of $27,000.00 I would think that it should last a bit longer than 6 years. I contacted the company and their representative arrived the following week to take a look at the problem. Right on the spot the System Design Specialist ***** ***** tells me that because of the "mother nature" my warranty is voided. The driveway settlement problem is my fault, because I should have done something to prevent it. My common sense would tell me that if you dig out a perfectly good driveway, you repair it to the original condition. They claim to be experienced professionals, so the settlement should not be a surprise. My last conversation with Mr. ***** was last week when he informed me that they are willing to do some partial repairs, but to fix the existing problem entirely will cost me $3,800.00 plus additional $2,000.00 for the driveway. I really do not feel that after collecting nearly $30,000.00 asking for additional $5,800.00 to correct their substandard work is appropriate to say the least. To make things worse my other project is halted.
Product_Or_Service: Foundation recovery and waterproofing

Initial Business Response
Attached is our response to the complaint. Sorry for the delay, the sales rep for this customer was on vacation last week.

Please let me know if you have any questions or need further information.






LETTER
This is response is to the complaint #XXXXXXX as submitted to the BBB by **** Z. ****** of Jefferson City MO.

The work completed in 2008 by Foundation Recovery Systems at the home on *** ***** ***** in Jefferson City MO., was done to stop the vertical movement of 3 foundations walls (half of front wall, half of back wall and the entire west side wall). In August of 2008, FRS was contracted to install 13 foundation piers on portions of these three (3) walls. The installation of piers has no impact on nor will it prevent, lateral (inward) movement of a foundation wall.

The lateral movement is the current condition recognized along with soil settlement under the driveway's front concrete pad. This lateral movement has created a new horizontal crack in the front wall that leaks. The new crack appears to be leaking and allowing water into the basement. Please note that soil settlement should be expected after a foundation has been excavated because you cannot mechanically compact the soil sufficiently during a backfill to totally prevent any soil settlement.

FRS is willing to make the following repairs, in good faith and at no cost to the homeowner, knowing that the repairs FRS made in 2008 are not related or directly responsible for the current conditions in the basement. FRS will:
Fill all void beneath the concrete drive with polyurethane void fill,
Reconnect the gutter discharge on the front corner of garage;
Install a water drainage system (26' of WaterGard, Cleanspace on the front wall and a sump pump) to insure against any further water intrusion through the new foundation crack in the front wall; however the homeowner is asked to remove the interior wall finish and any obstructions from the front foundation wall.
Establish benchmarking on the front foundation wall to monitor any further inward deflection of the wall.

The homeowner can notify FRS of his decision through the BBB. If he is agreement to the above, a proposal will be written indicating the work will be performed at no cost to the homeowner. Once the signed proposal is returned to our office, Mr. ****** will be notified of a schedule date, and placed on our production calendar.

FRS stands behind our products and our workmanship. We look forward to a favorable response from Mr. ****** and the BBB. Should either have questions, please feel free to contact our office.




Initial Consumer Rebuttal
I have not heard from the business. This issue is not resolved. Please reopen the complaint.

Final Consumer Response
18Aug14
I have not heard from Foundation Recovery. I only want the driveway and the downspout fixed. 1135 hours

25Aug14
Business has contacted to resolve one of the issues. We are still discussing a resolution for the second issue. 1143 hours

Final Business Response
18AUG14
(******)
We are still willing to do the repairs we offered on 17Jun14. As of this date, we have not heard back from the consumer. 1125 hours

18AUG14
(******)
I will check with my production manager and draw the the paperwork to fix the settling under the driveway and disconnected downspout. 1145 hours

25Aug14
(******)
We have contacted the consumer and made arrangements to resolve his complaint. 1135 hours

10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: In installing a sump pump, they damaged the cover to my radon abatement system. They have not fixed it to my satisfaction.

In April, 2013 I had Foundation Recovery Systems install a sump pump in my basement. When they put a hole for the pipe though the wall, they also put a hole through the cover of the radon abatement system on the other side. I notified the company and they replaced the cover, but they sawed a corner off it for the pipe. This leaves a hole that not only is unsightly, but leaves a place for birds and small animals to nest on the side of my house. I expected Foundation Recovery Systems to repair the cover so is was sealed. I have called an employee named *** at least 5 times between May and August of 2013. At least once after they replaced the cover someone did come out and do something, but it did not solve the problem. When I have called **** he said he would take care of it, but it has not been resolved.

Initial Business Response
*** ********* last day with FRS was August 9, 2013 and this type of issue contributed to his termination.

According to our records, we heard nothing from Mr. from early April until October 9 but he could have easily spoken further with Wes and it was not documented.

Bottom line is Mr. is scheduled for repairs on October 23 BUT I will double check everything with our new production manager and complete the complaint form .

Thanks for the call. I do not understand why I don't get the complaint notifications. The BBB is not blocked. I get info from the BBB on almost a daily basis, I will look into this further since this complaint notification was mid September.

Thanks again,
FRS Logo New 2012.jpg

****** ******
Vice President

09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: We contracted to have drainage installed on the perimeter of our basement. The company was to trench, install plastic drainage and rock, cover with concrete. The company sent 3 boys that were more interested in horseplay than professionalism. They arrived at 1:30pm from ******** went to lunch, left again about 3:45 because they were tired. Returned late the next AM, left again about 1:00, went to lunch and to pick up material, came back about 4:00. Dug a trench that was not deep enough, laid plastic product held together with duct tape and put in landscape rock. Plastic was up and down. Our plumber said would never have drained. The salesman said that they always use duct tape to hold the pieces together. Duct tape will not last in water for years! Told them to come back and pick up their product and leave. Charged us $1200.00 to dig trench that now needs to be dug deeper by our plumber and we have sump pump holes in the wrong place in our basement. All in all, this would have been an $8,000.00 mistake instead of a $1200.00 mistake. If you use this company, be sure to watch everything they do because you too might get duct tape.
Product_Or_Service: Dry Basement

Business' Initial Response
We will be putting a check in the mail today for $1200 and mailing it to the consumer.

S ******.

04/06/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: Company hired to stabilize slab foundation. Initial work busted sewer line & broke floor. Efforts to repair furthered cracks.

December, 2011: FRS was contracted to stabilize slab foundation on my addition with piering. During this project, the clay sewer line going into my house was busted and covered back up by the employees. A rusted culvert was discovered underneath the slab and caused the contractor to relocate a pier and install an additional pier not originally planned, at no cost to me. Work appeared to be satisfactory with an overall scan of the appearance of the rooms on foundation. Full payment was made, of approximately $11k. Two days later, the toilets exploded all over my bathroom floors. I contacted FRS & was told it wasn't their fault. It was my responsibility to locate sewer & water lines. I argued I would have happily paid for the repairs to the line if I had known they had been busted before contractor filled the hole back in. Contractor refused to come fix but did make a deal with me to cover half of the repair costs of a plumber.
June, 2012: After a period of 6 months, I made repairs to the walls in the addition. Within 2 weeks, the walls had recracked. After further inspection of the rooms that had been piered, I discovered the floor was broken. My sons's bed was sitting at an angle. I contacted FRS to examine the piering of the foundation according to the warranty, as well as to pier my bedroom on the front of the house. It was decided the floor had broken during the lift. Work was scheduled & a few weeks later, contractor appeared on site. I had told the salesperson who quoted the piers to make sure the employees onsite knew of the broken floor. I returned to my home to examine the "repairs" & was told a pier had slipped but had been righted & lifted again. I asked about the broken floor & the employee indicated he had no idea what I was talking about. Inspecting the floor again, I found the crack in the floor was much worse than before. Instead of just the corner, it now extended all the way across the bedroom, under the wall, and into the family room. I noted this further damage on the job inspection sheet, made full payment of $8k and continued pressing the company to fix the cracked floor. The salesperson returned to look at the damage, told me it was the fault of FRS & they would fix it at no cost to me. I should wait for a phone call. That never came. I called again. No phone call. I called again. The salesperson inidicated my paperwork had been lost. A couple weeks later, the office contacted me to schedule a technician to examine the project. He arrived, indicated the repairs needed included poly-filling the crack and the salesperson would contact me to give me a quote. On January 5th, I received a quote totalling $2,944. I contacted the owner of FRS again, told him I wouldn't pay for it, it should be covered under the warranty. He indicated at that time the crack was a cosmetic damage & would not be covered under the warranty. I aruged with him & he offered to grind down the crack & fill with concrete to level the floor.
February, 2013: The project to grind & fill the crack was postponed due to the snow storms.
March, 2013: Technician arrived on site to cosmetically repair the crack after I had pulled back the carpet & moved all the furniture. He called me not long after his arrival indicating he couldn't fix it. His boss would not allow it because it needed to be poly-filled. The salesperson would contact me with a quote.
March 25, 2013: I received the same quote of $2.944.

Business' Initial Response
My apologies for the delay in responding. The wet weather is keeping us extremely busy. Below is the response to consumer complaint; the response is provided by **** ***** FRS General Manager. Please advise if you have questions or need further information.

As stated by the customer, , a large culvert was located beneath the slab of her home, that no one was aware of, including the homeowner. The FRS foreman at the job sight did not document that a sewer line was contacted or covered up intentionally. There would be no benefit for an FRS employee to not report or cover up the damage, as it has been stated by Mrs. ***** that the crew attempted to assist her by adding one pier at no additional cost to her. The other additional piers that were recommended were needed in a different area of the home. The slab movement she mentions in her complaint is a separate problem resulting in the separate quote for the recommended repairs.

Based on our continued history with Mrs. , I ***** ***** spoke with her and offered to make the slab repairs at a discounted price of $2000.00. Mrs. states she needed the work completed within two (2) weeks. To accommodate the customer's request, FRS rescheduled other customers to work in her project. The day of the scheduled repairs, the customer was contacted by the crew foreman (standard procedure) and was told by the customer NOT to come and that she would get back with FRS if she wanted to pursue but that she may be selling the house 'as is'. No further communication has been received from Mrs. . A follow up call was made to the customer to attempt to reschedule but she has yet to respond to the message.

please let me know if anything further is needed.

FRS Logo New 2012.jpg



****** ******
Office Manager

09/20/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: SERVICES DID NOT HELP LIKE COMPANY SAYS IT WILL
Foundation Recovery Systems installed 6 piers and 8 anchors on 7/17/2002 to help pull basement back into place at a cost of $ 8387.00.Same company installed 14 additional piers for same above mentioned basement on 2/1/2007 at a cost of $ 14,538.00 .Same company gave us a proposal of $ 8961.00 in September of 2011 to install 5 more piers which was denied my me.None of the above work has help pull the basement walls back at all and i am in process of another company beginning in July 2012 taking the wall out and pouring a new basement wall.Plan is to have experienced people in basement repair to oversee the project and take pictures and or video`s of previous work.My wife and I both think that Foundation Recovery Systems from Moberly, Missouri should pay at least half of the almost $ 24,000 it will cost to replace the front wall that there service failed to help at all.Pictures of their anchor system will also be photographed and video`d because of very poor design for pulling a wall back by tightning nuts pushing against metal plates on the basement wall.$ 22.925.00 was paid to Foundation Recovery Systems for services that totaly failed to do anything they claimed their service would do.

Business' Initial Response
Foundation Recovery Systems (FRS) first spoke with Mrs. ******** in May of 2002; her concern was jagged cracks in the sheetrock in her dining room and another area. ********* met with Mrs. ******** and proposed the installation of 6 piers on the southwest corner and down the west wall of the house and 8 wall anchors on the front wall of the house. The work was completed in July 2002. Individual holes were dug on the southwest end of the front wall to install 2 piers and complete a crack repair.

The 8 anchors were installed 3 feet off the corner and 4 feet apart on the front wall. However, the homeowner elected not to excavate or expose the entire front wall of the house, which would have allowed for the repositioning of the front wall. The front wall was only stabilized from further inward movement. In September of 2003, in response to customer request, FRS returned to re-torque the anchors.

In Fall of 2006, in response to Mrs. ********'s call with concern that back door would not close, ***** ***** proposed the installation of 14 piers across the back of the house, east wall and southeast corner of home. In 2005 the ********'s had built an addition to the house, on the east end of the structure. This addition alone required 8 of the recommended piers. This work was completed in February, 2007.

In September of 2011, Mrs. ******** requested FRS return as the front door of the house would not close properly. A proposal was written to install 5 piers - 4 piers across the front of the original house with the 5th pier installed on an interior load-bearing wall. Since the original front wall had the anchors installed in 2002, it would be necessary to extend the original anchor rods when excavating the front wall for installation of piers. The installation of the 4 piers on the outside wall would now result in piers around the entire perimeter of the home. ***** followed up with the ********'s by email several times following his appointment; however, this proposed work has not been completed.

There has been no further direct communications with the ********'s until receipt of the complaint. On June 25, ***** ***** and ****** ******, owner of FRS, spoke with Mr. ******** and he agreed to allow *********'s return to evaluate the situation. An appointment was scheduled for Monday, 7/2, at 10 a.m., **** was to meet with Mrs. ******** as Mr. ******** would be out of town.

**** met with Mrs. ******** the morning of Monday, July 2. The front wall does not appear to show any additional inward movement from when the original work was completed in 2002. According to Mrs. ********, the diagonal cracks on the front wall had been repaired shortly after the anchor installation and the repairs were still intact, the cracks had not reopened. The new foundation cracks that are present are due to a section of the front wall dropping vertically. This movement directly impacts the master bedroom and the front entry door. These are the areas of concern stated in the BBB complaint by ****** ********. This area was never repaired by FRS even though these repairs were recommended by FRS in the Fall of 2011.

On July 3, ********* and ****** ****** spoke with ****** ******** by phone and offered to install the 5 proposed piers, to stabilize and attempt to regain the lost elevation in the front wall. The homeowner is firm on replacing the original south wall and west wall of the home as well as removing all 8 anchors and the original 6 piers that were installed on those walls in 2002.

FRS has addressed and remedied the ********'s concerns as presented from 2002 to 2007. Mr. ******** is currently confusing vertical (downward) settlement and horizontal (inward) movement. A portion of his front wall is currently experiencing vertical settlement, there is no indication of further inward movement of that wall since it was stabilized in 2002. Vertical movement was noted on the west wall in 2002 and in 2006 vertical movement was occurring on the back wall and the addition to the house. On both occasions the issues were addressed and remedied by FRS. The repairs of 2002 and 2007 are still holding and the walls are stabilized.

Only a small portion of the front wall (as noted on the drawing) is now experiencing some vertical settlement. The installation of 5 piers was proposed for this area, thereby completing the installation of piers around the entire perimeter of the home. The house would carry a lifetime warranty against any further vertical movement and the original front wall of the home is warranted against horizontal movement.

FRS has offered a fair and equitable resolution to the ********'s, at no additional cost to the homeowner, and Mr. ******** has refused our offer. Mr. ******** was advised by both ****** ****** and *********, that the replacement of the two walls will not provide a long term remedy to the vertical settlement. He plans to construct the walls on the same soils and will in all likelihood have the same results in the future.

Enclosed are photos of the home, both interior and exterior photos, as well as a drawing to show the products installed in 2002 and 2007, the crack locations, and the location of the proposed piers.

Should you have any questions please feel free to contact our office.

Consumer's Final Response
8/17/2012: I had new front wall, side wall and new floor installed by another company which cost $24,000. Home is fine now and I am not having any problems. I would still like refund of half of the work that was originally done by business or $11,462.50.

Business' Final Response
8/22/2012: We are not willing to give customer any money back. We offered to go back and complete some work at no charge to customer. We wanted to work with him but he was not interested. Since work has been completed, nothing else available from us.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Foundation Contractors, Waterproofing Materials, Waterproofing Contractors, Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Sump Pump Contractors, Basement - Contractors, Mud Jacking Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/16/2006Business started: 04/01/1992
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sharon Martin (Office Manager)Mr. Jeff Martin (President & Owner)
Business Category

Foundation Contractors, Waterproofing Materials, Waterproofing Contractors, Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Sump Pump Contractors, Basement - Contractors, Mud Jacking Contractors

Alternate Business Names
G M F Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Foundation Recovery Systems

224 Sparks Ave

Moberly, MO 65270-2828

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Foundation Recovery Systems is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Foundation Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.