BBB Accredited Business since

Homefield Energy

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 451-3911 View Additional Phone Numbers 1500 Eastport Plaza Dr, Collinsville, IL 62234 View Additional Email Addresses http://homefieldenergy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Homefield Energy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Homefield Energy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Homefield Energy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 05, 2010 Business started: 03/02/2000 Business started locally: 03/02/2000
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Sheree Petrone, President Mark Fanning, Director of Marketing & Customer Service Barbara Hendrickson , Manager of Account Management
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Barbara Hendrickson , Manager of Account Management
Principal: Sheree Petrone, President
Business Category

Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail Electric Companies Utility Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Ameren Energy Marketing Co

Additional Locations

  • 1500 Eastport Plaza Dr

    Collinsville, IL 62234 (618) 343-7777 (888) 451-3911 (866) 694-1262

  • 1710 Gratiot St

    St Louis, MO 63103 (618) 343-7716

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was never notified that Homefield Energy was going to be added to my electric bill. I have recently been notified that they have been on my account sine 2013. a is ILLEGAL! I never authorized this company to be on my account. I was sent a notice in April that I could "opt out" of the company. I did so immediately. I still continue to see the company on my bill. I have spoken to them several times and they were very rude and unprofessional. They refuse to remove themselves from my bill and continue to illegally charge me. I expect a full refund for the past 3 years and the company to be removed from my account immediately.

Desired Settlement: removal from bill and refund for past 3 years

Business Response:

This customer is a resident of Village of Havana.  Havana has an opt out electric municipal aggregation program.  Havana selected Homefield Energy (HFE) as the supplier for the past three contract terms dating back to June 2012.  This customer has been participating in the Village of Havana program and has been on HFE supply since June 2013

 

In March of 2016 customer was sent an opt out packet explaining City of Havana again selected Homefield Energy as the supplier for the new contract term.  The packet advised the current contract was expiring in June of 2016 and a new contract term and rate would begin in June 2016.  The packet explained municipal aggregation program, terms and conditions, an opt out card, and other informational material.  The customer had until 04/22/2016  to opt out of the new contract term.  Customer opted out of the new contract term by returning the opt out card on 04/13/2016.  HFE submitted a drop on 05/16/2016 so the account would return to ****** supply on the June 2016 meter read date.  ****** sent customer a letter in mid-May confirming the account would switch back to ****** supply on or about 06/21/2016 (which is the scheduled meter read date.) 

 

Customer called our call center on 06/27 regarding recent utility invoice which still showed HFE as the supplier.  Customer was upset that she returned the opt out card back in April and she was still seeing HFE as the supplier on her June invoice.  The call representative tried explaining the timing but customer either did not understand or was too upset to listen.  Customer eventually hung up.  Customer then sent email to our Customer Care center and we responded the account was switching from HFE supply to ****** supply on the June read date. 

 

HFE called customer regarding the account concerns and explained above process.  We also advised customer she has actually saved money by participating in the program but customer insisted she was not with HFE previously.  The call did not go well.  At this time, HFE does not intend to contact customer again since it seems to upset her.  Account dropped from our supply in June and June invoice was the last invoice will receive with HFE charges for supply.  No refund will be made since customer has been on HFE supply since June 2013 and has paid less for supply charges than if she had been on ****** supply. 

 

Let me know if you have any questions.

 

Thank you,

3/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 18, 2014 Homefield supply started billing me a "power supply charge" for a total billed of $131.05 This was NOT authorized! On November 18, 2014 Homefield supply started billing me, as a part of my ****** UE bill, a "power supply charge" This went unnoticed until today when the bill for my 1 bedroom apartment which I keep heat set at 67 degrees and am only home and awake for maybe 5 hours a day is $128.57 and $55.75 of that is their Supply charge. I received my electricity prior to November 18th 2014 without issues. I told ***** their customer service rep tonight at 6:20pm to stop billing me their charges and was told there was no penalty in doing so.

Desired Settlement: I want the $131.05 refunded to me as well as any additional "fees" they may attempt to bill me from January 20th till this date.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/03/06) */ This customer is a resident of City of Columbia, Illinois. City of Columbia has an opt out electric municipal aggregation program which residents voted on and approved. City of Columbia selected Homefield Energy (HFE) as the retail electric supplier and locked in the rate of $0.04660 per kwh for time period June 2014 to June 2016. This is a firm fixed all inclusive rate for electric supply over the term of the contract. (The ****** Illinois rate for supply can change monthly. The current ****** price to compare is $0.0457. Based on customer usage during time frame account was included in the municipal aggregation program and the current price to compare, customer has paid $3.59 more than had he been on the utility supply rate.) In August 2014 customer was sent an opt out packet from the City of Columbia explaining electric municipal aggregation program, terms and conditions, an opt out card, and other informational material. The customer had until 09/05/2014 to opt out of the program otherwise the account would be enrolled on Homefield Energy supply. Customers can opt out by returning the postage paid post card, calling our toll free number or emailing us at the email address provided in the packet. Customer did not opt out of the program. On 09/10/2014, Homefield Energy submitted a request to ****** Illinois to have the account switched to our supply effective with the next available scheduled meter read date. ****** Illinois sent customer a letter confirming the account was switching to Homefield Energy supply effective 10/20/2014 and if customer did not agree with the switch, customer should contact Homefield Energy or ****** Illinois and the pending enrollment would be rescinded. Again, customer took no action during the rescind period so account switched to HFE on the October meter read date. Customer called HFE on 01/28/2015 to opt out. Customer was opted out of the program effective with the next available meter read date was 02/20/2015. (According to utility rules, accounts can only switch on scheduled meter read dates) In reviewing customer complaint, usage increased significantly in the winter months. The monthly usage more than tripled when compared to monthly usage prior to switch to Homefield Energy supply. I will issue customer a gift card in the amount $10.00 to compensate him for the $3.59. I called customer today to explain events that led to account being switched to Homefield Energy and have also copied him on this email. Today is the first day Homefield Energy became aware of this complaint. *****, can you check your records to see where prior notices were sent. We want to make sure the Better Business Bureau has the correct Homefield Energy contact information. I do apologize we did not respond sooner. Let me know if you have any questions. Thank you, ****** ******** Account Management Executive


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Homefield Energy
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)