BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2011

Berry Door & Window

Phone: (314) 209-1500Fax: (314) 209-1511View Additional Phone Numbers714 Goddard Ave, ChesterfieldMO 63005-1100 Send email to Berry Door & Window

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2011

BBB has determined that Berry Door & Window meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Berry Door & Window's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Berry Door & Window

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
10/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We are building a new home. We ordered windows and doors from Berry. One window was damaged in transit. They replaced the window but not the frame. You can see light through the sides of the window and it is very loose. They have sent a man out to fix it. He worked on it a while, it wasn't satisfactory so we ask him to take the window out a re-install it. He did. It is still bad. It is not air tight. It is loose. We want the entire window replaced.
Product_Or_Service: Milgard windows

Desired Settlement
We want the entire window replaced at no cost to us.

Business Response
This is a manufactures issue which cannot be solved by Berry Door & Window. Berry Door & Window only supplied the window to the customer.

I have spoken with ******* (manufacture) and they are going to replace the window for free. To my knowledge the window will be installed by the end of October. Per customers request this will solve the issue.

08/12/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Location: *** ******* Ave, Chesterfield, MO XXXXX
My husband and I purchased Entry and Storm doors for both the front and back of our home in April 2007. Since then we have had numerous problems with all of the doors! The main issue is the storm doors are always having some sort of problem whether it be the door handle flying off in my neighbor's hand when he tried to let me dog out or the screens not working properly. I dealt with the owner of Berry Door in May 2010 and he was very nice and even gave us 2 new storm doors. Since then, I have had the same problems with the screens either coming out of the door or not being able to open the window on it at all because it won't close. I have a note book of all of the issues I have had with the doors! My most recent problem occurred in May 2013 in which the "balance bar" popped out yet again! I called the office and left a message for someone to schedule it to be looked at. After no call back, I called and was told I needed to talk to a different person to schedule it to which I left another message. Again, no one called me back so I placed another call and spoke with a gentleman that assured me that someone would get back to me. The man I spoke with called and said he would stop by that day to look at it and take pictures of the problem and discuss with the owner. I received a call the next day and was told it would be a service call and would cost $80 plus $120 an hour to come out. I told him I didn't think I should have to pay for service since it is the exact same problem I have had numerous times before. He said he will have a scheduler call me and as of June 12, 2013 I have not received a call. I told the man when he came to look at problem that we were willing to look at different doors that would alleviate the constant problems. We spent almost $5000 for these doors and have had headaches with them ever since. I feel that we should at least get the door fixed at no cost to us. We will definitely take our business elsewhere in the future.
Product_Or_Service: Storm doors for front & back

Desired Settlement
We would like either a replacement, repair at no charge to us or a partial refund.

Business' Initial Response
We have contacted Pro V, the manufacturer, and we are ordering a set of new doors at no cost to the consumer. She can contact us if she wants us to do the installation and she will pay for this labor. Or she may contact another company for the installation.

****

Consumer's Final Response
On Aug. 6 I spoke with **** ****** from Berry Door. He was calling to discuss my getting the 2 new storm doors from the manufacturer. I informed **** that we are not upset with him, but we just don't feel that we can pay more money for them to install the new doors. He said he completely understood our position on the situation. I told him that we are very careful with the doors and it's frustrating that we keep having problems with the doors. He said he spoke with the manufacturer and they are aware of the design flaw and they believe that they have fixed the problem. The new doors we are getting should hopefully be the last ones we need! **** did say that if we have any problems with the new doors to call him and he will get us new ones again. He said the manufacturer told him the new doors will be at Berry Door around Aug. 15, but he isn't overly confident that they will be there then, so if I haven't heard from Berry Door by Aug. 20 to give him a call. He said he will help us get the new ones loaded and if we want him to dispose of the old doors he can do that too. He was very professional and courteous just as he has been in the past. He is upset that we have had all of the problems that we have had with these doors. I am confident that if we have additional problems that Mr. ****** will keep his word and get us new doors yet again from the manufacturer.

Business' Final Response
I spoke with customer and offered new doors. She will pick them up on or near August 15th.

02/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/17/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The ****** garage door opener has a life time parts warranty. On 9/9/13 I called Berry Door Co. to change the code on my garage door; the reset button would not work for me. I told them it came with a lifetime warranty. They replaced the key pad, the lid was broken, did not check the system. I needed to program the remote to the new code and the reset button did not work again, on 9/12/13 they came back out and found the program board needed to be replaced and replaced it.
If Berry Door Company is going to be doing the warranty work they should be informed of the procedure to be taken. I informed them this was covered under a warranty for life. They also should have checked everything out the first time they came out. I was charged a second time they came out to replace the, program board. The button on the board was what the problem was to begin with, it was broken. I was told the system would be completely checked out as part of the service call charge. I am told by ***** Co I should not pay for parts.

Desired Settlement
I do not feel I should have to pay.

Business Response
1. she is not the original purchaser of the ***** opener. Lifetime warranty only applies to the original purchaser of the unit. So, yes it is a chargeable call and all parts are chargeable.
2. We did check everything. This is part of our standard operating procedures.
3. We did check the program button and when used properly it works. We were able to program her exterior key pad just fine. We were also able to program her "homelink" in the car just fine too.
4. Customer wanted a new keypad for free. This is not covered under warranty. Exterior key pads only come with a one year warranty.
5. Customer tried to program the "homelink" on her own. She was unsuccessful at doing this and wanted us to come back out for free. It is not our fault she was unable to program the car. ***** provides excellent direction on how to program openers on line. However, she did want us come back out (which is a chargeable call) and we programmed her car just fine.
7. Did the customer tell ***** Co. she was not the original purchaser of the opener?
8. Programming Homelink is not covered under lifetime warranty.

01/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Put the wrong color door in on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving. The man came back out and admitted it was the wrong color. He then said he did a special test and that it must be the light making it seem like a different color and that it was actually the correct color. I explained how he admitted it was the wrong color. I paid $1,700 for one door and this is wrong, it doesn't even match the chart they gave me. They did a good job on the work, but the color is wrong. I told them I wanted $250 back.

Desired Settlement
I would like $250 back.

Business' Initial Response
Please let me know what we need to do to resolve this issue. We offered to repaint the door but she rejected our offer.



Thank you,



******

07/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/19/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Door & Gate Operating Devices, Garage Door Repair, Garage Doors & Openers, Storm Windows & Doors - Repair, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Storm Windows & Doors, Doors - Installation, Doors, Overhead Garage Doors, Windows - Installation & Service, Doors - Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/19/1970Business started: 01/01/1969
Type of Entity

Fictitious Name

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Zehner (President) Mindy Schuster (Controller)
Business Category

Door & Gate Operating Devices, Garage Door Repair, Garage Doors & Openers, Storm Windows & Doors - Repair, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Storm Windows & Doors, Doors - Installation, Doors, Overhead Garage Doors, Windows - Installation & Service, Doors - Repair

Alternate Business Names
Berry Door of Missouri
Industry Tips
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Berry Door & Window

714 Goddard Ave

Chesterfield, MO 63005-1100

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 714 Goddard Ave 

    Chesterfield, MO 63005-1100(314) 209-1500
    (314) 984-8999
    (314) 423-3667
    (800) 300-0304

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Berry Door & Window is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (314) 984-8999
  • (314) 423-3667
  • (800) 300-0304

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (314) 428-9798
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.