This business is not BBB accredited.

Discount Appliance

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 831-1707 Fax: (314) 994-1519 12671 New Halls Ferry Rd, Florissant, MO 63033


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Discount Appliance include:

  • 26 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Discount Appliance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 11
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 26

Additional Complaint Information

The BBB has received numerous complaints against this discount appliance store. Complainants primarily allege the company sold defective appliances, failed to provide refunds, failed to or was late delivering goods when scheduled, provided poor customer service, missed appointments and that consumers had difficulty contacting a representative of the firm. These complaint patterns are reflected in the complaint statistics below.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Discount Appliance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Manager Bruce Schmidt, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Manager
Business Category

Discount Stores Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Used

Alternate Business Names
Appliance Warehouse Big Frank's Discount

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11742 W Florissant Ave

    Florissant, MO 63033

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12671 New Halls Ferry Rd

    Florissant, MO 63033 (314) 831-1707

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2231 N 3rd St

    Saint Charles, MO 63301

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2369 Schuetz Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63146

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a refrigerator, a stove, and a washing machine on 3/6. They were supposed to deliver it 3/9 by 4:30. They called me at 4:30 to tell me there is something wrong with the refrigerator and they didn't deliver my items. I called 3/10 and talked to someone who said they are still working on it. I feel like I am getting the run around. They didn't want to deliver my other items. The customer service were being kind of rude about it.

Desired Settlement: I want to receive my items and give me some kind of compensation for the issues.

3/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a freezer from this company not even 30 days ago. The freezer went out and I reached out to them Thursday unsuccessfully. I got a hold of them Friday and told them what was happening and they said they couldn't send someone out until Monday between 9 and 10. No one showed up so I called and they said the tech was out sick. I asked for my money back or a replacement. They said they didn't have a replacement. I drove out and they said the one they had there was sold even though it didn't have any sold stickers on it. I've lost about $500 worth of food.

Desired Settlement: I would like the appliance to be replaced as well as reimbursement for my lost food.

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refrigerator purchased on 9/20/14 never worked. As of 10/31/14, Discount Appliances still has not exchanged it or refunded my $300. On 9/20/14 my wife and I purchased a refrigerator and stove from Discount Appliances, now located on ** ********** *** The refrigerator never worked. After 4 service visits, we called the store to request a refund. ********* and ********** said we can come back up to the store to pick out a new refrigerator. We went back up to the store on Tuesday October 28, 2014 and picked out a black GE 35" refrigerator to be delivered on Thursday October 30, 2014. After the refrigerator was never delivered on Thursday, we called back today, Friday October 31, 2014 to inquire about our pending delivery. We were told by ********** that our refrigerator would be delivered to our home between 12-1PM today. At approximately 5:12PM today, I spoke with ********* who told me that our refrigerator actually was never on the delivery truck and he's "not sure why ******** told us it would be delivered yesterday or today. I told ********* that was unacceptable and that I'd like a refund. ********* told me he would list that and that he'd have a check waiting for me on Monday morning (11/3/14).

Desired Settlement: I would like the $300 I paid for the refrigerator as well as a $200 reimbursement to cover for half of the expenses for the groceries purchased. We purchased in total $422.65 worth of groceries over a 3 week period on two separate occasions. The first being when we bought the refrigerator and the second being after the service technician replaced the thermostat in the refrigerator and said everything was in working order. I believe that is more than fair considering as of now, we've thrown over $700 down the drain because of a defective refrigerator that wasn't repaired or replaced in a professional timeframe.

12/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used refrigerator and stove from this company and moved into a house. I had new floors put in and had one big piece of vinyl put down. My contractor did all of that work. This company were to deliver the merchandise but didn't call or show up. They came the next day and said a guy called in and they're behind on delivery. They appeared to be rushing. They slung my garage door up which put a hole in my door. The next night when they took the old fridge out, they set it in the middle of the floor. I slid it out of the way and found a big hole in the vinyl. I called the company and sent them pictures. They claim that I did it. He says he finds the moving people on ********** and they don't work for him.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to take responsibility for the damage and pay to repair the floor.

11/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a stack Kenmore washer and dryer costing $460.00. It has a bad smell to it and I have made several appointments that they haven't showed up for. I called them and they don't answer.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to exchange these items.

7/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/9/2014 Delivery Issues
4/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I saw an add on craiglists for a side by side Frigidaire Refrigerator for sale. My wife called Discount Appliance to see if the ice maker worked and was told yes it did. I went up there the next day or so also asked if the ice maker worked and was told yes it did so I purchased it. We paid to have it delivered Aug 29th. I hooked up the water line but the ice maker did not work. My wife called the following day to say the ice make did not work. So they set up a time for someone to come out and look at it. The repairman came on Sept 3rd and said that they ice maker was shot and that he was contracted out and Discount has no way of telling if an ice maker works or not as they have no water lines to test. We were told that a replacement was being ordered. Here it is Oct 15th and after many calls and promises still no ice makers.We were last told that one was to be installed today but Jimmy was not in today.They are always rude and always say they are not giving us the run around. Product_Or_Service: Grididaire

Desired Settlement: We just want the ice maker replaced.

4/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: August 2, 2013 I purchased a used gas stove for $150.00. I was going to pick it up on August 9, 2013. They told me the stove wasn't there and it was at the warehouse. They said they would get it from the warehouse and deliver it. I called them yesterday and they said the delivery guy dropped it and broke the door. They are trying to get a new door. I went up there this morning and told them I want my money back. They said no. They told me they don't refund money. I told them they never delivered it and now they don't have another stove. It has been ten days!

Desired Settlement: I want my $161.81 back. I never received the stove and they don't have one in the store to sell me.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2013/10/18) */ Thank you so much for your input in this situation. After a number of trips to the store complainig to their future customers, I finally got my money back. It is rediculous to have to go to this extent. Thank you, again ********* *****

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a washer and dryer on the 4th of August for $265.88. One of the products had the blue film on it. I knew it wasn't brand new but I thought it was relatively new because of the blue film. I have had it maybe 30 days and they assure me 180 days of being responsible for the product. I am still in range. I have been making multiple phone calls since, trying to get them to help me with this issue. They always claim they will come out but they never do. One came out to find out what the problem was and was supposed to come back and fix the problem. Once he saw what the problem was, he had to order a part. This was two weeks ago. Now when I call, they tell me someone will be out tomorrow. No one ever shows. I have had friends call and the company asks for my order numbers and stuff. They told my friend they would have someone out in the morning and no one has shown.

Desired Settlement: I had to pay someone to bring the washer and dryer here. They say they can fix it or I can come and get another. It will cost me to have someone bring a new one and take this one. I told them I would rather them come and fix it. I want it fixed.

11/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ***** ** *******. On September 24, 2013, I took my sister to *** ****** Appliances to purchase a electric stackable washer and dryer for her Cosmetology School. We found one there and purchased it for $350.00 cash. At the time of the purchase we were told that the appliance was electric and later received a call stating the appliance was gas. They stated that they had an electric appliance that they needed to pick up from Belleville and would deliver to us the next business day. Over the course of two weeks we were told that the delivery would be made. Finally,on October 5, 2013, we went up there and asked for the appliance or a refund. We were asked to return Monday, October 7th at 2:30 p.m.to receive the refund. We did just that and received the check for $350.00. We drove to their bank located in Creve Couer and was told that there were no funds available. So to date we do not have the appliance and now have the headache of trying to be refunded the $350.00 paid for an appliance never delivered. This is a very bad business!! To write a check on an account with insufficient funds is unheard of! Product_Or_Service: Electric Stackable Washer & Dryer

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Just want my money back $350.00 cash (NO CHECKS)

9/5/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a washing machine and it has been giving me problems. They are not sending out their technicians when the say they will. I bought this washing machine on 06/19/13. I have to call them multiple time and they keep missing appointments. They were supposed to be here on 07/30/13 and they didn't show up. I called them and requested they come out first thing morning and they refused. I feel this is very poor customer service. I paid them $188.87 and $45 for delivery. I have lost faith in this company and just want to give the washing machine back.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to take the washing machine back and refund the $232.87 as soon as possible.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Discount Appliance
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)