BBB Accredited Business since

Sealmaxx Plus

Phone: (636) 294-6299 723 Woodlawn Ave, O Fallon, MO 63366

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sealmaxx Plus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sealmaxx Plus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 02, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 10/20/2004 in MO
Type of Entity


Business Management
David Monahan, President
Contact Information
Principal: David Monahan, President
Business Category

Deck Cleaning & Sealing Surface Coating Concrete Contractors Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning Concrete Contractors - Basement Floors Floors - Garage Wood Preserving Christmas Lights & Decorations Seal Coating

Alternate Business Names
Red Nose Lighting of St Louis Sealmaxx of Greater St Louis Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 723 Woodlawn Ave

    O Fallon, MO 63366 (636) 294-6299


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Red nose lighting failed to show up for scheduled service and won,t return my calls I have been with this company for 3 years and each year it is more difficult to get them to perform their obligation. Last year they were over 20 days late installing my Christmas lights finally getting them 3 days before Christmas This year the called me to schedule installation the week of November 1st I requested nov 23rd. They agreed. They were a no show on the 23rd I called and left a message and got nothing in return. On the 24th I called again and left another message and got no return call. I also left a email request too. I want my Christmas lights up soon and they have them.

Desired Settlement: Put my Christmas lights up this week and take them down in Jan and I will be done

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/03) */ On 11/24 in AM Mrs.Complainant called, Mr. ***** Partner, returned her call. At 1:24PM Mrs. Complainant called again saying they were going to use someone else to put up their Christmas lights this year and wanted their lights back. Mr. **** again spoke with Mrs. and advised that the lights were ours and that they had simply rented a service in 2013 and 2014. Mr. did request a call at 3:23 pm on the 24th. Since Mr. **** had spoken to his wife and explained the situation I did not feel a need to return Mr. call. Red Nose Lighting is a full service Christmas Lighting Company. We offer a service to the customer, thus the customer is under no obligation to use our service the following year. The customer never takes title to anything.

11/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2014 you sealed my deck for approximately $3500. The sealing included a cedar tint. Prior to agreeing to the procedure, I asked the Owner/Salesman how long I could expect the color to last. He replied that at his wife's urging, he redid his at Lake Saint Louis after five years. My deck faded out much earlier than that. I began calling you in April 2015, usually getting an answering machine on which I left a message about my prematurely faded deck. I would have called earlier, but it was winter. My calls were not returned. Eventually I reached a human being and was told that my deck would be looked at the next day and you would get back to me. No one got back to me. I then called and left messages May 2015. June is now almost over and no one has contacted me. My reasonable expectation was that the cedar tint would not fade out in considerably less than a year. I paid a good amount for this service and anticipate that you will set this right.

Desired Settlement: Eventually I reached a human being and was told that my deck would be looked at the next day and you would get back to me. No one got back to me. I then called and left messages May 2015. June is now almost over and no one has contacted me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/08/14) */ We will contact the consumer and try to work something out agreeable to both parties. Even though the stain lasted that long at my home does not mean all results will be the same. The water tightness of the deck is warrantied for five years however the stain that is put into the sealant does not come with a warranty as explained to him.

3/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had 2,000 sq ft of concrete installed at my home. We wanted to get it sealed. I contacted a couple different companies, this one being one of them. We were told by all of the businesses that you would not be able to see the product but it would provide protection for the concrete. We decided to go with Seal Maxx. I have a giant concrete table I have on my patio and made arrangements with him that his crew would move the table when it came time to seal. They told us they would take care of this job in 3-4 hours. The day of the job one guy showed up. I had to help him move the table; not a big issue. It went from 3-4 hours to the man finishing in an hour and a half. He said he had to come back and do a second application. By time they could get back out to do it, leaves had fallen and left marks on the driveway. They came out and power washed the concrete again, which removes another layer of concrete. The sealed it. When I look at my driveway you can see where it was sealed, where it wasn't sealed, where it was sealed twice. You can see where the spray marks start and stop, overlap, and completely miss. My driveway is zebra striped. I contacted the company and left a message. I finally got a call back from ****, who let me know she was on vacation. She told me I needed to talk to Rich. I talked to Rich but he was going on vacation and said he'd make arrangements to come see me afterwards, which he did. As he was walking up the driveway he said he could see the stripes. I took him to the back and showed him the back patio when it got wet and he agreed and explained he could "really" see it when it's wet. He told me my driveway is sealed and I explained it was, but if I knew it would look like this I wouldn't have had them to seal the driveway. I told him that I felt he ruined my driveway cosmetically and he declined to replace the driveway or reseal the job. I requested a refund and he refused. I called to try and talk to the owner of the company and was told he is on vacation for that week. I was told he'd call me Monday. I didn't hear from him so I called Tuesday and was told he needed to call me. He didn't call and instead came to my house unannounced. He said he could see the striping I was talking about but the bottom line was that my driveway was sealed. He said they could probably correct the issue of my driveway being sealed more in some places than others. He recommended sealing it again. I told him unless he would do it like a "paint by numbers" which would be impossible, you'd be able to see the overlapping and it would leave my driveway darker. He said they'd take the top surface off and I explained this had already been done and would not be done again. He agreed that he told me it would be invisible but he states it's not in the contract for me to have a cosmetically appealing driveway.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a refund. He ruined, cosmetically, my driveway.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/24) */ Both ***** ******* the owner and **** ***** the Operations Manager have been to Mr. *******'s home to look at the project. When **** was there he never said that the company would not reseal the concrete. He actually said that in order to remedy the situation he would need to do another application of the second sealer. Mr. ******* said that he did not want another application because he felt it would make the situation worse. At that time Mr. ******* stated that he just wanted his money back. After **** was at the property he then spoke with ***** about the job and had him go by and look at it. Before ***** went by **** had already talked to the sealant manufacturer and they had told him what needed to be done. The manufacturer stated that the reason the stripes were there was because where it was darker it actually had to much sealer and the extra sealer did not penetrate. The manufacturer said that the concrete needs to be power washed again and that will fix the problem. As was stated to Mr. ******* Sealmaxx if not about the cosmetic appearance, it is about the protection of the concrete, but Sealmaxx has said that they would try and fix the situation and Mr. ******* has said no he just wants a refund. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/12/03) */ See Attached Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 22, 2015/03/06) */ 03/10/15: The product is a good product and one guy got hurt and left. The sealing was left to one guy and he got behind. The leaves fell and stained the concrete. They power washed it again and they are taking a layer off the driveway each time they power wash. They sealed it and then it rained and I am left with zebra strips. The concrete will age faster because of the power washing. I want the concrete replaced. The business will not do anything for me and he guaranteed me that there would be no color change. The sealer is a penetrating sealer and will last longer. I do not want any more power washing and would like my driveway replaced. The original installation of the driveway was 7,573.26 and I also would like the deposit paid on the sealing of $1,500 as a refund on this case. 03/17/15: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. Received voice mail message and returned call leaving a voice mail message. 03/17/15: If they can come out and use a garden hose, then I will allow the process. If they come with a power washer it will ruin my mag finish. If the silicone comes off that easy they would not have to use a power washer. I have not gotten an expert opinion to substantiate that the concrete will be damaged with power washing. My driveway will age so much faster after the power washing. I want my money for the application of $1,500 and $7,573.26 to replace my driveway. I will file charges against the company and see them in court. Final Business Response /* (1000, 23, 2015/03/06) */ 03/10/15: Mediator called business and left voice mail message. 03/11/15: Mediator called business and left voice mail message. 03/12/15: Mediator called business and left message with secretary for call back from Mr. *******. 03/17/15: Mediator called business and left voice mail message and sent introductory email. 03/17/15: I would like to be paid the balance of $1,775 owed for sealing the driveway. We would like to return and clean the concrete. The penetrating sealer will not come off with the power washing. The manufacturer said there was so much moisture and the silicone is sitting on top and sometimes it just takes longer to cure. This is a 2 step sealant process. The second sealant is the issue. The top sealant is a silicon product similar to liquid caulk. We can remove it by cleaning off the excess. We are willing to return and remove the excess silicone with hot water and the power washing will not be at a PSI that will do damage. Our expectation is that once the driveway is completed the owner will submit final payment of $1,775. 03/18/15: If he will not allow us to return and do the work, then there is nothing else we can do.

9/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had back porch sealed. Way before a year was up, porch looked terrible, spotting, water marks, terrible. We paid alot of money for this. Repeated calls has gotten us nowhere. A man did come out one time & stated that it doesnot last forever. I mean by the time he did come out it was past a year, but for the amount of money, it shouls last well over a year or two. It has now been over two years. Even at that you can tell not a good job at all from the beginning.Very dissatisfied.The company seems very disinterested in what we have to say.

Desired Settlement: Something done to make the porch look nice. What we paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/23) */ Sealmaxx offers a warranty of 25 years from the wood deteriorating and 5 years of water tightness. The issue here is from the color fading. It is stated at the beginning that the color will fade. The reason that Sealmaxx does not give a time frame of how long before fading is because each deck is different. It depends on where the deck is located and how much sun it will get. Sealmaxx has a program where they offer customers a service of doing a reclean and applying color again and only charge for the time and material that they use.

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: SealMaxx was hired to protect my deck and the deck of my son's home in April 2011. Now there are deep cracks and rotten areas on both decks. ***** *******, President of SealMaxx, prepared a bid for the application of his product to my deck and concrete and to my son's decks and concrete. On April 4, 2011, I signed the agreement for the work to be done with invoice #XXXXX. I paid the invoice total of $9,000.00 in full. Of that amount $6,500 was for the wooden decks. The remainder was for concrete sealant. I did not write down the day that the work was finally done but it was several weeks later. It was in the time frame of June 15, 2011, because I was sent a product warranty on June 15, 2011. That warranty was the first mention of the omission of defects, decay, damage or imperfections in the wood prior to the work being done. That red flagged me that they were not going to honor the warranty, but I still had confidence in a BBB A+ company. I also knew there were no cracks or rotting in the wood prior to the work they did. We immediately had problems with minute splinters and I called SealMaxx about that. I was told to sand the surface which I did not do for fear of harming the wood barrier. I really felt they should have returned and done the sanding as they obviously did not do an adequate job. Sanding was in the job bid. July 17,2012 I called again about splinters and the surface being slippery when wet. July 17, 2013 I called because it was obvious the decks were not repelling water as they should. A representative came and agreed there was a problem and the decks were resealed July 31,2013. August 14, 2014 I called about huge cracks in the wood and rotting boards at both locations. On August 23, 2014, my son had a pool party and a man fell through one of the rotten boards on his deck into the pool. Luckily he was not hurt but his cell phone was in his pocket. My son feels responsible for damage to the phone. On August 26, 2014, a SealMaxx representative examined the decks. He said warranty does not cover wood damaged prior to the product being applied. THERE WAS NO PRIOR WOOD DAMAGE. He stated that he thought my son had used his pool between the cleaning and sealant application on the repeat application in July 2013. I checked with my son and he said they had not done that. Just another attempt at SealMaxx to attempt to smoke screen the lack of providing a quality product. I really feel the company owes us two new decks since they ruined ours.

Desired Settlement: Total refund of the wooden deck portion of the work done at both locations which was $6500.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/02) */ Sealmaxx product carries a product warranty of 25 years. That means that if the customer has to replace any wood or concrete then Sealmaxx will replace the sealant product at no additional cost. This warranty is stated on the back of the contract that the customer signs and then a copy of the warranty is sent after the project is paid in full. On August 26, 2014 **** ***** went and met with Mrs. *** and saw that there are some boards that have rot in them. At that time he explained that if she replaces the boards then Sealmaxx will come and put new sealer on them. As for the cracking that is a natural aging process of cedar wood and there is nothing that will stop that. In order to not see the cracks you have to put a solid stain on it.

7/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Sealmaxx Plus
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart