BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/17/1975

St Louis Community C U

Find a Location

Phone: (314) 534-7610Fax: (314) 533-59963651 Forest Park Ave, Saint LouisMO 63108-3309 Send email to St Louis Community C U

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/17/1975

BBB has determined that St Louis Community C U meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised St Louis Community C U's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues8
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on St Louis Community C U

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (19)BBB Closure Definitions
12/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to the ATM at the Olive location. I entered a withdrawal request of $600 and it failed to dispense the cash. I attempted another withdrawal of $20 and it didn't dispense anything again. I went inside after the bank opened to report this ATM as nonoperational. they investigated it and they only returned $22.00 to me. This was my prepaid debit card I get for my disability. they are not finding the other transaction of $602 and now they are not returning my money for their ATM error. I feel cheated and disrespected by this action. I don't have the money I was trying to withdraw from their ATM and now I can't pay my bills, can't get my heart medicine. I feel they are giving me the run around. If the machine made a mistake then they have the money in their business account, they are denying me what is rightfully mine.
I did everything they told me to do, but they are not returning my funds. The money didn't disappear into thin air, it has to be there.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to return my $602 for the ATM error. I feel the machine may have been out of order but the machine malfunctioned and attempted to process my request.

Final Consumer Response
They resolved the case.

11/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 10/30/14 I opened a second chance account. My account was closed in September 2014. I wasn't aware of it until I tried to deposit money at the ATM. Every since I opened the Second Chance Account, I have been having problems. The first I was charged a non-activity fee THE NEXT DAY after opening the account. That was taken care of. When I reopened the account, I was told by the member services rep that I would receive a debit card in the mail. I waited 2 weeks. I gave them the benefit of the doubt because I live in a locked apartment bldg and the postal worker broke his key in the lock. So I had to pick my mail up. On 11/15/14, I went to the Chippewa branch & told a teller that I didn't receive the card. He told me that my debit card was active (at that time I didn't know that he was talking about my previous card). I told him that I never received it. He said that I could cancel the card but I would have to pay a $10 fee. He said that the only way the fee would be waived was if it was the bank's fault. I decided to wait to see if it arrived in the mail on Monday. It didn't. I called 11/18/14 & was told that Accounting didn't order it. I asked if I had to pay a fee & the rep said no. She called me back 5 minutes later to tell me that I had to pay $10. I didn't think that was fair since I was TOLD that the card was being mailed. So I went to the main branch to see a manager. She was at lunch. The front receptionist decided to help. She asked to see my first debit card. She said it wasn't active & was going to shred it. She went to talk to another manager who said that when I opened the account, I should have paid $10. But that's not want I was told. Logically, if I was told that info, I would have the card. The bank made a mistake. The fee should be waived because I was given the wrong information. I left my name and number. A manager was supposed to call me but has not.

Desired Settlement
The fee should be waived because I was given the wrong information. The rep did not tell me that I had to pay a $10 fee for a debit card as part of the Second Chance account.

Business Response
A new card was ordered for Ms ******* on 11/18/14 and the fee was waived by the assistant branch manager. The assistant branch manager also spoke with Ms ******* on 11/18/14 as well. The account was notated with all of the same information. If there is something else Ms ******* needs just let us know, otherwise it looks like everything was resolved a couple of days ago.

06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been paying on a car for five years and have not missed a payment. I'm scheduled to finish paying it off in September. I just received a payment booklet with payments up to May 24, 2014.

Desired Settlement
I would like to make payments to my insurance company and not the credit union after September.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***
Contact Email: *************@stlouiscommunity.com
St. Louis Community Credit Union (SLCCU) has received and reiewed this complaint #. SLCCU has maintained correspondence with the member / borrower throughout the contract period in reference to this account. SLCCU will be happy to discuss this account with the member / borrower in an attempt to work out a mutually agreeable resolve. Please have member to contact me personally. I will also attempt to contact the member. Sincerely, ******* ****** St. Louis Community CU, XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ****

Consumer Response
I did talk to a Mr. ***** and am going to talk again. I went into the credit union and sat with him 1 on 1 and the issue is still not resolved. I have proof of my payments, 11 times. $15 a piece for each "late" fee. The issue is still not resolved. My biggest complaint is that I am supposed to be through paying these people.


Consumer Response
8/21/2013: I am waiting on a call from the credit union this week. They added car insurance to my loan which I already had insurance. They are supposed to issue a credit.

8/28/2013: I have not heard in a week or so. Payments were stolen and not posted to the account. I will follow up with credit union and get back to BBB. Credit union said they hope to resolve just after Labor Day.

9/04/2013: No change in status.

9/11/2013: Mediator left message for consumer and provided update.

9/11/2013: Mediator spoke to consumer and provided update.

9/18/2013: Mediator left message for consumer.

9/18/2013: I agreed to pay $1,600 for insurance at $128 per month. I have reached a satisfactory agreement with company.


Business Response
9/04/2013: Mediator left message for business.

9/04/2013: I will call you later today by 3:30 pm.

9/04/2013: I have reviewed statement with customer. Issue is she bought money orders from CU but the consumer fill in the payee. I requested a copy of who those were paid to and I have not received anything back from consumer. There were charges where CU adds insurance where there is a lag in payment. I forgave those where she thought there was still coverage in place. There was also later charges and I forgave dome of those. I have a meeting with consumer Friday. Please call next Wednesday at 11:00 am.

9/11/2013: Mediator left message for business.

9/11/2013: We met Friday and I showed her what some of the money orders were used for and which had reduced principle. Also showed her where she did not have insurance coverage and she agreed the $1,705 balance is fair and would agree to payments. I will call her this week to tell her all but $1,700 balance on account will be forgiven.


Consumer Response
I payed the loan off, and Mr. ******* ******* who is now retired, we came to a resolution. Now that he is gone/retired, the company wants to start overcharging me again. They are telling me that I need to be paying for the car on May 24, 2014 and pay them until August. They are telling me I owe now, 191.00$ a month. I ended the car payment in October and they have been charging me 191.00$ since. We need to resolve this, and they need to stop sending me payment books. They do not need to make me pay more money, because I have already paid this loan off and do not owe any more money. I went in to the bank, and they are supposed to call me back. Dispute Resolution Department: ********


Consumer Response
6/03/14: I did not receive a call from the business. I have already paid the loan. The agreement with ** ***** to pay $1,700 in September 2014 and all other would be forgiven was not met by the business.


Business Response
6/12/14: Please email me the complaint file for review.

6/18/14: I gave the case to the manager. I will contact mediator back.

6/19/14: We have reviewed the case and have resolved the complaint by forgiving the remaining balance due on the account. Please forward this information the consumer and to mediator and if you or she has any questions, please contact me via email.






Consumer Response
I need a statement showing a zero balance on a closed account, no where in the response did they mention sending me any proof of the account being closed.


Consumer Response
Two things that I am through paying them. They have not put it in writing. I want them to release the title/and take their name off the title. They need to put it in writing that I no longer owe them.

07/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In fall of 2012 I was sent a letter in the mail that i could waive a payment toward my car. I called in and i was told i qualified for it all i would have to do was pay the interest for that month (i think it was 50.00). In December of 2012 i was told that i was a month behind. They started that I did not qualify for the skip a payment. I why was it mailed to me then. Because normally if you dont qualify you wont receive it in the mail. They transferred to to a supervisor (*****)and she stated that she would handle it. I called back in about 2 weeks later to check on the status and i was told that i didn't not qualify and it will not be changed. I asked to be transferred back to *****. there was no answer so i left a message. i NEVER received a call back. Until it was time for me to make my next payment and it was the collection department calling me to collect. So finally after going back a forth and requesting supervisor after supervisor, my issue was never resolved, I just keep getting the run around. Now i am about to just refinance my car though another credit union.
Product_Or_Service: 2010 Toyota corolla

Desired Settlement
stick to your word and give me the waive payment.

Business' Initial Response
I have made the attempt to contact our member today 7/23/13, to resolve this issue.

Business' Final Response
St Louis Community Credit Union has agreed to the original offer to waive the members payment. I have spoken with Ms. .

******* ****** St. Louis Community CU
XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ****

06/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
There was an incident. My grandmother is on a fixed income and also a payee to her son and daughter. Yesterday she went in as she always does each month and withdraws the funds. I do her account and withdraw her money for her bills. I go to the bank and the lady tells me there is only $87.00 in there. I just checked and there should be $600. She said someone withdrew money from another location. We called and they said they took the money because the funds was not in another account. We went up and explained the issue to them. They said that we got the money and they had taken the money out of the wrong account and there was nothing they could do for us. Now my grandmother can not pay her bills and they have cut her check off.

Desired Settlement
We would like the money returned to our account as soon as possible.
I think they should take this out of the tellers paycheck. The teller took the money from the wrong account so they should be held liable, not us. My grandmother has no way to pay her bills now so the bank needs to pay us back.

Business' Initial Response
Ms and I have spoken and at this time we have reimbursed the account half of the money. Ms seemed please with this and the appropriate staff have been dealt with as well.

Page 1 of 3
09/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rude representatives

Stlcu needs to improve their customer service training....I have fallen behind on my car payments so I spoke with ****** in collections advising him that I will make 2 payment on 09/19/2014 so that I can be caught up on all my payments..he was rude so I asked to speak with a supervisor. He refused to let me speak with a supervisor and hung up on me..I called back later and got a supervisor. He did not apologize for his rude employee or handle the problem at hand...In fact he told me that I don't have insurance and haven't had it since dec 2013...I then asked If I haven't had insurance in over 10 months why is it just now being brought to my attention when I am asking for a payment agreement..Also I received a letter in the mail dating that the ban still and insurance to my account at 1900 a year..the supervisor couldn't answer my question and told me that if dont have insurance by the end of the month my car could be repossessed.. I advised him I do have the state required insurance and he said that I have defaulted my loan agreement...after we got off the phone I review my loan agreement papers. Based off the Supplement Provisions paper I signed when I started my loan Stlcu will add insurance to my car and I will have to pay the premiums...

Desired Settlement
They address both issues
she has faxed in paperwork to support her case. She stated: "I want them provide proof that I have been paying for insurance from her loan." "I would like them to accept the payment agreement to pay my loan on September 19, 2014.

Business Response
The credit union holds a contract and security agreement which contains a provision for adequate insurance coverage or the loan is considered in default.Our vendor/partner ***** ******** Co-InsurTrak reports they sent several notifications dating back to March 2012.The insurance added to the loan is not adequate insurance protection; it is collateral protection only and does not meet the required minimum coverage.

The specific language contained in the contract which is the same contract as the copies the consumer provided to BBB in reference to the insurance coverage reads:
"I hereby agree that if I fail to provie you with acceptable evidence of the required insurance coverage at all times during the term of my loan, I will be in default under the terms of my loan agreement and/or note and as a result I will represent a greater risk to you."



Our documented phone calls indicate the consumer used curse words and was warned the call would be terminated.

08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a friend do my IRS refund and he had it deposit into his account. The St. Louis Community Credit union states that if your name is not on the account no one can deposit someelse refund into their account. I do not have an account with this credit union in my name. I did not know this man was fraudently having my refund deposit into his account and since I am not an authorized user of the account St. Louis Community Credit Union should have rejected it and sent it back to the IRS. But they allowed this person to received my refund.
Account_Number: Account #XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I am asking that the credit union refund me the money they allow this man to steal from me.

Business Response
The ***** rules state, "if the account number and the name of the Receiver contained in an entry do not relate to the same account, the Financial Institution may rely solely on the account number for posting". Also, the Federal Reserve Green Book says "the financial institution's responsibility is to post the direct deposit payments to the account indicated on the ACH record. As long as the financial institution posts the payment to the account indicated, it has met its responsibility." This is a civil matter between her and her friend, St Louis Community Credit Union can not help her get her money from him.

06/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Recently I went to Taco bell and spent around $7, then right after that, I went inside the bank lobby of the location off of Chippewa and withdrew all of of my except .17. A couple days later, someone somehow withdrew $60 from my account, through an atm.. This is what the bank is telling me.. And I am confused because I the card has been in my possession the whole time.. They are charging me overdraft fees. I am uncertain of the amount.. My account was supposed to be st up in aw ay that would not allow money to be taken out, if one was available and also so that I would t' get the overdraft fees.. They are telling me that I am responsible for the charges and that I can get a new card, for a $10 fee..

Desired Settlement
I want them to refund the overdraft fees, drop the $10 charge for the new card, assist me in recovering my stolen money and stop putting stuff on my card that I didn't authorize..

Business' Initial Response
Ms contacted the credit union over the phone on 6/13/13 to state she did not do the atm transaction in question. The representative explained to Ms that all she needed to do was complete a dispute form saying she did not do the transaction. Ms declined at that point. If Ms can complete a dispute form then we can continue from there and if there were fees that were charged because of something she did not do then we would be happy to refund them. Until a dispute form is complete we cannot move forward.

11/15/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AUTO LOAN INSURANCE
Financed a 2003 Chevrolet Avalanche in 2007 had 60 payments on this vehicle had liability insurance at time of purchase and had it for at least 3yrs of having vehicle.... The Finance Company with St.Louis Community Credit Union added Insurance on this car 20 Thousand dollars worth.. and say i have to pay this in order to receive my title or the car will be repo. I paid at time of purchase$25,241.40 i have two payment to pay with out this insurance an i have full coverage insurance an the car is not totaled out I still own the vehicle at this time is this legal.

Desired Settlement
Pay the last two payments i owe on this vehicle at the time i financed car.

Business' Initial Response
St. Louis Community Credit Union (SLCCU) provides full disclosure to our members during every business transaction. Lenders, including SLCCU, normally require that borrowers carry full coverage (comprehensive and collision) insurance on collateral securing a loan. If the full coverage insurance requirement is not met, a collateral protection insurance (CPI) policy protecting the lenders interest is added to the loan balance. STLCCU clearly states the insurance requirement and the corresponding CPI policy process in our loan agreement and a supporting document that is utilized to assist in ensuring the transparency of the insurance obligation. SLCCU also sends the borrower multiple notifications before a policy is placed advising how to avoid CPI coverage, information on the insurance premium including the cost and how to receive a refund of unearned premiums by providing verification of full coverage insurance listing SLCCU as the lienholder on a policy insuring the collateral.
Ms. previously advised SLCCU of her dissatisfaction with the loan balance listed in her complaint. SLCCU responded to the issue by providing her with the documentation she requested and a mutually beneficial solution which was accepted by both parties prior to the e filing of this case with the Better Business Bureau. Before issuing this response, SLCCU verified that Ms. has decided to continue with the agreed upon terms of the agreement.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because they are still requireing me to pay $11,000 dollars for car insurance... the public need to know when financing a car thur SLCCU state require insurance will not due... i was not informed of this at time of purchase. i dont have 11,000 dollars to pay for car insurance.i want my title.

06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/17/1975Business started: 10/17/1941
Type of Entity

Non Profit Organization

Contact Information
Principal: Sara Meek Patrick Adams (CEO)Ms. Dorothy Bell (Senior Vice President & Chief Marketing Officer)
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
St Louis Community Credit Union

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for St Louis Community C U

3651 Forest Park Ave

Saint Louis, MO 63108-3309

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 1250 Graham Rd. 

    Florissant, MO 63031

  • 7345 W. Florissant Ave. 

    Jennings, MO 63136

  • 3651 Forest Park Ave 

    Saint Louis, MO 63108-3309(314) 534-7610

  • 7224 Gravois Ave 

    Saint Louis, MO 63116(314) 481-2607

  • 7350 Olive Blvd 

    University City, MO 63130

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*St Louis Community C U is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.