BBB Accredited Business since

St Louis Community C U

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 534-7610 Fax: (314) 533-5996 View Additional Phone Numbers 3651 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.stlouiscommunity.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

St. Louis Community Credit Union is a full-service financial institution that primarily serves low-to-moderate income individuals living in and around the region's urban areas. For more information, visit www.stlouiscommunity.com.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that St Louis Community C U meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for St Louis Community C U include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on St Louis Community C U
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 17, 1975 Business started: 10/17/1941 Business started locally: 10/17/1941
Business Management
Sara Meek Patrick Adams, CEO Ms. Dorothy Bell, Senior Vice President & Chief Marketing Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Sara Meek
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
St Louis Community Credit Union
Additional Information

St. Louis Community Credit Union is a full-service financial institution that primarily serves low-to-moderate income individuals living in and around the region's urban areas.
As part of its overall giveback to the community, St. Louis Community delivers a holistic approach to financial capability. The organization invests time and resources into developing offices (as well as products and services) that cater to under served populations. As a community-driven institution, the Credit Union offers:
Affordable car loans to hardworking people who need reliable transportation to and
from their jobs;
Quality home loans for those who want a piece of the American Dream;
Free financial education and coaching by working with the independent 501(c)(3)
Prosperity Connection;
Second-chance checking and credit building products, as well as account services for individuals who need access to mainstream banking;
St. Louis Community Credit Union has 11 offices. Three of those locations are embedded within social service agencies, thus meeting consumers where they are (MET Center - Wellston, Grace Hill - Water Tower and Kingdom House - near downtown).

Credit unions are not-for-profit financial cooperatives, owned by their members. St. Louis Community Credit Union is certified by the U.S. Treasury Department as a Community Development Financial Institution (CDFI).
St. Louis Community Credit Union has more than $230 million in assets and serves nearly 50,000 members. For more information, please visit www.stlouiscommunity.com.


Additional Locations

  • 10751 Old Halls Ferry Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63136

  • 1250 Graham Rd

    Florissant, MO 63031

  • 1321 S 11th St

    Saint Louis, MO 63104

  • 1436 S Big Bend Blvd

    Richmond Heights, MO 63117

  • 2125 Bissell St

    Saint Louis, MO 63107

  • 2808 Endicott Ave

    Saint Louis, MO 63114

  • 3412 Union Blvd

    Saint Louis, MO 63115

  • 3651 Forest Park Ave

    Saint Louis, MO 63108 (314) 534-7610

  • 4435 Chippewa St

    Saint Louis, MO 63116

  • 6347 Plymouth Ave Rm 108

    Saint Louis, MO 63133

  • 6724 Page Ave

    Saint Louis, MO 63133

  • 7224 Gravois Ave

    Saint Louis, MO 63116 (314) 481-2607

  • 7345 W Florissant Ave

    Jennings, MO 63136

  • 7350 Olive Blvd

    University City, MO 63130

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Access to my banking accounts restricted/denied. I have been dealing with service issues from St. Louis Community Credit Union for months now. I've contacted them NUMEROUS times because of problems: not being able to access my banking accounts to perform any type of service. Also, the phone service line (MAX 24) has constantly been down so again I can't access my accounts. Also, the SLCCU phone line is unobtainable at different timesi.e. 22 callers waiting in line to speak with a person and sometimes I just can't connect. Also, the website log-in process doesn't work sometimes even though I had just been in the website viewing my accounts an hour earlier. So, again, I can't access my accounts.

Desired Settlement: Would prefer SLCCU to correct all their system problems. Maybe offer small compensations when one has to encounter these issues constantly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/11) */ SLCCU does apologize for any inconveniences since our upgrade in July. We have experienced a higher call volume since the conversion so the wait time has been a bit longer during the first and end of the month. But we assure you we are here to help you every step of the way! We have made many improvements on our system to better serve our members. It appears Ms. ****** was using her online banking and audio service as of 12-9-15 but since she has been experience issues we have reset her services. Since we were not able to get ahold of Ms. ****** today, we did leave her a message to inform her of the reset and ensure we will do everything we can to access her. She can come into the branch or call into the Credit Union to get one on one help with logging on online banking and the MAX 24 hour service. Also, to thank Ms. ****** for her services we paid out a one-time extra dividend to her savings account this month. We're grateful for her membership and we exist solely on making your life better. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I WAS WRITING WHAT IS BELOW BUT TRIED TO GET INTO MAX 24 AGAIN WHILE TYPING THIS - FIRST THREE TIMES, IT WOULDN'T ACCEPT MY ACCESS CODE....NEXT THREE TIME, I AM GETTING A BUSY SIGNAL. NOW WHAT DO I DO?? I'M RIGHT BACK WHERE I STARTED. ***************************************** I could leave this case open but will close for now to see if any improvements will show in the next month. As stated, these problems have been continual so that's why I filed with BBB. As for the 'extra' dividend, SLCCU was already in the process of giving ALL members this bonus for the month of December only. Appreciate the quick responses.

3/9/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Improper Credit Reporting Status on Credit Report In October of 2015 my vehicle that was financed through STLCCU was deemed a total loss. In trying to get financing for a new vehicle, the loan representative helping, dwight goodman, was to also help me complete my GAP insurance claim for the loan. Well a month later I find out that he did not give me proper information, upon several emails inquiring about an update. So after filing a complaint with BBB I began working with Ms. **** ***** to rectify the issue. She facilitated getting the issue resolved and getting my account to zero. The last month i was responsible for paying the account was Oct. 2015 which I did. However, no my credit repot the Credit union is reporting me late for November and December on all 3 Bureaus. In Feb. 2016, I called the credit union on a different matter that I was having an issue with and spoke to Ms. ***** ****. After we resolved my issue, I explained to her my issue and inquired about the lates on my credit report how to get that fixed. I told her that I had worked with **** prior and that she would know about the situation. While on the phone with me, she instant messaged **** who confirmed that the collections department was indeed supposed to take care of that issue. She communicated that **** said she would email someone to have the corrected. In the meantime, I had already filed a dispute with Transition and Experian, and then later filed one with Equinox. Received the results back from my Experian dispute and and the information was not changed, and still reflects me being 30 days late on my credit report.

Desired Settlement: I would like my credit report at all 3 bureaus to reflect paid on time for the month of November, or the months of November and December, whichever are reported at that Bureau.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/08) */ After reviewing the account we determined the member's credit report will be updated as paid as agreed. The circumstances revolving around the GAP claim are not sufficient to excuse payments but as a courtesy, because of the misinformation, the member's credit report will be updated. Please allow sufficient time for the update to reflect on the credit bureaus. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/03/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Though I do not completely agree with the company's statement, I do however, appreciate the courtesy of updating my account information to reflect "paid as agreed" for the month or months in question. I would, however, like a more concrete timeline on when the account information will be updated, so I can verify and consider the matter closed. Thank you.

1/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since June 27th, I have been plagued by St. Louis Community Credit Union's poor transition support and negligent customer notice regarding their system upgrade. I have been without fluid access to my online account for nearly a month. Because I am a customer that resides outside of the operating region, it has been nearly impossible to get assistance since the upgrade took effect. Each time I call to speak with someone regarding the matter, my calls are dropped in a que of over 40 calls. Because this is an emergency financial matter, I've even tried going to the company's Facebook page and noticed that they have blocked my ability to comment or send messages. In addition to trying to get basic access to my account, I have been calling to report fraudulent activity on my account from a with which I no longer do business. The last time I had access to my account, I noticed a recurrent charge of $40 posted to my account. I have not authorized these charges nor do I have product to show for the transactions in my possession. I called the customer service number to listen for instructions to these types of matters and found no options that would enable me to still have access to my account without having to disable it completely. Because I travel with work, I can't be without debit access.

Desired Settlement: I want this matter resolved immediately by STLCCU with the following steps. I want:- My account refunded for any overdraft fees, annual charges, and or service fees incurred between June 28th and July 20th.- Access to my online account restored. To date, I've tried to reset my password and continue to get pushed out of the system.- Fraudulent charges from **** ***** *** reiumbursed to my account and I want them to be barred from accessing my account.- To speak with someone in leadership

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/08/03) */ Our member, Ms. *****, has been able to get into her online banking after we reset her frozen account which was locked out as of the 3rd of July. Also, we were able to mail her the dispute forms for the transaction she is disputing for $40. Lastly, we understand her frustation with the high call volume but at this time we have member's calling in due to the conversion at a high amount and have as many extra employees helping out as possible on the phones. However, if she does not want to wait on hold anymore, she can send us an email with any questions since she can log into her online banking.

12/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unresolved Billing Issue - Called Multiple Times In An Attempt to Correct In March 2013, we closed on a loan with the first payment due April 25, 2013. Since loan inception, 32 payments have been required to be made (through 11/25/15). I have made 33 payments (12/25/15 payment already made), utilizing the monthly payment book coupon provided each time. It appears that in the July/August timeframe, a payment was applied differently than I expected it would and not in accordance with the monthly coupon it was sent it with (as best I can discern through multiple calls to their customer service number). Although I utilized the respective monthly payment coupon (i.e. made July's payment using July's monthly coupon and August's payment using August's monthly coupon), I was unaware that there was an issue until I received a notice of past due payment on 9/14/15 stating that my August payment was past due, at which point I called to inquire. I explained my confusion at the notice and was told that "***** would take care of it." On 9/22/15 I received a second notice of past due payment regarding the August payment and called customer service again. During that phone call, I was told by the representative that she saw the loan was current, and that I probably received the notice due to a timing difference in when it was generated. At that point, I thought the matter was resolved. However, on 10/16/15, I received a notice of past due payment stating that my September payment was past due. On 10/16/15, I called twice that day (my first call was disconnected). I was told that my account was past due (when it was not at all). On 10/20/15, I called back again to discuss. I spoke with a representative, who said she needed a manager to look at it. Later that afternoon, a manager called me back to discuss. He explained what had happened with my account, we discussed, and he stated that he was advancing my account to 11/25/15, and I again believed it had been resolved. However, on 11/17/15, I performed an audit of my account to ensure that their records agreed with mine. Not only had there been no change, but as best I can tell, I've been incurring fees since the initial discrepancy (even though I've been provided assurances twice that it had been cared for). Since 11/17/15, I have attempted to contact the manager that I spoke with on 10/20/15. Each time I requested to speak with him, I've been sent to his voicemail where I have left multiple messages. None of those messages have been returned. Given that I have made multiple attempts to correct this over multiple months, have been assured more than once that it's been corrected, but then later find out that it has not been cared for and it appears that fees are continuing to be charged, I am filing this complaint. Again, since loan inception and through 12/25/15, 33 payments should be made, and 33 payments have already been made - sent in with each month's payment coupon.

Desired Settlement: I would like the fees to be refunded and my account to be updated to properly reflect that all the monthly payments have been made. I have maintained my own amortization schedule, which I can provide if needed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/11) */ It appears our Collections department has been working with Mr. and Mrs. *****'s HELOAN for a few months now. The issue was not that a payment was applied differently in July/August but actually in May her payment was not paid. If you view the May and June statement you can see the June payment that was made was actually May's payment (since May was skipped) and not Junes. Then another payment was made in June for June but it was shorten the late fee which is not on the coupon booklet but on the statement. So the payment date originally did not advanced to a new month even after the second June payment. Making double payments in one month is tremendous but unfortunately in this case they did not always making the full payment every month by the due date (skipped May and statement will verify that). At this point the loan was late so we did charge a late fee even though she made two payments in one month. We have already made corrections and credit late fees back on the account for the same issue. We have went ahead and waived another two late fees. As far as the loan due date, we have already advanced her loan to the correct date prior to this complaint. Her next payment is not due until 1/25/16. As long as they understand the system will not allow them to pay ahead due to this being a fixed loan, a minimum one payment is due each calendar month. We hope Mr. and Mrs. ***** recognize SLCCU understands their needs and want to provide excellent service to our members. If they have any questions please don't hesitate to visit any local branch to sit down face to face with a Member Service Representative to go over in more details.

11/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept. 9, my vehicle financed through St. Louis Community Credit Union was involved in a total loss situation. Starting on Oct. 2, my insurance company began trying to contact the St. Louis Community Credit Union for a letter of guarantee, unfortunately something that should have taken only 24-28 hours took almost two weeks, because of the unresponsive staff. Both my insurance adjuster and myself tried to contact the person for responsible to no avail. I eventually had to get my loan officer for my new car new loan on the case to help contact that individual who my insurance company and I had been continually reaching out to. With Mr. *******s help, we were finally able to get the insurance company the paperwork need to progress with closing out the loan for the vehicle in the total loss. On Oct. 14, I spoke to Mr. ******* who told me I needed to pay the note that was due at the end pf September in order to process my new paperwork. I issued concern because I was paying on a vehicle that was no longer operable, but he told that I would be able to get that money back because the GAP claim would cover the difference of what the insurance company had not covered and I would be able to eventually get that money back. So, I made the payment on Oct. 14th or 15th, and also at that time inquired about filing the GAP Claim. Mr. ******* told me I could file the claim online, so I returned to work to file the claim. Upon me returning to work and digging through the website, I am unable to find where I can file the claim, so I call customer service to inquire where I can file the claim online. To my surprise, the young lady helping tells that I have to come in the credit union and file the claim. By this time I am livid! I just left the credit union and could have file the claim myself. I immediately call Mr. *******, explain to him what was just communicated to me, so he offers to file the claim for me on my behalf by the end of that day. So he does, and call me to let me know such. I seOn Sept. 9, my vehicle financed through St. Louis Community Credit Union was involved in a total loss situation. Starting on Oct. 2, my insurance company began trying to contact the St. Louis Community Credit Union for a letter of guarantee, unfortunately something that should have taken only 24-28 hours took almost two weeks, because of the unresponsive staff. Both my insurance adjuster and myself tried to contact the person for responsible to no avail. I eventually had to get my loan officer for my new car new loan on the case to help contact that individual who my insurance company and I had been continually reaching out to. With Mr. *******s help, we were finally able to get the insurance company the paperwork need to progress with closing out the loan for the vehicle in the total loss. On Oct. 14, I spoke to Mr. ******* who told me I needed to pay the note that was due at the end pf September in order to process my new paperwork. I issued concern because I was paying on a vehicle that was no longer operable, but he told that I would be able to get that money back because the GAP claim would cover the difference of what the insurance company had not covered and I would be able to eventually get that money back. So, I made the payment on Oct. 14th or 15th, and also at that time inquired about filing the GAP Claim. Mr. ******* told me I could file the claim online, so I returned to work to file the claim. Upon me returning to work and digging through the website, I am unable to find where I can file the claim, so I call customer service to inquire where I can file the claim online. To my surprise, the young lady helping tells that I have to come in the credit union and file the claim. By this time I am livid! I just left the credit union and could have file the claim myself. I immediately call Mr. *******, explain to him what was just communicated to me, so he offers to file the claim for me on my behalf by the end of that day. So he does, and call me to let me know such. I send a follow up email to him on Oct. 29 to find out the status of my GAP claim, because the balance of the loan is still showing on my account, and also inquiring about the time frame. He responds on Oct. 30 with the email in quotes Good Morning Ms. ******, I just spoke with the collections department in which I have found out that your GAP claim has been submitted. I was informed that the collections department should have information regarding your GAP claim on Monday 11/2/15. Below I have attached a copy of the email I sent to file your gap claim. If you have any question feel free to contact me. Enjoy the rest of your day and have a great weekend! Kind Regards, ****** ******* The claim was never, attached to the email, and based on the information in the email, I continued to wait patiently, and continued to check my account to see if the matter had been resolved. I sent Mr. ******* another email on Nov. 10th, well past the date he said information would be available with this email: Mr. ******* - Good Morning. Just checking in to see where we are with clearing up my account with the vehicle that was declared a loss. It has been a week past what was communicated, and I would like to know where we stand. Please let me know. Thanks. ******** I received an email, same day, at the end of the day the said the following Good Afternoon Ms. ******, To find out the status of your GAP Claim you will have to contact ****. The number for them is X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Again, if I can assist you in any way please feel free to let me know. Enjoy the rest of your evening! Sincerely, ****** *******. After receiving that email, I immediately call the number to get a status, as I would like this to be cleared up asap. Upon talking to ******, *****, and then *****, as ****, I later find out that they do no process GAP claims for St. Louis Community Credit Union, just life insurance type claims. At this point I am livid, and

Desired Settlement: Fist of all I would like my outstanding GAP claim process immediately. Also, I would like the excess funds refunded to me from claim amount difference and what is owed from the letter of guarantee. I would like my new loan adjusted to the rate quoted to me when I initially started the process. I would like Mr. ******* reprimanded, and I would like the first payment of my new a car note paid/forgiven for the my new car loan that is due Wednesday.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/19) */ Ms. ************* has been contacted and was made aware there was a disconnect on **********'s side and St. Louis Community Credit Union's. After speaking with ********** we found out that the adjustor that was working on Ms. *************'s claim is no longer with the company. Unfortunately, Ms. *************'s claim was not reassigned to another adjustor at ********** until today (****** ****** Mr. **** has sent us the total loss settlement and we are now waiting on the Gap Claim. We will keep Ms. ************* informed on this matter. We are also reviewing our internal procedures to make sure this does not happen again in the future. We value Ms. *************'s membership with us and look forward to providing her excellent customer service.

11/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I deposited a check October 18, 2015 for $76.88 and received confirmation of the amount available. I used my card and checked the available balance online. However, I was charged an $18 service fee 5 different times. I called November 16th to explain what happened and 2 of the fees were removed. When I asked about the remaining fees I was told that was all you would do.

Desired Settlement: I would like the remaining 3 service fees removed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/18) */ Unfortunately, our records do not show there were any deposits made on 10/18/15 however the account was positive until 10/23/15. It appears Mr. ******* made several authorized ATM withdrawals and bill payments which drew his account negative. As stated in our Account Agreement your account may be subject to a charge for each overdraft regardless of whether we pay or return the overdraft. If the Credit Union pays a check and/or imposes a fee that would otherwise overdraw your account you agree to pay the overdraft amount immediately. If Mr. ******* would like to visit a local branch a Member Service Representative would be more than happy to go over his transactions line by line or he can bring in his "confirmation" of the deposit on 10/18/15 to see what is going on with his account. It appears we have already made a onetime courtesy of refunding fees for Mr. ******* therefore we will not be able to refund any more fees unless it's a Credit Union error. Since this was not a Credit Union error we will not be able to refund any other fees at this time.

11/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a car loan account with St. Louis Community Credit Union in July 2015. Last month, I was offered a car loan from another Credit union so, I went to the St. Louis Community Credit Union in Ferguson to try to retrieve my title to close on the loan. I was told to wait for the title in the mail. It is now weeks later, and I have been getting the run-around. Plus there is a time limit on how long the other credit union will hold my loan. St. Louis Community Credit Union told me that the title was released from the previous holder in Sept. and that they sent it to the Missouri DMV for processing on Oct. 7. I just spoke with the DMV and they said the a representative from St. Louis Community Credit Union scurried into their Maplewood DMV office on Oct. 27th hand-carrying my title processing. This is ridiculous! I am being held up on my loan because St. Louis Community Credit Union is not processing the paperwork until 2 months after the loan closes! I have been on hold for about an hour today to speak with ******** from St. Louis Community Credit Union but I haven't spoken with her yet. I want to know why my loan was handled so poorly?

Desired Settlement: If my title can not be received before the time runs out for my car loan to be processed with the other credit union, I would like to be offered a car loan from St. Louis Community Credit Union with similar terms.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/05) */ ******** from our lending department has reached out to the member. We have already submitted her title work to the DMV,therefore we must wait on the DMV. We understand Ms. ****** was more so frustrated with the time frame it took to complete this and we have apologized but we must wait on the DMV now. At this time, The DMV has not issued her title, and there phone lines were down yesterday so we left a message for them to call SLCCU back so I can get an ETA for the member as to when she will receive the title. Ms. ****** is aware of the situation and we will follow-up with her daily until it is resolved. She did not seem to upset when ******** spoke with her and actually she was very pleasant so I believe she is satisfied at this time (as long as she gets her title soon).

8/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have reached a breaking point with STLCCU and its incompetent staff. My latest ordeal with this financial institution began the week of 7/27. Over that weekend, I discovered that my debit card had been lost/stolen. I reported the card's status to the card services vendor (Fiserv) who assured me that the card would be turned off. They advised that I call STLCCU on the next business day to order a new card and contest any charges. I called the next day and spoke with an agent who seemed eerily similar to the last agent that incorrectly routed my debit card in 2014. She informed me that the old card had in fact been deemed lost/stolen and that she would order a new card that would arrive in 7-10 business days. Fast forward nearly a month later, I have yet to receive my new debit card or pin. After this week's payroll deposit, I decided to log into my account. TO my dismay, it not only appears that the old or new debit card is active, but someone has racked $400 in fees and charges, beginning 7/26, with the most recent/visible charge occurring 8/23. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. Not only did I not receive my card in the time that I was promised, but someone has been able to use my card fraudulently without my authorization or knowledge. I'm devastated and beyond inconvenienced by the way this was handled by STLCCU and it's credit/debit card vendor. This is the second time in less than a year that I've been treated with disregard by your staff.

Desired Settlement: Every charge accrued from 7/26 to present needs to be refunded back to my account. I want a thorough investigation to identify the employee responsible for my card not arriving in the time that I was promised, as well as charges pressed against the person/persons who have been using my account information for purchases made 7/26 to present. I want a personal apology in writing and by phone from the President of this institution. I want identity theft protection at STLCCU's expense.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/26) */ It appears Ms. ***** did in fact call to report her card lost/stolen which shows this card was cancelled and the last date the old debit card was used was on 7/26/15. Then Ms. ***** called into the Contact Center and ordered a new debit card with ****** who ordered a brand new debit card which was ordered the next business day. All SLCCU's debit cards take 5-10 business days to receive in mail. It then appears the new debit card was activated 8 business days later on 8/11/15. There was a total of 15 transactions done with 2 different debit cards which we refunded on 8/25/15 for a total of $304.20 and 5 fees for a total of $90.00 was refunded back to the member's account. It appears since Ms. ***** states she didn't get the new card in the mail that someone else with her information activated the new card. We indicate someone in the household stole the card in possession and then stole the new card and made several everyday purchases over a few weeks period at ********** *** ***** ******** *** ******* ******* ****** ***** etc. Most fraud charges we see are very large purchase made very quickly but not in this case. Since she filed a police report we did refund all transactions and fees however she needs to ask someone in her household about the stolen cards because the new debit card was delivered to her address and activated by someone who knows her information. We here at SLCCU want our members to know that we truly care and value their membership with us and we hope Ms. ***** knows we did everything we could to stop the fraud but it is very strange that 2 different debit cards with 2 different numbers was used fraudulently over the past month. We do not feel comfortable ordering a new debit card at this time for this member due to this strange situation or until she knows who stole the cards from her house.

8/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started with a Better Loan in June 2014 and you paying $50 a month plus the fees. I didn't have anything in my savings, and in February I got a settlement and I put in $200 in the bank. I had been paying on the loan. I realized my $50 a month was not going into my savings. The fees are suppose to go to the bank and $50 was suppose to go into savings. I noticed this in April and my savings was not increasing. With this loan they are suppose to put your payment for the loan into your savings account. They can not show me any statements where my account increased.

Desired Settlement: I want my money in my account. They have not compensated me

Business Response: Ms **** did a credit matters loan which begins with a balance of $600.00 Each time a payment is made funds are released. Nothing is added to the balance of the loan. It looks like Ms **** spent the funds as they were released into the account so there are no additional funds at this time.

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went a couple months ago to have a check stopped. When I talked to the loan officer, he found out the check had gone through even though he said he put a stop in it. I had to pay a stop payment fee on it. The check had cleared. Also, I ordered checks on June 8. They told me they were sent out on the 11th, and no one will even help me track them. They said it should be 7-10 business days. They are very uncooperative in assisting me trying to find these checks.

Desired Settlement: I just want my checks. I can't keep waiting. I need to pay bills with these checks. Take my urgency into consideration.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/07/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** Operations Analyst Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ******* Contact Email: ***********@stlouiscommunity.com ***** ******'s check were ordered on 6/11/15 therefore she should have recieved the checks in the mail no later than 6/25/15. They were shipped to her mailing address we have on file and if for some reason Ms. ****** has not recieved the checks in the mail by now she should come into our branch or call our main phone line at XXX-XXX-XXXX to complete a stop pay for the book of checks that were ordered on 6/11/15, free of charge and we will ship her out a new book of checks. I hope she understands her concern is very important to St. Louis Community Credit Union and we would like to make her banking experience a great one. Since we order our checks through a 3rd party we can not track the checks down immediately and ask she waits to recieve them in the mail after 10 business days from date checks were ordered.

12/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the ATM at the Olive location. I entered a withdrawal request of $600 and it failed to dispense the cash. I attempted another withdrawal of $20 and it didn't dispense anything again. I went inside after the bank opened to report this ATM as nonoperational. they investigated it and they only returned $22.00 to me. This was my prepaid debit card I get for my disability. they are not finding the other transaction of $602 and now they are not returning my money for their ATM error. I feel cheated and disrespected by this action. I don't have the money I was trying to withdraw from their ATM and now I can't pay my bills, can't get my heart medicine. I feel they are giving me the run around. If the machine made a mistake then they have the money in their business account, they are denying me what is rightfully mine. I did everything they told me to do, but they are not returning my funds. The money didn't disappear into thin air, it has to be there.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to return my $602 for the ATM error. I feel the machine may have been out of order but the machine malfunctioned and attempted to process my request.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 6, 2014/12/10) */ They resolved the case.

12/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/30/14 I opened a second chance account. My account was closed in September 2014. I wasn't aware of it until I tried to deposit money at the ATM. Every since I opened the Second Chance Account, I have been having problems. The first I was charged a non-activity fee THE NEXT DAY after opening the account. That was taken care of. When I reopened the account, I was told by the member services rep that I would receive a debit card in the mail. I waited 2 weeks. I gave them the benefit of the doubt because I live in a locked apartment bldg and the postal worker broke his key in the lock. So I had to pick my mail up. On 11/15/14, I went to the Chippewa branch & told a teller that I didn't receive the card. He told me that my debit card was active (at that time I didn't know that he was talking about my previous card). I told him that I never received it. He said that I could cancel the card but I would have to pay a $10 fee. He said that the only way the fee would be waived was if it was the bank's fault. I decided to wait to see if it arrived in the mail on Monday. It didn't. I called 11/18/14 & was told that Accounting didn't order it. I asked if I had to pay a fee & the rep said no. She called me back 5 minutes later to tell me that I had to pay $10. I didn't think that was fair since I was TOLD that the card was being mailed. So I went to the main branch to see a manager. She was at lunch. The front receptionist decided to help. She asked to see my first debit card. She said it wasn't active & was going to shred it. She went to talk to another manager who said that when I opened the account, I should have paid $10. But that's not want I was told. Logically, if I was told that info, I would have the card. The bank made a mistake. The fee should be waived because I was given the wrong information. I left my name and number. A manager was supposed to call me but has not.

Desired Settlement: The fee should be waived because I was given the wrong information. The rep did not tell me that I had to pay a $10 fee for a debit card as part of the Second Chance account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/20) */ A new card was ordered for Ms ******* on 11/18/14 and the fee was waived by the assistant branch manager. The assistant branch manager also spoke with Ms ******* on 11/18/14 as well. The account was notated with all of the same information. If there is something else Ms ******* needs just let us know, otherwise it looks like everything was resolved a couple of days ago.

9/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rude representatives Stlcu needs to improve their customer service training....I have fallen behind on my car payments so I spoke with ****** in collections advising him that I will make 2 payment on 09/19/2014 so that I can be caught up on all my payments..he was rude so I asked to speak with a supervisor. He refused to let me speak with a supervisor and hung up on me..I called back later and got a supervisor. He did not apologize for his rude employee or handle the problem at hand...In fact he told me that I don't have insurance and haven't had it since dec 2013...I then asked If I haven't had insurance in over 10 months why is it just now being brought to my attention when I am asking for a payment agreement..Also I received a letter in the mail dating that the ban still and insurance to my account at 1900 a year..the supervisor couldn't answer my question and told me that if dont have insurance by the end of the month my car could be repossessed.. I advised him I do have the state required insurance and he said that I have defaulted my loan agreement...after we got off the phone I review my loan agreement papers. Based off the Supplement Provisions paper I signed when I started my loan Stlcu will add insurance to my car and I will have to pay the premiums...

Desired Settlement: They address both issues she has faxed in paperwork to support her case. She stated: "I want them provide proof that I have been paying for insurance from her loan." "I would like them to accept the payment agreement to pay my loan on September 19, 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/22) */ The credit union holds a contract and security agreement which contains a provision for adequate insurance coverage or the loan is considered in default.Our vendor/partner ***** ******** Co-InsurTrak reports they sent several notifications dating back to March 2012.The insurance added to the loan is not adequate insurance protection; it is collateral protection only and does not meet the required minimum coverage. The specific language contained in the contract which is the same contract as the copies the consumer provided to BBB in reference to the insurance coverage reads: "I hereby agree that if I fail to provie you with acceptable evidence of the required insurance coverage at all times during the term of my loan, I will be in default under the terms of my loan agreement and/or note and as a result I will represent a greater risk to you." Our documented phone calls indicate the consumer used curse words and was warned the call would be terminated.

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a friend do my IRS refund and he had it deposit into his account. The St. Louis Community Credit union states that if your name is not on the account no one can deposit someelse refund into their account. I do not have an account with this credit union in my name. I did not know this man was fraudently having my refund deposit into his account and since I am not an authorized user of the account St. Louis Community Credit Union should have rejected it and sent it back to the IRS. But they allowed this person to received my refund. Account_Number: Account #XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I am asking that the credit union refund me the money they allow this man to steal from me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */ The ***** rules state, "if the account number and the name of the Receiver contained in an entry do not relate to the same account, the Financial Institution may rely solely on the account number for posting". Also, the Federal Reserve Green Book says "the financial institution's responsibility is to post the direct deposit payments to the account indicated on the ACH record. As long as the financial institution posts the payment to the account indicated, it has met its responsibility." This is a civil matter between her and her friend, St Louis Community Credit Union can not help her get her money from him.

6/23/2014 Delivery Issues
6/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/30/2013 Delivery Issues
7/29/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In fall of 2012 I was sent a letter in the mail that i could waive a payment toward my car. I called in and i was told i qualified for it all i would have to do was pay the interest for that month (i think it was 50.00). In December of 2012 i was told that i was a month behind. They started that I did not qualify for the skip a payment. I why was it mailed to me then. Because normally if you dont qualify you wont receive it in the mail. They transferred to to a supervisor (*****)and she stated that she would handle it. I called back in about 2 weeks later to check on the status and i was told that i didn't not qualify and it will not be changed. I asked to be transferred back to *****. there was no answer so i left a message. i NEVER received a call back. Until it was time for me to make my next payment and it was the collection department calling me to collect. So finally after going back a forth and requesting supervisor after supervisor, my issue was never resolved, I just keep getting the run around. Now i am about to just refinance my car though another credit union. Product_Or_Service: 2010 Toyota corolla

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) stick to your word and give me the waive payment.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/23) */ I have made the attempt to contact our member today 7/23/13, to resolve this issue. Business' Final Response /* (-10, 9, 2013/07/24) */ St Louis Community Credit Union has agreed to the original offer to waive the members payment. I have spoken with Ms. . ******* ****** St. Louis Community CU XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on St Louis Community C U
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)