BBB Accredited Business since

Scott Credit Union

Phone: (618) 345-1111 Fax: (618) 345-2222 101 Credit Union Way, Edwardsville, IL 62025 http://www.scu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scott Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scott Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Scott Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Business Management
Mr. Frank M. Padak, President & CEO Christy Hahs
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank M. Padak, President & CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • 101 Credit Union Way

    Edwardsville, IL 62025 (618) 345-1111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recently informed by SCU that I was missing a few payments from earlier in the year when I fact I was not. To prove I had indeed made payments I went to my bank and had gotten copies of the cancelled checks made out to SCU and furnished the copies to SCU. For some reason the woman I was talking to on the phone said she could not see where my payments have not been put into their computer system and refused to acknowledge the cancelled checks as proof of my payment. It's evident to me someone working there is very poor at their job or perhaps stealing from SCU. Either way my car should not have been repossessed due to the neglagance of them when I have definitive proof of my payment to them.

Desired Settlement: I would once again like to prove my payments were made and regain possession of the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/12) */ To resolve confusion regarding payments made early in 2015 Member provided check copies to SCU. SCU successfully matched the check copies to payments posted to the member loan and found no discrepancies. SCU also found no missing payments. Member ceased paying on the loan in October 2015. On January 4, 2016 and January 10, 2016 SCU attempted to explain that the early 2015 payment issue was resolved and the current payment issue was from lack of payment since October 2015. Member refused payment and advised SCU to recover the vehicle. Vehicle was repossessed. SCU spoke to the Member after repossession on February 1st, 2nd, and 4th and Member made no request for the return of the vehicle. SCU spoke to Member on February 11, 2016 and member refused to take the vehicle back. Member stated that it was not worth it to keep a vehicle that was worth so much less than the balance. SCU offered to resolve the repossession for less than the past due amount and Member refused. SCU has offered the Member their desired resolution and the member has refused stating he was "upside down in that car three times more than what it's worth anyhow" and "it's really no big loss on my part."

1/11/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scott credit union sent us a offer to skip a payment on our personal loan and our truck payment we sent it in plenty of time they just sent us a bill got the loan and the truck payment saying we were late and they were charging us penalties on top of that they would not honor the deal and said we could skip next month's payment instead the problem it's that money was spent on Christmas gifts as they intended us to use it for because they said we could skip the payment now I had to put the payment on my credit card and pay that interest on that and the penalties they charged for be late as they say they continuously say they didn't receive payment on time and charge a 5 percent late charge either I have the slowest mail delivery there is or they are cheating me for late fees also they charge a 10 dollar fee to pay online that way they can get you either way for paying they say they got it late or you pay ten dollars to pay on time Product_Or_Service: loan

Desired Settlement: I want all penalties taken off and refunded to me and I want my payment refunded to me for this month as it was supposed to be and I will make my regular payment next month in January

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/04) */ This member's skip a pay form was submitted in the time frame requested. I have refunded the late fees on his loans and ensured that the proper month's payment was skipped. I also refunded the credit card online payment fee as a courtesy because of this mix-up. I have spoken with him and he is satisfied with this solution. Thank you, ******

12/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the end of the year they run commercials every year that they pay back dividends to their customers. I found out that this is only up to $10,000. This is not advertised anywhere or disclosed to the customers. I called them this morning to address this and I was told it is not stated anywhere and they don't feel that it should be stated. I asked her what she could do about it and she said nothing.

Desired Settlement: I have lost money on the deal because they have a false claim. I want the money refunded back to me that has been lost. I would also like them to modify their claim and note that they only pay back dividends up to $10,000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Reg Br Mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *************@scu.org There is no limit to the amount of money ***** ****** Union pays dividends or bonus dividends. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/12/21) */ On 12-8-2015 I spoke to the contact person who told me there was a 10,000 limit to which they pay. I feel they owe us additional interest on this account. She also indicated they do not need to change their policy and she refuses to resolve the issue. Final Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2015/12/28) */ Good afternoon, I received the below e-mail and I am the one that originally offered the resolution to the complaint. The bonus dividend was calculated properly and paid to this member's account as advertised. I'm not sure what there is to negotiate with this member. I'm sorry that he misinterpreted our bonus dividend. Please contact me at this e-mail address or at my direct line XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ****** ******

5/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They charge me money on my saving account, because it was inactivited for a year. Without letting me know. I'm disable and every dimes counts. I had a saving account with $9.80 in it and they charged me an inactivity fee of $5.00 on 2-28-15, an Withdrawn Prime share fee of $1.00 & $2.90 Withdrawn inactivity fee on 3-31-15 to made my account to Zero and closed the account on 3-31-15. If i would of known i would of withdrawn the money and close the account before i was charged any fees. I talk to ******* today and was told they mailed me the information about these fees and it's to late to do anything about it. I told her i didn't received any thing about Inactivity fees on my account. I feel they take advanage of there members.

Desired Settlement: I feel that they should refunded my money to me. The reason i had money with them was because they were over paid on a loan i had with them and instead of send me a check for the over payment, they open up an saving account in my name. I left the money in it in case i needed an other loan though them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/05/21) */ Mr. ****** was contacted. Scott Credit Union has refunded his money and he indicated he was pleased with the outcome.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Scott Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart