BBB Accredited Business since

First Community Credit Union

Additional Locations

Fax: (636) 537-4484 View Additional Phone Numbers 17151 Chesterfield Airport Rd, Chesterfield, MO 63005 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First Community Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 11
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 30

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on First Community Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1997 Business started: 11/01/1934 in MO Business started locally: 11/01/1934
Type of Entity

Cooperative Association

Business Management
Kristen Bland, VP of Administration Bernadette Roth, AVP First Priority Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Kristen Bland, VP of Administration
Customer Contact: Bernadette Roth, AVP First Priority Relations
Business Category

Credit Unions

Additional Locations

  • 17151 Chesterfield Airport Rd

    Chesterfield, MO 63005

  • PO Box 1030

    Chesterfield, MO 63006


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing because my debit card was sent to my old address. My mother currently resides at *** ********** ****** *********** ** *****. When I called on Saturday, October 1, 2016 and spoke with a representative I was told that I must have changed my address because the card would only be sent to the address on file. I have the envelope that the card was mailed in and it clearly has my old address on it. I had the same problems with my checks a while back when the incorrect address was printed on them; however, I kept the checks because I needed them. I tried activating the card over the weekend and was unable to do so. I went to a store and tried it, and then called the Belleville location and was told that I had to go to an atm, so I went to ******* Bank. I went to ******* and my card was confiscated. I called First Community again today, and was once again told that I must have done something wrong on my end. I spoke with ******* and when I asked for the branch managers name of the location in Chesterfield, she only gave me the first name, so I called back and was given the name ***** ****** (not quite sure about the spelling). I have been with FC for sometime and feel that as a customer my concerns are not being addressed. I currently have direct deposit with your bank, but will be moving it to another account asap. I hope and pray that this never happens to another customer, and if it does, they can get a better resolution than you must have done something to cause this action. I am need of a debit card until my account is moved and feel that I should not be charged for this.

Desired Settlement: I am need of a debit card until my account has been moved and feel that I should not be charged . I work two jobs and need every dime that I make. Training should be provided to customer service reps and safety measures should be put in place to prevent this from happening to another customer.

Business Response: Ms. **** came to our Belleville Branch on Monday evening and we issued her a new card at no charge.  Appropriate departments were notified about the situation.   

9/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a new car loan for my 2012 Toyota Camry.upon completing my loan the agent said that my signature loan and car loan would be rolled into one monthly payment.I have been making my new car payment for the past several months of $500.Until today I recently learned that a additional charge of $34 was not paid.

Desired Settlement: To include the $34 additional charge in to my loan,with my total monthly payment amounting to $500 total.

Business Response:

Our records indicate the 2012 Toyota Camry was purchased on May 28, 2016.  The itemization of the amount financed does not show any disbursements to payoff of the signature.  This was an indirect loan purchase and the terms would have been discussed and set by the selling dealership, *** ****** Toyota.   We subsequently purchased the loan and the contract was then assigned to First Community per our indirect dealer agreements.


In order to combine the signature loan and the auto loan he may apply to refinance the auto loan with the cash out to pay off the signature loan.  Upon qualification he would set up the loan closing with the terms desired and sign a new loan note with the new, qualifying terms.  For assistance he may contact us at ************, ext. **** for ***** *******, ext. **** for ******* ****, ext. **** for ***** ******.  They are familiar with this and will be able to help through the process. 

9/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


I looked online at my account balance. I see that my checking account was overdrawn $800. I knew I was overdrawn $400 because they sent me a letter saying I was overdrawn for 30 days and that I couldn't access my account until it was paid. So now my checking account is overdrawn $800. I saw the other $400 was from ****** **, which I don't even have anymore. I went in the credit union and the first thing they told me was that I had to dispute it. I asked how they could go over my account if I had no funds in there to give. The lady told me she didn't know. She told me to call electronic services department. They told me on August 30, the computer system went down and they didn't see that I was overdrawn the $400 already. How can they take something if I don't have it? My money is not safe there. They just decided to let ****** ** to access it without me giving ****** ** access and without me telling the bank it was okay to do. I haven't had ****** ** for months.

Account # *********

Location involved:

**** ************ ******** ************* ** *****

Desired Settlement: I owe them $400.00 so I want the other $400.00 removed off my account. I want to be contacted by a corporate supervisor to explain to me how they think this is okay to do.

Business Response: This issue was turned over to our Electronic Services Department.  Ms. ******* signed an Affidavit of Fraud on 9/8/16 at our Collinsville Office.  On 9/9/16 we credited her account back and sent ******** a chargeback informing them that this payment was unauthorized.  ******** has 45 days to respond. 

8/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


I have a car loan, a checking and a Savings account with First Community. I un-regrettably had to let my car payment fall behind so that I could purchase school supplies for my children. I was only 1 month behind, got paid, Attempted to pay my car payment 3 times online using the app. Account information stated I had more then enough from my freshly deposited pay check to cover the payment. I then went to get gas on my way to work, and my card was declined, I could not even get money out of the ATM. I had to wait until 8am, and through many prayers made it to work, but unsure how I am to get gas after work, and had to call them. They froze my checking and savings account because I had 30 day delinquent in paying my car payment. They with held MY money, so I couldn't even pay my car payment. I then had to be late for work to call and get some one, with one customer service number and 29 callers in front of me, to get to find out this information. If I had a different bank, I wouldn't have to worry about them holding my money, and If I can not pay my car payment, they can not hold my money from me. BAD BAD Business!!!! Very unhappy Customer!!!!!1

First Community Credit Union
***** ************ ******* **
ChesterfieldMO, 63005
***** ********

Desired Settlement: I would like a policy change, to reflect the customer being contacted regarding billing being behind, so that the credit union could be informed, instead of holding monies that they are not authorized to hold. I need to get imbursements for the gas and trouble of having people help me since I ran out of gas due to this issue, as I was at a gas station and my card got declined.

Business Response: Ms. ***** is correct, her loan was 30 over days past due, the credit union has a policy of restricting accounts that are over 30 days.  Ms. ***** was warned this could happen when she was sent past due letters on August 3 and August 10 which state that the credit union can restrict account access if your account goes over 30 days past due, which includes restricting access to the First Community website and to her debit card.  The restriction is for everyone that falls past due over 30 days.  There was no reply by Ms. ***** to either letter to secure payment arrangements. Our recommendation would be to contact the credit union and make payment arrangements if she falls past due in the future, that way we can avoid restricting the account.     

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Legaly they can not dictate my money.   If I bank at regions Bank, they would have no access to my account or money to hold.   Freezing my account so that I cant even get gas to get to work to pay my car payment is not the way to do it.   I will be closing my account and switching banks, keeping my loan with first community if this is not resolved.  I work hard for my money and feel like I chose a financial institution who I thought would protect my money, however they have prooven they are thiefs, and could care less if someone is stranded or otherwise by freezing accounts.   This very well could have cost me my job that day, and I never signed an agreement for them to freeze my checking account if I was behind a car payment.  In fact I had my loan months before deciding to open a checking account with them.   This is fraud, and morally wrong as well.   What if I needed to get my children lunch at school?   They would have to starve because they think its OK to dictate my money???   


**** *****

8/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


First community CU failed to pay my homeowners insurance from my escrow account in a timely manner. A bill was sent from ******** (backed by ********) on 6/8/2016 requesting the payment for my 2016 homeowners insurance. I was not aware that this was not taken care of until I receive the expiration notice on 7/24/2016. ******** reports that they spoke with ******* ******* on 7/21 to have the payment overnighted, and they would re-instate when the money was received. I called FCCU on monday, and was told to give the payment time to process. I called back on thursday, 7/28, because I was informed that the policy could not be renewed unless payment was received by Fri 7/29. I was then informed by **** @FCCU that the address my payment was sent to was **** * ********* **** *** * ** ******** **. This address was actually for Encompass Insurance and not ********. So another payment was overnighted on friday 7/29 to the correct address. However, in order to prevent a lapse in coverage, I paid out of pocket for my homeowner's insurance. I am still waiting for my re-imbursment check from ******** since they received the funds 10 days too late. I have attempted to speak with a manager twice, but my phone calls have not been returned in a timely manner, as I work full time and have limited time to spend on the phone.

Location involved

First Community Credit Union
***** ************ ******* **
ChesterfieldMO, 63005
***** ********

Desired Settlement: I would like to have confidence re-instilled that my banking institution is financially responsible and is capable of paying bills on time. I would also like a measure of action taken to show that First Community CU cares about me as a customer and is not intentionally trying to put me in financial hardship. As the money that I had to pay esurance, should have been my mortgage payment. Steps should be taken to prove that First Community CU is not participating in financial sabotage on my home mortgage and has a plan for the future in handling my escrow account responsibly.

Business Response: First Community values our members and strives to resolve any issues or complaints.  I called my member last Friday morning(8/12/16) and was requested to call her at 3:05 P.M.  I called her at that time and assured her that we want to get this resolved and take additional steps to avoid this happening next year. The member's insurance company stated that a bill was mailed on 6/8/16.  We did not receive the bill for the July 23rd premium.  A letter was mailed out from our office to our member around July 15th requesting the invoice.  She stated that this letter was never received.  I contacted the insurance company and they validated that a refund was owed to our member  and the check would be sent between the 20th and 25th of this month.  After speaking with our member I moved the insurance due date on her escrow account to June and notated the account with a statement that reads "Contact the agent immediately if the bill is not received".  In addition to this, I have mailed a letter of apology  with a gift card for our member. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* *******

8/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The following is not the first time this has happened to me: I went to the First Community Credit Union in Fenton MO (The Bluffs) to specifically speak to somebody about a home loan and filling out an application. I arrived, conducted my bank matter's at the front with a teller, then she put me in the que to speak to somebody. Around 11:30am I spoke to a personal banker about filling out a home loan. She refused to assist me and refused to take my information down for the application. Continuing, the first community bank personal banker next to us refused to help the family from India. Their excuse is that the system is down. This did not make sense since I was just at the teller completing my banking transaction right before meeting with the personal banker. Also, I noticed the bank closed at 12 noon, there fore the personal banker told me to goto First Community Credit Union in Arnold MO located inside Walmart. Basically, they were blowing me off so they could get out of work at noon instead of assisting me. I had the same problem on another occasion at the South County location.

Desired Settlement: I want somebody from Corporate Headquarters to meet me at the First Community Credit Union in Fenton MO at 11:30am to speak with and take my information down for the home loan application.

Business Response: We utilize many different systems to conduct transactions and to accept loan/mortgage applications.  Access to the required systems were limited that day due to an internet access issue.  The Branch Manager at the Fenton location and myself have attempted to contact Mr. **** several times by the phone number listed to make arrangements with him and to further explain the matter.  He has not answered the phone and has not made any other attempts contact us in regard to this situation.   

7/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car in August 2012, and went through First Community Credit Union for my auto loan. I have made every single payment on time. Last week, I received a letter stating that I have an outstanding balance of $54.26. I called and emailed the collections department about this issue, and they told me that all of my payments have been made on time, but they added on CPI (Collateral Protection Insurance) to my loan, which has not been paid in quite some time. I have had full coverage insurance on my vehicle since day one. I switched insurance companies back in February to get a lower rate, but have maintained full coverage nonetheless. The letter I received from First Community is dated June 14. This is the first letter I have seen from them. They claim they mailed other letters, but this is the first I have received. They did not send 1 email, or call me 1 time about this. When First Community contacted me back about getting this resolved, they sent me an email stating that "I need to keep calling my insurance company because my agent is deciding not to call them back." When I contacted my insurance company about this, they told me they have not received a single call from First Community, nor ***** ********. Five minutes later, my insurance company called them and got everything straightened out. My old policy ended on February 13 (which was a Saturday), and my new policy started February 16th (which was a Tuesday. Sunday was Valentines Day and Monday was Presidents Day, so I am fairly certain the 2 day lapse of the 14th and 15th is due to that) At any rate, First Community sent at least 1, possibly 2 non payment alerts to the credit bureaus. This has caused my near perfect credit score of 833 to drop over 100 points to a 712. I have worked extremely hard my entire life to get my credit score where it is. I have NEVER missed a single payment out of 270 payments to a single company, ever. I take my financial responsibilities very seriously and would never "ignore" notices that were sent to my like First Community's customer service has insinuated to me. I am extremely unhappy with the way First Community's customer service has treated me throughout this misunderstanding. I have paid them on time every month for 4 years, and instead of a simple phone call or email, or even a certified letter informing me of a simple misunderstanding, they report my payments as late to the credit bureaus, and caused a drastic drop in my credit score.

Desired Settlement: I would like the negative remarks removed from my credit reports, so that my score is restored to the appropriate number.

Business Response: According to the contract signed by Ms. ****** there is a requirement that every member with a car loan must carry full coverage insurance.  This is tracked by a company the credit union uses, they are ***** ********.  Ms ****** is missing insurance from February 13 through February 16 on her loan, while this is only a few days, it has added a little over $50.00 to her loan, which made her delinquent.  She was sent letters from the credit union on June 14, June 21 and June 28 stating she was late and was informed that if her loan goes over 30 days past due it will be reported to the credit agencies. There was also a letter sent on April 25 stating that the insurance was being added.  The credit union has an obligation to report loans as they are paid, in this case, Ms. ****** was 38 days past due.  Ms. ****** mentioned her frustration with the credit union not e-mailing her, at the time she was reported over 30 days past due, we had no e-mail address for her, just recently we obtained her e-mail address.  We understand her frustration over his matter and she has been encouraged to file a dispute with the credit reporting agencies and we have an obligation to research the account to ensure accuracy.       

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I did not receive any letters from First Community regarding the added insurance. I am not saying First Community did not send one, however I did not receive it. It could have been the mail being placed in the incorrect box as I live in an 8 unit condo or lost in the mail, etc. Any number of reasons. This does not explain why First Community did not call me about this. I have always paid my car loan on time with them, and would NEVER ignore a financial obligation. They can clearly see this, as I have still been paying my car payment. Also, I have attached the most recent letter I received from them which is unclear to me as well. It states that I owe the $50, which I now understand why. However, it states that I am not past due on my loan, and they have amortized the $50 into my loan. They state that my NEW car payment is now $211.07 with this new fee rolled in. This does not make any sense to me, as my payment has ALWAYS been $211.07 for the last 4 years. I would like them to fix my credit score, and explain this new letter to me. How can my payment remain the same with $50 amortized in? I would like my credit score repaired, and I will continue to pay my car loan on time like I have been doing for the last 4 years. This whole situation was completely avoidable with some decent customer service.


**** ******

4/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This happened at the Chesterfield Location I talked to a manager named *** on December 30,2015 about some banking issue I had previously and she said if I don't have enough money in my savings account they will take out my money in my checking and vice versa. I talked to someone today and they told me she gave me incorrect information. A transaction came through 3/23 and took $27.00 out of my savings account instead of checking account, which made it a negative balance. The bank ended up taking the $27.00 and not processing the transaction.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $27.00 back

Business Response:

I reviewed our telephone calls with Ms. *****.  We had explained several times how our system works (that the savings will act as overdraft protection for your check but not vice versa).  I called Ms. ***** to let her know that there was confusion and I explained again how our system worked.  I refunded the fee of $27.50 because she did have enough funds in the checking to cover the transaction that had attempted to clear her savings.

Ours was a very pleasant conversation and Ms. ***** was satisfied when we ended our call.

Thank you,

*** ********

AVP Member Service Center



Consumer Response: The company contacted me and gave me my money back. I consider the case resolved

3/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/22/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: First community credit union has failed to release the lein after all payments have been made and loan has been satisfied. 2008 Pontiac g6 Vin- 1G2ZG57NXXXXXXXXX Account number- XXXXXXXXX-XX My wife ******** *******, daughter ******* *******, and myself ***** ******* jointly signed a contract to finance the above listed car in 3/2011 In 2015 my daughter defaulted on 2 other loans 1 signature loan in the amount of 8,000 dollars 2 financed a 2008 dodge 2500 My daughter lost her means of paying for the 2 loans, the dodge 2500 was repossessed and sold at auction. The unsecured signature loan was sent on to further collections. Both of these loans were completely against our knowledge. The credit union didn't tell us at any time, nor did they require any signatures from us for any of these 2 loans. In February of 2016 my wife ******** ******* and I paid the remaining balance owed on the 2008 Pontiac g6 and we were advised that as soon as the check provided 2 them cleared the credit union would give us a lean release. After the check cleared we were advised of the outstanding amount of debt our daughter solely acquired with them, once again, none of the debt was ever 2 our knowledge, and that they refused to provide us with a lien release. And 2 make matters worse we were informed that they we going to repossess our 2008 Pontiac g6.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking that the lein release to the 2008 Pontiac g6 be provided to us or we would like all of the money paid to the credit union be refunded so we can replace the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/22) */ The credit union has spoken with the three members and they are fully aware of the cross collateral clause in the contract that allows the credit union to repossess the vehicle. While the credit union can repossess the vehicle, it was not our intent to do so until ******* made it clear she was not going to pay for other amounts she owes the credit union. The credit union had to repossess a truck she had purchased and had to write off another loan (unsecured). Initially, ******* had agreed to make arrangements on the two previous loans, but at a later date decided to not pay on them. At no time did the credit union state that we would release our lien on the Pontiac G6 once it was paid off. ******* has been on all the loans, as a result of the losses the credit union has taken, the only way to offset some of those losses is to repossess a car. Thank you.

1/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: During week home on vacation, I went to deposit money from an account outside of First Community and when I wanted to use my debit card to purchase an extra night at the hotel, it was declined. Fast forward 4 days to when I checked my account online, there was only 300. In the account history, there had been a -96 balance that was pulled out of the 400. I previously had overdraft fees refunded, but the staff at the branch couldn't help me because MY ACCOUNT HAD BEEN CLOSED! Asked why I hadn't been contacted and being that I had recently moved, all my mail has been forwarded to the new address and will be for the next 3 months. My phone number is on file so if the letters were returned to sender, they would still have a way to contact me. I have been receiving my account statements since the day I had my mail forwarded. I have since fixed my paypal settings and withdrawn my remaining cash from First Community. If you're looking for a credit union to open an account with, look elsewhere.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the $96.28 refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/19) */ This account was in good standing until 10/27 when Paypal began debiting the account with 9.99 fees. From 10/27 until 12/1/15 there was 4 NSF fees for Paypal trying to submit. We have refunded 3 of those fees totaling $75.00 as a courtesy. These fees have been refunded to the Savings.

1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid off my loan. My car title was mailed back thru USPS. But i haven't received it. On contact i was informed that there is no tracking number. I was informed that 10/26/15 my title was mailed via USPS to my address. There is no tracking number for it.Is it fair in their part to mail such important document like car title without tracking number. I have to go through the process of getting duplicate title. Will credit union take care of all expenses involving getting duplicate title.? i have paid back my loan from my side... is it fair to lose my car title from their end.?

Desired Settlement: i need help in tracking my car tile... or take care of expenses in getting duplicate one.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** On January 17th a duplicate title was ordered at our expense. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cashed a check with this branch,. Per policy, gave them my driver's license. Upon receipt of cash, my driver's license was not in the envelope. Went back the next morning, the bank said they did not have my driver's license. The lady in front of me had the same complaint. Also, after talking to several people, discovered this has happened quite often.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like a change to policy to come out of this as well as repayment for replacing my Driver's license.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2016/01/20) */ We have attempted to contact the member to resolve the issue and have not received a response. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2016/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a car loan through this credit union and I get a phone call today stating the are going to repossess my vehicle if I don't pay $410 by Friday. I tried to make an arrangement to make a payment of $380 of Friday and pay another $100 on the following Friday. They would not agree with this and they hung up on me. I called back to tell them that I would make the payment of $410 on Friday and ask why he hung up on me and he just hung up again. So I called back a third time and asked for the Vice President who wasn't available and I had to leave a message. I make regular payments of $280 every month on the 28th of the month. First I wasn't late and don't understand why they called to threaten me second it was unprofessional customer service when he hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to correct the billing error and drop the late fees, repossession fees or any other unnecessary fees they are applying to my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/24) */ ****** ****** has a car loan and credit card with the credit union and she has been over 30 days late on both accounts numerous times. The credit union had ordered the car for repossession because of lack of payments once and almost ordered it for repossession again, due to lack of payments and lacking full coverage insurance on her car. The relationship with ****** is difficult, she has argued with many of the collectors on staff, the time she was hung up on was because of her foul language, she was asked to stop speaking like that and wouldn't. Other times she has started the conversation with the statement, "I am going to be rude to you..." or "this is how its going to go..." ****** signed a contract to pay monthly and even though she is current at this time, she has not paid on time consistently. As a matter of practice, the credit union does not call members that are current, in ******'s case, our collection notes are numerous. As far as her resolution, there have been no billing errors, she has incurred late fees because she has been late and incurred repossession fees because the credit union has ordered the car for repossession.

7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited your St. Louis, MO Galleria branch today around 11:30am. I wanted to get a loan for $1200.00 to consolidate medical bills. A very nice woman helped me with the application. She was having issues filling out the application and called over another associate to help. I have a bankruptcy on my credit from February of 2014 and they said I could work the personal loan into my car loan, which is already financed through FCCU. They asked me the features on my car and found out that I had a lot more equity in my car than I thought and said it should be no issue to get it re-financed. When the woman I was dealing with called another office to finalize the loan, FCCU told me I had been denied due to too much negative remarks on my credit report. I know that this is bound to happen due to the bankruptcy, so I said ok and left.When I got back to my office, I had 2 missed calls from FCCU. I called them back at 12:30pm and the loan officer, Jeanetta, told me I had been approved to add the personal loan into my existing car loan. I was confused because I was just denied in the branch I was in, however, she assured me that I had been approved. She went over my new interest rate, new monthly payment, and new length of the loan. When I went to set up a time to close on the loan, she put me on hold for a few minutes and when she came back, she asked me specifics about my vehicle. I gave her the specifics and she put my on hold again. When she came back, she said she would NOT be able to approve me for this loan because my car was worth $8775.00 and I owe $89xx.00 on it, a difference of less than a couple hundred dollars. If this was the case, the loan should have never been approved in the first place, nor should they have called me back and TOLD me that I WAS APPROVED. By this time, I was frustrated and irritated with the employees of FCCU. I asked to speak to a supervisor and after waiting on hold for 10 minutes, Krista finally came to the line. Krista said she was the one who originally approved the loan. She apologized for the error on FCCUs end, but offered no other assistance. I was able to get a car loan AFTER a bankruptcy through FCCU, but not able to refinance for $1200.00 more because of different reasons I was given by all the different associates I spoke with. First, it was because of negative remarks on my credit report, then it was because my vehicle allegedly is not worth the amount of financing. The employees at FCCU need to get their facts and information correct 100% before they contact their customer and disappoint them SEVERAL times. I told Krista that I found it hard to believe that there was nothing else they could do for me or offer me and she said nothing. I wasted 2 hours of my day dealing with this ridiculous situation.As a customer of FCCU for the past 2 years, I feel as if FCCU does not appreciate their customers. The retention of their members is certainly, and obviously, not important. As a financial institution, FCCU should do more to help those trying to build their credit back up after a bankruptcy, instead we have a financial institution that punishes its members for falling on hard economic times. In the future, I will be sure to try to avoid getting any loans through FCCU and taking my banking needs elsewhere- somewhere where the institution will actually assist its members.

Desired Settlement: To be assisted with helping rebuild credit and treated fairly by the credit union.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/31) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* AVP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** The member was contacted on July 29th and a solution was provided that was inline with the desired resolution stated.

6/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase of a vehicle and my dealer financed through First Community CU. I had never had any dealings with First, but they had competitive rates and offered 90 days no interest. This appealed to me to take care of the tax and licensing, so I accepted their loan. With no contact from the CU, I had to go into the Ofallon location and make my first payment, setup autopay, and get my account information. One autopay in, they doubled my scheduled payment, without notification. They lost, or never recieved my proof of insurance. I would assume lost from my history with them. They never contacted me about my insurance information. I again had to go into the branch to find this out after my bank, from which the autopay came, alerted me about two bounced checks and overdrafts. The First Comm branch associate gave me a number to call because they don't deal with that in branch. I called the number, they informed me they had no insurance info from me. I had my agent fax my info and called to check First had received. They affirmed the receipt of my info and said the overbilling would be rectified but told me they, the department I had called, did not handle reimbursement of overdrafts, that was the branch. I went back to the branch and was told they don't reimburse overdrafts. I was ready to cut my losses at 64$ and move the loan. I waited for any communication by USPS, email, telephone or their online system that my account had been credited. After another autopay came out, this time the correct amount, I went back in to the branch and inquired where my overpay reimbursement was. The associate informed me the overpay had been recalculated as a principle payment and was not refunded. I suppose they thought it funny to keep the money they stole from me.Done with First Comm, I have moved my truck loan to another institution.

Desired Settlement: I would like, but do not expect, any refund from First Comm of my overdrafts.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/19) */ First Community Credit Union requires full coverage on vehicles for the entire term of the loan. If proof of insurance is not provided our members will receive several notices detailing what is needed to prevent CPI (Collateral Protection Insurance) from being added to the loan. An initial letter was sent to Mr. ******* on 12/5/2014. Two more notices were sent, one on 1/2/2015 and the second on 1/30/2015. Insurance was added to the account on 2/13/2015. On 3/26/2015 our member's insurance company provided proof of full coverage and the loan was credited for the full amount of the CPI and an interest credit. Mr. ******* was sent a letter detailing the cancellation of the placed insurance but did not contact us to request reimbursement for the one higher payment made based on the initial placement of the CPI. If this request would have been made, we would have accommodated Mr. ******* and refunded the amount from his loan to his share account. We appoligize for any inconvenience we may have caused and we have credited the requested amount to the account in settlement.

4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called the service number to learn how I to deposit checks from far away. I was advised to use the smart phone scanning feature to deposit the check so that I could transfer funds to pay my loans with the bank. I learned the phone scan would not work because there was a hold on my account because of the delinquency. I was transferred to a manager who insisted I pay my bill. I exclaimed, "that's ironic because that is exactly what I am trying to do but I am not in St. Louis or near any of your facilities. My only option is to scan the checks to you. The manager refused to assist me and told me it was my problem. I pleaded with the manager to allow me to bring my account up to date and make the appropriate deposit. He replied, that he was not going to assist me and there was nothing I could do about it since it was my responsibility to pay my bills. I pleaded that, that was exactly what I was trying to do he was actually preventing me from doing just that. He suggested that I open an account elsewhere and transfer the money to First Community or wire the money directly. I explained that I was away on business and did not have a desire to open a another bank account. He eclaimed, "tough luck buddy, you should pay your bills." Again, I exclaimed, that is what I am trying to do. He laughed and hung up. I managed to have a family member visit a site and deposit money on my behalf before but the holds and revocations remained on my checking account even after all my effort to bring the loans current. For three months after the interaction, my account was intermittently interrupted and closed by the same manager ****** even though the loans were current and the account remained in a positive state. Product_Or_Service: checking/savings/credit card/car loan Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Account reinstated, formal apology, and disciplinary action to staff memebers involved in unprofessional and unethical conduct.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/15) */ In response to the complaint, the credit union does restrict accounts once they are 30 days past due, this is done with every member, this member is not being singled out. Once an account is restriced, services are discontinued, services include seeing your account online. Once the account is cured, services are restored including online access. Credit union notes show conversations on January 9 and 13 of 2015 where this member was encouraged to wire funds to pay on the account or to mail them to our address. The account was only restriced when the account was over 30 days past due. Online activity and account access has been restored because the account is in good standing. Thank you.

4/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2009 VW Jetta March 2014. The insurance on the vehicle expired June 2014 and I received a letter stating if I do not provide insurance by my payment date of October 19th, First Community Credit Union would provide insurance which would increase my payment. I purchased insurance October 15th. Two weeks ago an investigator came to my home about the vehicle and left a message for me to call. I called the next day and left a voice mail, but did not get a call back. I called again and spoke to **** and ***** and confirmed my payments had been received. I was told the amount received was not the correct amount because First Community added the insurance. I contacted the insurance company and they faxed conformation of my policy to the First Community. I called again and was transferred to Darren Smith and left a voice mail. However, I never received a call back. My vehicle was repossessed March 24, 2015.

Desired Settlement: I provided proof of insurance and would like to get my car back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/07) */ In response to this members complaint, the credit union shows a lapse of insurance from July 18 through October 15 of 2014, that did raise the payment. They were delinquent and sent a right to cure default form and did not answer it. The biggest concern with this loan is the member is not the one driving the car, it is her nephew. The nephew called in and said he makes the payments, the credit union considers this a third party deal, something we do not do. The contract is between the credit union and the member. The vehicle was picked up at a different address than we have listed for our member. It is for these reasons the car was repossessed and they have the option of paying it off in full to get it back.

2/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/9/2014 I had a 2008 Scion financed through FIRST COMMUNITY CEDIT UNION, since that time I have had to call them EVERY month over my payment. Each month I receive at least one late notice if not more even though the money has been in my account on the due date, I have been told it was an error in a certain division that takes the money for payments even though I had it set up to be taken out of my savings account from the beginning and every month I have had to call them sometimes I have had to make several calls to try to make my payment! I have tried to talk to someone other than customer service to get this resolved, with no luck at all. My concern is that I am trying to NOT to make my credit rating worse than it is, but with these monthly late notices and at least one saying this could affect my credit rating they have left no choice but to file a complaint you, 8 months is by far long enough dealing with this! This has caused me such an extreme amount of stress that on one call I requested that my call be recorded since I had to take medication to calm down.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone of authority to contact me so this can be taken care of once and for all and I want these late notices removed from my account and the credit bureau, if it is going to them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/24) */ When our member first received her loan, she initially set up payments to be auto-drafted from another institution's savings account. For multiple months, these payments were auto-drafted without any issues. In November 2014, the auto-draft was returned NSF. This cancelled the recurring payment set up. In December 2014, our member authorized a one-time payment deduction from a checking account at another institution. That payment failed, returned due to account mismatch. There was no checking account to pull the money from. In January 2015, our member fixed the auto-deduction to be drafted our of her savings account at another institution, which went through fine. On 2/13/15, our member stopped the auto-deduction from the savings account at another institution. Also on 2/13/15, our member made her auto payment with cash. The late fee posted was returned. Our member has never paid a late fee on this account/loan. On 2/18/15, our member set up the payment to be auto-deducted from her savings account with First Community CU. As far as we can tell at this point, our member is set up with the payment method she chose, is current on the loan, has never paid a late fee, and has never been reported to any credit agency with a late payment. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I had requested that someone of "authority" contact me, which never happened! In the end I took care of it myself! It is mentioned about a checking account, they were told from the beginning that there is ONLY A SAVINGS ACCOUNT, I don't understand what part of that they don't get. VERY POOR BUSINESS!!!!

2/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Every weekend when I go to log onto I am not allowed in. It's different messages from week to week but it's almost as if their website goes down only when they don't have anyone manning customer service. I contacted them about the issue and they deny that it's happening. I have taken screenshots of the incedents for proof that it's taking place. Product_Or_Service: Online Banking

Desired Settlement: I want them to either keep the website maintained during the weekend or provide phone support for the website when they know it will be down. Or at the very least a message on the website that lets me know when I can get on so I can pay my bills and balance my checkbook. Thanks, **** ******.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/10) */ First Community makes every effort to ensure our online banking solution is up and available over 99% of the time. However, we do perform weekly maintenance every Saturday evening where we process the preceding weeks' worth of business. This maintenance period lasts for less than 45 minutes beginning at 11:00PM CT every Saturday evening. This maintenance period, along with every other scheduled maintenance period, is clearly stated on our website at*********************.html. Furthermore, should there be an unexpected outage that comes to our attention, we add a homepage message to our public facing website alerting users of the unexpected outage. It is our understanding that the member visited our Washington location on February 1, 2015, and spoke with the management staff there and stated he was aware of the Saturday evening maintenance and this was the only time he had in his week to login. We reviewed the user's online banking logs for the past 90 days, and they confirm that the member is able to successfully log in at all times of the day and week to perform transactions successfully. In the past 90 days we do not see any instance where this member attempted to login during the Saturday evening maintenance period. We do see however, that in the recent week or so the member has had a couple of 'Bad Login' attempts. A Bad Login attempt does not mean the site was unavailable, it means the member has either entered incorrect login credentials or is unable to complete the secondary authentication step. In this member's case, the member used the Forgotten Password feature on February 1, 2015 and had some difficulty logging in after that. Prior to February 1, 2015 the member had no bad login attempts in the preceding 90 days. We would be most happy to review the member's screenshots, along with the date/time of the incidents to see if we can explain what the member is experiencing. Those screenshots can be emailed to ******* The member is most welcome to email us at this email address any time he is having difficulty or if he would like to send us screenshots. Please note the email address is unmanned after business hours and from Saturdays @ 12:30pm until Monday morning at 8:00am CT, but we will respond as soon as possible. At this time First Community does not have the resources to provide 24 hour phone support. We have extra measures in place so that the proper personnel are notified if the system becomes unavailable during non-business hours (i.e. weekends), and we will continue to place homepage outage notifications on our website should an unexpected outage occur that we are aware of.

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have my 2012 Yamaha motorcycle financed through First Community Credit Union. During the winter, it is reasonable to store the motorcycle and reduce the cost of insurance by eliminating some coverage since I will not be driving it at all. Shortly after doing this, I received a notice that First Community Credit Union will add an additional $1200 to my motorcycle payment because I removed collision since I won't be driving the motorcycle through winter. The problem is, I still have insurance and I am paying it on time. I have been a great First Community customer for a number of years now but they are not willing to remove this tacked on fee of $1200 to my motorcycle. This is a surprise fee and I have tried to speak with Loan servicing but they are not helpful. Product_Or_Service: 2012 Yamaha r6

Desired Settlement: I would like to have an exception for this season be put in place. Remove the additional $1200 that was added to the account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** First Community Credit Union requires full coverage on cars and motorcycles whether the member is driving the vehicle or not. The member signs a loan document agreeing to keep full coverage until the loan is satisfied. Mr. ******** has added the required coverage and therefore received a full refund for the forced placed insurance. I spoke with him this morning, (2/2/15) and he was unaware of the refund and was pleased with this information.

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I refinanced my vehichle with this bank they had informed me of this insurance product (Members Choice Insurance) that would help me when i got out of the Marine Corps. I had paid 75$ per month for the past 7 months because the product was misrepresented to me. The representative had told me that it was for military members and that the 75$ would all come together and pay my car payment for the first month that I was out of the Marine Corps while I searched for a job. Instead of doing what the representative had told me, i have lost 450$ over the past 7 months because I cannot use any of it. I spoke with the manager who proceeded to say that her rep wouldnt say that and essentially calling me a liar and were not going to refund me the money. I have called and left a few voicemails for a few questions and i have been ignored, no calls back, no nothing. They misrepresented their product and now im at loss and they will not fix it. Product_Or_Service: Members Choice Insurance

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $450 due to the misrepresentation of their product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/29) */ Mr. **** was informed of the disability and involuntary unemployment insurance when the initial application was taken and was recently contacted by the representative that helped him. At the time of the loan inception, the debt protection agreement was given to him which would include the terms of coverage. Mr. **** had every opportunity to cancel if he felt that this coverage would not benefit him. Initially Mr. **** told the representative that he was leaving the Marine Corps due to a health problem. He then stated he was leaving the Marine Corps without being considered disabled. A claim was filed for him on 12/30/14 and he was sent paper work to complete. After receiving the forms he chose to discontinue the insurance on 1/7/15 because of the questions he would need to answer. He felt these questions were not applicable to his situation. I spoke with him several times. I explained that the contractual agreement he signed details the coverage and limitations of the insurance. Whenever a member chooses to have the insurance added to the loan they are advised to read the contract before signing. I feel that there was no misrepresentation from First Community Credit Union

12/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 07, 2014, they took $78.63 out of my account. It was paid to ****** X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. I called the company on July 25 and they agreed to refund my money. The card # and address did not match and would be deposit in my account. The bank needed the paperwork by the Sept 7, 2014, had 60 days and I waited to long. The bank is now refusing to intercede on this issue.

Desired Settlement: I did not authorize this debit and want the $78.63 deposited in my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/01) */ We have contacted the member and sent her the required documents. When the documents are returned, we will dispute the charge with the merchant until her funds are returned. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/10/13) */ I went to the First Community Credit Union in Chesterfield MO. Monday October 6, I was given another form by **** to fill out, Debit Card cardholder dispute form; because she stated that I had done everything I could on my end to retrieve my money from ******* *** company. I was told they would give me a response in 10 days of completion of the form. Thank You ****** ****

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 2,3, 2014 my ****** ******** check and ****** check was deposited. The total deposit was $2,010.50. I have had 14 transactions from my saving account from May 2, until May 16, 2014 that I can't account for. I can't get the bank to help me with this account.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to get in touch with me to discuss how I got 14 transfers by May 16, 2014. I only have a savings account. When I pay my bills I have them take out the money and give me a chec

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ********** A **** AVP Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***** We have been in touch with this member on several occasions regarding withdrawals he has made from his account. Each time he was told he could come in to view the camera with us. The most recent one in question at the beginning of May showed that he received a Cashiers Check and also cash in our drive-up. We have refunded all of his fees and he has stopped his direct deposit. A check for the balance in his account was mailed today.

6/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/24/2014 Delivery Issues
2/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on First Community Credit Union
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart