BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/31/1989

Electro Savings Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (314) 434-6470Fax: (314) 434-3558View Additional Phone Numbers1805 Craigshire Rd, Saint LouisMO 63146-4005 Send email to Electro Savings Credit Union

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/31/1989

BBB has determined that Electro Savings Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Electro Savings Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Electro Savings Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
10/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I have had an approved car loan with them of June of 2015. After I started making my payments they claimed they were not being made in a timely manner. When the loan was taken out I cancelled the service contract with the dealership and the dealership wrote a check to ElectroSavings in that amount in late July or early August. I was told they would only allow me to take the money as a principle payment and I did not agree with that. They keep insisting they want the car back because I was late on one payment one time due to the check that the dealershoip wrote only being applied to principle payment, which I did not expect. I did not pay my first payment until August 3rd but it was due July 20th. In my contract with the loan company it says I have a 15 day grace period. They keep charging me late fees when my payment is made within the 15 days. No matter how much I pay on the car they keep saying they want the car back and they are asking me to turn the car over. I think they are losing money on the loan so they are asking for the car back despite my consistent payments.

Desired Settlement
I want the company to reinstate the loan and either change the due date or resign the loan on different terms.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****, VPO
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX est ****
Contact Email: ******
The Credit Union financed a vehicle loan for Mr. ******. To determine the amount to be financed a value placed on the vehicle and based on Credit Union policy we can finance a certain percentage of the purchase price or all of it. Within the same purchase transaction a warranty was purchased and subsequently financed with the vehicle. The warranty has a cash value if canceled and was not part of the percentage financed of the vehicle. So if the warranty is canceled, the Credit Union has to apply the amount to reduce the loan so the remaining amortization of the amount financed is not altered. It is not appropriate to use add on products such as a warranty to make contractual payments on the loan if canceled. Based on the due date of the loan, the Credit Union would not be asking for the return of the collateral, it was not that seriously past due. We are sorry Mr. ****** thought he could use the funds from the refund of the warranty as payments, but that is simply not allowed as explained here.

01/15/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I have a car loan through Electro Savings Credit Union. I set up automatic payments with a representative named *** over the phone. 2 months in I had been reported to all credit agencies of having a delinquent payment. I complained and asked them to remove the late payment from my credit report which they denied my request. They asked if I'd like to setup automatic payments. I told them I had already done that, and that's why I wanted the late payment removed from my credit, but went ahead and set it up AGAIN. 2 months later I get a call, asking for my payment. I complained to a rep Ashley, and then spoke with her "Supervisor" *******. He yelled and accused me, and told me it was my fault that I was in this position. He told me that they don't do automatic payments. I couldn't believe what I was hearing. I was then told that the person I originally setup the auto pay with was ***, and that *** doesn't work there anymore, so why would I expect my auto payments to still be in affect? Again, I couldn't believe what I was hearing, all while yelling at me. I then asked to speak with his boss over and over again, until he hung up on me to transfer the call to his boss, but he never gave me the name for his boss. The voicemail that I got, did not include his bosses name or any information. The worst experience I have ever had with any company. Avoid Electro Savings Credit Union at all costs.
Product_Or_Service: 2007 Scion TC

Desired Settlement
I would like the late payment removed from my credit report, and an apology from Electro Savings Credit Union.

Business Response
Mr. **** needs to come in one of our branches and talk to a Member Service Rep about the different options to make payments on his loan. We have a variety of different methods including Web payments. The *** Mr. **** is referencing is a collector that would be involved in past due loans. She would not have access unless it was 15 days or more. *** left the credit union several months ago and if she had put on her calendar to pull a payment from Mr. ****'s account, it was service above and beyond by ***. Of course since it was set up with *** no one else would have knowledge of this practice. Yesterday Mr. **** called in and we gladly pulled his December 19, 2015 payment and back dated it to the due date. There are no 30 day late payments reflected in our system so I am not sure why he believes there are 2 showing. If that is the case he must follow the established pathways to contact the credit reporting agencies, which is free, and dispute the information and they will correct it for him. We don't have access to correct anything unless Mr. **** opens a case with the credit agencies. Of course we are sorry Mr. **** has had the experience he has had. We are here to serve and improve the quality of lives and not create additional financial stress.

04/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I have banked here for 30 years. Last month they decided to issue new credit cards and sent out a letter saying that my credit card would stop working on the 5th. On the 21st I was in California and rented a bicycle. They swiped my card for $1000 to make sure I brought the bike back. When I returned the bike, they refunded me the $906 on my card. I called to activate the new card and it would not activate. I called the credit union and talked to someone who told me they are having all kinds of problems activating and they would do it for me. I couldn't use the card and called the company. They said they were having this problem and it should work not. The$ 906 credit is not showing up and they are telling me to wait for it. They won't do anything to investigate it for me.

Desired Settlement
I want this company to investigate where my credit is and I want the credit union to issue me my credit. They have displayed 0 customer service and I have been banking here for 30 years.

Business' Initial Response
Our records show the merchant credit was posted April 09 2013 for $906.93 from Helen's Cycles.

03/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Electro Saving Credit Union signed me up for Term Life and Disability Life Plan on an auto loan without knowledge.
In May 2006, I purchased an auto from a dealership. The six year loan was booked through Electro Savings and at the time, I declined any extra insurance.

A month later, I received a call from the credit union to stop in and sign up for a pre-approved credit card. In the documents that I signed and without my knowledge or any explanation about the form, they had me sign a form to purchase the insurance I previously declined. I also never received any disclosures about this insurance.

In 2011 I filed for bankruptcy due to health reasons. During this process, my lawyer and I found out about this extra insurance that the credit union signed me up for. On this loan I never missed a payment or was late and was not including it in the bankruptcy.

I tried speaking with the credit union about this multiple times (starting October 2011) and let them know I never wanted this insurance. I was informed y the credit union that I did approve this and was expected to pay. Even though I tried again to cancel it with the credit union with the manager that day, I am still being charged on it and the amount is still growing daily.

The principle and interest on the car was paid off earlier this year but the credit union is still showing the insurance outstanding balance that continues to grow and earn interest, and will not be paid off for another year.

I know I was defrauded on this and to this date have not been able to find resolution to this issue.

Desired Settlement
A refund of the insurance paid and my title to my car.

Business' Initial Response
This is a voluntary product that can be canceled at any time. All the Credit Union needs is the request in writing from Ms. . We show no record of this request in writing. We have used this complaint communication as request to cancel the product as of this month so there will be no further charges.

03/27/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/31/1989Business started: 01/01/1941
Contact Information
Principal: Stan Moeckli (President)Customer Contact: Dave Meyer (Vice President) Rita Schwab (Manager)
Business Category

Credit Unions

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Electro Savings Credit Union

1805 Craigshire Rd

Saint Louis, MO 63146-4005

To | From


2 Locations

  • 1805 Craigshire Rd 

    Saint Louis, MO 63146-4005(314) 434-6470
    (314) 340-6470 ext 133
    (314) 434-6470 ext 101
    (314) 849-5050
    Fax: (314) 434-3558
    Fax: (314) 434-3558
    Fax: (314) 434-3558
    Fax: (314) 434-3558

  • 12400 Tesson Ferry Rd 

    Sappington, MO 63128-2702

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Electro Savings Credit Union is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (314) 340-6470 ext 133
  • (314) 434-6470 ext 101
  • (314) 849-5050

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Credit Unions


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.