BBB Accredited Business since

1st Financial Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (636) 916-8300 Fax: (636) 916-8370 View Additional Phone Numbers 1232 Wentzville Pkwy, Wentzville, MO 63385 https://www.1stfinancialfcu.org/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 1st Financial Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1st Financial Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 1st Financial Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 28, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1968 in MO Business started locally: 01/01/1968
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Carol Minges, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Carol Minges, CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Banks

Alternate Business Names
1st Financial Fed Credit Union Aerospace Community Credit Union-PREVIOUS First Financial Fed Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 1232 Wentzville Pkwy

    Wentzville, MO 63385 (636) 916-8300 (800) 288-7618

  • 1407 Washington Ave

    Saint Louis, MO 63103

  • 1550 Country Club Plaza Dr

    Saint Charles, MO 63303

  • 5916 N Lindbergh Blvd

    Hazelwood, MO 63042

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a formal complaint against 1st Financial Federal Credit Union located in St. Louis County, MO. I apologize for the length but I wanted to submit all of the facts concerning my treatment by 1st Financial Federal Credit Union. My brother **** C. ********* passed away on February 27, 2015. I arrived in St. Louis on February 28, 2015 to settle his affairs. On March 2, 2015, I made arrangements with ******** Funeral Home for his burial. On March 4, 2015, I received Five office copies of his death so that I could inform his Four Creditors of his passing. My brother had Four Debts and Two Assets. Debts were with two Banks, a Credit Card Co. and a Federal Credit Union. A 2011 Chrysler 300 and a house at **** ******* **** ******** ******** MO XXXXX were his two assets. The two Banks and the Credit Card Co. were excellent in their handling of ****'s accounts. All offered condolences and stated they would stop all interest payments on his accounts effective immediately. 1st Financial Federal Credit Union was just the opposite. I took the office copy of his Death Certificate to their office located at **** ********* ***** Hazelwood, MO on March 5, 2015 and presented it along with ****'s account number to a woman, name unknown, but was located in the first cubicle on the right as you enter their offices. No condolences or sorry to hear about your loss. When she pulled up his account, the first words out of her mouth were "We're going to REPO your brothers 300 Chrysler because we need the money he owes." I stated that the car was paid for until the 19th of March 2015 since they had already taken out his car payment of$386.91 on February 19, 2015. His next payment was not due until March 19, 2015. She stated "That does not make any difference since we have lien rights and we need our money." I then explained that the car which is an estate asset, is presently tied up in Probate Court along with his house. "That doesn't make any difference were still going to REPO his car." On March 10, 2015 a woman who refused to identify herself from 1st Financial Federal Credit Union called my Lawyer, **** ****, and told him they were going to REPO the car and sell it. Mr. **** told her that the car was tied up in Probate Court as one of **** C. *********'s assets and we would be selling iut and paying it off as soon as ***** ********* was designated as Personal Rep. for the Estate of **** C. *********. That didn't make any difference to her. You will not that the car was currently paid up until March 19, 2015 and they are trying to REPO a car that is paid up to date. Starting the week of March 23, 2015 I received several phone calls from a Skip Tracing Service in Rockwall Texas with a 972 phone # and an operator named *****, again no company name, demanding to know where the 300 Chrysler was located so that they could come and REPO it. I told her it was located in a garage. On March 26, 2015 I called 1st Financial Federal Credit Union in Wentzville, MO and talked to Mr. **** ******* about a resolution to stop the harassing phone calls from the Skip Tracing Service and his company. His resolution, repeated several times, was "Give us the 300 Chrysler because we want out money and is there anything else I can do for you." Apparently this mindset is a company policy to harass the clients because they are not interested in working with their clients they only want MONEY. Probate court assigned me the responsibility of protecting my brothers two assets. Had I let 1st Financial Federal Credit Union REPO the car they would have made a profit of $7,059.30 since the car was worth $18,000 and the debt on it was $10,940.70. That would have reduced ****'s assets and would have possibly reduced payments to the other creditors. On April 2, 2015, Mr. ******* J. **** PC filed a claim for $10,940.70 with Probate Court against the Estate of **** C. ********* A/K/A deceased for 1st Financial Federal Credit Union for the debt owed on ****'s 300 Chrysler. During the last week in April and the first two weeks of May, ***** from the Skip Tracing Service sent a wrecker from Ideal Towing in Northern Va. several times to my home in Spotsylvania Va. to pick up the Chrysler 300. Also she called my wife, my daughter in Texas and my other daughter in Florida demanding to know where the Chrysler 300 was stored. On May 13, 2015 Probate Court designated me as a Personal Rep. for the Estate of **** C. ********* A/K/A deceased. I did not receive the official Letters Testamentary until May 22, 2015. I took one of them along with the title to ****'s car to ****** Ford for them to buy it. They sent a fax to Mr. ******* J. **** PC, since we have not been able to contact any personnel at 1st Financial since he filed the claim in Probate Court on April 2, 2015 and all contacts had to be made through Mr. ****, for confirmation of the $10,940.70 payoff that they filed with Probate Court on April 2, 2015. Mr. **** sent a Fax to ****** Ford stating that payoff on the car was $12,050.01. I contacted Mr. **** to find out why the increase in payoff. He stated that the cost for his services was $450.00, the Skip Tracing Services was $500.00 and interest for 1st Financial was $159.31. I relayed this to my lawyer, **** ****, and he informed Mr. **** that we would pay $10,940.70 but if they insisted on the new amount we would file a hearing in Probate Court and let the judge decide on the amount we needed to pay. On June 4, 2015 Mr. **** called Mr. **** and told him they were dropping his charges and the skip tracing charges but 1st Financial wanted the $159.31 or they would hold up giving a clear title for the car. A check for $11,100.01 was delivered to 1st Financial on June 9, 2015 but they did not send a clear title until June 29, 2015. 1st Financial will not send me a statement for monies received and spent for the month of March 2015. Also they held $950.77 of my brother's money that was in his account from March 2015 until July 13, 2015. 1st Financial in my opinion owes **** C. *********'s Estate $159.31 which was an illegal charge that should have been dropped when the other $950.00 illegal charges were dropped. They need to send me a check for that amount so that I can include it in the final accounting with Probate Court. If that was in fact a legal charge why was it not included in the claim Mr. **** made to Probate Court on April 2, 2015. He filed for $10,940.70 not $11,100.01. A copy of their brochure stating "Our mission is to work with you and diligently make arrangements for payments, preserve your credit rating, help make your payment plan a little easier during tough times and work to make arrangements for short term emergencies. That's why we have a friendly, down to earth staff that is here to help." I found those statements to be completely false. In my opinion that statement should read "That's why we have an unfriendly, antagonistic and harassing staff that will be very unpleasant every time you communicate with us and we could care less about our customers since all we want is your money." In closing, in addition to the $159.31 that's due for ****'s estate, I should also receive some compensation for the harassment and stress that 1st Financial employees and the Skip Tracing Service placed upon myself and my family with phone calls and illegal charges during our time of grieving for the loss of my Brother.

Desired Settlement: In closing, in addition to the $159.31 that's due for ****'s estate, I should also receive some compensation for the harassment and stress that 1st Financial employees and the Skip Tracing Service placed upon myself and my family with phone calls and illegal charges during our time of grieving for the loss of my Brother.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/09) */ We appreciate Mr. ********* letting us know about his concerns with the way we handled this situation. In reviewing the events prior to the repossession, during, and after the repossession, we realized there were several key moments where we could have handled the situation better than we did. During our review, we realized that we acted faster than we should have. We were trying to stick to the letter of our agreement to protect our collateral when we should have taken more time to better understand the Mr. *********'s specific situation so we could work with him on a solution. This incident has made us go back through our processes related to deceased members to determine how we can better serve their families in the future. We are in the process of contacting Mr. ********* to discuss this with him and will honor his request for the amount noted. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/12/18) */ This complaint is not closed since 1st Financial Federal Credit Union only resolved one portion of the complaint and that they were going to send me a check for $159.31 which I still have not received. Also their response contained a statement which was totally false. They stated "In reviewing the events prior to the repossession, during, and after the repossession we realized we could have handled the situation better than we did" What REPOSSESSION!!! My brothers 2011 300 Chrysler was in my garage from February 28, 2015 until I sold it to ****** Ford in June 2015. I also requested a Financial Statement for the month of March 2015 for monies received and paid out of **** C. *********'s Account. No response. I also did not receive a copy of their Directive addressed to all of their company personnel to follow all of the procedures in their main brochure stating how to support customers who have encountered unforeseen circumstances as noted in their "Member Solution Center statement in their brochure." This should be their response in handling all cases not just those associated with a death in the family. From their answer to my complaint it is my opinion that nothing has changed as far as correcting their company attitude and therefore they will continue to Harass people instead of trying to work out a solution. They also did not offer me compensation for the 3 months of harassment and stress it caused by Company Personnel and Skip Tracing Services Personnel calling myself, my family and my lawyer demanding to know where the 2011 Chrysler 300 was located so they could reprocess it. Therefore I am requesting the same amount of money for compensation that they demanded of me for Lawyer fees and Skip Tracing Services. $950.00. Until all of these are complied with, this complaint will stay open. The CFO of 1st Financial Federal credit Union did call and he was professional which was a drastic change from other personnel contacts with that co. The only thing resolved during our conversation was the check for $159.31 which I still have not received. All other requests were left up in the air since he did not have the authority to address those issues . So as a final statement, this complaint against 1st Financial Credit Union will stay open until they have complied with all of my requests. ***** L. *********

8/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been trying to get an explanation of charges from 1st Financial for afew months now. Its been pretty much impossible speaking with the loan account reps. I called today and finally asked to speak with a supervisor. I spoke briefly with ****** ***** who informed me that she was the account resolution manager. Once again I was denied information pertaining to my account. My loan agreement with 1st Financial ends in Aug of this year (next month) Each time a call representatives will only inform me that I still have 1000's of dollars remaining to be paid but will not give an explaination of charges. Today I was informed my balance was 3700 with no explantion other than "well you have a few late fees and you did three skip a pays. ****** said shes not willing to discuss my accout with me. She says that she ia only willing to send me copies of my statement how many ever that I want with a charge for each and that I can figure it out with the statements. I find this totally obserd that no one will discuss my acct with me not even management. She also offered that I could come into the office and make an appointment with her to discuss it. She knows I live in Texas and thats highly unlikely. Whats the difference with over the phone and an face to face appointment. Seems to me we could just resolve it over the phone. Sounds like they are just not interested in closing/resolving the account. Seems to me if the money is actually due to them they would not have an issue with my request. I don't think I'm asking for anything out of the norm. A simple break down of the so call remaining charges. Product_Or_Service: 2009 Honda accord

Desired Settlement: Simply An explanation of charges....that simple

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/05) */ The member had called within the past few months to discuss remaining payments and outstanding balances, which were reviewed with the member. On July 20th, the member called and wanted to know why her loan balance was so high, and was upset because she thought the loan was supposed to be paid off soon. The Account Resolution representative noted it was due to a combination of transactions, including skip-a-pay months requested by the member, collateral protection insurance coverage, and fees including late and NSF charges. The member was not satisfied with the representative's answer and the member wanted specific dollar amounts for the full four year time frame of her loan payment history and asked to be transferred to the manager. The Account Resolution Manager spoke with the member. She asked to verify the member's address, however, the manager discovered that the member had moved and did not update her address; therefore the member was not receiving statements. The manager offered to send statements to the member so that she could see what made up the total balance and they could set up an appointment to go over the statements together in order to resolve the question of the remaining payments. The member demanded the manager review the loan payment history right at that moment because she stated she didn't have time to wait for statements or an answer and that it is the manager's job to do this for the member when they ask. The manager informed the member that she needed to research the transactions and couldn't just start discussing the history without looking into it and pulling statements first. The Account Resolution Manager researched the payment history on the loan and contacted the member. The manager went over the results of the research in detail, explained remaining balance and gave specific amounts related to the three skip-a-pay months requested by the member, collateral protection insurance coverage and various other items including late and NSF fees. The member understood why there was a remaining balance and where it is coming from. The manager pulled statements from the beginning of the loan and printed them out, changed the member's address and mailed the statements to the member for her records.

7/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AUGUST 9, 2014 I PURCHASED A CAR THROUGH *** AUTO SALES. IN APRIL ON 2015 I FELL ON HARD TIMES AND WAS UNABLE TO PAY MY CAR NOTE. I PAID ONE FULL MONTH ON OR AROUND JUNE 9, 2015. ON JUNE 17, 2015 MY CAR WAS REPOSSED ON JUNE 22, 2015 I CONTACTED THE CREDIT UNION TO GET MY CAR BACK. THE ASKED FOR CURRENT INSURANCE AND PROOF OF INCOME. I GAVE BOTH. AS OF TODAY JUNE 23, 2015 I STILL DON'T HAVE MY CAR AND ACCUMULATING FEE'S DAILY. IM DEALING WITH A ***** AT THE WENTZVILLE OFFICE WHO REFUSES TO GIVE HER LAST NAME AND HAS BEEN VERY RUDE AND DOESN'T WANT TO GIVE THE CAR BACK. THEY SAY I AM 76 DAYS PAST DUE AS OF TODAY, BUT IM TRYING TO PAY AND CONTINUE WITH MY PAYMENTS SO THAT MY CREDIT DOESN'T GET IN WORSE. I NEED MY CAR TO CONTINUE TO GET BACK AND FOURTH TO WORK. I HAVE TRIED SPEAKING WITH A SUPERVISOR BY THE NAME OF ****** ***** AND SHE IS QUESTIONING MY PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT. I REALLY DO THINK I AM BEING HANDLED IN THIS MATTER BECAUSE OF THE COLOR OF MY SKIN. I HAVE CONTACTED THE LOCAL NEWS AS WELL. WHETHER THEY GIVE ME MY CAR BACK OR FORCE ME TO FILE BANKRUPTCY I WILL TAKE THIS AS FAR AS I HAVE TO.

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY CAR BACK OR WANT THIS TO NOT BE ON MY CREDIT AT ALL

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/08) */ BBB Complaint # XXXXXXX On June 4th, 2015, the member's vehicle loan was reviewed for repossession due to the delinquent status. There had been no payments made since April 16, 2015. The loan was due for April, May and June payments. There were two promises for payments made by the member, and both were broken. In addition, there were six messages left at the member's home and no return calls from the member. There was no proof of insurance provided for the vehicle. 1st Financial is the lienholder and the loan agreement states the member is to keep the vehicle insured for the duration of the loan. After the information was reviewed, the decision was made to place the repossession order, which was done on June 4th, 2015. A member may be allowed an opportunity to redeem the vehicle and continue their loan with the credit union if the credit union can be assured the member will be able to make the remaining payments. This is done by obtaining certain documentation, including current insurance declarations and proof of income. The member must also bring the loan current. On June 11, 2015 1st Financial received a check payment via mail from the member for a third of the amount due. However, since this amount was not the total amount to bring the loan current, it was not enough to stop the repossession order. The check was placed into the member's savings account and was not placed towards the loan so that the member would not be led to believe that the repossession order would be stopped. The member's car was repossessed on June 18, 2015. On that day, the member called in and wanted to know how to get his car back. He was informed of the information the Credit Union would need in order to redeem. The member was sent the Notice of Repossession and Intent to Sell letter. On June 22, 2015, the member went to our Downtown location with his paperwork for redemption. However he did not have all of the required paperwork. He had an insurance card instead of a declaration page from the Insurance company. The member was also informed that we would need paycheck stubs to verify income and he did not have those. On June 23, 2015, we received the declaration page that was received from the insurance company, however, the member's address was different from the address we had on file. We contacted the member and asked which address was correct. The member would not confirm which address was correct. Proof of income was not provided by the member. We asked the member to provide paycheck stubs once again. The member stated he is a 1099 worker who does not receive payroll checks. Therefore we asked for proof of income from his employer on letterhead. We received a letter from a paralegal company noting that the member had a full time position as an "independent electrician contractor". Because it seemed odd that a paralegal firm would require a full time electrician, we needed to research the issue further. We reviewed the employer's address and found it was traced to a public storage facility. We telephoned the company using the number given in the letter and asked for copies of company documentation noting amounts being paid to the member. We received this on the evening of June 23, 2015. We checked the Missouri Secretary of State's business listing and the company was an active registered business. Also, the individual we spoke with at the company was noted as an officer of the company. On June 24, 2015 the member was allowed to redeem the car if the loan was brought current, which the member did on June 25, 2015.

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: finance department manager was very belligerent. she spoke over me even when she asked if the information she had was wrong. she clamed I was purposely giving the wrong information. without giving me a chance to speak she aggressively told me she wasn't going to accommodate my request for a email or resend the lien release through fax. I called several time later to only be sent to voice mail...

Desired Settlement: The lien released that she stated that she would send it in the mail. But also do to her attacking me over the phone I would like to see a lower BBB rating...

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/04/03) */ Contact Name and Title: Chief Lending Officer Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@1stfinancialfcu.org BBB Follow Up: On March 31, 2015 Mr. ****** contacted 1st Financial Federal Credit Union to obtain a Lien Release on a vehicle he recently purchased from a prior member. In researching the vehicle 1st Financial found that the vehicle had been paid off in 2009 and that we no longer had an interest in the vehicle. 1st Financial typically provides lien releases to borrowers shortly after a vehicle is paid off, but apparently the borrower did not submit the lien release to the Missouri Department of Revenue to have the lien removed from the title. Mr. ****** provided a fax number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) to fax the release to and 1st Financial attempted to fax the document at 11:31AM but the transmission failed so we re-sent the fax to same number at 11:33AM and it failed again. Mr. ****** then provided a different fax number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and 1st Financial attempted, unsuccessfully, to fax the document a third time at 11:44AM. At that point the employee working with Mr. ****** said she would mail the document to him and did so. Mr. ****** wanted her to continue trying to send the document. Unfortunately our employee became frustrated at that point and declined to continue further attempts at electronic submission, and her frustration was evident to Mr. ******. Upon realizing what occurred, the Centralized Lending Manager immediately addressed the issue with the employee. Her response was not acceptable and did not meet the service promises 1st Financial Federal Credit Union commits to our members and nonmembers. On April 2, 2015, the Centralized Lending Manager called Mr. ****** to apologize for the inappropriate response and attitude he received from one of our staff members and emailed him a lien release right away. The following is text from the message sent to Mr. ****** at 11:45AM on April 2, 2015: "Following up on our conversation earlier this morning attached is the Lien Release for the vehicle you recently purchased. Once again my apologies for the inappropriate response you received from my staff member when you originally requested the lien release. 1st Financial strives to provide courteous and professional service in all of our interactions and clearly we did not do so in this case, and this has been addressed." Mr. ****** emailed the credit union after receiving his lien release and was appreciative of the quick follow up. In conclusion, this level of service is not acceptable at the credit union and the employee's behavior has been addressed. Sincerely, ******** R. ****** Chief Lending Officer

5/15/2014 Delivery Issues
2/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on 1st Financial Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)