This business is not BBB accredited.

Rhino Development & Roofing LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 301-9899 View Additional Phone Numbers 1037 S Big Bend Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63117 ! There is an alert on Rhino Development & Roofing LLC !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rhino Development & Roofing LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 22, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2007 Business started locally: 01/01/2007
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Gordon, Owner David Brent Gordon
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Gordon, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Hail Repair


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1037 S Big Bend Blvd

    Saint Louis, MO 63117

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1136 Washington Ave Unit 907

    Saint Louis, MO 63101 (314) 363-0152 (573) 321-9343 (314) 301-9899

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4250 E Broadway

    Columbia, MO 65201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2014 Delivery Issues
4/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Rhino to repair damage caused by a tornado that hit our home in April 2013. It's now September, and our home is still un repaired. Through this entire process, there has been seemingly no communication or organization amongst the Rhino team, as no one there ever seemed to know what was going on. We constantly had to ask them to follow through on several broken promises. There were also instances where Rhino employees got into arguments with our insurance adjuster and the city inspector.We finally met with Rhinos owner, David Gordon, on Tuesday, September 3, and he admitted that this project was in chaos, that no one on his team could explain what was going on, and that some of the employees involved were no longer employed at Rhino. David promised to take ownership of our project from that point on and take care of any open issues. One open issue involved unanswered questions about supplemental insurance claims with AAA. The other involved a leaky tarp that they had installed to cover the holes in our roof. During our meeting, David promised to follow up on both issues the following day. We heard nothing from David, so I finally called him Friday morning (9/6) to get an update. He returned my call late that afternoon and said that he called AAA but hadn't heard back. AAA's records show that he did not call them until late that Friday afternoon. Also, nothing has been done with the tarp since our initial meeting with David, and water leaked into our home due to rain. He said he'd come by the house on Monday, Sept 9 to sign a new contract, because the old agreement no longer met the scope of the project due to the city's new code requirements. When he came, we told him that we wished to sever our relationship. He stormed out of the house, agreeing to cut ties and claiming we had been dishonest with him about the status of the insurance claim. He wouldn't listen to the facts about the insurance situation, where there is an obvious misunderstanding. He now will not take our phone calls. Product_Or_Service: Roofing

Desired Settlement: We want to cancel the contract a refund for the down payment of $1,518.36, which we gave them to start the work. I would like to put a claim with their liability insurance for damages resulting from a faulty tarp they used, please send information to file a claim.

4/4/2014 Delivery Issues
4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/4/2014 Delivery Issues
4/4/2014 Delivery Issues
4/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Below are the MAJOR 4 of many complaints about Rhino Development and Roofing, David Gordon (owner) and Thomas Grellner (Office Manager): 1.7/20/13: I paid Rhino $7500 to buy and install shingles & build a chimney. They NEVER paid the shingle company. 2.8/20/13: I paid Rhino $2500 & $1780 (they wanted more than $2500, so I wrote a second check) to install siding and finish the chimney. They NEVER finished the chimney. Following repeated emails/calls to determine when the chimney would be finished and the other work started - I fired them and hired others to finish the chimney and complete the other work.3.10/29/13: I personally paid the shingle supplier to avoid having a lien placed against my home. The balance due was $573.15 MORE THAN my final insurance settlement.4.Rhino REFUSES to turn over lien releases that are rightfully mine. David Gordon told me that he would not provide lien releases until I paid him the full balance because Your materials are bought on an account and paid off once we are paid off.Rhino WAS PAID for the shingles on 7/20/13. On 10/23/13, Rhino agreed to meet to settle. I planned to give them the final insurance settlement check and they were to provide all lien releases, pay for the shingles and get the shingles lien release. Since I already gave them a check in July for shingles and the shingles supplier was not paid, I changed the meeting time & location to the shingles suppliers office. I told them I would write the check to the supplier and they were to pay the shingles supplier for the balance due over and above the insurance settlement. This would ensure that the MY shingles would be paid for this time. Rhino wouldnt meet me nor agree to another day/time. After repeated lies and hollow promises to deliver the shingles lien release, I personally paid the shingles supplier on 10/29/13. Including the payment to the shingles company on Rhinos behalf, Rhino has now received over $16,800. Rhino owes me money & legitimate lien releases. Product_Or_Service: General contractor

Desired Settlement: This complaint can be resolved IF AND ONLY IF:1.Rhino pays me the $573.15 that I paid the shingles supplier ON THEIR BEHALF.2.Rhino provides me with ALL LIEN RELEASES FOR ALL WORK PERFORMED & ALL SUPPLIERS USED.3.The Rhino Lien Release is notarized & their Lien Release certifies that all lien releases provided to me are authentic.

1/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with this company 7/4/13 to replace my roof and all things associated with the roof. On 7/22 and 7/23 they installed the roof. I paid them half of the estimated cost at the signing of the contract and paid the remaining balance. The roof cost more than they expected and I agreed to pay more. The total estimated cost was $12,012. The increased price was an additional $283. I agreed to pay this. There were a few things that they needed to finish up. I paid them $283 on August 31st. Yesterday I received a letter from a law firm representing ******** ******** ********* and they say that Rhino development and roofing has not paid for the materials totaling $7,182.43 and they are sending me this letter letting me know they will put a lien on my house for payment for materials. The letter says I should contact the owner of the company and inquire with him. I have called him yesterday afternoon, this morning, I've called the sales manager as well and no one is returning my call.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to pay their supplier and supply me a lien waiver from ******** ******** **********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@********** I'm writing this as an explanation of Rhino Development and Roofing's current financial situation. In May of this year when the F5 tornado hit ***** Oklahoma it tore at my heart and I want to find a way to contribute to the rebuilding. A week after the storm I left for Oklahoma City to team up with a Church and the volunteer effort. A few days after I was there I realized that my expertise in general contracting insurance claims was what was needed. I believed that my office in St. Louis was capable to handle everything without my presence. Three months later I realized that wasn't the case. Our entire process was operating a lot slower without me being here to stay on top on everyone. At the end of August I came back to St. Louis and have been basically living at the office here trying to get our processes smoothed out. I had to let a few employees go and have taken complete control of the office here. We are headed back in the right direction but its taking some time for our cash flow to reflect the new direction I have the company going. Because of these cash flow issues we are more then 30 days late on our account with ******** ******** ****** and they are now issuing demand letters on this account. At this point I am focusing on invoicing insurance companies, collecting money from homeowners, and applying for a gap loan on our current account receivables. With me focusing on these items, being in the office everyday to lead the team, and saying a few prayers everyday I know we will pull out of this soon.I am not proud of the situation that we are in but give my word that I will honor our commitments and resolve these issues. As for this file in particular. I have spoken to the homeowner and explained the situation. We will have this balance paid for completely by October 4th, 2013.

9/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Rhino Roofing to replace roof on my home and garage the job was completed I paid for job in full,8 weeks later I received a letter from a lawyer saying rhino did not pay for materials and their client cardinal building materials would put a lien on my home unless they are paid.I called rhino roofing's owner who had a voice mail directing callers to his office manger.I then called the office manger who said he would look into the problem and call me the next morning, he did not call,when i called him he did not answer i left a message he did not return my call Product_Or_Service: roof replacement

Desired Settlement: I would like a lien waiver and rhino roofing to lose the A rating on your website.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@gmail.com I'm writing this as an explanation of Rhino Development and Roofing's current financial situation. In May of this year when the F5 tornado hit Moore Oklahoma it tore at my heart and I want to find a way to contribute to the rebuilding. A week after the storm I left for Oklahoma City to team up with a Church and the volunteer effort. A few days after I was there I realized that my expertise in general contracting insurance claims was what was needed. I believed that my office in St. Louis was capable to handle everything without my presence. Three months later I realized that wasn't the case. Our entire process was operating a lot slower without me being here to stay on top on everyone. At the end of August I came back to St. Louis and have been basically living at the office here trying to get our processes smoothed out. I had to let a few employees go and have taken complete control of the office here. We are headed back in the right direction but its taking some time for our cash flow to reflect the new direction I have the company going. Because of these cash flow issues we are more then 30 days late on our account with Cardinal Building Supply and they are now issuing demand letters on this account. At this point I am focusing on invoicing insurance companies, collecting money from homeowners, and applying for a gap loan on our current account receivables. With me focusing on these items, being in the office everyday to lead the team, and saying a few prayers everyday I know we will pull out of this soon. I am not proud of the situation that we are in but give my word that I will honor our commitments and resolve these issues. As for this file in particular. We have had a couple communications with the homeowner since his call and will have the balancee paid off with Cardinal by October 4, 2013.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to do roofing, gutter, soffit, and fascia work on two properties in South City that I own. There have been numerous problems with the gutters not functioning correctly, the drip edge installed incorrectly, they drilled holes in the gutters so they leak in places, the roof overhang was installed with rotted wood and it hangs over too much and the water does not run into the gutter but overflows it. The chimney flashing, per the contract, needed to be replaced as needed. It was not replaced and I have roof leaks around my chimney. The fascia was also installed incorrectly on the back of one of the properties. I've made numerous phone calls to the business to get some sort of resolution and they have been unresponsive. I brought it up to them in person, phone calls, and text messages. Now I am being told they are possibly out of business. I have paid the business over $20,000 for two properties and withholding about $750 so far.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@gmail.com I, ***** ******, met the homeowner on his property to discuss his concerns with the roofing and guttering. We reviewed pictures he had taken to illustrate what needed to be fixed and I completely agree with his stance. It is poor workmanship that I'm certainly not proud of myself. My roofing crew is out there today making the repairs to the drip edge and flashings and will be done by tomorrow. My gutter crew will be sent out next week to address the gutter issues. I will then meet the homeowner on the property to make a final assessment and make sure all repairs have been done correctly.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Rhino Development & Roofing LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart