BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/04/2010

JayGar General Contracting

Phone: (314) 486-6960

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Upon installation of new gutters by JayGar there were issues. The gutters were installed late summer of '12. The gutters leak, do not drain properly, and overflow in areas. This company has been notified numerous times beginning after the first rain we had with the gutters, last year. Someone came out twice last year stating nothing was wrong. This year the problem was worse. More and more calls were made directly to the general manager and calls were not returned. At one point an issue was discovered by an employee of JayGar, and supposedly fixed. That issue was not fixed nor were any of the other multiple problems. This has been going on for over one year. Now calls are not being returned even after multiple family members have directly contacted the company trying to help with a resolution. At this point we no longer want to deal with this company and want a refund.
Product_Or_Service: seamless gutters
Account_Number: ****

Desired Settlement
Refund in the amount of $2600. This amount is based on the State Farm quote from the initial damage last year. JayGar's invoices did not break down the price of their product and labor.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****
To whom it may concern, As of 9/23/13 all customer concerns have been addressed. JayGar extended the warranty for one year on the gutters and the customer has signed an extended warranty regarding the gutters. Our subs and associates had been over to the home on multiple occasisions since the reports of water leaking over the gutters. Everything looked normal and correct. After meeting on 9/23/13 with all involved it became clear that under the back fascia/gutter board was old drip edge and a corner piece that was holding up the roofing shingles and allowing the water to back track past the gutter covers. also the gutter board was a little to high where it meets the roof line. Although the insurance claim did not cover the back fascia replacement, we removed (with the customers approval) the fascia and cut down the gutter board to allow the proper flow for the gutter covers and shingles. We installed new fascia and re installed the gutters and gutter covers. We had a Representative from the gutter cover company on hand to help determine the cause of the overflow. He suggested the correction that was needed as mentioned above. In regards to the front elevation, it appeared that a bird nest had been found in the downspout which was causing complete overflow of the gutters. New end caps were put on to keep out birds etc... A new elbow was replaced on a downspout and a longer downspout 3x4 was installed on front right elevation. The customers were in approval once these items were completed and they were asked to call once it rained and if there were any problems with water shed over the gutters or leaking between the fascia and gutters to call JayGar right away. It is our understanding that all is ok at this time and with the extended warranty issued to the customers, we will continue to monitor to make sure all is right with the gutters. JayGar General Contracting has an excellent record with our customers and we try very hard to make sure that all our work is exceptional. In this case, there were some existing conditions that caused some of the issues with the guttering and a few end caps that could have been secured more completely to prevent bird access. I believe that at this time everyone is happy with the outcome and there is no additional charges to the home owner. We always welcome the chance to correct any items that might have been overlooked or are just not right. It is not usual for us, but we are human and are subject to mistakes on occassion. In those instances, we want our customers to notify us so that corrections can be made. Our reputation is very important to us as we have and plan to be in the St. Louis area for a long time. Thank you for the opportunity and your business is greatly appreciated.


**** ******
JayGar General Contracting

Consumer Response
Repeated requests to correct fascia board drips (for over 4 months). Requesting the repairs be made.
JayGar General Contracting was hired in September 2012 to replace our roof, gutter, and gutter guard system after an April 2012 tornado. After several rains, we noticed the gutter guard system was not working correctly and the gutters were dripping. After several calls/emails and a BBB complaint, JayGar came out in September 2013 to correct the reported issues. JayGar provided an updated one-year warranty at that time.
Since that installation, we noticed a drip/leak in a gutter elbow and drips from the seams of fascia boards under the rear gutters. We sent multiple emails to get this situation corrected. Finally in November 2013, JayGar came and fixed the elbow drip and they caulked the fascia seam.
The elbow fix has stayed. However, the fascia seam has continued to drip. And now, three other fascia seams are dripping with each rain. Since November, we have emailed nearly every week asking for JayGar to come back out and correct the issue. When JayGar has responded to our emails, it has been to ask us to restate the issue, send a picture or video (done twice), or to indicate that the general contractor was on vacation or out of the office and would get back with us ASAP. This did not happen.
Basically, we want the drips corrected. We should not have to resort to filing a BBB complaint in order to get this situation rectified. We are still waiting for JayGar staff to come view and repair the fascia seam drips.

Business Response
To whom it may concern at the BBB,

We have received your email and are awaiting further contact from your office. We most assuredly want to put this complaint to rest. You can contact us through email or phone or mail at XXX-XXX-XXXX, **** or JayGar General Contracting *** ****** ***** Troy, MO XXXXX. Thank you for your time.

**** ******
JayGar General Contracting

Consumer Response
5/8/14MK: Mediator left voice message for the consumer

5/14/14MK: The only time the business has contacted us is when we got the BBB involved. They keep saying that we're on their "list," but it takes them weeks and months to even get back with us. This is not acceptable customer service, and all we wanted was for the job to be done right. I can take a video of the drip today since it is still raining. We have doubts on whether the business will come within 30 days this time.

Business Response
5/14/14MK: The consumer is on the schedule and we should be out within the next 30 days. We do not have a definitive time frame as of right now due to other projects, but we have not forgotten the consumer. One of our guys, ***, was out in the last three weeks and we made a game plan to redo the back side of the work again. The consumer and her daughter expressed that there was dripping, but the drip could have definitely been due to sideways winds. The manufacturer, other gutter experts, and other workers have been out to the house multiple times to look at the work and they never found any problems. It's a little bit difficult to see outside of a rainstorm, but we tried to simulate the alleged problem conditions as much as possible by using a water hose to drench the roof. Plus, when we redid the work the last time, the consumer signed off that it was not leaking. We try to take care of our customers, but we made it very clear to the consumer that we can't just give them a refund. We are more than willing to come out and fix any issue, however.

Consumer Response
The company has not showed up. They said they would be here within 30 days to address/look at the issue and it has now been 60 days and no one has come out or called. We have continued to email them with no response.

Consumer Response
9/5/2014 9:44am Last September they came out and did some repair work. At that time they caulked some of the fascia on the sophists. This did not work. We took video and documented where they drip in four places on the back of the house and sent that to the vendor. We have been told on multiple occasions we are traveling out of the office etc. One man came out and looked at it promising to return to fix this but nothing has happened. I will send the video to BBB since they have said they can not read or did not see it.
9/10/2014 2:34 pm Mediator left message.
9/24/2014 8:51am We have some work being done in October but that would be fine. Can you call and get a date then check with me. They stopped returning my calls so I would prefer BBB contact them.
10/1/2014 9:10 am We will put Monday November 3rd on the calendar for this work to be done. Since you will be out of the BBB office that week it is OK for them to call a week ahead and confirm the date.
11/14/2014 9:10 am We have not heard from them and no work has been done. Still need gutter replaced at back of home.
11/17/2014 9:18 am Mediator explained to homeowner contractor statement that he would address in two weeks and seek permission before working on the property to replace rear gutter. Also shared comment this is last make good effort.
You can check with me next week if they have contacted me.
12/03/2014 9:35 am No he has not contacted us to make arrangements to come out and fix the rear gutter. It still leaks in 3 places.
12/10/2014 10:05 am Attempted to call phone busy.
12/17/2014 9:10am I have not hear a word from ****.
12/31/2014 9:33 am We have not heard from him and no work has been done on this issue.
12/31/2014 9:42am Mediator informed homeowner vendor said he would address within two to three weeks.

Business Response
9/10/2014 2:15 pm I have seen other video if not the latest and am familiar with this customers issues. We have been out several times and the customer did sign off on that work which was done. Right now I have put my entire crew on a major job which will complete at the end of September. I will commit to replacing the Gutter guard on the back of the house after my crews free up in October. That should fix this issue, however this is the extent of any further remediation.
10/1/2014 9:05 am I am not sure the exact date we will free up from this major job. To avoid an issue lets set November 3rd for our replacing the gutter guard on the back of the house. Since you will be out of the office I will confirm the date with the homeowner a week out.
11/14/2014 9:20 am I have not completed that major job and cant do repair work till that is done. This week I have a number of absences due to start of deer season. Wont get to next week but I will get in touch with the homeowner and get a permission to work on her home. Will then replace the rear gutter. However, we have been back a number of times and this will be our final effort to clear any outstanding issues. Yes you can follow up with me in two weeks.
12/03/2014 9:40 am I am on other phone with an adjustor will call you back shortly.
12/17/2014 9:15am Mediator left message.
12/31/2014 9:35 am I had on the schedule and other things got in the way. We are 2-3 days from finishing that large job. I will pull the file and see what materials we need and get to within two to three weeks. This will depend upon decent weather. I will give two to 3 days notice before sending someone out.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Concrete Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.