BBB Accredited Business since

Allied Construction, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 220-8896 View Additional Phone Numbers 1232 Continental Dr, Wentzville, MO 63385 http://Alliedconstructionstl.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allied Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allied Construction, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Allied Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 29, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Gale Marti, Office Administrator Mr. Michael Marti, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Gale Marti, Office Administrator
Business Category

Contractors - General Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Doors Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Fire & Water Damage Restoration


Additional Locations

  • 1232 Continental Dr

    Wentzville, MO 63385 3142208896extstl 6363328012extsch (314) 220-8896

  • 350 John Creech Rd

    Moscow Mills, MO 63362

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: replaced roof 6/12/15 It rained and started leaking and called and was told some one will come out. No one showed up and I called again. Some one came out and saw the damage and said they will take care of everything. I called back 3 weeks later and was told the sky light was the problem. I called **** ***** and was told some one will come out. I called again and the construction manager said it was the skylight.

Desired Settlement: I want the roof repaired, if the skylight was damages it needs to be repaired. I have interior damage to my kitchen ceiling and would like that repaired also.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/18) */ We replaced Skylight flashings and customer is happy

1/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the late spring or early summer, I was contacted by ** ********** a long time friend, on behalf of Allied Construction, Inc. He was accompanied by ****** ****** also a representative of Allied. ****** inspected my roof and suggested I contact my insurance representative regarding a claim for hail damage. I did, and a claim was approved. I gave the insurance report to ** and ****** for their review. Roughly, a week later, I met with ** and ******. I asked if they had reviewed the insurance report and could repair the roof based on that estimate. They responded it was acceptable, and we signed a contract on June 27, 2015. Because of my trust in **, I barely looked at the documents. I received $7511.60 from my insurance claim. Upon signing the contract, I paid Allied, $7500.00 and agreed to pay $8397.87, plus $5.00 per food for ridge vent, estimated at 85 feet. The work was completed by fellows of Mexican descent, who put on t-shirts, on the job, that said "Allied". I never met or spoke to anyone from Allied, except ** and ******. August 4, 2015, I was told that 101 feet of ridge vent had been installed, but that Allied's cost was $8.00 per foot. Instead of the contracted price of $5.00 per foot, I paid the requested $8.00 per foot. I received two copies of a Contractor's Release and Waiver of Lien. Approximately October 1, 2015, I received a bill (dated July 29, 2015) from Allied for an additional $866.80. I responded that I had paid the contract in full, plus an additional sum. Allied responded that Allied and my insurance agent had agreed to a new price. Allied continues to bill, call and suggest that I won't have any warranty and/or that they will file liens. I spoke with ** and he said he had quit working for Allied due to their billing people after jobs were complete and Allied had been paid as agreed. December 21, 2015 at 4:11 pm, I received a voice mail as follows: "Mr. *******, this is ******* with Allied Construction. We sent you a final invoice a few weeks ago on the restoration of your roof. I need to know if I can come by and pick that up. I'd like to get it collected before Christmas so we can (fill?) our bills and get you your lien waivers and warranties. My telephone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. If you would please give me a call. Thank you." My complaint is that they should stop billing, quit threatening liens and lack of warranties. Also, others should be advised of Allied's tactics.

Desired Settlement: My complaint is that they should stop billing, quit threatening liens and lack of warranties. Also, others should be advised of Allied's tactics.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** General Man Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******************@centurytel.net In reference to complaint filed by ******* .I'm somewhat confused with why he would file a compliant .We upgraded the roof from a 3 tab 20 year to a Limited Lifetime Architectural at no additional charge which turned out exceptional. The only thing we have billed Mr.******* is for a supplement we filed due the fact his insurance adjustor made a mistake on the material and labor of the felt replacement of his roof on the original scope of loss. By mistake they only allocated for 1 sq. We supplemented the insurance company for the correct amount of 33.93 sqs. The amount approved on our supplement was $744.76 . Unfortunately Mr.******* has a 50% non-recoverable depreciation policy . Our agreement was for insured allocation and he would fund the difference. Also our contract clearly states that any supplement approved is part of the agreement. I doubt that he would have liked us to only install 1 sq of felt rather the actual 33.93 of felt it required to properly replace the roof .As far as the ridge vent yes we agreed to vent his house 85 feet and he requested to vent his garage as well 20ft additional ft . We never billed Mr.******* $8 ,it is billed at $5 dollars per ft. . See Copy . I have left several messages for Mr.******* to call me to discuss his invoice . The calls were never returned. As far as Ed Schieffer and ****** ***** which were both dismissed from Allieds employ had never at any giving time had any authority concerning payments,supplements or billing . If you have any questions feel free to call me .******* ***** General Manager . We just ask that he help us recover the additional corrected amount of labor and material Allied incurred to properly install his roof .

11/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired the company April of 2015, to repair storm damage on an insurance claim. They have been paid in full and they have not completed the work. I contacted them and requested lien waivers. They insisted I pay them the final $20,000 on the insurance claim. I just want to break ties with them but want the lien waivers and to date I have not received the documents. I want the money back for the work they did not complete. They owe me a refund of $10,000. They have not rebuilt the deck and not completed the work in the insurance claim. I have contacted my attorney.

Desired Settlement: I want to be given lien waivers for all the businesses they dealt with. I am requesting a refund of $10, 000 for the work they did not complete.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* General manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******************@centurytel.net We have a contract with Mr ***** for $85,560 in restoration . We have tried to perform the final work and he tells us his sons are doing it ,and he so far has pulled nearly $45,000 worth of work off the contract .We have written him a letter to try to resolve the issues. If you like I will send you a copy of the letter . We do have lien waivers for all work we have done .

2/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company installed a new roof about 2.5 year ago and the warranty was for 2 years. In about November of 2014, the roof started to leak into my living room. The Allied warranty had ended and so I called ******** contracting to fix the leak and charged $2,000, which I paid. ******** sent me a letter that said that the plywood on the roof that was involved in the leak was not nailed down properly. ******** said the plywood they had replaced when they repaired the leak, had not been installed properly which is what caused the leak. I contacted Allied and told them that the work they had done leaked and was not done properly. I asked them for a $2,000 refund. The owner came to my home and told me they did not install any plywood when they replaced the roof. I checked the Allied bill and found that I was charged for 5 sheets of plywood when they replaced the roof.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this company to refund $2,000 in a timely manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******************@centurytel.net Allied Construction has our telephone number quite readily available to customers as well as the general public . Allied was never contacted by Mr.*********** concerning a leak .If he would have called us we would have sent our service dept to his home to see what issues he may have .Instead Mr *********** calls a different roofing company out to his house . The company charged him 6 times as much as his insurance company allocated for his original repairs per sft. In my industry that involves insurance restoration all pricing is set by a construction program called Xactimate.According to what was repaired unfortunately his contractor of choice billed this repair very high. This is no different than having your transmission rebuilt and it has an issue wouldn't you first explore your options with the company that originally performed the work ? What the customer did equals taking it to a different transmission shop and sending the retail bill to the original shop expecting them to pay the bill. If giving the chance Allied could have done the repairs internally at a fraction of the cost he was billed by a second party . The effected area was less that 40 Sft of roofing and 3 sheets of plywood. I don't even feel it was necessary to replace any plywood because the leak inside the house was fresh. It takes a long time to rot plywood . I was never given the chance to look at the issue prior to customer contacting another company .I do not mind accommodating the customer in helping pay for his incurred bill but will only refund what my internal cost would be .The repair was made in a valley on the roof .There are no pictures of what was done ,no pictures of why plywood would have to be replaced and no laden of materials used . If we would have been afforded the chance to look at what the issue was prior to him hiring a third party I feel we could have made the repair for less than $300 dollars . 6 bundles of roofing at $27.33 = $163.98 Then 3 sheets 1/2 decking at 14.65= $43.95 labor 3 hrs at $22.50 = $67.50 Total amount $275.43 .I am sorry that Mr.*********** did not just call us instead of involving a 3 rd. party . When I told the customer that the bill he was showing me was extremely high he admitted that he knew it was and that the company that did the work never really charged him that much .So again my stance is I will pay my internal cost stated above to resolve .I don't feel that I should have to pay a bill that is considerably out of the realms of our industry .

12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to repair my home due to tornado damage. this has been going on since May 2013. This company is taking short cuts instead of following the contract. I asked for them to replace the drywall that has mold in the master bedroom and they just want to paint over it. I want my gate replaced and they haven't done that. I feel I'm getting the run around. I paid them for half of the work and they are claiming that they under bid our roof and they will have to make it up. I would like a invoice for the work they have done so far and they have ignored me about the invoice.

Desired Settlement: I just want the work done properly to code without short cuts as soon as possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******************@centurytel.net We sere requested an invoice a couple of days ago ,we sent yesterday prior to recieveing this complaint . I as the general manager will have my production manger contact customer to resolve any warranty or repair needed.We want all of our customers happy. *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Allied Construction, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart