BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/12/2007

Agape Construction Co. Inc.

Phone: (314) 909-9050Fax: (314) 909-9309

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
11/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Agape Construction had our private, one way, street blocked by their vehicles while working on a neighbors project. These trucks were parked illegally. They also had my driveway blocked with a trailer that sat too low to be seen without a backup camera. They accepted zero responsibility for this even though if I had called the local police at the time they would have been ticketed. The response by the owner of the company was completely inappropriate ("If a baby had been back there and you hit the baby would it have been the baby's fault?"). On top of such an off color comment about a baby, they did not offer one ounce of apology or accept one ounce of responsibility. Next time the police will be called along with the building inspector. My bumper now has to be replaced at a cost of $850.00. All of which will come out of my pocket. As much as their business seems to be thriving you'd think they would be held accountable and responsible for their illegally parked vehicles and sub-contractors actions. If no responsibility is accepted you would think an apology and vow not to impede the neighbors ingress and egress would have been extended. Nothing but a huge disappointment which will be expressed to any and all when given the opportunity.

Desired Settlement
I would like Agape to share in the replacement cost of my bumper, or $425.00.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********* owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@buildagape.com
Agape really tries to be considerate of neighbors when doing remodel projects, and I personally apologized to the homeowner both on the phone and by email the week it happened.
Our concrete contractor was parked as far away from neighbors as he could be on the opposite side of this private narrow street that has NO parking. Our concrete contractor did not have a vehicle parked directly across from her driveway, but rather on either side of the driveway with wheels of both vehicles in the grass. The vertical ramp on the trailer was visible as it was 5' off the ground.
After the neighbor hit the trailer, without moving any vehicles, our concrete contractor was able to direct her out of her driveway. So, it was possible to exit her driveway if driving carefully.
As far as "illegal" parking, the one way sign on the street is a small handmade sign at the top of the street. In this case, if the trailer was turned the other way, it still would have been across the street from her driveway, and the person backing up still would have to maneuver carefully.
We asked a distributor of trailers if you are supposed to use cones and flags when parking them. the answer was, "No, not required and not usually done."
When this issue could not be resolved, the President of Agape met with this homeowner on site a couple weeks after the incident. She still was not taking any personal responsibility for backing into a vehicle.
I can probably safely say, most of us have backed into a parked vehicle, and when we have done that, we are frustrated, but it's on us and we pay the bill.
We do not agree with paying half of this homeowner's bumper cost, but to help her out will agree to pay $200. We are sorry for her inconvenience and will put the check in the mail to her today.

08/29/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We paid Agape for plans for a home improvement project within a very specific budget. They did not deliver these plans, and yet they kept our money.
(NAME) Agape sales rep, told us we had to pay $900 to have our upstairs measured for a dormer addition and stairs renovation. He was well aware of our budget constraints, and the goal was to keep the project close to those limits. We paid a check for $900 to Agape, in good faith. We were promised that, if they could not get the dormer project close to our budget, we'd receive a partial refund of our $900.
After many tries to contact (NAME) and many deadlines not met, (NAME) showed us plans for a much bigger project than we desired with a much larger price tag, rather than what we requested. We did not choose to complete these construction plans of theirs, of course, because they didn't draw what we'd asked for, and it was way, way over our very specific budget!
Then we were told they were keeping our entire $900 (no partial or complete refund), and it would cost more money for them to draw up plans for the dormer addition we had originally requested! So, for our $900 we got many unmet deadlines, broken promises, and shown some plans for a large addition that we cannot afford and we never, ever requested.
We were very clear from the beginning what we wanted and what our budget was. They chose to use our money to measure and draw plans (which we were not allowed to keep but only shown briefly) for an addition we do not want!
I have contacted the company's president,(NAME), by email. He refused to continue contact by email and wanted to meet in person to discuss it further but with no promise of refund or rectification of this poor business practice. We did not feel like our complaints were being addressed and saw no reason to waste more time in consultation with this company.
We were really shocked to be treated in this manner by a business with an A+ BBB rating!?? Verbal promises not met, money kept for services not rendered, and a complete disregard for promised timeframe.

Desired Settlement
Agape kept our money for plans for a dormer addition on our second floor. We paid $900 to Agape Construction and got nothing for it at all, except a lot of wasted time. They did not deliver what we paid for. They promised at least a partial refund if they could not get the project within our budget. They did not get the project right by our desired specifications, anywhere close to our specified budget, and did not deliver on time. We have not received what we paid for, so we deserve our money back.

Business' Initial Response
Owner states: they are currently working with the consumer to resolve this issue.

Business' Final Response


******,
Thanks for respecting our time. A dollar value? The value to us was minimal, unfortunately. As you know, we contacted Agape to find out how much it would cost for a one- or two-dormer addition to our upstairs, and we never found that out. (This is not to mention our other frustrations with Agape, deadlines promised that were not kept, etc.) We refinanced our house, planning on using pullout money to pay Agape for the one- or two-dormer addition upstairs, all in good faith. We needed answers by certain dates - they were promised and not delivered. When we finally got the results, they were for an addition way over our well-expressed budget and a completely different design than we had asked for. We had been explicit about our budget all along, so why did Agape spin their wheels (and spend so much time) designing something they knew we could not afford?

So, what did we get for our $900 to Agape? No plans for the one- or two-dormer addition we'd explicity requested, a plan way above our strict, clearly expressed budget, and a lot of wasted time and frustration. Yes, Agape spent a lot of time. But Agape spent time designing a plan we don't want and never asked for and didn't meet any promised deadline in doing so. We wanted one thing, asked for it, paid for it, waited for it, waited for it, and then received something entirely different that was obviously above and beyond anything in our clearly stated budget and long after any promised On top of that, we were then told we would not receive any of our money back. And told it would cost more for Agape to draw up plans for what we originally asked for!? Doesn't make sense to us why we should pay for Agape to spend time designing something that we didn't ask for and then be told we owe more money to receive what we DID ask for. Honestly, we really didn't get anything for our $900, except a lot of frustration and wasted time.

None of this is new information, only restating what has already been expressed. You'll have to decide what that service is worth in dollars and what you feel is ethical to return to us. Hopefully this will be a quick process; surely your time is valuable, as is ours.

Thanks again for your time.

******


--- On Wed, 8/29/12, ****** O

******,

Thanks for responding. Sorry for the inconvenience and frustration this situation has caused you. We have certainly discussed this at
length with.

I will be honest with you, it is frustrating for us as owners not to be able to meet with you to discuss this, but we will respect
your time and wishes.

Attached are the actual Job Cost Details printed both in June and August, 2012 reflecting ACTUAL hours of time spent
on your design which clearly exceed the $900 design agreement money. That includes meetings / discussions with, architect , CAD designer and Production the Mgr,, to see if they could make the stair work, the dormer, roof ridge etc.

I said in my letter to you yesterday we would return SOME of the design money.

What do you feel was the dollar value of design time Agape provided? (Note: Sometimes research and design time show that desired enhancements to a home are not practical or wise investments.)

I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,


Agape Construction Company



From:
Sent: Wednesday, August 29, 2012 7:11 AM
To:
Cc:
Subject: RE:

******,

Thank you for your calls and this email. Sorry we have been unable to connect thus far. We have 3 kids, school has begun, extracurricular activities, and our lives are hectic, hectic these days. We're hard to reach, and finding time to meet is even harder.

We're relieved to know our money will be refunded. I have two emails here from Agape clearly stating we would not be receiving any of our money back, so I'm happy to hear this is incorrect information.

Finding a meeting time is difficult. I'm sure your schedule is busy as well, and we appreciate you trying to find time for us. The next few days are packed on our schedule, so a meeting won't work. If you could just send or drop off our refund money, we'd greatly appreciate it. We have a mail slot if dropping it off is most convenient.

Thank you.

****** ******

--- On Tue, 8/28/12, ******

From: *
Subject: RE:
To:
Cc:
Date: Tuesday, August 28, 2012, 7:23 PM
Dear ,

We are genuinely sorry you were not satisfied with the service and results of design time spent with Agape Construction.

****** tried several times (through email) to set up a meeting with you all in July but you were not unavailable. I want you to know that once you all had met, he fully intended to give you back some of the design money.

I'm sorry this has been so frustrating for you. I have let the BBB know we are in touch and trying to resolve this with you all.

Is it possible for just myself and either one or both of you to meet briefly to resolve this?
I can take off work and make myself available:
Wed, Aug 29th any time after 5:00 pm
Thursday, Aug 30th from 8:00am - 5:00 pm, or
Friday, Aug 31st 7:30am - 6:30 pm

Please let me know, and feel free to call on my cell if you'd like to talk.
Thank you,

******

02/13/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/24/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.