BBB Accredited Business since

World Finance

Additional Locations

Phone: (573) 243-1808 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 548, Jackson, MO 63755 View Additional Web Addresses


Click for BBB Rating on World Finance

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that World Finance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for World Finance. BBB of Upstate South Carolina has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for World Finance.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 20, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962
Business Management
Mr. Erik Brown, President Mr. Steve Bifano, Manager Mr. Judson K. Chapin III, Secretary Mr. Clint Dyer, SR. VP. Central Region Ms. Sarah Homan Mr. James D. Kruse, Vice President Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Erik Brown, President
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Financial Services Loans

Alternate Business Names
World Acceptance Corporation of Missouri World Finance Corp World Financial

Additional Locations

  • 1008 N Truman Blvd

    Crystal City, MO 63019 (636) 933-2700

  • 103 Baldridge Rd Ste 109

    Salem, IL 62881 (618) 548-1460

  • 10664 Saint Charles Rock Rd

    Saint Ann, MO 63074 (314) 426-7800

  • 1095 W Washington St

    Pittsfield, IL 62363 (217) 285-4564

  • 110 W Union Ave

    Litchfield, IL 62056 (217) 324-4177

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    110 W Walnut St

    Chatham, IL 62629 (217) 483-5676

  • 111 N Washington St

    Mexico, MO 65265 (573) 581-0808

  • 112 S Main St

    Taylorville, IL 62568 (217) 824-2033

  • 1126 West Pearce Blvd

    Wentzville, MO 63385 (636) 327-5574

  • 113 N Westwood Blvd

    Poplar Bluff, MO 63901 (573) 686-9457

  • 1155 N Business Route 5

    Camdenton, MO 65020 (573) 317-0689

  • 116 W 4th St

    Caruthersville, MO 63830 (573) 333-1095

  • 1201 E 5th St Ste C

    Metropolis, IL 62960 (618) 524-5796

  • 1207 Swanwick St

    Chester, IL 62233 (618) 826-5722

  • 1211 Maple St Unit B

    Farmington, MO 63640 (573) 756-6100

  • 122 US Route 51 Ste E

    Du Quoin, IL 62832 (618) 568-1058

  • 1232 Independence Ave

    Kennett, MO 63857 (573) 888-8882

  • 12551 State Route 143 Ste D

    Highland, IL 62249 (618) 654-8520

  • 1257 Main St

    Imperial, MO 63052 (636) 467-9554

  • 1418 W Saint Joseph St Ste 130

    Perryville, MO 63775 (573) 547-3600

  • 159 E Bethalto Dr

    Bethalto, IL 62010 (618) 377-0048

  • 1610 Denmark Rd

    Union, MO 63084 (636) 583-9922

  • 1611 Veterans Ave Ste G

    Vandalia, IL 62471 (618) 283-9866

  • 1717 Marion Ave

    Mattoon, IL 61938 (217) 234-3336

  • 1752 Homer M Adams Pkwy

    Alton, IL 62002 (618) 465-9330

  • 2066 Walton Dr

    Jackson, MO 63755 (573) 243-1002

  • 21 N 11th St

    Murphysboro, IL 62966 (618) 687-5057

  • 215 S Locust St

    Centralia, IL 62801 (618) 533-2094

  • 216 S State St

    Jerseyville, IL 62052 (618) 498-9892

  • 221 N Park Ave

    Herrin, IL 62948 (618) 988-8274

  • 2250 N Bishop Ave Ste H

    Rolla, MO 65401 (573) 364-0162

  • 2308 W Osage St

    Pacific, MO 63069 (636) 257-9033

  • 232 S 9th St

    Mount Vernon, IL 62864 (618) 244-5074

  • 2525 Highway B

    Boonville, MO 65233 (660) 882-2202

  • 2606 N Bluff St Ste 104

    Fulton, MO 65251 (573) 592-7368

  • 2630 Mascoutah Ave # 104

    Belleville, IL 62221 (618) 277-0366

  • 2715 N Center St

    Maryville, IL 62062 (618) 288-4382

  • 285 S Plaza Way

    Cape Girardeau, MO 63703 (573) 339-7883 (864) 473-0727 (864) 298-9800 (217) 824-2039 (573) 339-7885 (573) 243-1808

  • 303 S Commercial St Ste 13

    Harrisburg, IL 62946 (618) 252-7714

  • 3116 Broadway St

    Quincy, IL 62301 (217) 224-3148

  • 313 Droste Rd

    Saint Charles, MO 63301 (636) 925-1991

  • 3304 W Brdwy Bus Park Ct Ste J

    Columbia, MO 65203 (573) 443-4550

  • 357 Highway Z Ste 3

    Saint Robert, MO 65584 (573) 336-9403

  • 3695 E Vienna St N

    Anna, IL 62906 (618) 833-6190

  • 3720 W Truman Blvd Ste C

    Jefferson City, MO 65109 (573) 659-8300

  • 385 S Plaza Way

    Cape Girardeau, MO 63702

  • 4 American Vlg

    Granite City, IL 62040 (618) 877-0722

  • 400 W Clark Ave Ste 104

    Effingham, IL 62401 (217) 342-2922

  • 4045 Union Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63129 (314) 487-8828

  • 406 6th St

    Charleston, IL 61920 (217) 345-2505

  • 4109 Mexico Rd

    Saint Peters, MO 63376 (636) 447-4300

  • 450 Cumberland Way Ste H

    Sullivan, MO 63080 (573) 468-6966

  • 505 W Highway 50

    O Fallon, IL 62269 (618) 624-5630

  • 516 W Reed St

    Moberly, MO 65270 (660) 263-6605

  • 574 N US Highway 67

    Florissant, MO 63031 (314) 831-3326

  • 6 Northport Plz

    Hannibal, MO 63401 (573) 231-0907

  • 7 E Stoddard St

    Dexter, MO 63841 (573) 614-4213

  • 704 Eastgate Shopping Ctr

    Carbondale, IL 62901 (618) 529-1436

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8 Industrial Park Dr

    Hendersonville, TN 37075 (615) 447-5802

  • 807 N Court St Ste A

    Marion, IL 62959 (618) 993-0171

  • 901 S Aurora St Ste B

    Eldon, MO 65026 (573) 392-5232

  • 901 S Main St # B

    Sikeston, MO 63801 (573) 471-3322

  • 913 N Illinois Route 3

    Waterloo, IL 62298 (618) 939-0220

  • PO Box 548

    Jackson, MO 63755

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 6429

    Greenville, SC 29606

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The cash sale price for my HP LAPTOP was $1451.61 on Nov 2, 2012 at World Finance at which time I was told I would have a warranty until it was paid off. I have not even made the final payment on it and the sound doesn't work. I called the World Class Buying Club Customer Service company Marketing Associates and they filed a claim with 4warranty. They had me ****** the computer to them. When they sent it back it still had no sound. I called Marketing Associates immediately who informed me it was now out of warranty and I needed to deal with the extended warranty company. I called 4warranty and they said since it was the same problem they would replace it or fix it within 30 days. The following day they called back and said it is most likely a software problem not a hardware problem and they will not fix it. I followed up with World Finance who have tried to make it right but in having the computer checked it is more likely a motherboard problem and will cost as much as the computer is worth as to fix it so they said they can not help. My complaint is they are not standing behind such an expensive product, keeping their word, and are giving me the run around. Product_Or_Service: HP LAPTOP

Desired Settlement: I just need my computer to play sound. I take classes attend meetings and webinars I need to hear.. if it can not be fixed I expect a replacement. If that is as impossible as everyone is making it out to be I would settle for a FULL refund of the cash sale price and they can have my useless HP LAPTOP back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/29) */ December 29, 2014 ****** **** BBB of St Louis RE: Case # XXXXXXX ********* ******* (Ref #X-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXX-X-XXX) Dear Ms. ***** This will acknowledge your letter dated December 16, 2014 received at our Home Office in Greenville, South Carolina enclosing Ms. *******'s complaint. The complaint was originally received at our branch location in Perryville, Missouri but was not forwarded to us in a timely manner; I apologize for the delay of our response. I have investigated this matter with the assistance of **** *****, Vice President and our Perryville, Missouri branch employees. Ms. ******* obtained a loan from our Perryville World Class Buying Club branch to purchase a laptop on November 5, 2012 and agreed to repay the loan in (25) monthly installments of $75.00 beginning December 5, 2012. The laptop was under a two year warrantythe first year with Marketing Associates and the second year with *********which expired November 4, 2014. On October 16, 2014 Ms. *** contacted Marketing Associates and notified ******* there that the sound was not working on her laptop. As it is outside the first year of coverage with Marketing Associates, ******* provided Ms. *** with the toll-free number for ********* along with her agreement number (#XXXXXXX). On November 24, 2014, ******** contacted the Perryville branch to notify them the problem with the laptop was not an equipment issue but a software issue, which is not covered as part of the warranty. Ms. ******* again contacted ********* and was advised the same thing, but not to her satisfaction. The best analogy I can provide is the same situation would apply if a car was purchased with a powertrain warranty but something malfunctioned with the radio; the warranty would not cover that issue. While we value Ms. ****** business and do sympathize with her situation, the warranty does not cover the problem she is experiencing. After a thorough investigation, it does not appear that our lending activities have violated any applicable state or federal laws. If I can be of any further assistance, do not hesitate to contact me. Yours very truly, WORLD ACCEPTANCE CORPORATION ***** E. ******** Vice President, Secretary and General Counsel fsw cc: **** *****, Vice President Branch #**** Perryville MO Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2015/01/08) */ As I have pointed out to all three companies and in my original complaint. The computer has a motherboard malfunction which is the most essential piece of equipment on a computer. It is what makes it run...nothing akin to the radio of a car. I have had my own computer guy look at it and in consulting with Staples they have concluded that the computer has malfunctioned to the point that it does not recognize its own devices and the problem will likely get worse and is costly to replace. I am taking the computer to Staples next week to have diagnostics run on it and will gladly submit their results as well as a copy of their bill for repayment upon settlement of this case.

1/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec. 17 a collection agent for the Fredericktown MO branch came to my home and caused a disturbance over an outstanding debt. An individual claiming to represent the Fredericktown branch of World Finance came to my home to collect a debt from an individual residing there and intimated that individual in plain view of neighbors thereby causing a disturbance and violating my rights to privacy.

Desired Settlement: To no longer unlawfully trespass on my property.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/29) */ December 29, 2014 BBB of St Louis Dispute Resolution Department via online submission RE: Case ******** ******* ***** Dear Dispute Resolution Department: This letter will acknowledge your letter dated December 18, 2014 regarding the recent complaint made by ******* ***** citing allegations of harassing field work visits to his residence. I have investigated this matter with the assistance of **** *****, Vice President and the Fredricktown, Missouri branch employees. As you are not the primary account customer, we cannot divulge any personal or specific information regarding the account of our customer. However, the address in question was provided as a residence for one of our customers in the Fredricktown, Missouri branch; as allowed by law, the branch employees did attempt to make contact with our customer at this address. Until receiving notification through the BBB, no requests for any cease visits were ever received at the branch level. Since the notification was received the BBB complaint to cease collections at the residence, there has been and will be no further contact there. We have notated the account accordingly and have also instructed the branch employees to cease any future collections at your address. After a thorough investigation, it does not appear that our collection activities have violated any applicable state or federal laws. Yours very truly, WORLD ACCEPTANCE CORPORATION **** ** ******** Vice President, Secretary, and General Counsel fsw cc: **** *****, Vice President Branch ***** Fredricktown MO

10/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have considerably went for a lower wages per social security per month as I have retired unable to work as a nurse due to severe arthritis. I informed Dean Atkinson thru a letter that I can only afford to pay $100 to $125 a month I am on fixed income and have mortgage and taxes etc to pay . I realize my monthly payments is 175/month I now could not afford. I have been paying $100 and $125 and for Oct without any letter of explanation they rudely returned my check for $125 and will not take no for an answer when my spouse went there to find out what was going on. They then demanded that I owe $400 next month an amount there is no way I willl be able to afford. returning my check without explanation was uncalled for . They cannot squeeze blood from a turnip and I explained my financial difficulty to no avail. Please help me. I am a law abiding citizen who pays my taxes.

Desired Settlement: Affordable monthly payments

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/29) */ RE: BBB Case ******** ******* ****** To Whom It May Concern: This letter will acknowledge your letter enclosing Ms. ******' complaint regarding partial payment for her account. I have investigated the matter with ***** ******, Vice President, and our Marion, Illinois branch employees. Ms. ****** obtained a loan on January 13, 2014 from our Marion, Illinois branch location and agreed to repay it in (31) monthly payments of $175.00 beginning on February 13, 2014. As of the date of this letter, a payment of $225.00 is due. Regarding the partial payment issue, we can accept partial payments if received before the actual due date. Once the payment becomes due, the partial payment will not move the account form past due status to current, which does not help the customer. Ms. ******' recent partial payment was returned to her, as she is currently past due. It appears that our practices and responses have not violated any state or federal laws or regulations. We request that Ms. ****** stay in contact with the local branch to make any other payment arrangements. Yours very truly, WORLD ACCEPTANCE CORPORATION **** ** ******** Vice President, Secretary and General Counsel fsw cc: ***** ******, Vice President Branch #1000 Marion IL

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a loan with World Finance and I have not made payments timely. This company's practice is to call my employer's switchboard to contact be when I have not returned their message on my home phone, my direct line work extension and/or cell phone. This company also has come to my home and left notes on my door and once ring the doorbell and asked the person who answered to pass me a message. I received another note taped to my door on September 23, 2014. I called the ******, World Finance representative and explained I have received of the the overdue notices and received all of the voicemail message regarding my late payments. I asked her to not come to my home and that I'm aware I have late payments and will send in my payments. Also informed her her contact outside of calling my home phone, my cell phone and/or my direct phone line at work and sending notices in the mail were forms of harassments. She stated she understood but the practice coming to my home has happened a second time.I understand I have a debt with World Finance and will pay the debt but harassing me is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like for BBB to contact World Finance and advise their practices to physically come to my home is harassment. As I stated before I am totally aware of my responsibility for the repayment and will honor repaying the loan. I asked her to not come to my home and that I'm aware I have late payments and will send in my payments.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/03) */ October 3, 2014 BBB Eastern Missouri & Southern Illinois Dispute Resolution Department via online portal RE: Case ******** ******* ******* To Whom It May Concern: This letter will acknowledge the complaint of September 25, 2014 enclosing Ms. *******'s allegations of harassing field visits. I have investigated this matter with the assistance of **** *****, Vice President of Operations for Missouri and our St. Ann, Missouri branch employees. Ms. ******* obtained a loan from our St. Ann location on December 21, 2013 and agreed to repay it in (12) monthly payments of $133.00 beginning on January 21, 2014. As of the date of this letter, $236.00 is due on the account. Due to the delinquency of her account, we did attempt to make contact via the numbers and addresses provided by Ms. ******* at loan closing, including her residence. Upon receipt of your letter, we have notated the account accordingly and no further field visits to her home will be made. We have also provided additional training to branch employees regarding cease requests and field working customers. Ms. ******* should be aware that she did sign a legal commitment to repay the money loaned to her; we request that she stay in touch with the local branch in order to work out an amicable way to repay the loan. After a thorough investigation, it does not appear that our collection activities have violated any applicable state or federal laws. While we will cease future field visits per her request, the branch may continue to call or send written notices regarding the debt. Additionally, late charges and interest will continue to accrue as applicable and we cannot delete any credit history information including late payments. The reporting of accurate data is an essential obligation of data furnishers under the Fair Credit Reporting Act �623. Sincerely, WORLD ACCEPTANCE CORPORATION **** E. ******** Vice President, Secretary and General Counsel cc: **** ***** Branch *****

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company keeps sending me unsolicited mail. This company sends me unsolicited mail all the time and I am tired of it. They don't have a way on their website to contact them via email to tell them to stop with the solicitations. How they got my name and address is a mystery.

Desired Settlement: I want my name and address taken off their mailing list.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/14) */ Ms. name and address has been removed from our solicitation however, she may receive a few more pieces of mail over the next 6 -8 weeks because the mail is pre-printed. If Ms. receives mail after that time period she can contact our corporate office directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on World Finance
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)