This business is not BBB accredited.

Feth Construction

Phone: (636) 583-9777 1414 E Casco Rd, Beaufort, MO 63013 http://www.fethhomes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Feth Construction include:

  • 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Feth Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Feth Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Business Management
Ms. Denise Feth, Co-owner Mr. Tim Feth, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Denise Feth, Co-owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Contractors-Drywall / Plastering Kitchen Remodeling Contractor - Electrical Drywall Contractors Electricians Electricians - Commercial Home Builders Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Contractor

Alternate Business Names
Complete Construction Services

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1414 E Casco Rd

    Beaufort, MO 63013 (636) 583-9777

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company to do work on our siding and fascia board in November 2015. They gave me an estimate of $4800. They never did finish the job and don't return my phone calls. I paid them a down payment of $2400, sent me another bill for $3600, which is more than the $4800 they estimated for us. We gave them the money. Now some of the siding is loose. I hired them for another job to work on the ceiling in the dining room in January 2016. I gave them $1831 for a first payment and they never came back to fix it. I called them about this too and they don't answer.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back. That is totaling to $7,831 I've spent on work that isn't even finished.

Business Response:

The original proposal was to be performed on a time and materials basis and they realize this and there was EXTRA work outside of the proposed work that was requested to be performed as in wrapping there deck boards etc. this is why there was extra charges and they understand and realize this as well ....

A check has been written and mailed to them for the $1,830.00 which is what he gave a down payment for.  We did not do the work because he verbally said that we were adding crown molding etc all around the room and this was not the case.  According to the contract we were putting tong and groove ceiling and wrapping ONE sky light. His wife even tried to explain that this was what we were doing and he insisted no that wasn't right.  Thus the whole job could not be done with his senario of the crown molding around the whole room.  This is why we did not do the job.  All other work was completed as it stated it would be.  

Consumer Response: We hired a lawyer and they paid the money back. Its all over now.

5/25/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am requesting that this 'recommendation' is removed from your site. Per your request, I am filling out my thoughts on Feth Construction via Facebook. I WAS recommending Feth when I wrote this message, but many things have changed since this message. Feth installed stairs off my preexisting deck: 1. If you are going to go with this company, please verify that they know what the permitting process is and building code. When I paid my final installment, I was under the impression that the final inspection was complete. I was dead wrong. I (not Feth) contacted the city to verify and they said it had not been completed. When they came out, it FAILED. It failed because of the length of the landing/pad (why wasn't this done right initially) and the handrail being absent. Feth came out to fix it, but put up VERY poor handrail. Tim HAD told me that "if you don't want it, we can take it down after inspection passes" (I am not sure if this is legal ... ). It would have been nice to have a product that was of higher quality (per their contract ... done in a "professional manner") in order for me to decide if it was good enough, but Feth left me no choice ... it was awful. After several weeks, I contacted the city again (NOT Feth) and they noted that is STILL had not passed inspection. I called Feth and Tim got upset and said he'd fix it. After SEVERAL weeks, it was finally 'improved' with a hacksaw (I assume) and was EVEN WORSE looking. In fact, Feth had cut into other boards while making it 'to code'. In addition, I had asked Tim to look at some water pooling around my piers, and he NEVER told me if he did this, or not (I am still awaiting word to this day). I again contacted the city 3 weeks later (not Feth) to see if final inspection had passed. They noted that it hadn't been inspected (miscommunication with contractor ??) and they looked at it the very next day. It failed AGAIN because the hand rail was not to code. SERIOUSLY!! I informed Feth of my frustration and told them that I would take care of the problem from here, since they were not fixing the issue. Feth acted frustrated with the city and placed blame in other places, than solely on himself. My issue was that I had to call the city, NOT FETH. Are you kidding? Also, what company allows the customer to say "I will fix it" instead of getting the job done right, no matter what? 2. Other issues, when they put up my piers, they had some issues with weeping tile, drainage piping, etc. They cut through the piping and, from what I can tell build OVER the PVC pipe by placing a pier right on top of it (is that to code??). I currently have water draining where I don't want it and am HOPEFUL that the PVC holds up under the pier. Again, when I wrote this initial review, I ASSUMED things would be good. Many months later, in retrospect, this issue has arisen. Also, I am still awaiting word on if the water around my piers is safe (he never told me!) 3. Cleanup - there is splashes of concrete on my siding that I only discovered this week. Seriously!? 4. Today ... I had a hand rail piece crack and become loose. I placed several more screws to secure it. Hopefully, other pieces of the wood do not crack. Feth got my money and did not care to make sure the problems were fixed. I MESSED UP in that I paid them before final inspection. 6 months later, it still hasn't passed inspection. ... I am on the hook for whatever comes next. This stressful homeowner, apparently, should have been MORE stressed on gone elsewhere.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the time and materials that I have had to spend to finish this project. In addition, I would like money refunded in order to pay for possible future issues. I have visited with the city a total of 3 times for about 3 hours and I am having a neighbor fix the handrail, about 2-3 hours of work. In addition, I have had to secure a post with my own screws and time. I am hopeful that the piers will hold up. I am requesting a minimum of $750 for the labor, materials, and trouble.

5/11/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had this company put in a concrete patio outside the basement door. They poured the concrete on 12-05-15 I had to call several times to get them to come out just to remove the forms. They came out on 01-4-16 to remove the forms, I called them on 01-5-16 to ask them if they were going to fill in around the edges where they took the forms out? They said "no" it wasn't part of the project. I also asked why it was the finish was so rough? I was speaking with his wife and she said she had no idea why it was rough but she would tell him about it. That was on 01-04-16. I have called and left numerous messages and haven't heard back form anyone about my dissatisfaction. I paid them $1617 for the patio. I am dissatisfied that they didn't fill in around where the forms were and the rough finish on the surface of the concrete. I worked with them with the job schedule due to the owner having a heart attack. But still feel I am getting nowhere.

Desired Settlement: I would like the edges filled in with dirt and the surface of the patio sanded or smoothed out, they finish is too rough.

Consumer Response: I thank Feth Construction for replying, yet there are a few details still not addressed. The bid/contract was done October 9, 2015, and accepted (but never signed by me). When after several weeks passed and I heard nothing to schedule the work, I contacted them. It was then that I learned *** **** had suffered a heart attack. Understandably, I knew that would delay starting the job and it was completed on 12/05/2015. I am not sure why removal of the forms was delayed when his heart attack happened before the job had even begun. The work done is not complete as specified. The bid/contact reads "Work will be performed in a workman like manner, according to standard practices". The work done is below standard practices. The pad texture is comparable to stucco; by no means does it have a broom finish. Shoes have to be worn, to ensure the bottom of your feet do not receive cuts or bruising. Also, back filling after form removal is most certainly a "standard practice". That being said, the forms were and still have not been completely removed. There are two bracing wood stakes remaining in the ground. I was to be contacted when removal was done, that did not happen. In fact, they were removed by trespassing on my property in secrecy and endangered the welfare of my two dogs. In addition, I wouldn't think that "standard practice" is to leave and/or not clean up concrete that was and is still splattered on the screen door leading on to the patio. Multiple calls have been made to get a copy of the "signed" contract Mrs. **** says she has, but I have yet to see it. Mr. **** has not called or arranged to finish and clean up the job. Feth Construction has within their power to make this right and to prove they live by what is stated at the top of the bid/contract "Business built on integrity and quality workmanship...". (I tried to upload picture, but site times out)

Business Response: The contract we had with ***** ******* did not include filling in any edges with dirt and the patio has a broomed finish. The forms was delayed from being removed because my Tim had a recent heart attack and that was the reason for that delay. We did the work that was specified.

2/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New construction. Holes in siding of house.Dent in back door wrong front doorHole in screen.Wrong color of siding. No srews in linen closet door handle. Large "bump" where wall was repaired. Electric to dishwasher not wire right reading 57 volts should be 120Have to keep breaker off could be fire hazard. Refund and repairs for wprk not done accurately. Brand new house should have no problems pay more attention to detail would not recommend to anyone

Desired Settlement: Refund for wrong products and unfinished and poor services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2016/01/25) */ The hole in the siding was replaced. We gave homeowner money back for the dent in the back door and she agreed to that. The wrong front door was delivered but homeowner agreed to have it installed.The hole in the screen is being fixed. The homeowner picked out the siding and did not say anything about it until final payment was due. All door handles worked at the final walk thru. Tape was fixed where the bump was on the drywall before final walk thru. The dishwasher electric was fixed before final walk thru.. All problems was addressed at final walk thru Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 24, 2016/02/12) */ As of todays date no repairs to the screen bathroom exhaust light and bathroom pantry door knob have been made. Final Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2016/02/25) */ February 15 we went there to address and fix the problems she knew we were coming but she wasn't home...The issues we were going to fix was the exhaust fan light which probably the bulb needs to be replaced the door knob which is a wear and tear item that we was going to fix and replace the screen.. She calls us wanting these items fixed we go there and shes not home but she can find the time to write another complaint...

1/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shower valve replacement was improperly installed. Dripping noise evidenced on or about 9-01-14. Talked to ****** **** on 9-10. Was going to get call back and never received. Left another message on 9-12 to further explain issue. No call back. Contacted local plumber and he ordered new part. He had to cut away the new shower stall to gain access to valve. Part of valve tightened too tightly which caused crack in part.I have pictures and valve part.

Desired Settlement: Plumber invoiced me for $545.00. I would like Feth to mitigate my loss by 1/2.Invoice available upon request.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2016/01/25) */ Work was finalized April 13. It worked properly for over a year. Therefore maybe there was rough handling of this shower valve sine it was 1 year and 4 months later. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 19, 2016/01/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As noted in complaint, work was less than 5 months from completion. We are now over one year from any response from Feth.

8/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DO NOT HIRE FETH CONSTRUCTION TO DO ANY PROFESSIONAL WORK FOR YOUR HOME OR BUSINESS!!!! Midwest Flood Restoration company had gave us a flyer for this company and said they would make our basement brand new. Midwest did an excellent job on our basement so we thought we would get the same service from FETH CONSTRUCTION. The workers didn't cut the dry wall even in some areas and left the gaps there and didn't try to fill in the gaps for the drywall that was cut uneven. An area by the basement stairs is missing drywall that should have been replaced and wasn't done. They damaged our tile ceiling and tried to nail some of them back together and the others they couldn't fix. They didn't have the courtesy to tell us that they damaged the ceiling and try to rectify it. There is an area on the drywall when you turn the corner after coming down the stairs that has ragged edges on it and you can see the nails, it has not been taped or smooth out, and the edge of that drywall should have been covered with plastic covering. They used our fan to dry the walls with and our fan was left very dirty from debris from their work. We paid them for the carpet and installation and it yet to be completed. They didn't order the carpet until 2 weeks after the so called work was done and said it would be 2-3 weeks before the carpet would be here because it was a special order. If the 17 years of experience company would have called and obtained that information from **** ***** when they began the work, they would have known this ahead of time and should have placed the order then because we had already paid them the money as agreed on the contract. The door knobs and light/outlet panels were not placed on. ****** said she would have the workers fix the problem and the carpet would be installed once it has arrived. We paid FETH CONSTRUCTION 11,928 and we have yet to have our basement completed. IT'S SO SAD THAT A COMPANY'S LIKE THIS ONE DON'T LIVE UP TO THEIR MISSION STATEMENT AND TAKE ADVANTAGE OF INNOCENT OF PEOPLE. Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: We paid a total of 11,928 I would like a refund for 5,964 which is half to have another contractor that is registered with BBB that is honest, pays attention to details, and provides excellent customer service to complete the unfinished work, fix the damaged ceiling, and fix the drywall.

3/27/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Feth Construction to perform extensive remodeling of our home. In total, we paid **** nearly $25,000 for their work, plus furnished most of the materials, including bamboo flooring, cabinets, fireplace trim and other material.They failed to fulfill the contract and we have had to hire a new contractor to finish the work, as well as redo or repair much of the original work. Problems with Feth's work include:failed to install new flooring in several places, leaving subfloor visible;left several exposed, bent nails, approximately 100 dimples and many cracks in the installed bamboo flooring, trim and transition pieces;failed to install moldings in some locations;did not apply polyurethane to trim, moldings, closet doors and railing;railing to lower level does not meet code touches wall, can't be gripped;coat closet was framed at only 23 inches standard is 28 inches, coats won't fit inside;fireplace mantel is warped and uneven, and the faux stone trim has noticeable gaps;smoke detectors were removed or disconnected and not replaced/reconnected;paint chipping off front door and door casing gouged and marred;drywall by front door left unpainted;light fixtures were left hanging by wires, screws missing from switch plates, switch plate missing in closet and exposed wires hanging in two places;closet doors only partially stained and color incorrect; did not install correct number or size of cold air returns;failed to clean up construction mess - paint and glue spots on floors, dust, insulation, trash and sunflower seed hulls everywhere;turned off power to freezer and forgot to turn it back on, lost hundreds of dollars worth of food; Put a nail through the floor into a copper water line that subsequently leaked and ruined drywall and carpeting in the finished part of the basement;used our shop vacuum, tools, etc., even ate our food and left unflushed feces in toilet. So far, Feth has failed to respond to emails and refused to accept a registered letter.

Desired Settlement: We have already had some of the work repaired plus unfinished areas completed, at an additional cost of over $4,000. We have obtained a bid to tear out and replace the floors, repair the other problems and replace the damage in the finished basement. That bid is for approximately $25,000, including all labor and materials. Accordingly, we want Feth to return the money we paid so that we can have the work redone.

12/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is terrible that I am limited to a little over 2000 characters so now I have to make this very brief since I had already typed over 2000 characters before I noticed the limit. Here we go with a much abbreviated complaint.Contacted Feth Construction the week of 7-21-14Estimate and Contract received 7-27-14Check for half of $3260 given to Feth Construction on 7-29-14Work done on 7-29- and 7-30-14Feth Construction wanted final payment on 7-31-14My wife told *** **** that we were concerned with the discoloration of concrete and the concrete step edges on 7-31-14I inspected Feth Constructions work on 8-1 and 8-2-14 and found the following:1. Pooling of water at bottom of steps 2 feet long by 4 inches width.2. Discoloration of concrete which is still visible.3. Edges of steps with chunks of concrete missing, not sharp at all.4. Seam at bottom step area with floor has cracks.5. Deck board not flush with where it should be.6. Chunk of concrete at front walkway missing.7. Broken plant in front.I informed ****** **** on 8-2-14 by telephone I was not paying the last payment of $1630 for the poor workmanship and stained concrete. ****** **** told me she would inform *** **** what I told her. I also at that time told her to come out with her husband to view his workmanship. Since that date no one from Feth Construction has came to my house to look at their work. I sent four e mails with pictures with no response from Feth Construction. I was told by ****** **** that they stand behind their work, this sure is a good example of them doing just that.I wanted a nice patio in the back with no problems, instead what I now have is a discolored slab of concrete with steps that have no sharp edges. How anyone can say they stand behind their work and have 25 years experience and then produce these results is beyond me. When a company will not even come back to their job site or answer e mails or use a phone to call us tells me something. Product_Or_Service: Flatwork and removal of old concrete.

Desired Settlement: I want a release form from any further payment required of me. I would think they should be happy that I am not wanting them to tear out and replace the entire patio.It is going to take probably around $2000 to have a reputable contractor come in and cover up the stain, build up the area where the water pools and fix the edges on the steps. I have given Feth Construction enough time to contact me on their own and I did tell them I would file a BBB complaint on 8-9-14 if no response rec'd.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/09/24) */ We offered to repour however, that date it rained so we rescheduled. We did repour and it rained again. We offered to just accept what he has paid us and forgive the balance. He contacted another company, we do not know who, they came out and said everything was fine and he accused them of being on our side. I don't how that is possible since we do not know the name of that company. The consumer is very hard to please. * ****. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 25, 2014/10/03) */ On 9-30-14 I figured it was time to check the status of my claim against Feth Construction, I was shocked to read what Feth Construction had told the BBB. The person I spoke with over the phone at the BBB on same date did add a break down of what I told him but I want to add this in my own words to dispute what Feth Construction told the BBB. Feth Construction has never done any repours at my house nor did they ever offer to do such. They wanted me to allow one of their contractors to come out and look at their work and then possibly have them put a cheap topper coating on their defect ridden concrete. When ****** **** says they repoured that is a flat out lie. ****** **** also says they offered to let it go at the $1630 I paid upfront? There has never been any offer like that, I was offered a lien waiver of $2445 if I paid them an additional $815. ****** **** also said that I had contractors come out here and tell me there was nothing wrong with the concrete? Every one of the contractors I had come to my house and look at Feth's work said it was a terrible job. Please have ****** **** provide you with any proof that she offered me anything, all ****** **** has done is deny any problems with their concrete and fail to answer any e mails from me and even the registered letter I sent them which had signature confirmation. This letter was returned to me after no attempt was made by Feth Construction to pick it up. So ****** **** has lied three times in her only answer to the BBB about my dispute with Feth Construction. I hope the BBB will take this into consideration and punish her and her business? Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 33, 2014/11/05) */ 11/10/2014: Since my last response, I have sent them a registered letter asking for a paid in full receipt. The letter was not picked up and returned. In their response they lied. They never came and re-poured the patio. I had ******* ************* lay an epoxy pebble coating over the concrete for $2,337. If they agree to their offer of to let me off with what I already paid, then I just want a paid in full receipt. I will fax pictures and a copy of the contract. 11/11/2014: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 11/11/2014: I will give him the message. 11/11/2014: They never offered to pebble coat the patio. He wanted to put a concrete coating and I was told by other contractors it would crack and chip away. I'm not paying them another cent and if they take me to court, I will counter sue. They sent kids to do the work and it was not acceptable. Final Business Response /* (1000, 34, 2014/11/05) */ 11/10/2014: We agreed something needed to be done to repair the patio. They became irate and hard to deal with. He twists things around so we stopped dealing with him and did not want us there anymore. We offered to put the pebble coating on as a resolution, but he would not agree. I know *** would agree to $815 final payment and we will give him the receipt paid in full. We need a commitment that he will not proceed with any further action against us.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Feth Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart