BBB Accredited Business since

National Credit Management

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 627-2300 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 32900, Saint Louis, MO 63132 https://www.ncmstl.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National Credit Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for National Credit Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 13
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on National Credit Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 1997 Business started: 04/01/1960 Business started locally: 04/01/1960
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Bernard Fagin, President Jim Earley, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Bernard Fagin, President
Business Category

Collection Agencies Investment Advisory Service


Additional Locations

  • 10845 Olive Blvd Ste 210

    Saint Louis, MO 63141

  • 1177 N Warson Rd.

    Saint Louis, MO 63132

  • 915 Olive St. Ste. 420

    Saint Louis, MO 63101

  • P.O. Box 608

    Saint Louis, MO 63188

  • PO Box 32900

    Saint Louis, MO 63132 (800) 627-2300 (800) 333-6787 (800) 526-3213

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello! I have a collections with a college its a personal loan. I haven't received any mail concerning it for months now and they called me to have me starting to pay for it. They were very rude when they called but, the main issue is that I have paid 125$ of its and agreed to pay 100$ monthly for the next 7 months and now they refuse to put it in good standard on my credit report. I've emailed atleast 5 times to have it removed as derogatory its not. They wont respond back to my emails. They wont work with me either on a one time payment. I want mail showing that I owe this. I want it on my credit report as good standing also.

Desired Settlement: I want my credit report to be adjusted most of all. I would also like my bill to be checked it went from 800 to 1400 I owe I never received anything in writing just phone calls.

Business Response:

NCM does not own the accounts which it collects on. They are assigned by the Colleges and Universities which we work for. Consumer's settlement was presented to ****** ****** ********** but was denied.  

 

 

 

 

6/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have now received two collection letters to my address for a ******** P ******** who owes a debt to a university that I never attended. I believe this company sent mailing to myself without any confirmation that this other ******** lives here. I do not know a ******** P ******** and I do not appreciate being associated with his debt. This is poor business practice to simply apply an address to this account based on that I am ******** E ********. They gave me an account number of 1840756 and are attempting to collect a debt of $3,368.96. I consider this harassment at this point. I am in the process of purchasing a home and have had several credit reports run in the past 30 days. None of them show any debt to this university. I do not want this companies activity to infringe on my ability to purchase a home. I am shocked that this company is endorsed by the BBB if this is how they operate.

Desired Settlement: I expect no further communication by this company as I consider it harassment. I would hope that the BBB carefully reconsiders their endorsement to avoid public opinions of illegitimacy. I will be sharing this event with as many people as I can on social media.

Business Response: NCM has removed the same name of consumer from system and will not receive any communication.

2/10/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: National Credit Management has been alerted on several occassions that they are attempting to collect a debt that has was cleared through bankruptcy. It is essential that National Credit Management cease all debt collection activities and clears they wrongful remark on my credit as this is the last opportunity I will provide before contacting my bankruptcy attorney for suit.

Desired Settlement: Clear my credit report and your records as this debt is no longer valid due to bankruptcy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/10) */ Consumer Account has been closed and returned back to University. Credit Bureaus have been notified to remove and update. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/02/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for your response and further investigation into this matter.

1/12/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I never received any kind of notification, either verbal or written in regards to this debt. This is a debt that I did not to be in existence. It's stemming from a school that I had a horrible experience with. I was not the only one. http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/ivy-tech-community-college-cXXXXXX.html The amount they say I owed is dubious at best. I paid it the minute it came to my attention. The only way it was brought to my attention was when I pulled a copy of my credit report. I paid it immediately, it updated to show paid on my report but my score is still severely impacted. I am unable to purchase a home now as a result of this. I can't help but feel a little cheated here as I truly had no knowledge that this was out there. It really is an unfortunate situation. Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Just for the company to put in a request to remove the account from my credit report so I can have the ability to purchase my first home.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** EVP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@NCMSTL.COM Ivy Tech Community College had previously attempted to collect past due consumer tuition balance, reported delinquent as of 12/18/2011. Ivy Tech sent consumer letter on 3/9/12 to **** N ***** ** *** Mulberry IN XXXXX informing consumer that his account would be assigned to NCM for collections if no payment was received. On 4/9/12 Consumer account was placed with NCM in the amount of $766.75. Letter was sent to consumer from NCM on 4/13/12 explaining to consumer who the creditor was and that he had thirty(30)days to dispute the validity of the debt. No dispute was received by NCM from consumer and collection activity continued. Attempted to contact consumer by phone and mail, which took place on several occasions. Due to the lack of contact with consumer and Ivy Tech Community College Credit Reporting Policy and as well as the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA); the credit reporting agencies were notified of delinquent account. Consumer called into NCM on the date of 1/07/13 and paid balance of $766.75 by Credit Card. On 2/5/13 Credit Reporting Agencies were updated to reflect "Paid Collection Item". Since NCM is a Data Furnisher we need to report Fair and Accurate information to Credit Reporting Agencies. NCM Cannot remove information as if it never happened. Consumer can contact Credit Reporting Agencies if he feels that it is invalid and have them remove it from his credit report.

11/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Being harassed via mail regarding an loan that I do not owe to this company or anyone else. I am receiving mail from this company claiming that I owe $2,727.39 from a loan taken out in college. Reference number XXXXXXX. I have contacted the ********** of ******* ******** and was notified that I do not owe them anything nor have I had any amount sent to a collections agency. I do not owe this company anything, the account is invalid and I would like to stop receiving harassing mail from them.

Desired Settlement: I would like a statement from this business stating their error mailed to me immediately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** EVP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@NCMSTL.COM NCM was assigned on 11/3/15 a delinquent Perkins Loan owed to The ********** of ******* ******** since 7/1/14. Consumer was sent a letter on 11/04/15 by NCM informing consumer the status of Student Loan. NCM spoke to The ********** of ******* ******** to verify correct information. University stated that consumer had two (2) accounts with the University and may have been told that one account had been paid. However the consumer still had another loan that remained delinquent. NCM has since received information from The ********** that school has received consolidation information from consumer on 11/18/15 to pay outstanding student loan balance . NCM has ceased any communication efforts with consumer since she has made arrangements with The ********** of ******* *********

11/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid off the account 2 years ago. They refuse to take it off my credit report. Called and tried to negotiate, but were very rude and refused to help. I'm trying to clean up my credit, so I called them to see if there was anything I could do to get them to stop reporting my amount that had been paid off two years prior. The first time they put me on hold for an hour and never picked the phone up again. The second and third times I was hung up on. Finally, the last time I was told that it wasn't their problem.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to tale the account off my credit report. It has been on there for a sufficient amount of time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** EVP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@NCMSTL.COM Per the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) An account remains on a consumers credit report for up to seven (7) years. $139.24 account was reported as delinquent by *** ****** ***** University on 7/29/13. Account assigned to NCM on 10/21/13. Consumer paid delinquent account in the amount of $139.24 on 12/19/13. Account was never disputed by the consumer. Account was updated to reflect payment to all three major credit bureaus. Credit Bureau updates the account as a "Paid Collection Item". As a data furnisher to Credit Bureaus, NCM cannot delete an item which reflects the truth and accuracy of the credit report. Consumer can contact Credit Bureau Agencies to dispute the report if he feels that it is a false representation of his credit report. Consumer called into NCM on 10/21/15 and was given the same explanation.

10/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: National Credit Management claims I owe money to an institution of which I have no attendance record. I first heard of National Credit Management when I noticed that they placed an attempted collection of an erroneous account on my credit reports. According to the Fair Debt Collection and Practices Act, National Credit Management was supposed to notify me of their attempted collection before ever reporting it to the credit reporting agencies. I immediately disputed the account via certified mail with return receipt requesting that they validate and verify the account. It has been more than 30 days since that request, and they have not replied, yet they continue to report this erroneous account with the national credit reporting agencies. This is also in violation of the Fair Debt Collection and Practices Act. Both of these violations have already occurred, and National Credit Management is already liable for damages, which include $1,000 plus lawsuit expenses. There is nothing, at this point, that National Credit Management can now do to actually change these facts. I suggest that National Credit Management cease collection efforts on this account before I escalate this case to my attorney.

Desired Settlement: Cease collection efforts on this erroneous account and discontinue inaccurate collection communications and reporting immediately.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** EVP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@ncmstl.com National Credit Management was assigned an account on 5/26/15 from ********** ******** *********** NCM attempted to contact consumer by mail and phone to discuss delinquent Pell Grant which he received in Fall 2011 for a Biology Class. Consumer never sent dispute or contacted NCM within 30 days after initial letter of 5/26/15. NCM did receive a dispute and request for validation on 8/25/2015. NCM sent validation on 9/22/15 which included Student Account Printout of Pell Grant Disbursement, along with ********** ******** ********** drop/add form with consumer signature from 10/13/11. Since consumer disputes that this is not a valid charge; NCM has ceased collection of account and closed and returned back to ********** ******** ***********

7/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to school for a time at Kentucky State University under the elderly program that was free.The lead contact person is ******* ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX.This program was free and she will be glad to back that up. All my books were bought on line not from the college and I had no outstanding Bills ,The college did try to bill me several year's ago and I did go to *** ***** and that had billed me in error. I have never been bill again and would have gladly paid any bill I owed but as I said this program was FREE.When NCM contacted me I did contact them and tried to explain but face very stiff resistance at which time I told them this discussion was over. I did mail them and email them that I was not responsible for any bill and they should contact **** ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX.they however have not even tried to contact her. Simply this I do not owe any money and seems these people insist on badgering me and threatening me.

Desired Settlement: Stop contact . report that no bill was or is due ( because it is not) contact **** ******* ***** XXX-XXX-XXXXNote : If I would have owed this bill I would have paid KSU But I did not owe it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Executive VP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@ncmstl.com After speaking with consumer concerning account, NCM contacted Kentucky State University and determined that the consumer account was placed in error. No further contact with consumer will be made.

3/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called a few days ago to set up a payment plan and the woman I talked to agreed to a certain amount of money to be taken directly out of my account every two weeks. That day, the amount was taken out of my account. The next day, I got another email about a payment that had been processed. I thought it was just a mistake, but then I went to my account and I now have another pending charge for the same amount. Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like back the second amount charged to my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/02/27) */ The customer set up a $50 payment. However due to computer error there was 2 transaction on the same day. We reversed 1 of the transaction January 23, 2015. This had been resolved.

2/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a letter saying i owed a bill with ******** - never went to school there as well as any other college. Spoke with a person by phone and she wanted me to give her all my personal information and I would not give it to her and she became irate

Desired Settlement: For them to remove me from this debt - It does not belong to me

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** EVP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@NCMSTL.COM Consumer received a letter who shares the same name as consumer ******* ******* from Indiana. She called NCM and when it was verified by her DOB that NCM was contacting the wrong Ms. *******, address was removed from computer and was told by agent to disregard correspondence. No further contact would be made.

8/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This collection agency keeps calling me and mailing bills for collection for student loans that I took out with my college, ********* ******* college. The school automatically takes out money from my bank account every month to pay what I owe them. I've told NCM that I'm paying the school and the school has told them the same information. yet every few days I receive phone calls and every month a bill from NCM to start paying them. They already ruined my credit even though I don't owe them anything, they told me that there is nothing they can do about it. I've spoken to the same representative **** **** on multiple occasions, which every time we speak it's like we spoke for the first time and have to repeat the same information over and over. My college told me to ignore this company that they would work it out with them, but that was back in April and this company has not stopped harassing me.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company NCM to stop harassing me with phone calls and sending bills every month, I would also like them to rectify the situation with the credit bureau's to get my credit back where it was before this issue. I work for *** and having good credit is very important.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@ncmstl.com NCM represents Southwest Florida College for delinquent student accounts. ********* ******* ******* assigned account balance of $7810.00 to NCM for collections. NCM proceeded to contact consumer to collect on past due balance. Consumer has made arrangements to pay the school directly in the amount of $60.00 a month. Once it was determined that this arrangement was made with ********* ******* ******* NCM has ceased calling the consumer. NCM will continue to monitor the account with the school for reported payments. ********* ******* ******* has directed NCM to report to credit Bureau all delinquent accounts. Consumer's account remains delinquent with ********* ******* ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on National Credit Management
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart