BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/04/2012

National Credit Management

Phone: (800) 627-2300

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues13
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints14

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)BBB Closure Definitions
07/22/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: This company is repeatedly calling my home phone despite being told to cease and desist by a fraud investigation officer.
I am being called from 2 separate phone numbers the first is XXX-XXX-XXXX and the second is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Both of these numbers have now been blocked from my phone. This matter has been turned over to a fraud investigator and he made a personal call to the 800 number informing them to stop calling my home looking for a ****** ******* which I did my own search and one by that name does not reside in my state. I received a call from this other number tonight XXX-XXX.... apparently these people do not understand what the definition for harassment. I want these calls stopped from this company and any other they choose to turn this account over too. They threatened to send a summons to my home and were told to send it on... The fraud investigator would be glad to pursue them for calling after they were informed to cease.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Executive VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX EXT 202
Contact Email: ******@ncmstl.com
The number XXX-XXX-XXXX is NOT associated with National Credit Management in St. Louis. However, XXX-XXX-XXXX is associated with NCM. Called consumer number one time looking for person with the same last name residing in Ft Worth, TX. After being notified on 7/10/13 that number does not now person with same last name number was removed from computer system and not called.

04/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Contacted by *** **** x*** with practices improper for collection. Continuously calling numerous times a day, even when advised debt had been cleared.
Spoke to supervisor, who confirmed debt resolved.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Executive VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@NCMSTL.COM
Consumer will not be called further.

03/16/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: I filed a complaint two days ago but National Credit Management kept calling me in the past 2 days. Cannot stand any more!!!

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ************ Executive VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@ncmstl.com
Consumer sent letter requesting validation of debt. Received letter on November XX XXXX. Sent validation to consumer on November 22, 2011. Received letter on December 15 saying "I don't believe I owe what you say I owe" Consumer did not send a "Cease and Desist" letter. Stated to stop contacting her except to advise her that the debt collection efforts are being terminated or that the creditor is wanting to proceed with collection efforts. Consumer did not return messages left to discuss dispute as to why she does not owe the validated account. The account has since been closed back to the original creditor.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
"Consumer did not send a "Cease and Desist" letter. "

Totally a lie - I can send you proof of my delivery confirmation receipt as well as mail contents for all correspondence to NCM.

That's why NCM stopped calling me since last Dec., when I sent out "Cease and Desist" letter, for 3 months, and then called me recently. Should I not send out "Cease and Desist", NCM would have called all the time during past 3 months!

I just cannot stand this deceitful and brazen comments from this company operating on such a substandard operating principles.

06/23/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
11/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: This collection agency keeps calling me and mailing bills for collection for student loans that I took out with my college, ********* ******* college. The school automatically takes out money from my bank account every month to pay what I owe them. I've told NCM that I'm paying the school and the school has told them the same information. yet every few days I receive phone calls and every month a bill from NCM to start paying them. They already ruined my credit even though I don't owe them anything, they told me that there is nothing they can do about it. I've spoken to the same representative **** **** on multiple occasions, which every time we speak it's like we spoke for the first time and have to repeat the same information over and over. My college told me to ignore this company that they would work it out with them, but that was back in April and this company has not stopped harassing me.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@ncmstl.com
NCM represents Southwest Florida College for delinquent student accounts. ********* ******* ******* assigned account balance of $7810.00 to NCM for collections. NCM proceeded to contact consumer to collect on past due balance. Consumer has made arrangements to pay the school directly in the amount of $60.00 a month. Once it was determined that this arrangement was made with ********* ******* ******* NCM has ceased calling the consumer. NCM will continue to monitor the account with the school for reported payments.
********* ******* ******* has directed NCM to report to credit Bureau all delinquent accounts. Consumer's account remains delinquent with ********* ******* ********

10/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: I was contacted by National Credit Management (NCM), and over the phone they told me I had an outstanding debt from college (graduation was 8 years ago), and that the debt would be reported to the credit bureaus if I didn't pay the debt immediately.I asked what the debt was specifically for, and was told they didn't have the details but could get them from the university. The person on the phone went on to explain that NCM contacts the university for paperwork which is mailed so the information would take some time to get and in the meantime the debt would be reported on my credit report.I value my high credit score and work very hard to maintain it. I pay bills as soon as I get them. I had no idea what the debt was in regards to, but I was in a very vulnerable position. I could pay the debt to try and ensure my credit didn't suffer negatively, or I could wait until the supporting paperwork arrived but very probably would have the debt reported.I am sorry to say I decided to pay NCM. There is a myriad of information on the numerous ways debt collectors use illegal and unethical methods to persuade people to pay debt collectors, and still I made the choice. I made the terrible mistake of trusting that what they said was true - and the information I was given turned out to be false.I was told I needed to pay $539.61 in order to satisfy the debt and keep the account from being reported to credit bureaus. I paid the $539.61 in full. Several days later I received paperwork from the university itself which specifically stated the total balance due was $415.50.National Credit Management very clearly and specifically told me in writing and over the phone that I owed $124.11 more than the university was saying (in writing) the total balance due.National Credit Management falsely informed me the balance due on the account and they owe me $124.11 difference.The federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) was created to try to protect consumers from fraudulent companies, and the act specifically states it is illegal for a collection agency to falsely represent the amount a consumer owes.Furious, I called National Credit Managment immediately upon receiving verification of the debt amount from the university. My call took place after hours, and I left a voicemail stating the issue and that I wanted to be called back first thing in the morning. I not only was not called that morning, I wasn't called back at all.At this point it was painfully obvious to me that I was not going to be hearing from National Credit Management. And frankly, from their perspective why would they return any communications? NCM had received the payment they requested, and the fraudulent balance amount I paid allowed them to report to their client the balance had been paid AND NCM also was able to capture the $124.11 difference into their own pockets.I work hard for my money, and do not have the luxury of being able to spend the necessary hours on the phone attempting to get NCM to talk with me. I did manage to have time after work on a Friday to call in to NCM, and once the phone was answered I immediately requested a manager.I readily admit I was furious, and rightly so. National Credit Management falsely represented the amount owed by me to bring the account to a paid status, which is illegal.I said the same to the woman who identified herself as a manager on the phone. The woman I talked to stated the $124.11 was National Credit Managment's "fees". I explained to this supposed manager that it is illegal not to disclose the fees. I had never been told of NCM's fees, and I had spoken to more than one person at NCM before paying my alleged deb balance.The woman on the phone countered that nothing illegal had happened (apparently this NCM manager is unaware of the law and what is stated in the FDCPA). Early on the woman claimed it was my fault I didn't receive any communication disclosing NCM's fees because I hadn't updated them on my current address. So because I didn't communicate an address update to a collection agency I didn't know existed regarding a debt I didn't realize I had, I was told a balance over $100 from what the university had clearly stated? The woman on the phone grew more antagonizing and condescending as the argumentative conversation continued on. At another point in the conversation she gave a ridiculously exaggerated sigh and then proceeded to "inform" me that they weren't doing anything illegal because they had been using these practices with consumers for over 50 years. I'm flabbergasted that a representative of NCM would think that practicing fraudulent business practices for a long period of time somehow made those illegal actions legal. What an asinine notion.With every pitiful explanation from this NCM employee attempting to coerce me into believing that even though the law specifically stated a credit agency can not falsely represent the amount a consumer owes, somehow NCM had not done anything wrong.It was clear from all of her ready excuses that I was not the first consumer who had called in and complained about this issue. If NCM has really been doing this for over 50 years the number of consumers they could have treated in the exact same way I was treated - well, the thought of that potential number astounds me.When the woman got tired of speaking with me, she said she was going to end the phone call. Literally. I was honestly speechless for a few moments while it sunk in that NCM was so assured of their ability to get away with their illegal action that an employee would have the audacity to simply claim the phone call was over when they tired of hearing that not disclosing fees is illegal under the FDCPA.By the time the NCM representative said she was ending the call and was going to hang up, I was so frustrated and emotionally exhausted that I was literally in tears. She also stated that she didn't have the a
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Executive VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@***********
Consumer registered for classes with New Mexico State University on 9/11/2004. Consumer registered for ECON 251G and MATH 115 and withdrew from these classes, however it was too late in the semester to receive any type of tuition refund. Consumer made last payment of $50.00 on 6/12/2007. New Mexico State University had not received any further payments since 2007 and according to the terms and conditions of consumer's registration,in the event that the student becomes delinquent in paying charges or defaults in repaying charges student will be liable for collection fees and any other costs incurred by New Mexico State to collect any monies due from student. NCM was assigned to collect consumer's debt by the University on 7/5/2013 for $415.50 the (principle balance).The consumer received validation of debt after speaking with NCM representative which explained the terms of student registration. The collection cost of $124.11 was added once account was placed for collection, making the total amount owed to the university of $539.61 which consumer agreed to pay when account became delinquent. Consumer would not had been allowed to attend New Mexico State University without agreeing to the conditions of registration. It was unfortunate that the consumer did not pay the university before the account went delinquent. However New Mexico State University did not receive the funds owed to them based on consumer's committment to pay.

05/22/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Collection Activity for an account in excess of 5 years. Ref number XXXXXXX

I have been contacted by a debt collector ****** ******* aka Andy ******* from phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX ext***. Reference XXXXXXX. I had to make a call out and specially REQUEST a reference number be given to me by this debt collector. He has called me non stop for the last 2 months at my residency and place of employment without first verifying the numbers. I have not once received a written correspondence regarding the reason, amount and company in which he is calling on the behalf of. I had to in fact perform a phone reversal look up to find the name of the company National Credit Management. The debt I believe he and his company are trying to collect improperly derives from a loan with the University of Missouri St. Louis in which I would have to advise I have not attended since 2006. Any promissory note would have been signed and dated from the prior semester, making the loan and therefore the debt in excess of 5 years.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@ncmstl.com
Consumer attended the University of Missouri-St. Louis and received a Perkins loan which is a Government Loan and has no statute of limitations.The loan will remain valid until it is paid by the consumer. Consumer owes the Government.

04/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Improper and illegal collection practices.

National Credit Management placed a collection on my credit report for $1,040.00 on 4/2013. This account was originally from Fontbonne University over 7 years ago and was charged off. The original debt was removed from my credit report. National Credit Management have placed this old debt back on my report as a new debt as of 4/2013. This company cannot do this, and must submit the original dates of debt. I've filed a dispute withe the credit reporting agencies to remove this duplicate old debt.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
The account from Fontbonne University is from 1/5/2009. Consumer signed payment contract/promissory note as well as made a payment to the University on 7/7/2009,8/4/09,9/03/09 and 10/05/09.The debt is four years old and within the statute of limitations. Fontbonne placed account for collections with NCM on 1/30/13. Have been attempting to contact consumer but have been unable to speak to her concerning the valid debt of $1040.18.

08/17/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized service

Complaint: POOR CUSTOMER COMMUNICATION AND FAILED/FRAUD LEGAL PERSONAL CREDIT HISTORY
I RECEIVED CALL FROM NATIONAL CREDIT MANAGEMENT COMPANY AND THEY TOLD ME I OWE PERKINS LOAN FROM MY UNIVERSITY ON 2006. I TOLD THEM I NO DEPT AND EVERYTHING ARE TAKEN CARE OF BACK TO 2007. A FEW DAY LATER, I RECEIVED A ALERT FROM MY CREDIT IDENTITY GUARD SHOW NATIONAL CREDIT MANAGEMENT POLLING MY CREDIT WITHOUT MY PERMISSION. I CALL THEM BACK RIGHT AWAY AND MENTION ABOUT THE DEPT WAS A MISTAKE WHEN I PAID OFF ALL THE LOAN THAT I OWE. THEY SPEAK VERY RULE AND NOT EVEN ANSWER MY QUESTIONS REGARDING FAILING LEGAL RIGHT OF MY PERSONAL LIFE AND CREDIT HISTORY. PLEASE HELP ME TO LOOK INTO THIS CASE. THANKS. -(NAME)

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title:
Contact Phone:
Contact Email:
This is a Loan that is owed to the Government and Borrower was confused and believed NCM was another company trying to "mess with his credit". National Credit Management (NCM) has been attempting to collect a delinquent student loan owed to University of North Texas. Mr. called back on 8/16/12 and realized that this was a legitimate debt and called NCM back to try and negotiate a settlement on delinquent loan.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.