BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/2011

Douglas Chancellor Meyers & Associates LLC

Phone: (636) 925-2480Fax: (636) 925-2481

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues9
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
09/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was contacted at work via my work telephone number through my direct dial phone to my desk, not utilizing an extension. Upon answering the call from phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX at 1:49pm on Friday September 12th 2014, the caller immediately stated, "This is an attempt to collect a debt, and information obtained...". I immediately disconnected the call by hanging up the phone. I disconnected immediately as I am fully aware that any contact by a collection agency to someone's place of employment is illegal. I then searched the phone number to determine who the company was that was attempting to contact me. I determined it to be Douglas Chancellor Meyers & Associates LLC located in St. Charles Missouri. If this company harasses me any further through any contact avenue related to my employer, further legal action will be sought.

Desired Settlement
Company reprimanded and fined for breaking the law regarding contact for collection attempts to a persons employer. Cease phone calls.

Business Response
The only phone numbers we have attempted to call were provided by the debtor on her contact information sheet which she filled out for the party for whom we are attempting to collect. Those were noted as home and cell phone, not work phone. So we were not attempting to contact her place of employment. We have a copy of this document, which is signed by complainant. If she would like to see it, she can provide us with written authorization to release this information, and we'll gladly provide it to her.

Furthermore, under FDCPA, we are permitted to contact place of employment if other methods of contact fail, in order to obtain current contact information. So this was no violation of law in any case.

Finally, all of this is irrelevant. Shortly after we attempted to contact complainant, the party for whom we are attempting to collect notified us that complainant was billed for dates that she did not use their services, and that no balance is due on the account. Therefore, the account has been closed.

03/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been paying a debt off with this company for a while. They called me this morning and told me my payment didn't go through. I wasn't even aware it wasn't paid off. I told them I couldn't make the payment today and told them to call me in a couple days. They said they would tell their client I refused to pay and they will press charges and hung up on me. I called and spoke to a manager and they told me if I call them in advanced, they can take care of the issue. I explained I didn't even know it was still an issue. I thought the person before told me I owed $15. This next person told me I had to pay $50. I told her I didn't remember having to make a $50 payment. She became irate at this point. They are impersonating lawyers, calling me with wrong information and being rude and yelling at me.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to turn my debt over to another agency or cancel it all together since they are using deceitful tactics.

Business Response
We contacted complainant because her regular monthly payment was declined. She had made a total of six payments, each of the same amount, pursuant to her agreement in March. The September payment finally cleared on October 1, and three payments remain.

Regarding her assertion that we "are impersonating lawyers" that is simply incorrect. When you contact our company, a recorded message tells you that we are attempting to collect a debt, before anybody even answers the phone. We do not ever take legal action on our accounts, although the third parties for whom we collect certain have the right to do so.

We're sorry for your bad experience with our collections department, and have taken appropriate actions with the employees involved to improve our response in the future. As for resolving her complaint, it would be in her best interest to allow us to collect the final three payments, so that her account can be resolved as "paid in full." She has been a faithful payer up until this month, and she's very close to removing this black mark from her record. If complainant still wants to terminate her payment arrangement, she should contact our office to do so.

Consumer Response
After filing a complaint about the business contacting a third party without my permission and misinforming them that I would be involved in a lawsuit if I didn't contact them, which was never true, the company retaliated against me by charging my account twice this month. They took twice the payment out as they normally do.
I want a refund and I want these criminals shut down. They are breaking all kinds of laws and have terrible company policies, such as not informing their customers about their accounts and hanging up on them when they ask questions or whining when the customer doesn't remember the payment amount, including the manager saying "REALLY! YOU DON"T REMEMBER YOU PAY $50 A MONTH?" Then after telling her that she is being rude, hanging up on me. This is a bunch of criminals who crank call people


Final Consumer Response
Brandon at "Douglas Chancellor Meyer and Associates," called my mother, and told her that I needed to call him to avoid a potential lawsuit. Upon further investigation, the amount of money that I owed was not even eligible for a collections lawsuit. I never told them that they can contact my family. I want to know why they think they can contact 3rd parties and disclose my information without my permission. So, If they want to avoid a potential lawsuit, I think I need an explanation and my money back. I have a witness and phone records and what they have done to collect money from me was illegal and I want a full refund of the money they collected from me and some money for the humiliation I have faced as a result of them calling my parents. I also have the Attorney General and if we can't settle this issue between two parties, I will certainly get the Attorney General's help. Douglas Chancellor Meyer and Associates, deserves to be shut down for their illegal practices in collecting money.

Every last dime of my payment refunded.


09/05/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I owed a balance to Commerce Bank. July 25th I made payment arrangements to have two deductions from my account of $326 on July 26th and August 26th. July 24th I called and asked for an extension and name removed gave me to the 30th. However, they processed it on the 26th and funds were not there. They sent a bill for $990.53.

Desired Settlement
I want them to work with me to pay the $652 off.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
We spoke with the complainant on August 28th, and have resolved the situation to our mutual satisfaction.

11/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a validation notice from Douglas Chancellor Meyers & Associates LLC on a debt placed in their office in 10/2014 and upon receipt of the letter, the account was paid online 11/07/14. I travel a lot due to my profession and received the statement in 11/2014. I called today 11/10/14 to verify that my payment had gone through and to advise them that my card not only ran once but twice. I then asked was the account reported to my credit (still within my 30 day validaion period) and one of the representatives stated that the account had in fact been reported to my credit the end of 10/2014. He stated that it was their policy to report to consumers credit at the end of each month. I then asked the representative if an account is listed with them on the 28th of any given month will that account still report, he stated yes. I was taken back by that and stated to the rep that an account that has been with you for 2 days can affect someones credit before they have an opportunity to dispute or pay the debt. He stated that since my account was paid that it would be reported paid in full even though it was paid within 30 days of the notice date and I'm not fine with that. He then sarcastically stated that the client Dr. ******* ****** sent me letters before it was sent to their office.

Desired Settlement
I would like the account completely removed from all 3 major credit reporting bureaus and letter of deletion emailed to me or sent to my current mailing address showing this deletion. The account was definitely paid within the 30 day validation period and I feel that it is unfair and is a violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act.

Business Response
Complainant demands that a delinquent debt be removed from his credit report because it was paid within 30 days of being placed in collection. Unfortunately, credit reporting regulations require that accounts be reported on the 1st of the month, and prohibit deleting accounts which were properly placed. Since complainant does not dispute the validity of the debt, we are not permitted to remove it from his credit report, but will report it as paid in full.

For future reference, complainant should be advised that the only way to prevent an account from being reported as a collection account is to pay it BEFORE it is sent to collection. In fact, some service providers and other creditors do their own reporting, so that an account could appear on your credit report even before they send it to a collection agency. But once an account is sent to collection, it is going to be reported.

07/17/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This agency was hired by ******** Bank to "collect a debt" from my husband and I. I have already filed a complaint against ******** Bank, but this one is for Douglas, Chancellor, Meyers & Associates, Inc.This firm has harassed us, been extremely rude, forceful, and threatening. I have voicemails from this firm saying "it's in our best interest", to return their call, in a threatening tone. They also said that because we couldn't pay for this "debt" the first time they called us (which was May 2013), that we had "no interest in settling the debt" and that we "don't take our responsibilities seriously".We had never received a letter from this firm, or ******** for that matter, that we owed anything to ********. We left ******** Bank years ago, and they are just now telling us, through a collection agency, that we "owe" them money. This firm says they have "sent" letters to us, at several different locations. They also said that they have called phone numbers that are no longer valid or were never our contact phone numbers. So who knows who this firm has been contacting and giving incorrect information about my husband and I, saying we owe a "debt" to ******** Bank.This firm should be shutdown immediately. Harassing people, being extremely rude to people, and threatening people is no way to conduct any business, especially a business where they are trying to get someone to pay a "debt".They also said they put a hold on my husband, so he cannot open an account at any other bank. This is wrong, they should not be able to do this at all.

Desired Settlement
I want this firm to stop contacting me and my husband immediately. I want them to take whatever hold they have off of my husband, so we can open an account at any bank we choose. We haven't gotten any letters or phone calls from ********, or this firm, since May 2013, and they have been calling me every single day, since the date of the first phone call. I want it to stop. I want whatever they say we "owe" ******** to be taken off of our credit, and to be left alone.

Business' Initial Response
We have provided Mrs. with the details of the debt we are attempting collect. Due to federal regulations governing collections, we are unable to provide this information to the BBB without the debtor's consent. I can say, however, that while Mrs. denies any knowledge of this, we are the third collection agency to attempt to collect this debt over a period of nearly two years.

Regarding their inability to open a bank account elsewhere, that is beyond our control. Most banks report overdrawn accounts to **** ******** and consult them before allowing a customer to open a new account. If their previous bank has made such a report, they will continue to do so until the debt is resolved to their satisfaction, whether the account is with us or elsewhere. We ourselves do no reporting whatsoever for the client with which Mr. had a relationship.

Finally, regarding Mrs. request that we stop contacting her, we will mark the account today as "cease and desist collection efforts" and return it to the creditor with that notation.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It sounds to me like they are trying to make things worse for us. "Cease and desist collection efforts" sounds like they are going to sue us.
If they are the "third" company to have our account, then why haven't we received any information from any other company? Including ******** Bank?? The only thing we have received from them, are new debit cards within this year, and our account was closed years ago! Why would they send us new debit cards, if we owed them anything?
This is unacceptable. The letters that we have received, that were from the past month or so, have been rude and threatening, and for them being our first letters, that is beyond unacceptable. Basically calling us liars, and treating us like we are nothing, s unacceptable, and I don't see how or why, they are still a business.

06/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues
05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.