BBB Accredited Business since

U M B Bank N.A.

Additional Locations

Phone: (855) 852-4505 Fax: (314) 632-8223 View Additional Phone Numbers 2 S Broadway, Saint Louis, MO 63102 http://umb.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that U M B Bank N.A. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for U M B Bank N.A. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on U M B Bank N.A.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 1977 Business started: 03/01/1976 Business started locally: 03/01/1976
Business Management
Jeremy Barrand, Customer Care Manager Nance McFarland, Director of Banking Services Compliance Mathew Miratsky, Compliance Officer Dawn York, Retail Banking
Contact Information
Principal: Jeremy Barrand, Customer Care Manager
Business Category

Banks


Additional Locations

  • 1 Church St

    Saint Louis, MO 63135

  • 101 N High St

    Belleville, IL 62220

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1010 Grand Blvd
    Mailstop: 1020406

    Kansas City, MO 64106 (816) 860-1728

  • 1041 S Woods Mill Rd

    Chesterfield, MO 63017

  • 1201 Regency Pkwy

    Saint Charles, MO 63303

  • 12050 Dorsett Rd

    Maryland Heights, MO 63043

  • 13969 Manchester Rd

    Ballwin, MO 63011

  • 1516 Chapel Hill Rd

    Columbia, MO 65203 (573) 445-4600

  • 15400 Clayton Rd

    Ballwin, MO 63011

  • 2 S Broadway

    Saint Louis, MO 63102 (314) 621-1000 (636) 296-8300 (314) 421-6868 (314) 966-4000 (314) 997-3110 (314) 612-8045 (636) 256-3700 (314) 522-6900 (314) 621-1000 (816) 860-1537 (855) 852-4505

  • 2921 Maryville Rd

    Maryville, IL 62062

  • 3824 Monticello Plz

    Saint Charles, MO 63304 (636) 300-4200

  • 401 N Bluff Rd

    Collinsville, IL 62234

  • 426 N Kirkwood Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63122

  • 5780 S Lindbergh Blvd

    Saint Louis, MO 63123

  • 6059 Mid Rivers Mall Dr

    Saint Peters, MO 63304

  • 7700 Forsyth Blvd.

    Saint Louis, MO 63105

  • 827 Arnolds Common Dr

    Ballwin, MO 63011

  • 9 Brentwood Promenade Court

    Saint Louis, MO 63144

  • 907 E US Hwy 50

    O Fallon, IL 62269

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    928 Grand Blvd. MS 1010902

    Kansas City, MO 64106

  • 9957 Winghaven Blvd

    O Fallon, MO 63368

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

On 12/5/15 you placed an inquiry on my credit report. I did not give your company permission to run my credit nor do you have any “permissible purpose” to run my credit. Since it is against the FCRA, § 604. Permissible purposes of consumer reports [15 U.S.C. § 1681b] for an entity to view a consumer’s credit report without a “permissible purpose.” I am writing to inquire as to your alleged purpose for doing so since I did not apply for (credit, insurance, employment or other services) with your company. This inquiry was performed under false pretenses as described in the clear language of the law. 15 USC §1681n(a)(1)(B ) which states, in part, … “in the case of liability of a natural person for obtaining a consumer report under false pretenses or knowingly without a permissible purpose, actual damages sustained by the consumer as a result of the failure or $1,000, whichever is greater;”… You are civilly liable to me in the amount of $1,000.00 for your willful violation of the law by performing a “hard inquiry” on my credit file without my permission. To resolve this matter please remove the inquiry from my credit report. If the illegal credit inquiry is not deleted I shall be forced to seek legal action which may include but is not limited to paying me the civil liability fine, punitive damages for the decrease in my credit score, plus court and attorney fees.

 

I do not have a specific location because I have never done business with UMB bank.

Desired Settlement: Remove the inquiry from my credit report.

Business Response: April 21, 2016



***** ******
**** * *** ****** **
Colorado Springs, CO *****

Re: BBB Case #********

Dear ***** ******:

We are in receipt of the correspondence you submitted to the Better Business Bureau Serving
Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois (“BBB”) which was subsequently forwarded to UMB
Bank, N.A. (“UMB”) on April 11, 2016. According to our records, we received an application
matching your information for the 5-Star credit card underwritten by UMB on December 5, 2015.
If you are claiming that you are a victim of identity fraud and have no knowledge of said
account, then you must fill out the following information and send it back to the UMB Fraud
Department:

? Completed police report naming a suspect if known
? Current copy of your driver’s license
? Completed UMB fraud affidavit

Please mail all the above to:

UMB Fraud Department
**** *** ******
Kansas City, MO *****

After we receive the above information, someone from our Fraud Department will contact you
with further instructions.


If you have any questions regarding this notice, you should contact:

UMB Bank, n.a.
** *** *******
Kansas City, MO **********

Sincerely,


UMB Card Services



UMB Bank, n.a. *** ***** ********* ****** ***** ******** *****
Phone ************ Fax ************ Toll Free ************ umb.com

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I feel the suggested steps are a bit out of context asking that I burden my already overworked local police department to file a police report to have this looked at. I've provided fair effort to resolve this privately without detailing any potential issues with your company via an online public press release, including documentation of any potential small claims action but I feel I have no other choice. I've given you my response that I have no knowledge of this inquiry nor did I authorize it. Going beyond my statement and asking for a police report only makes me assume that you are questioning my integrity which is beyond insulting.


Sincerely,

***** ******

4/18/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 24, 2016 I submitted an online application for a UMB Bank credit card. On March 24, 2016, my application was denied with the principle reason being: Out of this financial institution's market area for this product.

Desired Settlement: As a corporate business of personal consumer goods, UMB Bank should have a disclaimer of some type to notify consumers that they must reside in a certain geographic region for product eligibility. I would like the credit inquiry to my Transunion credit file of March 24, 2016 removed.

Business Response: April 15, 2016



Mr. ******* *******
**** ***** ****
Cincinnati, Ohio *****

Re: BBB Complaint ID #********

Dear Mr. *******,

We have received a copy of the complaint that you submitted to the Better Business Bureau
serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois (“BBB”) on April 2, 2016, which was subsequently
forwarded to UMB Bank, N.A. (“UMB”) on April 5, 2016, regarding your recent UMB Visa Credit Card
application.
Your letter requests that the credit inquiry that UMB made to TransUnion in response to your
application to UMB for a credit card be removed from your credit history. The basis for your request is
that you believe that UMB Bank should have a disclaimer of some type to notify consumers that they
must reside in a certain geographic region for product eligibility.
Unfortunately, UMB does not believe that we are able to honor your request to delete the credit
inquiry. We did in fact receive an application for credit from you. As part of our credit review process for
applications, credit reports are requested. This fact is disclosed in our terms and conditions of our credit
applications. By submitting an application, you agreed to allow UMB to request your credit report. The
Fair Credit Reporting Act requires that data furnishers, such as UMB, must accurately report credit activity
as it occurs. As such, we are unable to remove the inquiry unless it was made in error. In this case
because we have a valid application, the inquiry must remain regardless of the reason for decline.
We appreciate your pointing out to us that there may be a need to communicate more clearly on
our website that we generally don’t grant credit card loans outside our general market area. We will be
addressing that issue in the near future.
We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. If you have any further questions or
concerns, please contact me at ************ or ****************@umb.com.



Sincerely,


**** * ***********
Retail Support Specialist II



cc: Better Business Bureau serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois



UMB Bank, n.a.

*** ***** *********
Kansas City, Missouri *****

************
************ Fax
************ Toll Free

umb.com

7/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I deposit my checks on Friday, I ask for an account balance. This was about 3 weeks ago. They told me my balance was just over $1,800. I put $1,100 in the bank and they confirmed I had $1,800 and wrote that amount on the slip. I got a letter in the mail a week later telling me my account was overdrawn. I contacted them and they told me I only had $700 in the bank when I deposited the money. They are charging me 21 late fees and my account is in the negative over $1,000. They are the ones who told me I had $1,800 in the account. They told me they would waive 3 of the fees but I would have to pay the other 18. They will not do anything else for me. The man even told me the teller could have went to another screen and gave me a more accurate account balance. He told me they gave me the balance on the first screen which was wildly inaccurate.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to correct their billing errors, waiving the fees, and contact me to discuss this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/30) */ July 30, 2015 Mr. **** ******* 7 ********* ***** ***** ******* Missouri XXXXX-XXXX RE: BBB case #XXXXXXX CFPB case #XXXXXX-XXXXXX Dear Mr. *******, We are in receipt of the correspondence you filed with both the Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois ("BBB") and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau ("CFPB") on July 16, 2015, which were subsequently forwarded to UMB Bank, N.A. ("UMB") on July 20, 2015, and July 22, 2015, respectively. In this correspondence you indicated that you had made a deposit of $1,100.00 and you were informed by a UMB Transaction Specialist that your resulting balance was $1,800.00. A week after making this deposit you received a letter in the mail stating that your account balance was negative. When you called to inquire about the letter, you were told that your balance after making that deposit was only $700.00 and you were subsequently charged 21 overdraft fees totaling $756.00. When you spoke with the Branch Manager about a refund, you were told that the bank would refund three (3) fees, but you would be responsible for the other 18. Your desired resolution is a refund of all the fees you were charged as a result of the incorrect information you received. We apologize that you were provided the incorrect information regarding your available balance when you made your deposit on June 12, 2015. Our research found that the teller system used to process your transaction temporarily credited your account twice for the $1065.26 deposit, resulting in the inaccurately inflated balance. With overnight processing however, the deposit was credited appropriately, leaving your balance at $737.66. Your account was negative at the time this deposit was made as indicated in the three (3) overdraft notification letters dated and mailed to you on June 9, June 10, and June 11, 2015. While UMB did error in providing you an accurate account balance, part of the accountability does rely upon you to maintain accurate records. UMB offers a variety of services to assist you in monitoring your available balance, such as UMB Online Banking, UMB Direct Banking by phone, and ATM, or our UMB Mobile Banking balance or withdrawal alerts. As stated in our Deposit Account Agreement titled Important Information Regarding Your Deposit Accounts that you received and agreed to when you opened your account: "It is your responsibility to know if there are sufficient funds in your account before you write a check, make a cash withdrawal at an ATM, make a purchase with your debit card, or issue, initiate or authorize any other item for payment from your account. It is important that you carefully monitor the funds in your account, and promptly record in your account register all of your deposits to, and items that you issue, initiate or authorize for payment from your account." When we reviewed your account to determine how many fees were charged as a result of the incorrect information you were given, we found that the total amount of purchases/authorizations that posted to your account after your deposit were $1,190.01, which exceeded your deposit amount by $127.75, and exceeded your available balance by $452.35. You were subsequently charged 16 overdraft/insufficient funds charges totaling $576.00, and 15 negative balance fees totaling $120, for a total fee amount of $696.00. Please note that the three overdraft charges that posted on June 12th were the result of transactions made prior to your deposit on the 12th and are not included in the totals above. As a result of our error, we processed $336.00 in fee refunds, leaving you responsible for $360.00, or a total of 10 overdraft fees. After these refunds were processed, you made a deposit on July 17, 2015, to bring your negative account to a zero balance and requested your account to be closed. The closing transaction posted the following business day and your account is officially closed as of July 20, 2015. You have been a valued customer and we apologize again for providing the incorrect information regarding your available balance on June 12, 2015. We feel that the amount of refunds processed does appropriately atone for our error, and we respectfully decline any further refunds. If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, or ************@umb.com. Sincerely, *** ***** Executive Customer Care Manager cc: Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

4/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a new home loan all set up and was suppose to Close today 4-8 -15 Standard 5% down. Paper work already been signed. Than at last minute ****** ******* with Umb bank wants more money. I don't know if she's trying to Embessel the Money or what. I already put $12,000 of our own money into the house for upkeep like carpet, paint, tile. And we are screwed on getting the loan cause ****** ******* screwed something up with the loan. Product_Or_Service: House Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I want her to give us a loan at what we agreed on in the Contract. Like I say I put $12,000 of plot cash into the house already.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/04/29) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@umb.com Re: BBB case #XXXXXXX Dear Mr. ******, We are in receipt of the correspondence you submitted to the Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois ("BBB") and subsequently forwarded to UMB Bank, N.A. ("UMB") on April 10, 2015, regarding your home loan application and additional requirements. The original request for pre-approval was for a purchase price of $100,000 with 20% down, and your preference was to apply for a FHA loan to include both you and ***** ***** as co-borrowers. Based on that information, a pre-approval request was submitted on February 24, 2015, which was followed up with a pre-approval letter emailed on February 25, 2015. During the pre-approval interview, ***** had inquired about the requirements of the property's condition as you had a house in mind that had been an investment property and was not left in the best condition. ***** was informed that the house would need to be in a good, livable condition and if the appraiser determined that repairs were needed, then those repairs would be required prior to closing on the house. We did not advise or require you to make $12,000 worth or repairs prior to purchase. On March 9, 2015, Ms. ***** provided us with a copy of the sales contract and we proceeded to register the loan and lock in the rate with only 3.5% down instead of the 20% as originally indicated for the pre-approval. On April 7, 2015, our loan processor informed us that the appraisal indicated an "identity of interest" issue because the seller was your sister and the house was an investment property prior to the sale, which triggered FHA family member limitations. The loan processor stated that either the loan amount would be limited to 85% LTV (loan-to-value), or the borrowers are to rent at least 6 months evidenced by supporting rent documentation before purchase in order to waive the 85% LTV limit. We did communicate with you the possibility of exploring other options, but we did not proceed further based on your statement to discontinue to process. You and ***** are both valued customers and we apologize that we were not able to accommodate your loan closing due to the additional stipulations. We also apologize for any confusion as to who was required to complete any repairs needed to the house prior to the appraisal. We are glad to hear that you have found another mortgage lender who may be able to accommodate your needs and we wish you the best. Sincerely, *** ***** Executive Customer Care Manager cc: Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois

2/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I deposited a check through the UMB Bank ATM. I have done this several times before. While out last night my card was declined although I have deposited my payroll check over 11 days prior. I was never made aware that this check was held or that I had been over drafted due to the banks error of not clearing my check. After speaking to three different people I keep getting sent to other representative who admit their fault and come up with new reasons to avoid settling their mistake. I am currently falsely over drafted $550. Thankfully they had a limit for me to catch their mistake. I am now without money or food for the next 3 days because of this error. I was informed just moments ago that I should have been notified via phone and mail of ANY overdraft charges which I never have been. I was also informed if I cash my payroll check at a liquor store first instead of depositing my payroll check to the bank I would have my funds in the timely manner expected. My check should have been cleared promptly and all false overdraft charges should not exist.

Desired Settlement: I would like my check cleared immediately as it should have been so 8 days ago. I would also like all false overdraft charges that should not have occurred due to not clearing my payroll check removed. These should not exist. If this happens I will gladly take my money to a respectable institution that does not require me to "stop by a liquor store first" and never bother this company with my business again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/02/26) */ February 26, 2015 Mr. **** E. ****** *** ** ******** Drive Kansas City, Missouri XXXXX-XXXX Re: BBB case # XXXXXXX Dear Mr. ****** We are in receipt of the correspondence you submitted to the Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois ("BBB") on February 6, 2015, and subsequently forwarded to UMB Bank, N.A. ("UMB") on February 12, 2015, regarding a deposit hold placed on your account. This letter serves as our response to your complaint. Our records indicate that a deposit hold was placed on a check that you deposited into an ATM on January 30, 2015, effectively delaying the availability of those funds until the seventh business day following your deposit (February 10, 2015). Please note, by the time UMB received notification of your complaint from the BBB, this deposit hold had already expired and the funds were made available in your account. Your deposit agreement with UMB (Important Information Regarding Your Deposit Accounts)(copy enclosed) states in Section V, Regulatory Disclosures, in relevant part, that: "... Under the following circumstances funds you deposit by check may be delayed up to five (5) days in addition to the maximum two-day delay.... You have overdrawn your account repeatedly in the last six (6) months...". Concerning our notifying you that we were not going to make the funds from your deposited check available the day of your deposit, please know that the same Section V of the deposit agreement also provides that: "... If your deposit is not made directly to one of our employees (for example, if you...make your deposit through an ATM), ... we will mail you the notice by the business day following the day we received your deposit. You should ask us when the funds will be available if you will need the funds from a deposit right away....". All checks deposited into our ATMs are reviewed, which review determined that, because of your record of overdrafts on your account, availability of funds from your check deposit would be delayed. In making such determination, we complied with applicable law (The Funds Availability Act as implemented by Regulation CC) and the provisions of the deposit agreement. Your account suffered a negative balance for thirteen (13) business days as reflected in your account statements dated from August 8, 2014, through January 9, 2015. Regulation CC mandates that if a deposit were not made in person to an employee of the bank and a hold on funds availability were placed after the deposit was made, then notification must be mailed to the customer no later than the first business day following the deposit. When we look at the hold notification attached, two dates are referenced: Actual Deposit Date and Business Deposit Date, both indicate January 30, 2015. This is also the date the funds availability delayed notification was generated by our system and mailed to you. We have not received any notification of returned or undeliverable mail. You are a valued customer and we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. We trust that the above information and attached documentation will provide a better understanding of when deposited funds will be made available in your account. Our records and your account activity further evidence that there were no overdraft or insufficient funds charges applied to your account as a result of this deposit hold. If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX or ************@umb.com. Sincerely, *** ***** Executive Customer Care Manager

2/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had fraud on my HSA account. I contacted UMB about filing a fraud claim and received diff direction and ultimately they never investigated it. I had fraud on my HSA account which I wasn't made aware of until about 6 months after it occured. I contacted UMB and was sent a fraud dispute affidavit which I filled out and returned. I never heard back from them with a decision either way and when I tried to follow up I received different answers of them not investigating because it occured more than 3 months in the past and others stating the time frame didnt matter since it was fraud. Ultimately nothing was done on their end I ended up losing close to $300. Furthermore being an HSA account it was used to purchase shoes from *** which is against the rules for what the account can be used for.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a full refund for the fraudulent charges to my HSA account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/05) */ Mr. ******* ***** **** ******* ********* ********** Michigan XXXXX-XXXX Re: BBB Case# XXXXXXX Dear Mr. *****, We are in receipt of the correspondence you submitted to the Better Business Bureau in Saint Louis, Missouri ("BBB") which was subsequently forwarded to UMB Bank, N.A. ("UMB") on July 25, 2014. We would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to investigate the details of the fraud claim on your Health Savings Account ("HSA"). Our research found that a fraud case was opened in 2012 by ***** **** ********* ********** a third party company contracted to investigate fraud claims, and an account credit was issued then. The coding for this credit was incorrect however, so the funds never posted to your account. We have credited your account for the transaction amount of $287.57, as well as the interest that would have been earned of 39�, for a total credit of $287.96 as of the date of this letter. You will also receive a corrected 1099 for tax year 2011 as a result. If you have questions regarding the corrected 1099, we suggest that you consult a tax advisor. You are a valued customer and we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused, and for the time taken to fully resolve this fraudulent transaction. We trust that the final credit to your HSA is a satisfactory resolution. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, or ************@umb.com. Sincerely, *** ***** Executive Customer Care Manager

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on U M B Bank N.A.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)