BBB Accredited Business since

Commerce Bank of St. Louis

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 726-2255 Fax: (314) 746-3039 View Additional Phone Numbers 8000 Forsyth Blvd # 1400, Saint Louis, MO 63105 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.commercebank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Commerce Bank of St. Louis meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Commerce Bank of St. Louis include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Commerce Bank of St. Louis
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1961 Business started: 01/01/1865 Business started locally: 01/01/1865 Business incorporated 08/04/1966 in MO
Business Management
Robert Holmes, President/CEO Ann Bronson, Customer Advocacy Program Daniel Callahan, Vice President - Credit David Kemper, Chairman & CEO John Kemper, President & COO Charles Kim, CFO Mr. Jonathan Morgan, Vice President Beth Radtke, Grants Manager, Charitable Contributions Mr. Jack Schreiber, President/COO Mr. T. William White, Senior Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ann Bronson, Customer Advocacy Program
Principal: Robert Holmes, President/CEO
Business Category

Banks Banking Services Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Mortgage Lender Financial Services Mortgage Bankers

Alternate Business Names
Commerce Bancshares Inc Commerce Bank NA

Additional Locations

  • 10010 Watson Road

    Saint Louis, MO 63126

  • 101 E Elm St

    O Fallon, MO 63366

  • 10429 Clayton Road

    Frontenac, MO 63131

  • 1090 Schnucks Woods Mill Plaza
    Ste 100

    Chesterfield, MO 63017

  • 1101 First Capitol Dr

    Saint Charles, MO 63301

  • 1102 Bradley St

    Festus, MO 63028

  • 11901 Manchester Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63131

  • 12275 Olive Blvd.

    Saint Louis, MO 63141

  • 12633 Dorsett Road

    Maryland Heights, MO 63043

  • 12856 Tesson Ferry Road

    Saint Louis, MO 63128

  • 1319 N. Truman Blvd.

    Festus, MO 63028

  • 14317 Manchester Road

    Ballwin, MO 63011

  • 1626 Pattern Drive

    Saint Louis, MO 63138

  • 16303 Truman Road

    Ellisville, MO 63011

  • 1699 Clarkson Rd.

    Chesterfield, MO 63017

  • 1994 Wentzville Pkwy

    Wentzville, MO 63385

  • 2020 North Belt East

    Belleville, IL 62221

  • 203 E Fifth Street

    Eureka, MO 63025

  • 211 N Broadway

    Saint Louis, MO 63102

  • 2496 Troy Road

    Edwardsville, IL 62025

  • 2700 S St Peters Parkway

    Saint Charles, MO 63303

  • 2900 US Highway 67

    Florissant, MO 63033

  • 2913 Hwy K

    O Fallon, MO 63366

  • 300 N Kirkwood Road

    Kirkwood, MO 63122

  • 3134 South Grand Blvd.

    Saint Louis, MO 63118

  • 4019 Chouteau

    Saint Louis, MO 63110

  • 4100 Rusty Road

    Saint Louis, MO 63128

  • 435 Mid Rivers Mall Drive

    Saint Peters, MO 63376

  • 4400 Green Mount Crossing Dr

    Shiloh, IL 62269

  • 4401 Natural Bridge Rd.

    Saint Louis, MO 63115

  • 487 Old Smizer Mill Rd

    Fenton, MO 63026

  • 5630 Telegraph Rd.

    Saint Louis, MO 63129

  • 5701 W Main Street

    Belleville, IL 62226

  • 6271 Mid Rivers Mall Dr

    Saint Charles, MO 63304

  • 6327 Chippewa

    Saint Louis, MO 63109

  • 6383 Clayton Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63117

  • 6630 Delmar

    Saint Louis, MO 63130

  • 7910 Clayton Road

    Saint Louis, MO 63117

  • 8000 Forsyth Blvd # 1400

    Saint Louis, MO 63105 (314) 726-1636 (314) 746-7490 (314) 746-8777 (314) 726-2255

  • 8050 Big Bend Blvd

    Saint Louis, MO 63119

  • 8190 N Lindbergh

    Florissant, MO 63031

  • 858 Meramec Station Road

    Valley Park, MO 63088

  • 901 S Vandeventer

    Saint Louis, MO 63110

  • 956 Jeffco Blvd.

    Arnold, MO 63010

  • 9850 St Charles Rock Road

    Saint Ann, MO 63074

  • 995 Columbia Centre

    Columbia, IL 62236

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

I opened a savings account a month ago. I went to the bank and was told it was closed and I will receive a refund for the balance. No one explained why it was closed.

Location involved

**** ***** **** **** *********** **

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back - $120.95.

Business Response: For this customer, the Bank chose to close the account. The Bank does have the right to close an account if we see it is necessary. The full balance was sent to the customer by check along with a letter explaining our decision and reason to close the account per certified mail. Tracking shows the letter and check were received by this customer on April 2, 2016, when the customer picked it up at her post office.

3/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/30/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ******* ******, CLOSED AN ACCOUNT WITH COMMERCE BANK SHARES, INC, ON MARCH 14TH, 2016. THEY ARE NOW TELLING ME THAT, DUE TO AN INTERNAL BANKING ERROR, THAT I AM RESPONSIBLE FOR A NEGATIVE BALANCE THAT THEY CLAIM IS NOW MY ACCOUNT BALANCE, AFTER I CLOSED MY ACCOUNT ENDING IN *************. THEY TELL ME THAT IS WAS DUE TO AN INTERNAL BANKING ERROR, THAT I AM SOME WAY RESPONSIBLE FOR TRANSACTIONS THAT OCCURRED AFTER THE DATE IN WHICH I CLOSED SAID ACCOUNT. I FEEL THAT THEY ARE IN BREACH OF FEDERAL BANKING LAWS, AND SHOULD FILE AN INSURANCE CLAIM WITH THE FDIC SINCE THEY ARE A CHARTER BANK OF SAID FDIC--THE UNITED STATES FEDERAL RESERVE BANK'S OFFICIAL CHARTER. THEY ARE AT FAULT, NOT ME. I CLOSED THE ACCOUNT AFTER BEING A LOYAL CUSTOMER/DEPOSITOR FOR MORE THAN 20 YEARS. PLEASE HELP ME IN THIS MATTER AS THEY ARE THREATENING ME WITH VERBAL THREATS OF TURNING MY FDIC INSURED BANK ACCOUNT OVER TO A COLLECTION'S AGENCY!!

Desired Settlement: TO NEITHER RECEIVE COMPENSATION, BUT ONLY LEGAL REMEDY, WITHOUT ME INCURRING THE COSTS OF HIRING AN ATTORNEY AT LAW.

Business Response: This customer's complaint deals with the fact that the Bank made an error and deposited funds into his account in early March that should have been deposited into another customer's account. Once we realized this error, per normal banking practice, we debited his account for the funds and applied them to the correct customer account. After the deposit was placed into his account and before the Bank realized there was an error, he visited a branch and withdrew the funds from the account and asked that the account be closed. When the error was corrected and we debited the funds from his account, the account balance was negative, and he is responsible for the negative balance. He has been told that he owes these funds to the Bank since the deposit did not belong to him. He urges the Bank to make use of FDIC insuirance. FDIC Insurance is an insurance to protect depositors in case of bank failure. It has nothing to do with this customer or case. The customer may want to consult with an attorney or the Federal Reserve, where he will find out that he is repsonsible for the negative balance. If he does not pay the amount owed, he faces serious credit consequences and possible criminal prosecution. The Bank's Collection Department will be in contact with him and we advise him to bring the negative balance to zero at his earliest convenience.

3/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a user of commerce bank for a few years now. I decided to sign up for a overdraft protection which enables my account to take money out of my savings if I overdraft my debit account. However they neglected to tell me that every time the bank made the transfer, they charge me $10. Not only did they neglect to tell me that until just now but it doesn't even show up in my online banking. Basically, the bank took hundreds of dollars out of my account without me knowing. This is a really deceptive practice and it shouldn't be legal. When I called to complain, all they did was tell me that they should have told me in the first place but offered nothing to rectify the situation. I am furious that I have been unknowingly been giving the money a ton of money without my consent.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from commerce bank and at the very least a partial refund of all the money that was taken out of my account. I will be not be happy otherwise.

Business Response: This customer complained about fees associated with the overdraft transfer feature and claims they were not aware of this fee or notified about the fee in online banking. This customer chose an overdraft election on 8/7/14 that allows a transfer of funds, when available, from her savings account to her checking when needed to cover items that would make the checking account balance negative. The customer would always have until end of business day to correct the negative balance directly, if this is not done the overdraft transfer feature will kick in. This feature does involve a $10 transfer fee verses individual overdraft/return item fees that could occur. The bank believes the customer would have been informed of the transfer fee. However, if they feel they were not they could at anytime have notified us to discuss and change their overdraft election. The overdraft transfer fee shows on the account that is the provider of funds in the case of an overdraft(in this case the savings). The fee was on statements as far back as 10/30/14. They also show in Online Banking under transaction activity for the savings account. We have no record of returned statements from the USPS. It is the customer's responsibility to read their statements. As listed on the statement, the customer would have had 60 days to contact us if they feel there is an error on their statement. While there was not a bank error, the bank did refund $180 on 3/23/16 as a courtesy to the customer. There will be no more refunds unless a result of a bank error.

2/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a secured credit card gave them $2000 on 9/22/15. I was declined that day or the next day. All they pull is trans Union. Went to the branch on 09/29 they will not give me my $2000 back. If I was approved sure I accept it but they don't want my business they need to give me a refund now. Product_Or_Service: Secured credit card

Desired Settlement: Want my $2000 back today. We have no business relationship.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/08) */ This consumer applied to the Bank for a secured credit card, which requires that the consumer set up a savings account and funds in the savings account are held there as security for the credit card. The consumer deposited $2,000 into the secured savings account on Sept. 22, 2015. He applied for the secured credit card. On Sept 25, his branch was notified that his application was declined. They submitted a request for the reason for the decline and received a response on Sept 29. On Oct 1, 2015, the branch informed the consumer that he could visit the branch and receive the $2,000 owed to him. He visited the branch on Oct 3, 2015 and was given his funds. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Commerce charges $3.00 for digital copies of Bank Statements that most other banks in the area provide for free. Called Commerce Bank's card center ** discuss two issues, the first of which was requesting bank statements not offered online for the 2014 tax year. The agent ***** informed me there was a $3 fee per statement. I informed her I wanted the digital copy and not the paper copy and I was informed that it was $3 for an email of a digital copy. I informed her I was unhappy about this and this was not the policy of any other bank in the area, but moved on to the next issue. We were charged an express delivery fee on a card replacement that Commerce had waived due to their mistake. I was told that if I wanted the fee waived I would have to go to the local branch. I told ***** that was unacceptable and that I wanted to speak to her supervisor. She put me on hold, and came back on telling me she had talked to the local branch manager and the manager had refunded the express fee to a personal checking account. This is a business card and we are a law firm, refunding to a personal account from corporate funds has potentially serious implications legally. I informed her of this and asked again to speak to her supervisor. I was put on hold again for several minutes and then she came back and told me a statement credit would be issued and asked if that was all. I again asked for her supervisor and finally I was transferred to ****** (or perhaps ********* After explaining the situation to her, she proceeded to tell me she the statement issue was policy, and that ***** should not have suggested an in person trip to the bank branch, but took no actions to resolve the situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like a billing adjustment and an explanation of the $3 per statement policy.

Business Response: The complaint filed was from our customers son, who filed a complaint regarding his father's account. Although there is a fee for the paper statements, we have waived the fee and mailed the statements requested to the customer. We have also made the customer aware that he may print the statements online. These statements are available online going back up to 7 years. We apologize that the account holder was charged the overnight fee for rushing the card. We have issued a credit on 9/25/2015 for the rush fee that was charged to the customer. We appreciate the opportunity to address this complaint.

9/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charge a late charge on my account when I paid on time the amount that was requested when I went online to pay it. I called them I was on hold for 40 minutes at me and hung up on once the back on hold wants and transferred to a different department. I talk to someone they said my minimum payment due is $25 more than what was requested when I paid the bill.then I talk to a supervisor send my account was late but my payment of $85 wasn't doing to 10 September.

Desired Settlement: I would like a bill credit plus them actually fix their program so when my payment changes I actually no changes. And them to check their customer service

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/09/10) */ The customer incurred a fee for late payment on his credit card account. He believes that he made his payment on time. The customer's May statement showed that he had a payment due on June 10 of $61.00. He made a payment on June 10 of $60.00. He was not charged a fee based on that payment. His next statement (June statement) showed that he had a payment due on July 10 of $60.00. No payment was received until July 20. The customer incurred a late fee since the payment of $60 was not received by the due date. Because the July payment had not been received at the time his July statement was being prepared, his July statement specified that a payment of $145 was due on August 10. Two payments were received in August but the total of the payments was less than $145, meaning that the August payment was late (late since the minimum payment was not received - a lesser amount was received). Another late fee posted to the account. We urge the customer to carefully review his statements for his payment information. He can make payments via the transfer function in the Bank's Online Banking system. We apologize for his customer service experience.

9/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Commerce Bank closed my credit card account without notice due to "security issues". I made a call to Commerce Bank's customer service on 8/26 to change my address. They had concerns that my identity was not correct so I was transferred to the security department. The security department told me that my "voice did not fit my age", which is a incredibly subjective determination on their part. I was then asked to send a photo of myself along with a driver's license to *********@commercebank.com. 2 days later on the 28th, I made another call. After being on hold for an hour, the security department told me that my account was closed because of payments being made from different bank accounts as well due to the phone calls being made. I was not given any notice, phone calls or emails regarding this issue. No other credit card companies that have my business had these issues previously. And I have had no problems using multiple bank accounts (some from other family members that wanted to make some payments for me) to make payments. I have not been given any clear reasons or even the ability to appeal any security concerns. They will not believe who is calling and that is being done on a purely subjective basis. I would like to be contacted by the department head in charge of this case to work this out. Damanges: Not only will I have to made another credit card which will hurt my credit score, I am left with a balance that I am obligated to pay with interest. I was trying to transfer the balance using the convenience checks provided to me, an offer that would have no interest for a year.

Desired Settlement: I have not been given any clear reasons or even the ability to appeal any security concerns. They will not believe who is calling and that is being done on a purely subjective basis. I would like to be contacted by the department head in charge of this case to work this out. I would appreciate a proper response via phone, NOT by postal mail. If the stance on the credit card being closed is firm, I would like my remaining balance forgiven, or be given the ability the pay it off without interest.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/10) */ Commerce Bank received this complaint about the closing of this customer's credit card. As he knows, we had security concerns around the use of the card and concerns that it was difficult to verify the identity of people who called us claiming to be the card holder. We made the decision to close the card. We are sorry that this consumer is unhappy about the closing. He is still responsible for the balance on the account. He may want to search for another card opportunity and transfer the Commerce balance to a new card.

9/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In about 05/2015, I filed for a home equity loan with the Affton branch of this bank on Gravois. It started out that it would be 5 weeks and they just keep stringing me along. Now, they are telling me they don't know how much longer it will be. I refinanced my loan with this bank and had the same problem. The customer service is not good.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the bank to close this loan in a reasonable amount of time and not give me any more excuses.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/02) */ This consumer applied for a home equity loan and has complained that the loan is taking too long to process and close. The Bank apologizes for the amount of time involved in this process and agrees with the customer that it has taken too long to process. At one point, the terms of the loan were changed, which necessitated new paperwork and required some additional time. This customer's loan is scheduled to close on Sept 2, 2015. We again apologize for the length of time required before closing.

8/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: used bank card to make an online purchase asked Commerce to file dispute with VISA & they refuse used bank card to make an online purchase. this co. made additional charges to my account. Called co. & asked that they close account & issue refund. Contacted bank & informed them that I felt this co was making unauthorized charges. additional charges were made to account even after I asked that they not allow any additional charges from this co. Had to cancel card & get new card Saturday, then another charge posted on the account Monday morning. asked Commerce to file dispute with VISA & they refuse saying the co in question met their "Terms & Conditions" which they did not. It's not their customer service personnel to make judgement weather they met the terms or not they should just file dispute with Visa. After I persisted & tried to explain why the terms were not met the Commerce guy out me on hold then hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: Either file dispute with Visa or credit my account for the disputed charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/08/24) */ This customer used her debit card to make online purchases of two items that were advertised as free trial offers of products and the customer was charged $4.95 each for two trial offers on two products on July 15, 2015. On July 29, each merchant charged her account for an additional $89.95. The customers claim that they were not aware of these large charges and described them as "unauthorized." They filed a formal dispute with the Bank. The Bank denied the dispute because the second charges were outlined on the merchant's web site Terms and Conditions; the customer did not cancel the order within the time frame specified on the web site; and the items were not returned to the merchant. These three reasons for denial meant that the dispute did not meet the requirements for a VISA dispute and, therefore, the Bank could not implement a charge back to the merchant. However, the customer received refunds from the merchants after filing the dispute. The refunds posted to the customers' account on August 3 and August 6. The customer says, in their complaint, that they believe it is not the Bank's responsibility to make judgments as to whether the terms are met. It is, in fact, the responsibility of the Bank's Disputes Team to investigates each dispute filed. The terms and conditions of the merchant are carefully reviewed since the terms cannot be negated.

5/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened up an account about three years ago and a secured credit card. They told me it would take three days. Those days went by and I went in and was told it would take seven to ten business days. I requested that my accounts be closed on or about the 26th. The VA deposited $133.17 into that account the beginning of the month and instead of the bank sending it back to the VA so they could send me a check, they applied it to the closed secure credit card. They cannot explain why or how this happened. I was told it could take up to thirty days to get the money from my secure credit card however they should not have deposited the $133 into that account once it was closed.

Desired Settlement: I would like Commerce to send me the total owed, $533.17, in a timely fashion. I also hope they do not do this to other customers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/13) */ We received and reviewed the complaint for this customer. He states that he would like an explanation regarding funds being applied to a closed account. A deposit from the VA was placed into your secured savings account, which was not a closed account. The funds were placed into the account on April 2, 2015 in the amnount of $133.17. Since you asked us to close this account, a check was sent to you on April 22, 2015. We contacted you on May 5, 2015 to ensure you received the check. The amount included $133.17 from the VA deposit and $400.00 the balance in the secured savings account. Upon speaking with you, you confirmed you have received the check. We regret any inconvenience you may have experienced and appreciate having the opportunity to address this complaint.

2/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My apartment complex had my rent set up to automatically withdraw from my account at Commerce Bank. In October 2014 I started a new account at Reliance Bank and submitted the paperwork to have my rent automatically taken out of that account instead. At the time I discussed this with the management and they felt it was too late for the change to be processed in time for the my November rent but that December's rent should come out of the new account. I told them this was fine that I still had enough in the account to cover November but would be closing it soon after. In December my rent was taken out of the Reliance account like I wanted but then several days later was taken out of the Commerce account a second time. That account was still open because I had an automatic deposit that was taking some time to change over. Since I had not expected this, the second charge caused me to overdraw on the Commerce account.I called and discussed this with my apartment management and they could only see on their account where the rent had been removed from the Reliance account and could not find a second charge. They also verified they only had the information for my Reliance account in their system. They told me they also used Commerce and they then called Commerce. It took Commerce several days but they finally did find where they had pulled the money from the Commerce account. At this point, they refused to reimburse the money (even though they had promised to reimburse me as soon as possible, the apartment complex ended up paying me back the money after several weeks). Now I am receiving bills for overdraft charges that I should not have incurred. I have also since closed the account and apparently they still allowed an automatic deposit to be placed in the non-existent account (this was supposed to have been changed already, but apparently was not). When I called Commerce all they did was give me the run around. They are a company with very poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: I would like the overdraft charges to be refunded. I would also like the credit card that had been opened in my mother name to be transferred to my name. Closing that card should not effect her credit score when the card was never used and she was only listed on the account because I was 17 years old at the time it was opened.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ This consumer opened an account at another bank and notified her landlord of her new account so that rent could be debited directly from the new account instead of her Commerce Bank account,which she was planning to close. The landlord, instead, continued to debit the Commerce Bank account for two months of rent. Since there were insufficient funds in the Commerce account, the customer's overdraft protection was activated. Her mother's credit card had been tied to the customer's checking account for overdraft protection, so that if the checking account became overdrawn, funds would transfer from the available credit on the card to the checking account. $50 was transferred to the customer's checking account to cover the overdraft. In addition, the credit card was chared a transfer fee of $10 and interest of $0.77. Since the landlord's debits were not the responsibility or fault of the Bank, and the overdraft protection system worked as designed, the Bank will not be refunding any monies to the customer. The customer may want to discuss reimbursement from her landlord, since this is the fault of the landlord. The customer also asked the Bank to transfer a credit card in her mother's name to her name. The Bank does not transfer ownership of credit card accounts. The customer will need to apply for a card under her own name and is welcome to contact the Bank to do so.

12/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Location: *** E ********** *** ************ IL I received a mailing from Commerce that I was pre-approved for a line of credit. I contacted them and I wasn't approved for the amount that I requested. I told them I wasn't interested and thought that was that. About 6 weeks later I received a note that I was overdrawn and late. The overdrawn amount was interest on a loan that I didn't have. I had told them I wasn't interested but they submitted 3,000.00 Dollars to my credit card that I was in the process/of paying off. I didn't sign anything or received any checks for the line of credit. I called as soon as I received the late notice and made 2 payments buy check routing number. I was contacted that didn't work so I called and gave the information a second time. I made another double payment and because of late charges and over draws the loan that I didn't have has cost me $123.00 Dollars in fees. That seems like predatory lending to me.

Desired Settlement: I want the $123.00 fees they charged me credited to my account. I never approved this loan. I never approved this loan and would like my $123.00 fees credited to my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/22) */ This consumer applied online for a Line of Credit with the Bank. At the time of his application, he completed a request that the Bank do a Balance Transfer to another credit card account. The Bank approved the Line of Credit for less than the requested credit limit. The customer says he contacted the Bank and stated that he did not want the Line of Credit. We have no record of him canceling his application. Therefore, we executed a Balance Transfer of $3,000 to his other credit card account at a different institution. The customer made a payment over the phone that could not be executed (he gave our agent the wrong account number). However, we refunded a Returned Payment Fee as a courtesy. We are sorry that the customer is not happy. Since we do not believe we made errors on his account, we will not be refunding further fees at thit time.

12/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Improper practices involving recognizing deposits. Uncooperative customer Service. Twice in this month of July 2014. I deposited money into account to cover withdraws to the account that ended up processing that night. Commerce reflects the balance immediately, but does make it available until the next day. Both situations resulted in $35 fees. Contacted them to see why the delay and was told it's standard practice. Asked them to waive at least one if not both of the fees. I've had acct with them for over 20yrs and thought that was reasonable request. They seemed insulted at the request and said they only would make concessions if there was bank error involved.

Desired Settlement: Refund the two $35 charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/12) */ Commerce Bank reviewed the BBB Complaint for this customer regarding deposits not posting to his account in a timely manner. The consumer had an ACH deposit to his account on July 3, 2014, July 23, 2014 and his most recent deposit July 29, 2014. All of the deposits posted to the consumer account the date the deposits were presented to Commerce Bank. There was no delay in posting the deposits to the consumers account, as the deposits reflect immediately. We apologize for the poor customer service the consumer states he received, when he called Commerce Bank regarding the fees to the account. Since there were not sufficient funds in the account to cover all debits, his account was charged overdraft fees. The total amount in overdraft fees the customer received was $70.00. After further review of the account, as a one-time courtesy, we have refunded the two overdraft fees of $70.00 to the consumers account. We consider this issue resolved and wish the customer the best of luck. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1. There is a flaw in the process. During the day on July 23rd the available balance reflected the transfer i had made to the account on the 22nd. However, on the night of the 23rd a withdraw was denied due to insufficient funds because the deposit that wasn't recognized yet. Two things wrong with this. First, debits are processed and then credits. This seems to be ill natured. Second, the funds were reflected in the account on day of 23rd and was sent day of 22. So money was sent on 22nd and showed on 23rd. however, still denied on night of 23rd. 2. Account currently does not reflect the $70 refunded. However, even though I closed it. It's apparently open due to a transfer i had initiated that hadn't gone thru yet most likely due to the way things don't reflect balance from transfers in timely manner. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2014/10/24) */ 10/24/14, 12:15 - Called consumer, left VM. 11/5/14, 1:00 - Called consumer, left detailed VM seeking confirmation of $70 refund's arrival or lack thereof. 11/14/14, 2:16 - Same. 12/16/14: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail.

11/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Closed a primary checking account without notification when I transferred my balance to wife's account 10/29/14 I transferred my balance to my wife's account since I work out of town I wanted her to have available cash until friday (10/31) when my direct deposit would be deposited. My primary account that I have several auto payments tied to was closed without notification. Had they given me prior knowledge that my account would be closed I would have left a minor balance to avoid this. I call the customer service line and they are unable to transfer the money to that account without me coming in to a location. I being in Texas am unable to to do. This was an online transfer and should have prompted me to keep a balance in my account or it would be closed.

Desired Settlement: To update mobile and website to not allow a complete transfer of funds without checking a box stating that this will close their account, and furthermore I would like my account re-open.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/24) */ Commerce Bank reviewed the complaint of this customer. The customer complained that his account balance went to zero and the bank closed his account. He has several automatic payments tied to this account. When accounts have a zero balance, the accounts temporarily closes until a deposit is received. Once a deposit is received, the account reopens. This customer wanted to transfer funds into the account and said he was out of town and could not visit a branch to make the transfer. We sincerely apologize to the customer. Our policy is designed so that once a balance reaches zero, a customer cannot keep spending until a deposit is received. We realize that this customer was inconvenienced since he was out of town and since the account was temporarily closed, it could not be viewed in Online Banking. On November 14, a deposit was made into the account and the account reopened and is still open. We are sorry for this customer's inconvenience. He recommended that we include a notice when he made an online transfer letting a customer know that his balance would be zero, and the account would close. We will be evaluating that suggestion with our Online Banking Group to determine if it is feasible. We appreciate the suggestion.

10/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This bank, has the worst customer service ever, how is it that you can be customer support, but your limited on the information that you can divulge? This bank has been nothing, but a headache, causing me the most unnecessary stress. First, bank closes the account well after I have established employment, bank did not follow up with me to see how the situation progressed instead they close the account, and then they wipe all traces of the account from my online banking send statements that are blank, so the only way to check the balance is to go to the bank or call in, this bank's policy is absolutely ridiculous, and not to mention their resolution to view my account online was epic fail, I shredded the card, no point of keeping a card to an account that is closed, right? So what they suggested was to register on an alternative e-commerce site to check my balance, and pay the bill, this is not the best thing if I no longer have the card, so therefore, I have no account number,; however once I've obtained my account number the registration asks for the cvv number on the back, so my first instinct was to call the bank, and get it, and they can't provide me the cvv number even if the account is closed, they can't register me, because they are not supposed to store client information, so my question is how are you customer support, if you don't offer any solution to a consumers issue? Product_Or_Service: Credit Card Account

Desired Settlement: I want a formal letter of apology from the trouble that this company has caused, something needs to be done. Oh and ****** the evening supervisor, should write a separate form of apology, for his lack of customer service skill, and escalation of the issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/08) */ We apologize for any problems this customer has had while working with our Customer Service Department. Upon receiving a letter from the customer indicating that he had financial problems and wanted to negotiate a settlement on the amount he owed on this account, the Bank closed the account. Since the account is closed, the statements are no longer viewable in Online Banking. The customer was given the option to enroll in Bankcards Online. Although he states that he could not enroll in that system because he had destroyed his card and did not know the CVV code on the bank of the card, our records show that the customer made a payment via Bankcards Online on October 7, 2014. Formerly, the customer had chosen to receive his statments through Online Banking. Since they are no longer viewable there, we will be mailing him monthly statements. Another way to make payments (with no fee) is through our 24 Hour Automated Phone Line, XXX-XXX-XXXX. Payments can be made on this phone line using a bank account from Commerce or any other bank. If he has problems accessing his account through our phone line, he can speak to one of our customer service agents who can assist him.

5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/6/2014 Delivery Issues
2/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/7/2014 Delivery Issues
9/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011 At&t took $86.00 some dollars out of my checking account with Commerce Bank with ut my permission. It was in dispute for months. In 2012 a check came in for $87.00 something and covered the difference per a customer service rep that I talked ** that year. The rep told me that the problem had been resolved and that I had $13.00 in another account. Now I am getting collection calls for $2.72. I have called Commerce Bank numourous times ** try ** resolve the problem, but no one can seem ** help me. I work during ** day and it is very hard for me ** walk. I can't just take off work and the weekends are hard for me. I find that I have been given the wrong information by the rep in 2012 which has caused this problem. I thought that the problem had been taken care of. No one can help me over the phone. No one can tell me what happened ** my $13.00 that was in one of my accounts. I asked back in 2012 ** have all accounts with Commerce closed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know why I was told that the difference was resolved in 2012 by a rep and what happened to my $13.00. I would also like to know why I was taken to collections for $2.72. I don't think that I should have to pay the $2.72, when the rep told me that the problem was resolved. I could have taken care of this back in 2012.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/09/20) */ Commerce Bank reviewed the complaint of this consumer regarding a disputed debit on her account from AT&** On Oct 4, 2011, the customer notified the bank of an unauthorized debit from AT&T for $84.00 that came out of her account on Oct 3, 2011. The Bank provided her with provisional credit of $84 pending the outcome of our investigation. The dispute was declined by the Bank because the customer had previous dealings with this merchant and had provided her banking information ** them so that they could debit her account. We took back our provisional credit and the customer's account was closed with a balance of negative $-83.99. The customer then paid the Bank $81.51 and was left owing the bank $2.48. On August 20, we stopped trying ** collect that sum and she will receive no more collections calls. I am sorry that we cannot find any records of her other issue where she says she was told she had $13.00 in another account. We can find no such account and no such balance. We believe this resolves the customer's complaint.

8/16/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had nothing but problems with this company over the last 6 months. Recently, I have discovered double interest charges on my line of credit account. When calling about this issue, I was informed that it is because of two balances on my account. I only see one balance and informed the representatives that I feel like I am getting charged twice for interest because I only see one balance. I have been called a liar and been informed that I would be happy at another bank and that my business is not wanted. I have never felt abused like I have with this company. No one wants to help me, just pass me around and tell me that they can not do anything for me. I'm extremely irritated by this situation and I am tired of the verbal harassment that their employees feel like they have the right to express to their consumers. Also, for this line of credit account, I was not given any paperwork, and when asking to see the paperwork, I am denied. I only filled out an application when I applied for the line of credit, and the agreement to the line of credit was done over the phone two days later. I have yet to see any paperwork with my signature for the agreement of the account itself, and I won't, because I never signed any. I was only told that I could see the account on my online banking account, and never received any monthly statements by email nor physical mail since the account was set up. I have also had issues with identity theft with this company, which resulted in major issues with my credit. It took about 3 weeks for that issue to be remotely resolved. I am currently in the process of finding another bank because I feel very unwanted at Commerce Bank, and am treated with hostility when I have any communication with them. Product_Or_Service: ReadyLine of Credit

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I feel like with the abuse and harassment I have received from this company, I shouldn't be forced to pay double interest rates that I am being charged. No one has been able to prove to me that I have two balances on the account, like everyone tells me, and feel I am being cheated when I have no proof of anything on this account. I feel like something in their business practices must be changed, so future customers are not able to be swindled like I have.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/14) */ Commerce reviewed the complaint from this consumer regarding a Line of Credit account. The customer submitted the same complaint to the Bank via email and we responded to it. The customer states that he is being charged "double interest" on his Line of Credit account. This is not true and has been explained to him. We recently mailed him copies of his statements that clearly show that there are no "double interest" charges. The account was opened at a branch and branch personnel fully explained the account to the customer at the time. When he withdraws funds of $2,000 or greater at one time (draw), that balance will have a set payment amount as if it is a 48 month loan. Any lesser draws will create a revolving balance similar to a credit card with a minimum payment. The two payments (for the two balance types), are added together on the statement. At the end of 48 mos, if the first balance is not fully paid, it is turned into a revolving credit balance, like the second balance. The customer's branch will be happy to answer any questions he may have. We also mailed the customer copies of the terms of the account, although his branch says he was given these terms upon account opening. I am sorry if the customer feels disrespected. We have answered his questions to the best of our abilities and serviced his accounts in a professional manner. If he still has questions, we urge him to visit his branch and discuss them with a representative there.

5/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Employee continuously harassing me via work email not given as contact after several requests ****** cease. Problem Date : 04/30/13 Employee/Rep: ****** *****, Commerce Bank, RLPS/IL - Marine/RV/Auto/ATL Employee initially contacted me via email in attempts ****** discuss my account. I requested that she not contact me via my work email because I do not handle my personal business via my work email. She emailed me again, then called and hung up in my face after I would not provide her with verification information. I then contacted the bank and spoke ****** her supervisor, Sara, and reported the incident. She stated that she would speak ****** ****** about the matter but that she could continue calling me. I asked her ****** assign me ****** a different account manager so that I would not have ****** deal with ****** anymore and she refused stating that ****** was the only account manager. I advised her that if ****** contacted me again, I would report her for harassment. After getting back ****** my desk, I had another email from ****** (emails are below). RE: ****** ******, call Commerce Bank ******, ****** Tue 4/30/XXXX XX:43 AM '*****, ******' Please do not contact me via my work email. I do not conduct personal business via my work email nor have I provided this ****** you as a contact source. I have spoken with your supervisor and will be prepared ****** report you ****** higher sources for harassment if this continues. Thank you. From: *****, ****** mailto:*****@commercebank.com Sent: Tuesday, April 30, XXXX XX:10 AM ******: ******, ****** Subject: RE: ****** ******, call Commerce Bank 1. No one hung up on you. 2. If you're talking about Maurice Lars, he does not have this loan anymore. Because of its advanced stage, I have it and I'm the person who will be making decisions regarding the loan. Maurice Lars no longer has a say in what happens with this loan. 3. Feel free ****** contact me during MY office hours: 8a - 4pm, Mon - Fri. 4. If you prefer ****** communicate through your personal email, please provide it. ****** ***** Commerce Bank RLPS/IL - Marine/RV/Auto/ATL Toll Free: XXX-XXX-XXXX x 2678 Direct: XXX-XXX-XXXX *****@CommerceBank.com From: ******, ****** Sent: Tuesday, April 30, XXXX XX:08 AM ******: *****, ****** Subject: RE: ****** ******, call Commerce Bank I have never provided this email address as a form of contact as it is not my personal email, it is my work email. I do not conduct personal business via my work email. You can remove this as a contact email from my information. I have a contact number listed on my account. I will be in contact with the account manager ****** further discuss after 4:30pm. I will also be sure ****** inform him of these emails and you contacting me at work and hanging up in my face. Have a blessed day. From: *****, ****** Sent: Tuesday, April 30, XXXX XX:02 AM ******: ******, ****** Subject: RE: ****** ******, call Commerce Bank You had ****** have provided it ****** us or we wouldn't have it. You need ****** call our office and get this situation handled immediately. Again, my direct line is XXX-XXX-XXXX. I will be in the office until 4pm. Please do not let this matter escalate any further... ****** ***** Commerce Bank RLPS/IL - Marine/RV/Auto/ATL Toll Free: XXX-XXX-XXXX x 2678 Direct: XXX-XXX-XXXX *****@CommerceBank.com From: ******, ****** Sent: Tuesday, April 30, XXXX XX:01 AM ******: *****, ****** Subject: RE: ****** ******, call Commerce Bank Hello, Please do not contact me via my work email. I have not provided this ****** you as a contact source. Thank you. From: *****, ****** Sent: Tuesday, April 30, XXXX XX:59 AM ******: ******, ****** Subject: ****** ******, call Commerce Bank We have been trying ****** reach you or ***** ******* ****** discuss the 2009 Kia Spectra. Contact me before 4pm today at XXX-XXX-XXXX ****** discuss this VERY URGENT matter.

Desired Settlement: My request was to have her not contact me anymore and assign my account to someone else. I refuse to be continuously harassed by a collector at work or home.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/07) */ Commerce Bank reviewed your recent complaint regarding your vehicle loan. Your loan became delinquent and Commerce contacted you. You state that you were contacted at your email address at work and asked us not ****** contact you by that means. We had attempted ****** contact you by other means but you did not respond ****** our inquiries. When we reached a point where we would soon be forced ****** take further action, we located an email address for you and used it ****** make contact. We apologize for any issues this may have caused and any inconvenience you experienced. You recently made arrangements with us ****** bring your account current. As long as you abide by the agreement you have made with Commerce, you will not be contacted. If we need ****** contact you in the future, we will contact you via your home phone numbers. If you find that you are going ****** be delinquent on a payment more than 10 days, please notify us at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Our management has received your comments that are specific ****** a caller from Commerce and they will address this issue with the caller and manager. Thank you for allowing us ****** address this complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Commerce Bank of St. Louis
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart