BBB Accredited Business since

Able Auto Transport Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (660) 727-2965 Fax: (800) 774-7711 View Additional Phone Numbers Rr 1 Box 20, Kahoka, MO 63445 http://www.ableautotransport.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Able Auto Transport Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Able Auto Transport Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Able Auto Transport Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 07/11/1986 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dean Webster, President Fiona Nickels, General Manager Susanne Webster Ms. Suzanne Webster, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean Webster, President
Business Category

Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies Vehicle Transport Services

Alternate Business Names
Allen Auto Transport Progressive Transportation

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4065 Glencoe Avenue

    Marina del Rey, CA 90292

  • Rr 1 Box 20

    Kahoka, MO 63445 (660) 727-2965 (800) 340-1426 (660) 727-9615 (800) 647-0609 (816) 727-3528

  • Rte Box 20 Hwy 81 S 1 Mile

    Kahoka, MO 63445

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DO NOT CONTRACT WITH ABLE AUTO TRANSPORT or USA TRANSPORT ENTERPRISE, INC!! THIS IS A LONG READ?..BUT WORTH IT! After doing the usual checking with the BBB and searching the Internet about companies, we decided to use Able Auto Transport in Kahoka, Missouri to ship our 2009 Chevy Silverado from Anchorage, Alaska to Bossier City, Louisiana. (We later learned that Able Auto is a BROKER and does not own its own trucks to ship vehicles. We didn?t have a clue what to look for, just went with the best-rated reputation and price) We paid our fee of $2,260 to ship our vehicle and dropped it off on November 13, 2016 at the port in Anchorage. Able Auto used a company called ********* to ship our truck to Seattle. Even though we had our truck at the port by 2 PM and were told the truck would go out that day, the truck actually went out on Monday, November 16. Since the truck left on Monday, it did not arrive in Seattle until Monday, November 23rd . The week the truck arrived was Thanksgiving week. Able Auto Transport knew that the place to pick up the truck was going to be closed from Tuesday, November 24th to Monday, November 30th. Knowing that the port would be closed for 6 days and they could not access my truck, they made no effort to pick it up Tuesday when it arrived. Finally on December 3rd I received an email that a transport truck would pick up my vehicle. Able Auto has dispatched my vehicle to ************* Enterprise Inc??finally after 20 days?..10 of which it sat in port in Seattle!!! I call ************* to check and see if they have indeed picked up the truck. The person I spoke with was rude, condescending to women and told me that he did not tell Able Auto that he would pick up my truck on December 4th. He made no promises and said that I would be lucky if he was able to get it on Monday, December 7th. He also told me that I needed to calm down and stop calling him so that he would be able to get my vehicle. (At this point, I am calm because I know that this man is going to be responsible for my vehicle and I don?t want to make him angry.) My next step is to call Able Auto and tell them about my conversation with *************. The representatives at Able Auto, calls ************* because the person at USA is giving me information that is not what he has promised Able Auto. In the end, Able Auto did not dispatch my vehicle to *************. As I continue to call Able Auto over the next week, the representative keeps telling me about how difficult it has been to get any transporter to pick up our vehicle, how they have already put extra money on the vehicle to see if someone will pick it up and about how they are not making any money on our transport job. (This whole time we are borrowing and renting vehicles and accruing additional expenses because we don?t have our truck). I continue to contact Able Auto, almost daily, to see the status of my vehicle. I continue to be met with excuses and poor customer service from Able Auto. Able Auto continues to tell me that they cannot find anyone who will transport my vehicle from the Seattle area. On Thursday, December 10th , (27 days into our shipping nightmare) I immediately hang up from talking to Able Auto and go to work to find my own transporter to move my truck. Within an hour, (while monitoring/teaching a classroom of 23 kindergarten students), I am able to find TWO companies willing to transport my truck for almost the same price and this is where I learn the difference between a broker and a transporting company. As I am working with these two companies, (who already are lining up a truck to pick up my vehicle the next day), Able Auto calls to tell me that I have to take my truck off of the transport board with the other companies. Truck drivers are seeing an order for the same job that is paying two different prices and they are suspicious as to what is going on. I call the TWO companies and tell them that Able Auto has finally found someone to do the job and transport my vehicle and that I appreciate the fact that they were willing to help me. Able Auto tells me that my truck will be picked up on Monday, December 14th by a transport company. I tell Able Auto that I am leaving on vacation on Sunday, December 13th and will not have access to a phone. I leave the number for the transport company with my friend who calls to find out that indeed my truck has been picked up in Seattle and is on a transporter. When I return from vacation on Sunday, December 20th, I still have no vehicle and have to rent another car. On Monday, December 21st, Able Auto leaves a voicemail for me to call them. I return their call and find out that they have received information that they THINK that my vehicle has BURNED ON THE TRANSPORT. Able Auto tells me that when they hear something, they will call and let me know. Able Auto also tells me that the vehicle claim is being handled by *********** Insurance. I immediately call *********** to see if I can confirm that my vehicle has burned. *********** tells me that the area in which the transport burned is so remote that it will take them a few days to get someone there to assess the damage??..it is also Christmas week. In the meantime, I call Able Auto to discuss what my next course of action should be in this situation. Able Auto can only tell me that I am NOT ENTITLED TO A REFUND OR A RENTAL CAR TO USE WHILE WAITING ON INSURANCE. ABLE AUTO THINKS THAT I SHOULD PROBABLY GET BACK THE LAND PORTION OF MY SHIPPING BUT THAT THE SHIPPING FROM ANCHORAGE TO SEATTLE WILL NOT BE REFUNDED. After speaking to the representative at *********** Insurance, he informs me that the only thing that they will pay for is the vehicle itself. The contents of the vehicle, the rental car and the shipping costs are not their responsibility. I call Able Auto to see what type of insurance they have to help cover any additional expenses that I CONTINUE to accrue??th Product_Or_Service: Vehicle shipment

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of the $2,260 that was charged to transport my vehicle. I entered into a contract with Able Auto and they did not fulfill that contract. Any business with integrity would realize that they have a responsibility to make this situation right.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/12) */ Complaint Case # XXXXXXX Able Auto Transport is sincerely upset the ***** have lost a vehicle and incurred so many unexpected expenses, which is why we refunded her $1125.00, but we are not willing to refund the full $2260.00 as we had to pay $1135.00 to the company that brought her vehicle from Anchorage, AK to Pacific, WA. As for compensating them for personal belongings that got left in the vehicle and also destroyed, no, because we tell everyone to leave little to nothing in their vehicle as those contents are not insured. And as for not knowing we are a brokerage, we explain from the beginning that our job is find a licensed and insured carrier and once we do they will get that companies information. We also email terms and conditions explaining this. The ***** entered into a contract with us to secure a licensed and insured carrier not to haul their car so we did our job. Unfortunately an accident occurred partially due to weather that caused her vehicle to catch on fire and again we sympathize but she is upset with the wrong party. We alerted the ***** once we were notified of the accident and got them in touch with the insurance company that will be handling her claim, but that is all we can do. Please let me know if I need to provide any other information.

8/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I needed to ship my vehicle from Hawaii to South Carolina. I chose Able Auto because they advertised a "door to door" service for a reasonable price. Not until I went to track my car did I find out that Able Auto had contracted out a delivery company to haul my car across country. Upon booking the vehicle it was not discussed that Able Auto would be using another company. Upon picking up my car the inside, which i had to have completely cleaned out for drop off in Hawaii, was filthy. There was dust and crud all over my dashboard, an empty water bottle in the cup holder, the temp paper floor mat that matson put in the drivers side when i dropped the car off in hawaii to be shipped, upon arrival was in the passengers side and my drivers side floor mat was no longer clean, and there was a white chalk like substance on the back seat and in the back seat cubby holder. Upon contacting the delivery company which was Unified Trans Corp all I got from them was a "our guys said sorry for how they spoke to you" then once I contacted Able auto about how much hassle I had gone through and how dirty my car was, ***** from Able Auto told me a supervisor would be contacting me the next day. Well 2 days went by and I hadn't heard from anyone at Able Auto, so I called them. Spoke with ***** again and she said that able was only going to give me a $25 refund to get my car cleaned and that they had to pay matson and they had to pay Unified to deliver the car. I paid Able Auto $2065 to deliver my car, and with that money I would have expected the interior of the car to be just as clean as I left it, with out someone else's trash and crud from their shoes or stuff in my back seat. Not to mention having to deal with the rudest dispatch personal. To say that I an unsatisfied is an understatement. With being a prior military spouse and having to ship my car before, I have never had issues like this nor has my car come back so filthy on the inside. Product_Or_Service: shipping a vehicle Order_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Due to having to extend my rental car that was due back Sunday Aug 16th, because I was told by Able my car would be here on Friday Aug 14th or Saturday Aug 15th, the compensation for that extra day. After paying Able Auto $2065, I think the refund that I was originally offered of $25 is pennies compared to what I paid for the service I received. I don't feel my refund should be based on the amount Able made off this transaction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/24) */ Able Auto Transport, does not hide the fact we are a brokerage, as we email every one of our customers the terms and conditions as soon as an order is placed which clearly states we are a brokerage. And we let customers know we will email them the name of the company that will be hauling their vehicle once we make assignment. As far as Ms. *****'s vehicle arriving dirty, we are sorry that happened, which is why we gave her $25.00 back to clean, and we have noted her carriers file to say they had a complaint. But we do not feel we owe her anymore money because her vehicle did not arrive before her rental vehicle had to be returned. Because we and the carriers tell customers this is an estimated date of arrival and Ms. *****'s carrier did tell us they planned to deliver her vehicle 8/14 or 15, on 8/10. Then when we checked status 8/13 they said sorry driver has been delayed but will deliver the 16 or 17 and ***** and I did ask carrier to try their best to get vehicle to ****** the afternoon of the 16th as she had to return her rental. We also understand it is not cheap to transport a vehicle from Hawaii to South Carolina but of the $2065.00 paid to Able Auto to transport this vehicle, we only get to keep $159.00 of that. Sincerely, Able Auto Transport, Inc

7/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Able Auto Transport questionable subcontracting practices I received a quote 6 Jul 2011 for 1968 Dodge Dart Honolulu to Damascus MD. Able subcontracted the delivery of my car to a company called ORBIT AUTO TRANSPORT INC **** ******** **** *** LA CRESCENTA, CA XXXXX Motor Carrier (MC) Number: XXXXXX USDOT: XXXXXXX who at the time was in business for less than 6 months. I received a phone call on 24 Aug 2011 from Orbits telling me that they were dropping my car off at *** ****** in Rockville MD, due to an unspecified mechanical issue. In actually Hurricane Irene was approaching and they wanted to unload the leave the area. I eventually was able to get my car, though I have had to replace the entire fuel system as someone put sand or sugar in the gas tank. I tried to deal with Able Auto Transport - they are the ones overall responsible for this and though the Customer Service Reps were nice it cost me not only the 2475.00 in shipping but it looks like I am going to have to overhaul the engine, this after replacing the fuel tank and flushing the lines. Able washed their hands of it when I complained. and I see are bragging about a A+ BBB rating. In the process of moving from Hawaii and getting a house I thought I filed a complaint with BBB however it looks like I didn't. So I will try again.

Desired Settlement: I believe Able Auto Transport failed to meet the contractual obligations and deliver my car to a specified address as agreed. That they took a chance with an unknown company who dropped my car off at an unreputable impound lot, forcing me to make other arrangements that normally would not have to be made. Further I continue to experience mechanical issues with the car due to tampering with the fuel system forcing me to replace the fuel tank and rebuild the carburetor and flush the fuel lines. I believe a refund of half (50 percent)the cost of transport is in order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/05/06) */ Able Auto feels waiting four years to file a complaint is not right, but we did some digging through records and found Mr ********'s order. We did at the time and still do understand his frustration, but it was not Able Auto that he should be filing a complaint about but he trucking service that decided to lie to us and him about the location of his vehicle. So no we are not willing to refund the cost of his move when we have already paid $872 to get his vehicle from HI to CA then $780 to get it from CA to DC. We made $178 out of the total quote of 1830, so the best we can offer is half of our fee returned. Which is $89. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/06/01) */ Greetings, Sorry for the delay in my reply I was overseas. I am not pleased with their reply as they admitted their guilt in this and that it is ludicrous to think it is my responsibility to go after the company they themselves hired. They also failed to reply to my original complaint. However as long as a record of this complaint is available to via BBB to people researching this company then I will agree to their offer. Since the credit card we used to pay for this originally is no longer valid I believe a check is in order for the amount they offered. My address is on record with you but I will supply it to you anyway: V/R ***** ******** XXXXX ******* **** Mt. Airy MD XXXXX

8/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Able Auto Transport Inc.
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart