BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2007

Able Auto Transport Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (660) 727-2965Fax: (800) 774-7711View Additional Phone NumbersRr 1 Box 20, KahokaMO 63445-9707 Send email to Able Auto Transport Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2007

BBB has determined that Able Auto Transport Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Able Auto Transport Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Able Auto Transport Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Able Auto Transport consistently has poor customer service and rather than attempt to keep a repeat customer, refuses to process a refund.

An order with Able Auto Transport was placed on July 19, 2013. Finally, on August 2, 2013, after two weeks, it as confirmed that they had located a driver. Unfortunately, this was the same day I was notified by the dealership they scratched the vehicle and needed to repair it. I requested to delay the pick up to have the repair made and Able obliged. A day and a half later Able was notified the vehicle was ready for pick up. Another two weeks passed without a phone call being initiated by Able to notify me of any updates. Any call was met with the same answer, "We're working on it." All the while, the vehicle sat at the dealership and the lien holder losing patience. On August 19, 2013, after being notified a shipper could not be confirmed, it was requested to have the order canceled in order to fly to the location and drive it back myself. After explaining the situation, the issues that were out of my hands and the length without locating a shipper, Able Auto Transport (two of their staff) agreed to refund the deposit originally taken on August 2, 2013. Three days later the refund was still not processed and Able was contacted. This representative stated there must have been a mistake and they would not refund the deposit regardless of circumstances, unsympathetic to the issues or the fact they could not find in a shipper. The fact that two other representatives stated they would refund the deposit was a mute point with this representative. After explaining the situation again, the representative stated she would talk to the "administration" to see if anything could be done and contact me later in the day. The day passed, no one contacted me and a refund was never issued. Although their policy states, "Once it's booked, your deposit is ours," circumstances outside ones control should be considered. In short, Able Auto employs staff with little interpersonal communications skills, zero customer service skills, a lack of business sense. Rather than simply refunding the deposit for the possibility of using them again, they'll lose my business for good and from anyone who reads this synopsis. Beware, there are plenty of other brokers who will gain your repeat business and do so with better communication skills and customer service.

Desired Settlement
A refund of $125.00.

Business' Initial Response
Able Auto Transport issued a refund of $125 to consumer 8/23/13. We believe this issue is resolved.

08/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/10/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I gave this company three weeks to deliver my car and they did not deliver my car. In fact they charged me $140 to cancell after three weeks.
I paid on my credit card $865 up front for this company to move my car from Georga to California. I called them three times a week to see if they had a driver to move my car. Every time I was told that they were looking and would have someone soon. I called on May 7th and they did not have a driver. On May 8th a driver called me at 1:30pm saying he was out side the house to pick up the car. When I told him it would take me a few hours to get the key to him he said that he could not wait. After this attempt I decided to leave the keys in the car so this would not happen again. I gave Able Auto another week and three days to get the car picked up. They told my wife that the reason they were having trouble getting the car picked up was the price they charged us was too low. With just an additional $50 they could guarentee that the car would be picked up within three days. We paid the $50 on our credit card. A week and three days later they called me saying that they could not pick up our car and we should cancell and find another company. We cancelled and asked the company to refund our card. I found out today May 30th that they will only refund $750. They charged us a $100 plus deposit plus $25 transfer fee. They made one attempt to pick up my car in four weeks and charged me over $140. Stay far away from this company!!!!!

Desired Settlement
I should not be charged a deposit or cancellation fee when I gave your company four weeks to move my car. $140 for one bad pick up attempt, poor business.

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention. Section Fifteen of our Terms and Conditions reads as followed:
15. If you placed an order with us, you have the option to cancel anytime prior to your vehicle being assigned to a transporter at no cost to you. If your vehicle is booked to a transporter before you fax or email your cancellation, an administrative cancellation fee (not to exceed $250) will be assessed to your order to pay for services rendered. Any canceled order That was paid in full, or going to or from Hawaii or Alaska will lose the convenience fee (if applicable) regardless of booking status. If your vehicle is not made available to the assigned carrier, the AAT Fee will be held as a dry run fee. AAT reserves the right to cancel your order at any time If AAT exercises this rigt, your deposit and any other fees paid will be refunded in full.
Consumer canceled this order on 05/25/2012 after it had been already been assigned to a transporter on 5/7/2012. The transporter tried to pick the vehicle up on 5/8/2012, however Consumer did not have the vehicle ready for pickup, a circumstance out of Able Auto Transports control. Since Able Auto Transport, Inc did what it was contracted to do and the order was canceled after it was assigned to a transporter, this order is not eligible for a refund.
However, if the customer has received something in writing from our company stating that we were willing to waive the administrative cancellation fee provide a refund if the order is canceled after booking; please have them submit it to us so that we may remit payment.
Please let me know if I may be of further assistance to you concerning this matter.

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/29/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/11/1999Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1986, MO

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Dean Webster (President)
Contact Information
Fiona Nickels (General Manager)Ms. Suzanne Webster (Vice President) Susanne Webster
Business Category

Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies

Alternate Business Names
Progressive Transportation, Allen Auto Transport

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Able Auto Transport Inc. has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Able Auto Transport Inc.

Rr 1 Box 20

Kahoka, MO 63445-9707

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 4065 Glencoe Avenue 

    Marina del Rey, CA 90292

  • Rr 1 Box 20 

    Kahoka, MO 63445-9707(816) 727-3528
    (660) 727-9615
    (800) 340-1426
    (660) 727-2965
    (800) 647-0609

  • Rte Box 20 Hwy 81 S 1 Mile 

    Kahoka, MO 63445

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Able Auto Transport Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (816) 727-3528
  • (660) 727-9615
  • (800) 340-1426
  • (800) 647-0609

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (800) 727-3828
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.