This business is not BBB accredited.

Protection Direct

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 398-6297 View Additional Phone Numbers 1301 Jamie Ln, Waterloo, IL 62298 http://www.protectiondirect.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Protection Direct include:

  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 44 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

44 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 27
Total Closed Complaints 44

Additional Complaint Information

BBB is urging consumers to use caution when considering doing business with Protection Direct. BBB has received numerous complaints alleging warranty/guarantee issues, failure to issue refunds, consumers have difficulty cancelling contracts and overall poor customer service.

On June 19, 2015, BBB sent a letter to Protection Direct with concerns about the pattern of complaints.

On June 9, 2015, Protection Direct responded to this letter.  We have reviewed BBB's concern about complaints and have found with warranty issues it can be as simple as consumer not understanding the components of covered or not covered parts.  Failure to issue refunds, the complete refund procedure can be found under terms of conditions in the contract.  Difficulty in cancelling a contract, we do ask a reason as to why a consumer would like to cancel the contract.  Most times this is a small concern we can address and remedy.  Poor customer service, we pride ourselves on our customer service.  Our staff are trained customer service professionals. 

On August 23, 2016, BBB mailed an additional letter to the business with concerns about the pattern of complaints.  On September 8, 2016, Protection Direct responded to this letter stating, "we have conducted a detailed review of the referenced consumer complaints.  We have likewise reviewed all internal records and information in correlation to said complaints."   


Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Protection Direct
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 03, 2006 Business started: 08/11/2006 Business started locally: 08/11/2006 Business incorporated 09/21/2011 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Jacob Gehrs, General Manager Quentin McClung Nathan Petty Jason Svoboda Lisa Turner
Contact Information
Principal: Jacob Gehrs, General Manager
Customer Contact: Lisa Turner
Business Category

Auto Service Contract Companies Auto Warranty Plans Automobile Pre-Paid Maintenance Plans Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies Auto Warranty Processing Service Auto Warranty Service

Alternate Business Names
Service Protection Direct Txen Partners, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1301 Jamie Ln

    Waterloo, IL 62298 (618) 939-1005 (618) 939-1005

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 N Tucker Blvd Ste 700

    Saint Louis, MO 63101 (877) 728-6040 (877) 398-6296 (800) 981-5097 (877) 241-1193 (800) 981-5097

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8251 Maryland Ave Ste 101

    Clayton, MO 63105

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the rudest people I have ever dealt with. They never return calls and I have been talking with them for over three weeks and they will not approve my claim but continue to take my money of 176.88 each month including last Friday. Can you help get my claim approved or get my money back?

Desired Settlement: Give me back my money I have paid into this useless company

Business Response:

 

                This response is in reference to complaint case #********, made by Mr. ****** ******* against Protection Direct. Please understand that as the selling agent, Protection Direct plays no bearing on the outcome of submitted claims. In light of the referenced complaint, we subsequently conducted a detailed review of Mr. *******’s account. We have furthermore reached out to the contract administrator for information regarding the referenced claim.

 

                Our records indicated that Mr. ******* purchased the referenced coverage on May 13, 2016 for a 2005 Lincoln Navigator. At the time of purchase Mr. ******* reported the vehicle’s mileage as 157,021. The contract administrator indicated that a repair claim was initiated on August 31, 2016 via *** with Crest Lincoln. At the time the claim was initiated, the vehicle’s mileage was reported as 172,704. *** advised the administrator that the vehicle’s engine had failed and required replacement. The claim representative subsequently requested the vehicle’s maintenance records in accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract language. 

                 

Mr. ******* submitted maintenance logs from two (2) different oil change facilities, but was unable to provide verifiable service purchase receipts for said work. Upon reviewing the maintenance logs, it was determined that there were clear discrepancies between the sets of records. One (1) maintenance log reported the vehicle’s mileage to be 161,900 miles on March 7, 2016, while the other log indicated that the vehicle’s mileage was 161,516 on the same day. Due to the discrepancies, neither maintenance log was able to be accepted for the maintenance requirements.

 

On September 19, 2016 Mr. ******* contacted our office in regards to his claim. Mr. ******* was subsequently advised that he would have to provide verifiable service purchase receipts for the maintenance of his vehicle in order to proceed with the processing of his claim. Mr. ******* refused to send any further information and requested the cancellation of his contract. We subsequently cancelled Mr. *******’s contract and processed a pro-rata refund in accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract language. A check in the amount of $286.56 has been processed and sent to Mr. *******’s home address. In conclusion, we respectfully request that your offices considers the matter to be closed as resolved.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

Protection Direct

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have not received this amount he claims to have sent. noe was I ever told when I purchased this insurance that I would have to provide maintenance logs. I informed them that the decrepancies were due to a clerical earer on the part of my oil change company and that a letter was given to also state that.



Sincerely,

****** *******

Business Response:

Re: Rebuttal ******** – ****** *******

 

                This response is in reference to a customer rebuttal on complaint case #********, made by Mr. ****** ******* against Protection Direct. We have reviewed the customer’s rebuttal and elected to provide your office with further information regarding Mr. *******’s maintenance records. Per Mr. *******’s contract language:

 

Vehicles with under 150,000 miles must change engine oil and oil filter at the manufacturer’s recommended interval. Vehicles with over 150,000 miles must ensure that the engine oil and engine oil filter be changed every four (4) months or four thousand (4,000) miles, whichever occurs first (within a window of 1 month or 1,500 miles). Transmission service including fluid, flushes, and filter change must be performed every 12 months or 12,000 miles, on vehicles (6) six years or older. Transmissions in vehicles that are less than six (6) years old should service in accordance with the manufacturer requirements. Non-serviceable transmissions are excluded from this requirement. Proper documented and verifiable receipts for oil and engine oil filter changes will be required in the event of a claim.

 

                Mr. *******’s claim was initiated on August 31, 2016 by *** with ***** *******. Upon the admistrator’s request for maintenance records, Mr. ******* provided ***** ******* with a handwritten maintenance log (Exhibit A). Said log was forwarded to the administrator on September 2, 2016. According to the log, Mr. *******’s vehicle maintenance was ironically done at exactly four thousand (4,000) mile increments. The administrator subsequently determined that the handwritten log would not suffice for verifiable maintenance records.

 

Mr. ******* subsequently provided our office with generic records from ****** **** Oil Change (Exhibit B). The records indicated that the vehicle’s maintenance was performed on the same day, but the mileage no longer correlated with the original log provided by Mr. *******. When asked about the mileage difference, Mr. ******* indicated that is what he was provided, but they were incorrect due to a clerical error.

 

Subsequently, on September 12, 2016 ***** ******* forwarded similar generic records from a *******’s Oil Change (Exhibit C). The dates and mileages on the records correlated with the original handwritten maintenance log provided by Mr. *******. Upon close examination of the ******* Oil Change records, the administrator noticed clear resemblances to the ****** **** records. Both the ****** **** Oil Change and the ******* Oil Change records had almost identical record layouts. Furthermore, the signatures on the ******* records appeared to be the same as the signatures on the ****** **** records.

 

On September 15, 2016 another set of records from ****** **** Oil Change was provided to the administrator by Mr. ******* (Exhibit D). The records appeared to be identical to the previous ****** **** records provided by Mr. *******, but the signatures were removed and replaced with electronic style signatures. Furthermore, one of the service provider’s name on the new record was changed from **** to *****.

 

Due to their conflicting nature, the administrator has determined that the provided records would not suffice for verifiable maintenance records in accordance with the contract language. Moreover, the clear alteration made to the records, only furthermore indicates the lack of authenticity. As such, the administrator had decided to halt the processing of Mr. *******’s claim until verifiable maintenance records could be provided in accordance with the contract language. Mr. *******’s claim subsequently remained idle, until his request for cancellation made on September 19, 2016. In consideration of this information we would respectfully request that your office considers this matter to be closed as resolved.

 

Sincerely,

**** ******

Protection Direct

8/29/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract barely covers anything, this company needs to go over throughly and send a copy of the contract before consumers buy. Problems getting car covered, for example water pump and timing belt clearly stated as covered was told it was a parts issue and they wouldn't cover it. tried getting a refund was told wouldn't even get half including fees I'd have to pay which are not stated in contract.

Desired Settlement: A refund or some of the issues in the "tell us about your problem" addressed.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

St. Louis Office

211 N. Broadway

St. Louis, MO 63102

 

Re: ******** – **** *****

 

                We have received correspondence from your office regarding complaint #********, made by Mr. **** ***** against Protection Direct. It is important to note that Protection Direct is merely a third party selling agent of vehicle service contracts. Protection Direct does not participate in the processing of claims submitted under said service contract. All claims are processed by the service contract administrator. In light of Mr. *****’s complaint, we have conducted a detailed review of the referenced account.

 

                Per our records, Mr. ***** contacted our office on February 18, 2014 to purchase the referenced vehicle service contract.  During the sales communication, Mr. ***** was clearly advised as to the coverage of the contract, as well as his rights and obligations to the purchase of said service contract. Moreover, before Mr. ***** gave his final authorization for the purchase of the coverage, a representative performed a complete recap of the terms of purchase for the service contract. Mr. ***** was informed that a contract booklet would be sent the address provided. During the recap, Mr. ***** advised to thoroughly read through the contract booklet to ensure that the coverage adheres to his needs and expectations. Mr. ***** was clearly advised that he had thirty days to review the coverage, during which time he could cancel and receive a full refund of all monies paid. Per our records, Mr. *****’s service contract booklet was printed on February 20, 2014 and mailed to the address on file. Our office had no further communication with Mr. ***** until July 20, 2016, when the customer contacted our office requesting information for submitting a claim.

 

Mr. ***** subsequently contacted our office on July 22, 2016 requesting the cancellation and refund of his coverage due to a non-covered claim. Our representative offered to look into the Mr. *****’s claim in an attempt to offer assistance for the repair of the covered vehicle. Mr. ***** subsequently refused said offer and requested the cancellation of his service contract. As such, Mr. ***** was given the information necessary for the cancellation and refund of his service contract. To date our office has not received Mr. *****’s cancellation information.

 

As part of our review we also reached out to the contract administrator to obtain information regarding Mr. *****’s submitted claim. Per the administrator, an initial claim was called in for a water pump and potential issue with the timing belt. The repair facility was subsequently advised to perform further diagnosis to determine the extent of the damage as well as an estimate for the repair of Mr. *****’s vehicle. To date no further calls or information has been received from the repair facility and the submitted claim remains idle.

 

Upon our receipt of said complaint, we attempted to contact Mr. ***** to further discuss this matter. In our numerous attempts, we have been unsuccessful in communicating with Mr. *****. At the current time Mr. *****’s contract has been noted for cancellation, pending our receipt of the required cancellation paperwork. Upon our receipt of said paperwork, a pro-rata refund will be processed and issued in accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract language. If Mr. ***** wishes to further discuss this matter with us, he can contact our office at ************. We would respectfully request that you consider this matter to be closed as resolved.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

Protection Direct

7/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business contacts me once every month by phone and letter to renew a warranty on a car I've never owned. After telling them for a year now every month to stop harassing me, they still do. It's been over a year now and I just got another letter.

Desired Settlement: No further contact by the business. The company be fined for having improper practices in place for cancelling accounts if they are inaccurate. Also to find out how they got my number and address.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

St. Louis Office

211 N. Broadway

St. Louis, MO 63102

 

 

Re: ******** – **** ******

 

 

                We have received correspondence from your office regarding complaint #********, made by Mr. **** ****** against Protection Direct. Please know that Protection Direct does not advertise services via unsolicited telephone calls. Thus, any such calls received by Mr. ****** are not on the behalf of Protection Direct. Furthermore, we have reviewed our marketing data and have been unsuccessful in locating any advertisement record that correlates with the provided consumer information.

 

It is important to note that there are numerous companies that utilize marketing techniques similar to those used by Protection Direct. We would be more than happy to recheck our records If Mr. ****** could provide us with a copy of the advertisement he received, or the ID# from said advertisement.

 

                Moreover, in a proactive effort to respect Mr. ******’s requests, we have added the consumer to our database utilizing the provided consumer information and placed him on our “Do Not Contact” list. We hope that this will help to ensure that Mr. ****** receives no advertisements from Protection Direct. 

 

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

Protection Direct

Tell us why here...

7/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 Nissan 2 years ago in Lynchburg, VA and also purchased an extended warranty. Soon after I was contacted by your agent and purchased a policy June 16, 2014 for $2800 with $159 down payment. The contract was for 2 years ending June 2016. I recently found out your warranty is not honored at Nissan and I called to cancel May 2016. I was told to submit my request in writing and include the car's current millage and it may take 2 months to process. I was not given an estimate of my refund only that it will be prorated. I submitted the request last month. 

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the premiums.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

St. Louis Office

211 N. Broadway

St. Louis, MO 63102

 

 

Re: ******** * ****** ********

 

 

                We have received your correspondence in regards to Ms. ********’s complaint with your office. In light of said complaint we have conducted a detailed review of our records in regards to the referenced account.

 

Our records indicated that Ms. ******** purchased the referenced coverage for her 2011 Nissan Juke on 6/16/2014. The contract covered Ms. ********’s vehicle for forty-nine (49) months or 49,000 miles, expiring on 8/14/2018 or once the vehicle hits 103,928 miles. Our records indicated that Ms. ******** subsequently contacted our office on 6/6/2016 to request the cancellation of her vehicle coverage. Upon Ms. ********’s cancellation and refund request, she was advised to submit her written cancellation request along with mileage verification, as outlined in the contract language;

 

6. To request cancellation, please send a request for cancellation to OUR address within 10 days of the requested cancellation date. The request shall include YOUR contract number, name, address, reason for cancellation, and certified odometer statement.

 

At the current time, our office has yet to receive the required cancellation information from the customer and have been unable to process Ms. ********’s refund request. Yet, in the spirit of consumer satisfaction, we have elected to accept the referenced complaint as Ms. ********’s formal cancellation request. As such we have processed Ms. ********’s refund and a check in the amount of $1307.30 has been sent to Ms. ********’s home address. We anticipate that the customer will be receiving said check in the coming days. In light of this resolution, we would respectfully request that your office considers this matter to be, closed as resolved.

               

 

 

 

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

Protection Direct

 

Tell us why here...

6/27/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had my contract for over three years. I never used it for repairs. I had my mechanic look at the vehicle and was told that the Turbo (which was absolutely covered) needed to be replaced. The mechanic placed a call to the SPD and was told that it was covered but that it needed to be taken to Mazda. After Mazda did a diagnostic they determined the same conclusion. Total replacement of the Turbo (which was absolutely covered in my contract). Mazda called and was told (by a very rude man let's call him... "K") that the Turbo wasn't broken and that they didn't replace seals and that a seals job wasn't covered thus leaving me with a 5,000.00 tab!! I then called and spoke with "K" (whom I can confirm was an angry man) and he told me that he isn't covering anything and that he has to protect himself (please listen to the recorded call). I have spent a kings ransom (3k) for a warranty that I was told "promises me peace of mind". When it was time to make good on the contract I was greeted rudely... my mechanic was treated horribly... and I had to get rid of the car because I couldn't pay the 5k in repairs as well as a warranty that does me no good and i still owe 7k on the car!! Not to mention ********** rental is now into me for 300.00 rental from Friday - Wednesday.

Desired Settlement: The desired out come is for the company to reimburse all of my money in full that they have taken automatically from my bank account from 5/28/2014 - 5/17/2016 At the cost of 118.00 per month. There were ZERO services rendered when it came time to honor their words, so then why should this company expect to keep my money and treat me and my mechanic unprofessionally as well? All of these complaints all sound similar...it can't be everyone else that has the problem here!!

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

St. Louis Office

211 N. Broadway

St. Louis, MO 63102

 

 

Re: ******** – ****** *****

 

 

                We have received your correspondence in regards to Mr. *****’ complaint with your office. Please understand that Protection Direct is merely a third party selling entity of vehicle service contracts and holds no bearing on the outcome of submitted claims. As such we have reached out to the contract administrator for information regarding the referenced matter.

 

                In reaching out to the contract administrator, it was determined that ***** **** Mazda contacted the administrator on 5/31/2016, to submit a claim on Mr. *****’ vehicle service contract. Per the repair facility, Mr. *****’ vehicle needed an oil pan gasket and timing chain gasket. The shop also requested the replacement of the vehicle’s turbo, due to an oil leak resulting from a failed gasket. Seals and gaskets are non-covered components under Mr. *****’ vehicle service contract. As such the repairs to Mr. *****’ vehicle were denied in accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract language.

 

                In light of the customer’s complaint, we have reached out to Mr. ***** to further discuss this matter. In our discussing this matter with Mr. *****, we subsequently decided to issue a full refund of all monies paid into the contract as a resolution of said complaint. Mr. ***** indicated that this resolution would satisfy his request with your office. A refund check, #****, for $2,987.17 has been processed and sent to Mr. *****. In consideration of this resolution, we would respectfully request that your office considers this matter to be, closed as resolved.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

Protection Direct

2/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a Service protection agreement with this company and my truck broke down and had to have it taken to the Ford Dealership in Folsom Califiorna. When the dealership called them to get the approval for repairs they told the dealership that they needed all of my maintenance records before they would give any approval for repairs. The dealership told me what they said and I called them. They told me that they needed my Maintenance records I told them that I perform all of my own maintenance so there is none. They then told me that per Car/Fax I had my truck into Folsom Ford last year. I told them yes to have the spark plugs changed, then they said that I also had it into Big O Tires, and again I told them to replace the tires. They then told me that I needed to give them those records. I asked them to give the OK for repairs and they told me that they would NOT. I told them that I am without a car and the longer I had to wait for approval for repairs the more it is costing...They told me that was not there concern and once I got them the maintenance records and they review them they would then notify me of there answer. This is completely not acceptable. I have in good faith paid for a service that was represented to me and it is looking as just another switch and bate company and does not care for the customer what so ever and they are looking for anything to get out from paying for my repairs. Product_Or_Service: Service Protection Direct Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Approve my repairs, or return my monies paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/05) */ Please be advised that Protection Direct is merely a selling agent of vehicle service contracts and plays no role in the outcome of submitted claims. As such our office has reached out to the contract administrator for a claim denial explanation. In reviewing this matter it was determined that Mr. ******** brought the covered vehicle into ****** **** Ford on 1/15/2016 due to an engine noise. Upon diagnosis, Don with ****** **** Ford contacted the contract administrator to submit a claim for the repair of Mr. ********'s vehicle. In accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract language, the administrator requested Mr. ********'s maintenance records. Upon discussing this matter with the customer, it was determined that Mr. ******** performed his own maintenance on the vehicle and was unable to provide the necessary maintenance documentation. Attempts were made to collect records for work done to Mr. ********'s vehicle, but unfortunately said records did not contain information pertinent to the referenced repair work. As such Mr. ********'s claim currently sat idle waiting for the required maintenance records. Upon receipt of the customer's complaint our office attempted to reach out to Mr. ******** to further discuss this matter. Mr. ******** was advised that due to the lack of proper maintenance records, we would be unable to provide coverage to the referenced vehicle. Per the contract language Mr. ******** would only be due a pro-rata refund, but in the spirit of good customer relations, our office has opted to issue Mr. ******** a full refund of all monies paid into said coverage. Mr. ******** was more than satisfied with this resolution. As such we have issued Mr. ******** a check in the amount of $3,057.50. We anticipate that Mr. ******** will be receiving this check in 10-15 business days. In consideration of this resolution we would respectfully request that you consider this matter against our company, closed as resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/02/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will accept there responce when I receive the full refund of the amount I paid and agree to resolve this issue. $3,057.50

2/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted service protection direct basically to get quote. I really was trying to way my options before I was hit with very pushy sells tactics. I felt as if I was getting a great deal plus was assured I would get 90 days to review the policy and If I still wanted to cancel I would receive a full refund. So I bit and purchased the service because I was told if I didn't take the deal I would no longer be eligible for the rate. And once again he re-insured if I wanted to cancel I could do so at anytime and if cancel before 90 days I would get a full refund. I called Dec 31 2015 to cancel they tried to persuade me to keep the policy but I told them no thanks. I asked when my money would be refunded they told me in 10 business days. I called to today Jan 11 2016 which I was directed towards management who informed me that I only had 30 days to cancel and it has been 32 days upon my cancellation which now their would be 150 early cancellation fee charge which was never explained to me. If I was told this I would have never purchased the policy any how and they know this. Thus is the reason the do not inform customers. I explain to the manager that his employee told me that I had 90 days to cancel the policy. He told me that the information he gave me was incorrect and some booklet that I never received supposed to explain that. I told him all I received from you guys is a MEPco account receipt stating the date in which funds would be taking out of my account. Plus I was re-insured by one of your staff members I would receive a refund when I called Dec 31 2015 in about 10 business days. Now they are refusing to refund my money. This company is a extreme ethical dilemma that is misleading customer Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: A full refund plus I would like the company to train their employees not to mislead customers. Then I think the company should PVC or phone voice confirmation customers so that they understand the litigation so that customers are not lied to so that the sells agent can close the sale

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/02/05) */ Mr. ****** purchased the vehicle service contract November 30, 2015 and cancelled it January 4, 2016. As a sign of good faith, the down payment of $175 has been refunded to the consumer. Mr. ****** should see the refund post to his credit/debit card within 24-72 hours. We will consider this case closed as resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2016/02/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

2/3/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold an extended warranty for my 2008 GMC Sierra 1500 5.3. I specifically asked if they would cover any pre-existing issues and they said yes so I purchased the warranty as long as I drive 1000 miles or wait a period of 30 days which I did n they denied my recent claim for a broken motor mount. So that being said I was lied to and this is a scam. Product_Or_Service: Extended warranty Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I'd just like to have my refund back. And hope that anyone else don't fall for the false advertising

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/02/02) */ Please be advised that Protection Direct is merely a selling agent of vehicle service contracts and holds no bearing on the outcome of submitted claims. All submitted claims are processed by the contract administrator. Upon receipt of Mr. *******'s complaint, our office performed a complete review of the referenced account. Our records indicated that Mr. ******* contacted Protection Direct on 12/9/2015 to purchase coverage for his 2008 GMC Sierra 1500. In reviewing the initial sales communication, it was determined that Mr. ******* was clearly advised that the vehicle must endure a thirty (30) day and one thousand (1,000) mile validation period before any claims could be submitted. Mr. ******* was furthermore informed that the contract would not cover pre-existing failures nor would it cover failures that are present during the validation period. In reviewing the administrator records, it was determined that Mr. ******* contacted that administrator on 1/6/2016 stating that his vehicle was diagnosed by a repair facility and was determined to have a failed engine mount. At the time Mr. ******* contacted the administrator advising of the failure to the engine mount, the vehicle was still in the validation period. On 1/13/2016, Mr. *******'s repair facility, ******** Cadillac & GMC called the contract administrator to submit a claim for the following repairs; engine mount, transmission cooler lines, power steering pressure hose and the oil pan gasket. The transmission cooler lines, power steering pressure hose and oil pan gasket were all non-covered components of the contract and denied in accordance with the contract language. Due to the failure being present during the validation period, the engine mount repair was denied in accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract language; 7. EXCLUSIONS: Failure must be the result of a proven mechanical failure caused by the failure of the Enhanced Protector 5/100 product, thus all pre-existing conditions shall not be covered. Furthermore, at the customer's request, an independent third party inspector was sent to inspect Mr. *******'s vehicle. The inspector furthermore verified the pre-existing nature of the failure, citing that the engine mount was weather cracked due to the time and miles, and was clearly pre-existing the contract inception date. As such we feel that the determination of Mr. *******'s claim to be pre-existing failure, a valid denial based on the obtained information. We feel that Mr. *******'s complaint itself only furthermore verifies that the fact that he knew the failures to be pre-existing. Mr. ******* subsequently requested the cancellation and full refund on his account. Mr. ******* would only be due a pro-rata amount in accordance with the contract language, but in the spirit of good customer relations, we have decided to authorize a full refund of all monies paid into Mr. *******'s account. A refund check in the amount of $304.05 will be issued and mailed to Mr. *******'s home residence in the coming days. In consideration of our review findings, along with the proposed resolution, we would respectfully request that your office consider this matter to be closed as resolved. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2016/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, The reason I am upset about my warranty, I had coverage 2-23-15 unknown to me my insurance company charged to another company I never received nothing they had changed when I discovered that a month later I paid the new company 5-14-15. I don't understand why they are using the 30 day rule on me. I had been with the other company and my warranty was paid in full. March 4, 2015 claim was paid This 30 day rule I don't feel should apply to me. They move to new company when I figured out I sent my payment. I just paid my money 5-14-15 still thinking I am with the same company. Which they are. Anything you can do would be greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement: I want service protection to cover my repairs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/19) */ In reference to this complaint, please be advised that Protection Direct is merely a selling agent of vehicle service contracts and plays no role in the outcome of submitted claims on said service contracts. In light of said complaint, our office has performed a full refund of the referenced account as well as reaching out the contract administrator for a claim denial explanation. In reviewing our records, it was determined that Mr. ******* purchased a service contract through our office for his 2009 Jaguar XF on 5/14/2015. At the time of purchase, the consumer reported the vehicle's mileage as 103,464 miles. In reviewing our records we were unable to locate any other contracts for Mr. *******'s vehicle through Protection Direct. In reaching out to the contract administrator, it was determined that *** with Jaguar of Elmhurst called in to submit a claim for Mr. *******'s vehicle on 12/28/2015. *** advised the claim representative that Mr. *******'s vehicle was leaking fluid from the rear differential and needed to be replaced. In accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract language, Mr. ******* was required to submit his past maintenance records for the covered vehicle. Upon obtaining Mr. *******'s maintenance records, it was determined that the covered vehicle was in the same repair facility at the time the contract was purchased. The maintenance records further showed that the same repairs were recommended to the customer at that time, but Mr. ******* declined said repairs. We have attached a copy of this record for your review. Mr. *******'s claim was subsequently denied in accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract language, explicitly exclusion #2; 2. Repair or replacement of a covered component/part to correct conditions that may reasonably be assumed to have existed at the inception date of the coverage provided by this CONTRACT (Pre-existing conditions). In communicating with the contract administrator, it was discovered that Mr. ******* had a prior contract through another selling agent. The administrator reviewed the prior contract and determined that the coverage had expired due to mileage prior to the purchase of coverage with Protection Direct. Due to the lapse in contract coverage, Mr. *******'s vehicle was required to endure a new validation period. Furthermore, the maintenance records clearly showed that the failures to Mr. *******'s vehicle were pre-existing to the purchase of the customer's contract with our company. As such we feel this complaint against our company to be unwarranted and would respectfully request that your office consider this matter to be closed as INVALID.

1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was already paying monthly for my first warranty which won't expire until June 2016. They called me about renewing my warranty. What I didn't know is that I prematurely got into this in 2015. I didn't know my warranty was still in good standing. I stopped payments in October. I wanted to cancel this. When I called them they didn't want to give me money. When I asked them about it, they tried putting me on a payment plan so I could be covered through 2020. They said all I'd have to do is pay the rest for this year. He hung up on me and I haven't heard anything else.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the money I paid from February to October.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/01/07) */ We are in the process of trying to contact Mr. ***** directly in order to process his refund request. We will submit a final response once the consumer has been reached.

12/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company has failed to provide refund based on their rules and regulations at the time of purchase of Extended Auto Warranty. I contacted this company on 11-21-2015 to discuss the purchase of an Extended Auto Warranty. After some consideration I decided to purchase the warranty before speaking with my husband. I was informed by their finance person that I did have 30 days to cancel should I decide I did not want the warranty, and I would be refunded the full down payment of $300.00. After about 2 hours, once I had reached my husband and informed him of the purchase of the Extended Auto Warranty, we decided to cancel. I contacted the company within about 3 1/2 hours to cancel the Extended Auto Warranty. I was transferred to **** ******* This man would not listen to what I was requesting, to cancel the policy and refund my $300.00. for almost 15 minutes Mr. **** ****** kept rambling on about how I needed this warranty and they don't do refunds for 30 days and on and on about everthing but cancelling my policy and refunded my $300.00. I finally hung up in frustration. After calming down I called back and requested a supervisor. I was then transferred to ***** ******* I explained to him the horrible contact with Mr. ****** and told him I wanted to cancel my policy and requested that the company refund my $300.00 as promised. Mr. ***** ****** guaranteed I would receive my refund within 3 to 4 business days. After 7 business days I contacted the company again via Email and requested my refund based on Mr. ***** ********* guarantee. After 10 business days and still no refund. I contacted Mr. ****** and Mr. ****** again requesting my refund. As of this date 12-5-2015, I have received no response and no refund. Therefore I am requesting the intervention with the BBB to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund of the $300.00 as promised immediately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/08) */ Ms. ******* purchased the product warranty November 21, 2015 and cancelled it November 30, 2015. Per the terms of the product warranty, if cancelled within the initial 30 day review period a full refund is due to the consumer. A full refund was processed for Ms. ******* December 1, 2015. $300 was refunded back to the VISA used by the consumer to purchase the product warranty. We will consider this case closed as resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Inaccurate. Was cancelled on 11/21/2015 by voicemail as well as email. Refund was not processed until 12/7/2015. After numerous emails requesting refund. Very poor business practices. Consumers beware!

10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase this plan thinking I would have no worries when I took my car in they denied my claim false advertisement .. I want my money back I have attempted to contact my sales rep ***** ****** to get clarification on why my claim was denied and she was never available I attempted several times its on record. I gave a down payment of $295 7-9-15 and my first payment of $165.11 8-10-15 . I took my car in on 8-17 they denied my claim this comanpy is fraudluant. I also call to cancel service 8-28. I just want a full refund of all my money paid. This company is not reputable

Desired Settlement: Full refund

Business Response: Ms. ******* purchased the vehicle service contract July 9, 2015 and it is still active. At the time of purchase, the consumer was notified of the validation period. During the validation period, no claims can be filed. Per the contract, the validation period is 30 days from the initial purchase date AND 1000 miles from the initial mileage submitted at the time of purchase. The consumer filed a claim August 17, 2015. She was outside of the 30 day portion of the validation period, but was still within the 1000 mile portion of the validation period. Per the information submitted by the repair facility, Ms. ******* had only driven 922 miles from the mileage submitted at contract inception. Contractually, the claim was denied. The consumer called the Customer Service department August 27, 2015 per her claim denial. Her September payment was deferred as a courtesy to help offset her out of pocket costs for the repair. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Will not give me information on how much my refund will be, was told I will not get all my money back. I have been a customer for over a year now. I paid 100.00 dollars a month I never used the warranty. I first got the warranty in may 2014. I recently Traded my car in that I had with the warranty. I called to cancelled my warranty and got the most disrespectful attitude ever from a guy name *** or *****. saying he don't know why I wanted to cancel and I only had 11 more months to pay for warranty. while trying to explain to him that I no longer have the car. he got rude. I was told I will not get all my money back. Which at this time I became upset because I never used the warranty and I didn't feel as if I should only get some of my money that I invested into this warranty. After getting them all the information they needed to cancel out the warranty which I was told they receive it on 7/31/2015 they wont give my any information on how much my refund is. they keep telling me it takes 6-8 weeks to process. Today will mark the 6 weeks they have had my information. called again on 9/10/2015 just to see the amount of the refund and no one still wont give me any information on my refund. My contact number is XXXXXXXXX All I want to know is the amount of my refund. Wanted to ensure that My money is refunded in full. thank you

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of all my monies.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/10/05) */ Ms. ******** purchased the vehicle service contract May 19, 2014 and cancelled it July 28, 2015. The customer's prorated refund has been calculated and a check generated. Check number XXXXX in the amount of $486.73 was sent to the customer September 24, 2015 via mail. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July, 27, 2015, I bought a service contract on a 2003 Toyota Tundra with an odometer reading of 13,3349 miles on the date I entered into the contract. They have a wait time of 30 days and 1000 miles before the contract takes effect. On Thursday, September 3, 2015, I had it towed to the Toyota dealership and they are denying my claim because the have no proof of the odometer reading. At first the told me there was no oil in the engine, but I proved them wrong. I put 1,800 miles on the truck. They are the nastiest people and they are just giving me the run around. They are telling me I have to prove the mileage and it is written clearly on the contract. They want to pay me back my money and void the contract to get out of paying this claim.

Desired Settlement: I want is for the business to fix my truck for the $100 deductible and honor their contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/10/05) */ Better Business Bureau St. Louis Office 211 N. Broadway St. Louis, MO XXXXX Re: ******* - ****** **** Please be advised that Protection Direct is merely a third Party Selling entity of Vehicle Service Contracts. Protection Direct plays no role in the approval or denial of any submitted claims. In light of Mr. ****'s complaint our office has reached out to the policy administrator for a claim denial explanation. According to our records, Mr. **** purchased a vehicle service contract for his 2003 Toyota Tundra on 7/27/2015. At the time that the policy was set up the mileage reported on the vehicle was 133,349 miles. On 9/3/2015, ***** from ********* Toyota called the administrator to submit a claim on Mr. ****'s vehicle. ***** advised the claims representative that the engine has failed and needs to be replaced. In accordance with claim procedure, a third party inspector was sent out to verify the failures to Mr. ****'s vehicle. According to the inspection report, the number three and number four rod bearings were spun and damaged the crankshaft journals. The report indicated that the rod bearings were severely discolored and showing signs of lack of lubrication. The inspector verified that there was also damage to the number one and number eight rob bearings due to metal debris contamination and continued operation. The inspector determined the cause of failure to be a failure of the number three and number four rod bearings due to lack of lubrication, with subsequent damage to the crankshaft and others bearings due to continued operation. The inspector furthermore determined the failure to be long term and pre-existing. Mr. ****'s claim was subsequently denied in accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract language. Mr. **** subsequently contacted the administrator to discuss the denial of said claim. During said communication, the administrator and Mr. **** were successful in agreeing to a resolution of the referenced matter. In the spirit of good customer relations the contract administrator has offered to pay half of the cost to repair Mr. ****'s vehicle in the amount of $2,434.30. As part of the agreed resolution, Mr. ****'s coverage will subsequently be cancelled, releasing both Protection Direct and the contract administrator from any further obligations to Mr. **** or said vehicle. In consideration of this resolution we would ask that you consider this complaint against Protection Direct, closed as resolved. **** *****

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of yours for quite a while and I've tried to use you for a couple of repairs that should have been covered under the policy, but to no avail. I have been constantly paying for a service that has not been good for me. Every time I have tried to get repairs done I have been rejected. Every since I purchased your program I have been misguided and rejected. Your business is nothing like I was told it was meant to be. I have tried on numerous occasions to try and have the situation(s) rectrofied but you have not given me a good understanding of why my coverage does not due anything for me. Your company takes customers money but you are not here for us in our time of need. I am asking that your company reimburse me for the funds that have been regularly withdrawn from my account. Your company has mentally and financially drained me over the past few years. If this is the way you treat your customers you need not be in business. I am asking the Better Business Bureau to check into your treatment of elderly and disabled customers whom you choose to abuse and abuse by misguiding them with the things that they think are covered under their policy. I am requesting that you contact me upon receipt of this letter.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that your company reimburse me for the funds that have been regularly withdrawn from my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/08/10) */ Ms. ****** purchased the vehicle service contract 8/27/2014 and cancelled it effective 5/28/2015. Per the Administrator, the only claim filed was May 27, 2015 by *** *** ***** During the adjudication of the claim, maintenance records were requested by the Administrator. The maintenance records were not received from either the repair facility or the consumer. The next day, the Ms. ****** cancelled the coverage. In addition to requesting maintenance records while adjudicating the claim, the Administrator pulls Carfax reports on the vehicles. The Carfax report revealed a mileage discrepancy. The beginning mileage reported by the consumer on the contract and the mileage reported to Carfax on that same date were completely different. Per #19 in the exclusions of the contract, "Ineligible vehicles....Any vehicle with true mileage unknown at contract inception date." So, in accordance with the terms of the vehicle service contract, we are issuing a full refund of all monies paid due to the vehicle being ineligible for coverage. A check in the amount of $1158.00 will be sent to the customer via mail within 10-15 business days. We will consider this case closed as resolved. Thank you.

7/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My grandmother purchased a warranty from this company and her vehicle went through emissions on the 11th. On the 14th she purchased the warranty. The vehicle has seized up after the camshaft broke and spun a bearing and threw a rod. According to the company, it is a preexisting problem. They refuse to fix the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the business to process the claim and pay to repair the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/07/10) */ This letter is in response to Complaint Case #XXXXXXX, made by ****** *****, against Protection Direct. Please be advised that Protection Direct is merely a selling agent of vehicle service contracts and has no bearing on the outcome of submitted claims. As the Administrator of Ms. *****'s contract, Marathon Group determines the outcome of any submitted claim. In light of Ms. *****'s complaint, our office has reached out to Marathon Group to review the details regarding Ms. *****'s denied claim. In reviewing Ms. *****'s account, it was determined that the customer purchased a policy on her 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500, on 4/14/2015. At the time of purchase Ms. *****'s vehicle had 131,053 miles. On 6/11/2015, Auto Nation Chevrolet Arrowhead, submitted a claim for an engine failure on Ms. *****'s vehicle. The mileage at the time of submission was 132,203 miles and the vehicle was only 150 miles out of the validation period mileage. In accordance with the contract language, Marathon Group sent out a third party inspector to verify the failures to Ms. *****'s vehicle. The inspectors report verified that there was an excessive amount of metal and bearing debris in the oil pan. The report verified that the #1, #2, #3, #4, #5 and #6 rod caps were all black due to severe heat discoloration. The inspector verified that the #3 rod bearing had spun and completely disintegrated. The inspection verified that the engine failure was a long term progressive due to the lack of proper lubrication. He verified that the failure was pre-existing to the contract inception date and was present during the validation period. In accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract language explicitly Exclusions #2 & #13 2. Repair or replacement of a covered component/part to correct conditions that may reasonably be assumed to have existed at the inception date of the coverage provided by this CONTRACT (Pre-existing conditions). 13. For any BREAKDOWN caused by overheating (regardless of the cause), freezing, inadequate coolant, lubricants or fluids, or any BREAKDOWN to a listed part resulting from contamination of fluids, rust, corrosion, foreign material, sludge or carbon deposits and coolant intermix. In conclusion, after fully reviewing Ms. *****'s account, it is our stance that the denial of Ms. *****'s claims was a legitimate claim denial in accordance with the terms and conditions of the contract language. In the best interest of customer satisfaction, we would be willing to issue Ms. ***** a Full Refund of all monies paid in her coverage. We would ask that with this resolution we can consider this case closed as resolved. Regards, **** ****** Protection Direct

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They say that they are selling warranties on this vehicle but they will not cover anything. I bought a warranty from this company the day before yesterday. They told me it'd be $500 and then turned around and said it'd be $2,500. I started looking into it a little more and apparently everyone who tried to get it got ripped off. I believe I've paid them $500 but do not know if they have tried taking more. I called them after reading these reviews and tried to cancel, they also told me I could cancel at any time at the time of purchase, but when I contacted them they refused and hung up on me. Now when I call it goes right to a busy signal.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the business to cancel the warranty and refund my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/11) */ In response to Mr. *****'s complaint against our company, we have fully reviewed all communications between Protection Direct and Mr. *****. Mr. ***** purchased a policy with our company on 5/5/2015. In reviewing this call, it was subsequently determined that Mr. ***** was in fact advised of the coverage he was agreeing to purchase along with all financial responsibilities he would incur due to the purchase of said policy. Furthermore, Mr. ***** was clearly advised of the policy review period in which he was able to review the agreement in full to ensure that the policy he was purchasing was best suited for his personal needs. It was subsequently determined that Mr. ***** contacted our office on 5/7/2015, just 2 days after his purchase, requesting to cancel his policy based upon negative reviews he read on the internet. Per his request, Mr. *****'s policy was cancelled and he was issued a Full Refund of $195.00 that very same day. Per the complaint records it appears that Mr. ***** filed this complaint with your office on 5/8/2015, the day after his policy was cancelled and his refund was processed. It is Protection Direct's stance that this complaint made on behalf of Mr. ***** is unwarranted and unjustified. Protection Direct has fulfilled all request made by Mr. ***** and have done so in an extremely convenient time frame. We feel that Mr. *****'s complaint against Protection Direct was solely based upon internet reviews rather than personal experience. In reviewing this case, we see no reason for Mr. ***** to file such a complaint, and at the point which Mr. ***** filed said complaint, Protection Direct had already fulfilled all obligations to Mr. ***** as a consumer. Again, It is our stance that Mr. *****'s complaint is unwarranted and unjustified, and as such we ask that this complaint be withdrawn or closed as INVALID.

4/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company persists on sending junk mail about vehicles I no longer own. This is a request to have the company discontinue the junk mail. This co. is continually sending mail about a useless warranty for vehicles I do not own. The mail does not contain a physical address or name of the business. This junk mail has persisted for several years. A call was placed requesting the mail to stop and the answer was just to throw it away as it will never stop. I am requesting this co. to remove my name from theirs and any mail list.

Desired Settlement: No settlement. The request is to be removed from the mail list and no further junk mail be sent.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/16) */ It is not Protection Direct's intention to cause inconvenience to any consumer as a result of receiving our mail piece. Accordingly we have removed the consumer from our mailing database. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is all base on Misleading,They never told that there was a fee for cancellation.I ask them twice and they say no, you can cancel anytime.Phone numbers does not work when I call to cancel and when they answered they told me that my refund or trail was expired.I have paid $195.00 and I will like my money back I have not use the product/service. they are rude and liers they just want your money.The BBB has 81 complaints as well as for this company please help me.I just want my money back. Product_Or_Service: extended warranty for my acura Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Full refund, please. this company has so many complaints that I don't want to be part of this repoff.here are some of the websites that they have their complaint list: cosumeraffairs.com yelp.com scambook.com bbb.org and more.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/19) */ Mr. ********* purchased the vehicle service contract February 12, 2015 and cancelled it March 16, 2015. Per the contract terms, all cancellation requests made within 30 days of the purchase date are eligible for a full refund. All cancellation requests made after 30 days of the purchase date will be calculated on a prorated basis and are subject to a cancellation fee. Mr. ********** cancelled outside of the initial thirty day review period. As a sign of good faith, but in the interest of good customer relations, a full refund has been processed. $195 has been refunded back to the initial payment method and will post within 1-3 business days. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

3/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled service 11/2014 sent all information needed for refund called several times over the last3 months been told check has been sent ,no check Purchase date 07/25/2013 Contract Price $3900.00 Contract #XXXXXXXXX 11/21/14 cancellation date Called seveal times get the run around last one they said check was mailed on 02/18/2015 second time i was told the check was sent last time was i01/23/2015

Desired Settlement: $1328.37 total refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/03) */ We apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ******* has experienced during the refund process. A stop payment was placed on the reissued check. Today, March 3, 2015, check number XXXXX in the amount of $1328.37 has been sent to the consumer via FedEx. The tracking number is XXXXXXXXXXXX. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I need help with an extended car warranty I purchased in 2011 from Service Protection Direct. I would like you to listen to the recording of the sales presentation I was given when I purchased the warranty. I was told by the seller that things like brakes, oil changes, tires that is wear and tear by the driver, would not be covered, but everything else for the engine, transmission, antilock brakes, ac, power locks, motors, alternator, ignition, etc. would be covered. I repeatedly asked at least three times, are you sure everything is covered, and each time they said yes. Since trying to use the warranty on four different occasions, one item, without a fight, was covered recently when my air conditioning went out, the AC control head for $86. The other main part, the evaporator core, needed to fix the air conditioning also at the same time for $1,000.00 was NOT covered. This just seems unreal. An expensive part such as this is why you take out a car warranty. I feel like the company is not honest in selling it to the consumer. When I called the sales department, it took six times asking the girl that answered before she would let me talk to her supervision. They kept telling her to tell me to call the parts department. When I told her I thought my air conditioning was covered, the sales supervision said I had 30 days to read the booklet, and it told what was covered. I said I could have had two years to read it , and I still would not have known what parts my air conditioner would need to be covered for. I told her how the policy was sold to me, the seller had stated that everything would be covered. I received no help from her or the company. Product_Or_Service: Evaporator Core for Air Conditioning Order_Number: XXXXX Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I need the evaporator core to be covered as part of the air conditioning needed fixing as well, as the other part was covered to repair the air conditioning at the same time. Thank you so much for your help and concern for consumers.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 6, 2014/10/13) */ Thank you. **** ****** with Service Protection Direct Customer Service, called me, and said she would try to help me, and would know something on Monday, October 13th. That was great news. I am having double knee replacement surgery on Monday, October 13th, and told her I would call her back as soon after surgery that I could. Thanks again.

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to honor a contract or agreementI purchased a warranty from this company on July 21, 2014. I am having transmission issues and the shop says it is a part that fails and should be covered under my warranty. They said my fluid levels and everything were fine but the part had failed. My policy is supposed to cover $2,000 in transmission work. I have been told it will cost about $1,400. And the warranty company keeps saying they may or may not cover it, or they're requesting I pay for the tear down of the transmission. They also want service records and they never said i ever needed them.they aren't approving it; I feel like they are trying to stretch it out to my next payment date. They told me that I am fully aware of whats going on which is false. when i tried to call them, they where closed and never called me back. They've done this for the past couple of weeks. Product_Or_Service: Protection Direct Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: The cost of the service is $3015.00. I've paid 155 Down and 119.17 monthly. i've paid 5 monthly payments. I'm looking to get back 750.85. the only reason is because they will not honor what they promised. or they need to approve my repairs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/16) */ We have attempted to contact Mr. ******** on the following dates: 9/11/2014, 9/12/2014, 9/15/2014 and 9/16/2014. Each time a detailed voicemail was left with a request for a return call to discuss a resolution to this complaint. We will submit a final resolution once we are contacted by Mr. ********. Final Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/10/06) */ Mr. ******** contacted us per the complaint. The need for service records was explained to the consumer, per the terms of the vehicle service contract. He did review his records and was unable to provide the necessary documentation for the claim to be adjudicated. The refund process was also explained to Mr. ******** per the terms of the contract. He will receive his prorated refund via mail within 5-7 business days. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

10/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Protection Direct, ******* handles the monthly payments I received a letter showing the cost of engine and transmission repairs. I paid them $106.21, and that time, seem like good. I started about April 2013. Last payment in September 10, 2013 the information attached on the back of this form. Last week in September called them to discontinue and the bank stop payment about a week. I received a letter that insufficient of funds to continue to pay $106.21 or canceled. Protection Direct on the back of this form attached is a copy of the transaction history and a letter is the termination: turn on backside. I read the letter. They want me to continue when I started this about March of last year. Sent me a bottle of product fluid the engine to prolong. I had top because I wouldn't have money for myself, room and board insurance for my truck, etc. If discontinued there would be past-due AT&T storage payments they still want have a holding me and not to let go.

Desired Settlement: Last week in September called them to discontinue and the bank stop payment about a week.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/09/24) */ It is not Service Protection Direct's intention to cause inconvenience to any consumer as a result of receiving our mail piece. Accordingly we have removed the consumer from our mailing database. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About one yaar ago, I purchased a warranty from this company. I was told my car was covered bumper to bumper. If my car needed any service this policy would take care of any issues. I have filed two claims on the car and this company denied both of them. The company told me the items were broken were not covered. When I purchased the coverage, I was told everything was covered. The total cost is $3,435.00. They have been taking $240 payments from my bank account each month.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this company to refund all the money I paid in a timely manner to my satisfaction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/19) */ Mr. ***** purchased the vehicle service contract January 24, 2014 and cancelled it September 15, 2014. The Administrator of the contract reviewed the denied claims. All of the claims were adjudicated based solely on the terms of the contract. The previously filed claims were denied due to the repairs being non-covered components. The latest claim was denied due to overheating causing the repair, which is a non-covered issue per the terms of the contract. A prorated refund will be processed for Mr. *****. He will receive his refund via mail within 10-15 business days. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scam I paid $2000 put in a claim denied due to no service records but it's a used car I would not have this information My vehicle went down March 2014 service protection direct agreed to have the car towed to the dealership to diagnose the issue. I've only had this used car for 6 months I file a claim and was denied due to no service records I went through the dealership and *** Suzuki no records found. After being so fed up with the run around I cancelled policy ***************** . I was never advised at sign up for this product that u wouldn't fix **** if there were no maintenance records. I want my money back scam artist

Desired Settlement: I want my money back !!!!!!!!!!!!!! Every last red cent

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/10) */ Mr. ****** purchased the vehicle service contract September 19, 2013 and cancelled it April 16, 2014. Maintenance records are required when the Administrator adjudicates a claim. Also, per the terms and conditions of the vehicle service contract under contract holder obligations it states: "The CONTRACT HOLDER must keep and make available verifiable, signed service/purchase receipts that show that maintenance has been performed within the time and mileage limit requirements." The claim was not denied. At the time of cancellation by the customer, it was pending maintenance records for the timing belt. Mr. ****** is contractually due a prorated refund. He will receive the refund in a check via mail within 10-15 business days. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

9/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refund amount received is far below what it should be. No explanation/detailed breakdown provided by company. Purchased a protection policy for my vehicle. 7 months after purchasing and making required payments, I still was below the initial 1000 mile requirement to file any claims (company requires 45 days AND 1000 miles be placed on the vehicle before any claim can be submitted. "Waiting Period") While I exceeded the 45 days, I never exceeded the 1000 miles, therefore could not have benefited from the policy even if I needed to. Upon cancellation, $1280.72 had been paid to company. Refund received was for $497.72 with NO explanation as to why they felt entitled to keep the balance of $783.00. Documentation states that refund will be prorated based on "miles and number of 'applications'", yet I was below 1000 mile threshold thus still in "waiting period", and NO "applications" were made. (per customer service, an "application" is a claim, paid or not.) No calls were even made to this company other than to cancel. There is NO mention of cancellation "fees" in the documentation. I should be due my full refund, maybe less a small administrative fee for paperwork and the single bottle of fuel additive they sent... but NOT $783.00!!! That is highway robbery to say the least. Please refund the remainder of the money paid to you, less an agreed upon administrative fee and cost of single bottle of fuel additive, not to exceed $150.00, which I think is BEYOND fair. You have no right to keep $783.00 for a service that could not have been used for any reason!! I am prepared to continue to escalate this as far as I need to in order to rectify the situation FAIRLY.

Desired Settlement: The remainder of the money that was paid to you, which you kept in the amount of $783.00 less a fair "administrative and product fee" of $150.00 to cover paperwork and the cost of the single bottle of fuel additive that was sent upon purchase. $I agree to pay $150.00, but no more than that since the services that you are keeping my money for were never available to me to begin with. (still in "waiting period", thus policy was useless.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/11) */ We have contacted Ms. ******** and are working with her to reach a satisfactory resolution. Once an agreement has been reached, we will submit a final response.

7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2014 Delivery Issues
5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2014 Delivery Issues
2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/7/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car ensure that offer me peace of mind,and cover XXX XXX miles over 82,087 the car has when I bough it. The guy who sold the ensure,explain me every thing in Spanish and unswear my questions,for that I agree to buy the ensure. Now when I paid it and need repairing my car they say sorry that's not cover! This is the third time that they told me this! For that I decided to cancel the car ensure because not work like they tell me! Now is more than 20 days it was canceled and I paid $3,955.00 They tell me that I need to wait 6 o 8 weeks more,to process my order!!! My car need to be repaired and I need my Money back! When I canceled the car ensure,the car had 110,289 miles,please I need help to recuperate my money soon and fix my car! I appreciate your help.Thank you. Product_Or_Service: Car Ensure Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Refund Return my money back ,soon.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/31) */ Mr. purchased the vehicle service contract July 26, 2011 and cancelled it October 8, 2013. Per the terms of the contract, the consumer is due a full refund within the initial 30 day review period. Once outside of the review period the refund is calculated on a prorated basis. The required cancel documentation was received May 9, 2013. The timeframe from receipt of cancel documentation is 4-6 weeks. As a sign of good faith, the process was expedited for Mr. . Check number 9154 in the amount of $2113.83 was mailed today, Oct 31, 2013. It should be received within 2-5 business days. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a warranty from this company on July 29, 2013. I am having transmission issues and the shop says it is a part that fails and should be covered under my warranty. They said my fluid levels and everything were fine but the part had failed. My policy is supposed to cover $2,000 in transmission work. I have been told it will cost about $1,400. My car has been there for two weeks and the warranty co keeps saying it's with management, they'll call me back the next day, or they're requesting something else. I've faxed papers 3 different times, I've had a corporation fax them papers, and now it is back to "its being reviewed by management". They aren't denying my claim, they aren't approving it; I feel like they are trying to stretch it out to my next payment date. They told me that I am fully aware of whats going on which is false. They were supposed to call me yesterday with an answer but they closed and never called me back. They've done this for the past couple of weeks.

Desired Settlement: I want an answer. My problem is covered under my warranty. If they do not cover it, it will be a breach of contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/24) */ Per the Administrator, the claim has been adjudicated and approved in the amount of $1422.19. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

11/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Service Protection Direct Dealer ************* representative lied to what I had agreed to. The coverage was a total 100% hoax. Copy of letter To whom it may concern, (Service Protection Direct) Dealer # ****** In the last week of March of 2013 I spoke to Mr. *** ****** regarding a plan protection for my vehicle ********** ***** ******** **** with the odometer of ******** Mr. ****** explained to me every part of the coverage to my vehicle. When it came to the part when Mr. ****** asked me if I had all of the service records of the vehicle, I mentioned to him that I did not have all of the service records due to the fact that my husband and my son do most of the service maintenance on the vehicle . Mr. ****** mentioned that it was fine as long I had some records on it. I did mentioned to him that I really wanted him to be truthful to me and Mr. ****** promised that everything was legitimate and mentioned that for any reason I had a problem to call him. On August 29, 2013, I took in my vehicle to the shop due to a noise the vehicle was making. The service personal that has been helping me with the vehicle (****) came back to me and mentioned that the mechanic said that the noise was coming from inside the engine. **** asked me if they could go ahead and open the engine to see the problem. I mentioned to **** that I need to check with the Insurance plan that I have with the service protection Direct. I spoke to a claim personal and let me tell you, this person belittle me to making me feel like a scum of the earth to the point that made me cry. He told me that I knew, that I was already having problems with the vehicle, that, that was the reason that I bought the coverage and that I was going to take advantage of the company. This gentlemen from the claims office brought up a situation from 2007 in which **** service man from the shop explain to him why my vehicle was in the shop in that year which it was due to a mechanical problem that I had with the vehicle and explained to the claims representative why the service was done and mentioned to him that the parts and service was cover by the company warranty. On August 29 I did call Mr. *** ****** around 8 am and the receptionist mentioned that he was not in. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was transfer to the service manager Ms. **** ****** and explained to her the situation and she mentioned that she will find out what was going on. Ms. ****** mentioned that if she didn't call me back with in one to two hours, for me to call her back at her direct number (XXX) XXX-XXXX. I did call her left massages on Aug. 29 and on Aug. 30 and did not get any response until today September 3, 2013. Ms. ****** asked me if the claims department had called me. My answer was no, so Ms. ****** stated that at present time the claims department said to her that there was not sufficient service records to my vehicle and due to that there was no claim. I explained to Ms. ****** that I feel that Mr. ****** took advantage and just wanted to make a sale and get his money no matter for in fact he knew, that at no time my vehicle was going to be covered, when in the future my vehicle would be taken into the shop and that there would be no claim with the claims department. I need you to know that if I knew I needed the twelve months service, do you really think I was going to purchase this insurance knowing that was not going to cover my vehicle. I have six children and I cannot give myself the pleasure of giving my money to your company knowing that my vehicle was not going to be covered. I could have used that money to put my children into a sport. I am requesting that the company gives me my money back which is the down payment of $295.00 and the monthly payments of $174.78 to present time. I have stopped the electronic monthly payments due to the experience I have had with your company, especially with the individual that treated me like a scum of the earth. If you have any questions please feel free to call me at my cell (XXX) XXX-XXXX I would like to speak to you. Thank You, ***** ******

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of the total amount of money I paid: 03/21/2013 Deposit of $295.00 04/22/2013 Direct payment $174.78 05/21/2013 Direct payment $174.78 06/20/2013 Direct payment $174.78 07/22/2013 Direct payment $174.78 08/20/2013 Direct payment $174.78 Total amount of $1,168.90 is what I am requesting back to me. I was denied to speak to the CO of the company. Ms. ****** (customer manager) said that she will not be available not today 10/14/13 or the following day or the next day. That's why she was hired to solve the companies problems.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/21) */ Ms. purchased the product warranty March 20, 2013 and cancelled it September 3, 2013. Per the terms of the product warranty, the consumer has a full 45 day review period. If cancelled within that timeframe, the consumer is due a full refund. If cancelled outside of the 45 day timeframe, the consumer is due a prorated refund. Ms. received the contractually correct prorated refund amount of $480.70 in check number 8926. We will consider this case closed as resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes, I understand that I had 45 days to cancel. Yes I received $480.70. With in those 45 days I was still in the unaware that my vehicle was never going to be covered by the company. until I took my vehicle to the shop. At this time I was not aware that the sales agent had lied from the beginning of the purchased. The sales agent committed a fraud that implies the company and myself. The company is allowing it to happen because at present time its happening to me and has happened to others. I am requesting 100% refund back. It took me from March 20, 2013 to September 3,2013 to realize that I had purchased a fraud product warranty. At this point I feel that the Company has to do with the fraud do to that the company after 45 days of cancellation the company still stays with the clients money because me as a client I would of never found out if my vehicle would of never had given me any problems as soon as it did. The Company is aware of how many days it takes for the Client as myself to find out that their product warranty is a fraud. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/24) */ As stated in the terms of the contract under section 4. Maintenance Requirements, "Service receipts and invoices must be presented in case of a claim". As stated in the complaint, sufficient maintenance records were not provided by Ms. . Also, additional information was not available to confirm mileage details or maintenance via ****** during the Administrator's review to assist the consumer. The claim could not be adjudicated due to lack of documentation. As a sign of good faith, an additional $688.20 will be refunded to Ms. . This will complete a full refund. A check will be sent via mail to be received within 4-6 weeks. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled a vehicle service contract on August 27,2013 and was told it would take 4 to 6 weeks. I have contacted company at least twice asking when I could expect refund. Last call approximately Sept 30th, I was told it would be another 2 weeks. I made additional call and once again I was told anotgher 2 weeks, because they batched refunds together. As of October 18th I still have not recieved refund. Cost of Service plan was 2499.00 not sure if tax was added. Because I was over 30 days requesting refunsd I was told they would reduce refund by $150.00 Product_Or_Service: Protector Powertrain Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like refund to include tax if applicable and also because of delay not to be penalized the 150.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/21) */ Mr. purchased the vehicle service contract May 24, 2013 and cancelled it August 27, 2013. Per the terms of the contract, the consumer has a full 30 days to review the documentation. If not satisfied with the product, they are eligible to receive a full refund during that time period. Once outside of the 30 day review period, the consumer's refund is calculated on a prorated basis, which includes a $150 cancellation fee. Prorated refund check number **** in the amount of $2,221.86 has been mailed to the consumer. He should receive it within 5-7 business days. We will consider this case closed as resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will wait until I receive the check before accepting there response.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Protection Direct
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart