BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Protection Direct

Find a Location

(877) 398-6297View Additional Phone Numbers1301 Jamie Ln, WaterlooIL 62298-5569http://www.protectiondirect.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Protection Direct is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Protection Direct's rating include:

  • Advertising issue(s) found by BBB.
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints.

Factors that raised Protection Direct's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 81 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

81 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues21
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues26
Problems with Product / Service33
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 81

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Protection Direct

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (81)BBB Closure Definitions
03/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint is all base on Misleading,They never told that there was a fee for cancellation.I ask them twice and they say no, you can cancel anytime.Phone numbers does not work when I call to cancel and when they answered they told me that my refund or trail was expired.I have paid $195.00 and I will like my money back I have not use the product/service. they are rude and liers they just want your money.The BBB has 81 complaints as well as for this company please help me.I just want my money back.
Product_Or_Service: extended warranty for my acura
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Full refund, please. this company has so many complaints that I don't want to be part of this repoff.here are some of the websites that they have their complaint list: cosumeraffairs.com yelp.com scambook.com bbb.org and more.

Business Response
Mr. ********* purchased the vehicle service contract February 12, 2015 and cancelled it March 16, 2015. Per the contract terms, all cancellation requests made within 30 days of the purchase date are eligible for a full refund. All cancellation requests made after 30 days of the purchase date will be calculated on a prorated basis and are subject to a cancellation fee. Mr. ********** cancelled outside of the initial thirty day review period.

As a sign of good faith, but in the interest of good customer relations, a full refund has been processed. $195 has been refunded back to the initial payment method and will post within 1-3 business days. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

03/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cancelled service 11/2014 sent all information needed for refund called several times over the last3 months been told check has been sent ,no check
Purchase date 07/25/2013
Contract Price $3900.00

Contract #XXXXXXXXX
11/21/14 cancellation date
Called seveal times get the run around last one they said check was mailed on 02/18/2015 second time i was told the check was sent last time was i01/23/2015

Desired Settlement
$1328.37 total refund

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ******* has experienced during the refund process. A stop payment was placed on the reissued check. Today, March 3, 2015, check number XXXXX in the amount of $1328.37 has been sent to the consumer via FedEx. The tracking number is XXXXXXXXXXXX.

We will consider this case closed as resolved.

10/13/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I need help with an extended car warranty I purchased in 2011 from Service Protection Direct. I would like you to listen to the recording of the sales presentation I was given when I purchased the warranty. I was told by the seller that things like brakes, oil changes, tires that is wear and tear by the driver, would not be covered, but everything else for the engine, transmission, antilock brakes, ac, power locks, motors, alternator, ignition, etc. would be covered. I repeatedly asked at least three times, are you sure everything is covered, and each time they said yes. Since trying to use the warranty on four different occasions, one item, without a fight, was covered recently when my air conditioning went out, the AC control head for $86. The other main part, the evaporator core, needed to fix the air conditioning also at the same time for $1,000.00 was NOT covered. This just seems unreal. An expensive part such as this is why you take out a car warranty. I feel like the company is not honest in selling it to the consumer. When I called the sales department, it took six times asking the girl that answered before she would let me talk to her supervision. They kept telling her to tell me to call the parts department. When I told her I thought my air conditioning was covered, the sales supervision said I had 30 days to read the booklet, and it told what was covered. I said I could have had two years to read it , and I still would not have known what parts my air conditioner would need to be covered for. I told her how the policy was sold to me, the seller had stated that everything would be covered. I received no help from her or the company.
Product_Or_Service: Evaporator Core for Air Conditioning
Order_Number: XXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I need the evaporator core to be covered as part of the air conditioning needed fixing as well, as the other part was covered to repair the air conditioning at the same time. Thank you so much for your help and concern for consumers.

Final Consumer Response
Thank you. **** ****** with Service Protection Direct Customer Service, called me, and said she would try to help me, and would know something on Monday, October 13th. That was great news. I am having double knee replacement surgery on Monday, October 13th, and told her I would call her back as soon after surgery that I could. Thanks again.

10/06/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to honor a contract or agreementI purchased a warranty from this company on July 21, 2014. I am having transmission issues and the shop says it is a part that fails and should be covered under my warranty. They said my fluid levels and everything were fine but the part had failed. My policy is supposed to cover $2,000 in transmission work. I have been told it will cost about $1,400. And the warranty company keeps saying they may or may not cover it, or they're requesting I pay for the tear down of the transmission. They also want service records and they never said i ever needed them.they aren't approving it; I feel like they are trying to stretch it out to my next payment date. They told me that I am fully aware of whats going on which is false. when i tried to call them, they where closed and never called me back. They've done this for the past couple of weeks.
Product_Or_Service: Protection Direct
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
The cost of the service is $3015.00. I've paid 155 Down and 119.17 monthly. i've paid 5 monthly payments. I'm looking to get back 750.85. the only reason is because they will not honor what they promised. or they need to approve my repairs.

Business Response
We have attempted to contact Mr. ******** on the following dates: 9/11/2014, 9/12/2014, 9/15/2014 and 9/16/2014. Each time a detailed voicemail was left with a request for a return call to discuss a resolution to this complaint.

We will submit a final resolution once we are contacted by Mr. ********.

Final Business Response
Mr. ******** contacted us per the complaint. The need for service records was explained to the consumer, per the terms of the vehicle service contract. He did review his records and was unable to provide the necessary documentation for the claim to be adjudicated.

The refund process was also explained to Mr. ******** per the terms of the contract. He will receive his prorated refund via mail within 5-7 business days. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Protection Direct, ******* handles the monthly payments I received a letter showing the cost of engine and transmission repairs. I paid them $106.21, and that time, seem like good. I started about April 2013. Last payment in September 10, 2013 the information attached on the back of this form. Last week in September called them to discontinue and the bank stop payment about a week. I received a letter that insufficient of funds to continue to pay $106.21 or canceled. Protection Direct on the back of this form attached is a copy of the transaction history and a letter is the termination: turn on backside. I read the letter. They want me to continue when I started this about March of last year. Sent me a bottle of product fluid the engine to prolong. I had top because I wouldn't have money for myself, room and board insurance for my truck, etc.

If discontinued there would be past-due AT&T storage payments they still want have a holding me and not to let go.

Desired Settlement
Last week in September called them to discontinue and the bank stop payment about a week.

Business Response
It is not Service Protection Direct's intention to cause inconvenience to any consumer as a result of receiving our mail piece. Accordingly we have removed the consumer from our mailing database.

We will consider this case closed as resolved.

Page 1 of 15
10/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cancelled a vehicle service contract on August 27,2013 and was told it would take 4 to 6 weeks. I have contacted company at least twice asking when I could expect refund. Last call approximately Sept 30th, I was told it would be another 2 weeks. I made additional call and once again I was told anotgher 2 weeks, because they batched refunds together. As of October 18th I still have not recieved refund. Cost of Service plan was 2499.00 not sure if tax was added. Because I was over 30 days requesting refunsd I was told they would reduce refund by $150.00
Product_Or_Service: Protector Powertrain
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like refund to include tax if applicable and also because of delay not to be penalized the 150.00.

Business Response
Mr. purchased the vehicle service contract May 24, 2013 and cancelled it August 27, 2013. Per the terms of the contract, the consumer has a full 30 days to review the documentation. If not satisfied with the product, they are eligible to receive a full refund during that time period. Once outside of the 30 day review period, the consumer's refund is calculated on a prorated basis, which includes a $150 cancellation fee.

Prorated refund check number **** in the amount of $2,221.86 has been mailed to the consumer. He should receive it within 5-7 business days. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will wait until I receive the check before accepting there response.

08/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a letter from this company about a car that they should NOT have any information on, since the only entity that has any info about my recent transaction with this car is my local DMV. I merely had the title changed to remove my husband's name from it and reissue the title in my name only. There is NO public record of this. The letter states that I "recently purchased" my car, which is obviously incorrect, and the fact that they stated this leads me to believe that they have either hacked into the DMV's computer system, or they are obtaining information illegally from some other source. I am demanding to know EXACTLY where they obtained this information on me and my car.

Desired Settlement
I am demanding to know EXACTLY where they obtained this information on me and my car.

Business' Initial Response
It is not Service Protection Direct's intention to cause inconvenience to any consumer as a result of receiving our mail piece. Accordingly we have removed the consumer from our mailing database.

We will consider this case closed as resolved.

Consumer's Final Response
The business did NOT answer my question. I am demanding to know HOW and WHERE they got the information on me and my car, since it was not a public record! I did not buy a new car, I simply dropped a name off the title of my old car. There is no LEGAL way this company could have gotten that information. So where is their explanation as I requested??

03/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The business offers unsolicited notifications. I would like to know how they received information on a car I purchased only one week ago.
I received unsolicited mailings from this business 2/16/13 from a vehicle I purchased only one week ago. I have also received such unwanted "notifications" for other vehicles I have purchased in the past. I would like to know how this business aquired my personal information from a car I purchased only one week ago. The few businesses that know I purchased this vehicle are my insurance company,the County Treasury where I had to license this vehicle, and possibly a large parts store in the area. I would like to know the name of the business that SOLD my name and info to Protection Direct or does this business use other illegitimate means to aquire this information. I will stop doing business with any company that sells my information and file a complaint against them next. It is highly likely that from reviewing the BBD ratings for this company that they may have many unprofessional means of obtaining this information to run their far less than satisfactory business. I would like to see a business response to this complaint other than their standard response of "It is not Service Protection Direct's intention to cause inconvenience to any consumer as a result of receiving our mail piece. Accordingly we have removed the consumer from our mailing database.
In addition, please note that Service Protection Direct DOES NOT engage in any type of outbound telemarketing whatsoever for sales lead generation.
We will consider this case closed as resolved. "
Please respond with the information that I ask and them remove me and every other person from your "contact list"

Desired Settlement
I would like to know how this business aquired my personal information from a car I purchased only one week ago. The few businesses that know I purchased this vehicle are my insurance company,the County Treasury where I had to license this vehicle, and possibly a large parts store in the area. I would like to know the name of the business that SOLD my name and info to Protection Direct or does this business use other illegitimate means to aquire this information. I want them to stop contacting me.

Business' Initial Response
It is not Service Protection Direct's intention to cause inconvenience to any consumer as a result of receiving our mail piece. Accordingly we have removed the consumer from our mailing database.

We will consider this case closed as resolved.

Consumer's Final Response
This matter has NOT been resolved in any way. No answer was received, only the expected response that they give everytime someone complains - "It is not Service Protection Direct's intention to cause inconvenience to any consumer as a result of receiving our mail piece. Accordingly we have removed the consumer from our mailing database."
I would like a real response. Today 3/4/13, the day that this matter is supposedly closed, I recieved another letter...this one was a "2nd reminder". I have received no valid response and I have not been removed from their mailing list as they have suggested.

Business' Final Response
Our marketing sources of lead generation are confidential trade secrets and not disclosed publicly.

We will consider this case closed as resolved.

12/04/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company doesn't respect Do-Not-Call Laws or remove you from their mailing & distribution lists.
I called Protection Direct today after receiving yet another correspondence from them. For the 2nd time in 6 months, I asked them to remove me from their mailing & calling lists & not to sell my contact information to anyone. The representative on the other end of the phone simply laughed at me. I have also filed FTC & FCC complaints against this company in the past.

Desired Settlement
No settlement requested other than for them to LEAVE ME ALONE & stop contacting me & selling my information to other companies!

Business' Initial Response
It is not Service Protection Direct's intention to cause inconvenience to any consumer as a result of receiving our mail piece. Accordingly we have removed the consumer from our mailing database.

We will consider this case closed as resolved.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company has taken no responsibility for not removing my information the 1st time I contacted them. Their 2nd contact was a violation of my privacy. They also have taken no responsibility as to how their representative treated me by laughing at my request. Their response "as a result of receiving our mail piece" is as lame as they come. I'm sure they are used to sending out such a boiler-plate response. This response from them hardly addresses my true complaint, in regard to their representative.

08/10/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company is giving a hard time ( its been more then 1 week ) to cover what they supposed to cover as the part of extended warranty.
Problem Date : May 11th
Problem : Transmission Fault , warning says to take it to the dealer ASAP and drive moderately.
Car : BMW 530I 2004
Claim # XXXXXXXXXX
Claim Phone # (phone)

Representative working with : (name)
email : (email)

Total warranty amount is around $5000 ( not at home don't have the correct figures with me now).

Paid since last 3 months about $309/month.

I took it to BMW service they have recommended Transmission replace but this company does nto wants to do that so they made me go to *****, it's been more then a week , sitting at ***** they are not confirming the ***** to fix the issue and ow they are asking me to provide me all the Oil change I have done so far I am not sure how is this related to the problem but they can't do any thing until I have those unfortunately I am missing one which I am working with the Oil change shop to reproduce that but I have been on the rental car since then , the company is not even telling me that they will cover that.

Please help me out of this situation.I spent enough money on this I am not sure if they are going to pay that back.

I have paid BMW for diagnosis $ 132.50
+ Rental car which I still have it.

(name)




Desired Settlement
I just want them to cover the expenses that they supposed to cover as per the contract with out any delay + cover the expenses I have to take because of that.

Business' Initial Response
********** purchased the service contract March 10, 2012. When the claim was submitted, the customer initially refused teardown and sending in maintenance records, which caused a delay. Yet, as of May 21, 2012 - the same day the BBB complaint was filed - a third party inspector was sent by the Administrator.

Since then, a repair of $5,728.00 has been authorized by the Administrator. We will consider this case closed as resolved.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Business paid for the repair of the transmission.
I am still waiting of the expenses ( Car Rental + vehicle checkup by BMW ) that needs to be paid.

Business' Final Response
7/33/2012: I will check on this and let the BBB know.

8/02/2012: We need a copy of receipt from BMW, then we will be more than happy to reimburse. It can faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Service Contract Companies, Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies, Contractor - Water Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/03/2006Business started: 08/11/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: John Velasco (COO/ GM)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Lisa Turner Quentin McClung Nathan Petty
Business Category

Auto Service Contract Companies, Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies, Contractor - Water Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Service Protection Direct, Txen Partners, LLC
Industry Tips
Know the Facts About Auto Service Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Protection Direct

1301 Jamie Ln

Waterloo, IL 62298-5569

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 1301 Jamie Ln 

    Waterloo, IL 62298-5569(618) 939-1005

  • 8251 Maryland Ave Ste 101 

    Clayton, MO 63105-3659

  • 300 N Tucker Blvd Ste 700 

    Saint Louis, MO 63101-1914(800) 981-5097
    (877) 398-6296
    (877) 241-1193
    (877) 728-6040
    (800) 981-5097

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Protection Direct is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (618) 939-1005
  • (866) 989-4639
  • (877) 987-7346
  • (877) 728-6041
  • (800) 986-3608 ext ext108
  • (877) 392-3621
  • (877) 241-1195
  • (877) 395-6337
  • (877) 398-6291
  • (800) 986-3609
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Service Contract Companies

Know the Facts About Auto Service Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.