BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Automotive Product Consultants

Phone: (636) 733-3317Fax: (636) 681-7092

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service14
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints20

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (20)BBB Closure Definitions
02/11/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased vehicle service contract on a 2008 Nissan sentra in 2009 at time when I purchase the contract the administrator said that could cash out the policy or transfer to another vehicle the contract is for car repairs in cast the car brakes down but now the time has come for me to cash out there stating that I will only get a $100.00 dollars out of a total of $2344.00 I never used the contract the contract is up Feb 4 2015 or 90,000 miles which I doubt I will have. The contract state that amount due following cancellation: In the event that the vehicle service contract is cancelled for any reason whatsoever ,administrator shall calculate the potion of the total sales price that has been earned through the date of cancellation plus all applicable late fees and other charges provided under this agreement(collectively,the Earned Amount)In the event that purchaser has made total payments to administrator (the Paid Amount)in excess of the Earned Amount ,administrator shall refund to purchaser the amount by which the paid Amount exceeds the earned amount in the event that the paid amount is less than the earned amount purchaser shall promptly pay to administrator the amount by which the earned amount exceeds the paid amount
Product_Or_Service: compass protection plan
Account_Number: VSAXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want half of the refund or all the refund

Business Response
We have called a few times in an effort to reach the customer. The voice mail was not set-up on the primary phone we had on file. We left a message on a the line provided in the complaint versus our system. We are awaiting a return call to talk to the customer about her complaint. We hope to hear from the customer soon to discuss the complaint.

01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is taking money from my account I didn't know why I had my daughter call and they supposedly sold me an extended warranty on my brand new car. I don't need this and they have taken $115 to start and they are taking $85.58 a month for 24 months. They will not cancel this and I want my money back as I am on a fixed income. I don't remember buying this. It was I guess over the telephone. Something needs to be done so they don't take other peoples money. When I call this company I am on hold for ever then they say hold for a moment and here I am left hold for another 30 or more minutes. They told me I need to write them a letter stating I want this cancel. Fine I will do but I also want every penny back as my bank account is now in the negative. I hope you can help me and check into this company it isn't right that they call elderly people and trick them the way they do. Sincerely, ******* ********
Account_Number: VSAXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Refund $200.58

Business Response
We reviewed the calls made by the customer to our company. The customer called us to gather information regarding a plan for her vehicle on 11/3/2014 and agreed on that phone call to buy a plan. On 11/10/2014 the customer called to cancel. At that time we told the customer to merely send us a written notice and that we would cancel the plan and issue a full refund. The customer never sent us a notification. The customer called again on 12/12/2014. At this point the first monthly payment had been charged to her bank account. The customer wanted us to cancel the plan. Once again, we explained that all we needed was a simple written notification which could be e-mailed, faxed or mailed to us and we would cancel the plan right away. We also explained the notice did not need to be fancy but merely needed her signature, contract number and the instruction to cancel the plan. The customer called again on 12/17/2014 requesting cancellation. Once again we explained the cancellation process noting its simplicity and that we would ensure a full refund was provided. We did not receive a notification until December 23, 2014.

We cancelled the plan and sent the customer a full refund. The refund was sent on 12/31/2014. We verified the first monthly payment of $85.59 was returned for insufficient funds. Thus, we only needed to return to her the $115 down payment in order to provide her with a full refund. We contacted the customer prior to sending the refund to make sure she was in agreement with the amount we were sending and was satisfied with the cancellation in light of this complaint. The customer told us she was satisfied.

12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I read in the contract that I was able to cancel over the phone, it specifically said that you could cancel over the phone if you have purchased the contract over the phone. I called the business to cancel my contract, and the woman that answered was nice and polite, and I thought it would be an easy process. Little did I know that it would be an issue to cancel. I was transferred and a man answered for the cancellation, I said I wanted to cancel my contract. He basically questioned my intelligence and asked me redundant questions like "So you want to be stranded by the side of the road?" He was very rude throughout the whole conversation, and we basically sparred for 10 minutes for him to tell me that I couldn't cancel my contract over the phone. Now I have to send in a written cancellation, which I'm really questioning if they will fulfill my request to do so. I will never do business with Automotive Product Consultants again. All I wanted was a simple contract cancellation. Why would you offer cancellation over the phone only to deny it?
Product_Or_Service: Extended Warranty
Account_Number: ZCAXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want my contract with APC Nulled and voided. All I want is my contract settled. I do not want my extended warranty any longer.

Business Response
We contacted Mr. ******* on a few occasions in order to make sure we had resolved his complaint to his satisfaction. We did not get a return call. We do sell contracts over the phone; however, the cancellation process does require us receiving something in writing which is what is stated in the contract. The purpose for this written request is due to liability issues. Absent a discussion with Mr. ******* we went ahead and cancelled his contract on November 10, 2014. We also back dated the cancel date on the contract in order to provide the customer with a full refund. We have refunded both the downpayment back to his credit card and we have cut a check for his first monthly payment to return that as well. The customer should receive the check next week. We have now provided a full refund. If the customer needs anything else we encourage him to call us.

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I got this warranty 8-9-13 costing $94.00 per month to cover my car. My car was totaled June 30, 2014. I called them and sent the cancellation papers. I got a check in the mail for $239.07. That wasn't enough and I called them. They said according to the contract that the 72 months started at the date of purchase of contract. My salesman salesman told me that it wouldn't kick in until my original warranty on the car expired. I had 36,000 miles or three years.

Desired Settlement
I would like them prorate my account from the cars mileage. It had 37,000 miles on it. They should only have the $50.00 cancellation fee. I figured that I should have hundereds of doolarmore.

Business Response
We contacted Mr. ******* after receiving the complaint. Prior to the call we reviewed the recording of the phone call between Mr. ****** and our representative to confirm whether our representative represented to Mr. ******* the coverage would not begin until the customer's factory warranty expired. After reviewing the phone call we determined that our representative did not make this representation. Regardless, we told Mr. ******* we would try to get a larger refund approved. We were able to get the cancellation date back dated 5-months to send Mr. ******* an additional $559.60 refund in addition to the $239.07 already sent to him. We communicated this to Mr. ******* and he was satisfied with the result.

Consumer Response
they Settled the complaint and I am satisfied thank you BBB it would not have happened without you!.

10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On July 28, 2014, I had written National Vehicle Headquarters to request to have my contract canceled. According to their policy I had to wait 30 days. After a week, I had contacted them at XXX-XXX-XXXX to asked if they received my letter to cancel. I was informed yes and it will take 30 days. I had called them on September 8 to ascertained the status of my refund. I was informed I did not provide the mileage of my vehicle. According to their policy "If the certified odometer reading is not provided, cancellation refunds will be based on accrued mileage of 1,500 miles per month." That is why I did not provide the mileage in my cancellation letter. However on September 9th, I had faxed a copy of a work order that had my mileage on it. After I sent the faxed, I had called them, and they acknowledged they received the fax. I had inquired when will I received my refund, the person on the phone said I have to wait another 30 days. When asked why I have to wait another 30 days, the person said I am hanging up the phone. He hung up without any explanation. Here is what the letter stated:To whom it may concern,Request to cancel Agreement No. VSAXXXXXXI am writing you to cancel the Protection Plan, I had called XXX-XXX-XXXX two times to cancel the service contract and each time it was not cancelled. I did not want a compromised. What I want is the money I had paid into the service plan, minus the cancellation charge. No claim has been made against this Protection Plan.Sincerely, Mr. Enclosure: Compass Protection Plan
Product_Or_Service: Vehicle Warranty
Account_Number: VSAXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I should not have to wait another 30 days for my refund. I originally done what their contract stated and now they are stalling to send me my money back.

Business Response
We contacted Mr. ******* regarding this complaint. By the time we received the complaint the refund had already been sent. We received the complaint on 9/15/2014 and the refund was sent on 9/11/2014. We tell customers 30 days as a standard message on refunds although we send them out faster so as to set an expectation. For a refund adjustment the process is typically accomplished in less than 10 days. Mr. ******* was misinformed when provided the second 30 day period of time for the refund. We explained this to Mr. ******* and he confirmed receiving the refund upon his return from vacation. The customer told us at this time he is satisfied with the speed in which he received the refund.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Service Contract Companies, Marketing Programs & Services, Advertising - Direct Mail, Financing

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.