BBB Accredited Business since

Precision Restorations LLC

Phone: (314) 652-1966 4151 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Precision Restorations LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Restorations LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 03, 2009 Business started: 08/08/2008 Business started locally: 08/08/2008
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dale Oestreich, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale Oestreich, Owner
Business Category

Auto Restoration Auto Repair - Vintage

Additional Locations

  • 4151 Forest Park Ave

    Saint Louis, MO 63108 (314) 652-1966


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a car on ebay, was told it was complete and it was not, no valve cove, or seats, and when i picked it up I was told they would send my title because they accidentally sent it with the wrong car. Now they refuse to give me a title. When I picked the car up after driving from Michigan, I wasked where the seats were and they said in the car. The car was full of parts so you could not see. I opened the hood and when I asked where the valve cover was again they said its in the car. As you know Nothing was in the Car and Now I am fighting. Dale the owner wants me to admit it was a parts car, when in fact I have the ad on Ebay that said its a Good Project car that is complete and ready to restore. He is saying unless I admit then he is not going to give me the Title

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response:

This was the response I sent ******* on January 29, 2015 that followed several emails to him trying to appease him. As I had stated in the email, we overlooked the seats not being in the car when he picked it up. He overlooked it as well so there was no intent to keep the seats. I also have the title that we forgot to give him and he obviously forgot to ask about. However, when he continues to say it was not a complete car, he is wrong. With old classic cars there is what is known as a complete car and a parts car. A complete car is one that can be restored and reconditioned back to useable condition. It will require additional parts and materials as the restoration progresses. A parts car is exactly what it indicates, the car is too far past the possibility of being able to be restored or reconditioned and therefore used only for parts. The Buick ******* purchased for $800.00 can be restored to a complete and usable vehicle. he is correct, we do have the valve covers because the owner wanted them however, valve covers can easily be sourced for that car. he claims that the add on ebay said it was a complete car and he is also correct. As I have stated in numerous emails to him, it is a matter of interpretation of the add and in no way an attempt to mislead. I have offered to refund his money and pick up the car to demonstrate that we had no intent to mislead anyone, keeping in mind he physically came here and inspected the car before agreeing to purchase. All I'm asking is that he relieves Precision Restorations of these libelous comments and agree that he realizes we did not post the add with the intent of misleading anyone and I will gladly send him the seats and the title.



I’ve tried on SEVERAL occasions to get this resolved and I don’t know what your problem is. However, I’m going to try one last time to resolve this.

Let’s try this one more time..!!

It is very simple;

(1)    Reply that you understand that the ad was not to mislead you, it was to let you know it was an entire car and just not miscellaneous parts. However, AS WITH ANY RESTORATION YOU WILL NEED TO SOURCE ADDITIONAL PARTS TO RESTORE THIS VEHICLE TO ITS COMPLETION, THIS IS NOT A KIT THAT COMES WITH EVERYTHING! and I will gladly ship you the seats and send the title by register mail.

                                                            ******************** OR*******************

(2)    I will refund your entire purchase amount and dispatch a transport to pick up the vehicle.

This will be my last time. I will not send the seats or the title until you reply that you understand this is not a complete car. My understanding from your previous emails was that your interpretation of the listing was that it was a complete car. You personally came and inspected the vehicle before you paid for it and took it. As you rebuild this car there will be additional items to source. Therefore, as I have offered before, I will dispatch a transport to pick up the vehicle and refund you the full amount you paid.

If neither of these offers appease you  than you do whatever you need to do because I will not respond anymore to try and resolve.


7/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a contract with **** ********* (owner) and Precision Restorations in 2009 to build, restore, and customize a 1973 plymoth barracuda. In the beginning the project seemed to be going well. We agreed on a finished running car at a price of $90,000 with everything included. I was instructed that work could be done at a more accelerated pace if payments were provided more rapidly. Ultimately, it has now been 6 years and the car is very unfinished. I ended up purchasing the engine on my own outside of the contract and the wheels/tires. The shop price for the car without the engine was approximately $74,000. I have paid the shop $80,000 thus far for this project and do not have a finshed product. There have been 3 different shop managers and years of constant mistakes that had to be corrected, but never were. Last month the owner sent me an update stating that another $70,000 plus would be required to complete the project. I believe this to be fraudulent activity and after multiple very unpleasant exchanges with the shop and owner, I removed the car from the shop last month. It has been evaluated by another car builder and has been revealed to me that much of the work was unsafe. The exhaust was done improperly and had leaks at every weld. The front frame supports had been removed so the frame was not stable, they had dropped the car off the lift and cracked both rear rocker panels. The fuel and electric lines were run on the bottom of the frame, so if the car bottomed out a fire could start and other neumerous issues, and of course the vehicle is not even close to being complete. I have been very wronged and feel that a good portion of the $80,000 be returned as I have given them every opportunity to correct the situation as well as 6 years (original build was to take 1 year). In addition, when things were going smoothly, i also started a restoration/customization of a 1949 chevy truck. I have paid $30,000 and have a very unfished truck that i have also removed from the shop last month Product_Or_Service: 1973 plymoth barracuda/1949 chevy 3800

Desired Settlement: I seek monetary compensation/refund for the poor workmanship, severe safety issues, and the lack of producing a product in a timely fashion. I have every reason to suspect fraud and a bait and switch type unlawful action from this shop.I do not trust this owner or shop to do the work/repairs

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/15) */ The custom build we were commissioned to do by Mr. ***** has been a very big disappointment for all parties involved. As Mr. ***** stated he signed what he refers to as a contract with Precision Restorations to build, restore and customize a 1973 Plymouth Barracuda. Unfortunately, Mr. ***** never experienced the process of a build, restoration and customization and therefore was under the impression that the original ESTIMATE would be his entire investment. No one in the classic car restoration industry can or would provide an estimate with everything included. The contract Mr. ***** refers to which is titled *ESTIMATE in bold capital letters clearly states in line *#3 'client wants a true one off car'. 'Body and paint work are mild show quality'. The estimate goes on to clearly spell out *the parts cost is an estimate, final cost to be determined. Regarding the custom interior the estimate spells out -*design has not been determined, actual cost to recover the seats is contingent upon design. Later into the build Mr. ***** suggested he wanted a 'custom waterfall' console extending from the dash through the middle of the bucket seats and reaching to the package tray. It continues to state that *because each project varies, our estimates are not inflated to assume hidden damage. The hidden damage will be quoted and accompanied with photographs for client approval. In our seven years in business we have provided builds, repairs, restorations and customizations where the scope was from minor work to complete ground up restorations in approximately *120 projects. Our track record of customer satisfaction and dedication to quality craftsmanship speaks for itself. To date we have *1,109 labor hours invested in Mr. *****'s project and approximately *$33,329 in parts and this has been shared with Mr. *****. Mr. ***** is correct in that we presented an update, stating that approximately $70,000 additional would be required to complete the project based on his vision of the completion and the current status of the project. However, what Mr. ***** failed to mention that as far back as April 25, 2012 that build cost was presented to him and he said "I don't want to look at that." We continued attempts to share with Mr. ***** the investment involved in a 'one off custom project' and what would be required to keep the project moving forward. A one off custom build will require that ideas and changes will need to be made throughout the build. Mr. ***** referred to them as mistakes. Regardless, when there is no blueprint or a previous instructional build sheet to follow we did have to go back and make changes which obviously we shared with Mr. *****. We never hide, nor would we ever hide any changes in the process of a design build or any project. Mr. ***** was never billed for anything we were responsible for reversing or changing. We have installed numerous custom exhaust and I would question the evaluation made regarding leaks. The front frame supports were removed as a result of additional work still being required when Mr. ***** removed his car. Mr. ***** has not given Precision every opportunity to correct the situation which would be to fund the custom project to its completion. Mr. ***** elected to remove his car and gave no advanced notice and as a result his car was far from completion. The 1949 Chevy truck Mr. ***** mentions has over *1,200 labor hours where the roof has been custom shaved and the entire body has been worked and prepped for paint. A custom interior was designed and completed but not yet installed. The truck also had a performance 8cyl engine installed as well as heidts suspension. We respect Mr. *****'s opinion, that as he implies, he has a 'very unfinished truck'. However, we understand that by looking at the truck only someone with restoration knowledge would understand the value of what has been done on the truck thus far. The work that Mr. ***** has paid for has been completed and an additional investment will be required to take Mr. *****'s car to completion regardless who he selects as the builder. As a result Precision Restorations is not responsible for any remuneration to Mr. *****. All work completed and parts installed currently exceeds the funds received by Mr. *****. Items that are marked with an asterisk * denotes that Precision Restorations can substantiate these claims with supportive documentation.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Restorations LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)