BBB Accredited Business since

Floyd's Tire & Car Care Center

Phone: (314) 427-2840 Fax: (314) 427-2322 View Additional Phone Numbers 8646 Saint Charles Rck Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63114 http://www.floydstire.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Floyd's Tire & Car Care Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Floyd's Tire & Car Care Center include:

  • 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Floyd's Tire & Car Care Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 15, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 11/20/1987 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Marilyn Oyen, Office Administrator Mr. Mike Gabriel, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marilyn Oyen, Office Administrator
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto - Emissions Testing Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Towing - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Truck Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Fr & Axle Service - Auto Heaters - Automotive Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Su: Closed
Please call for availability and to make an Appointment.
Alternate Business Names
Floyd's Automotive Mike Gabriel's Auto Repair Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 8646 Saint Charles Rck Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63114 (314) 427-7772 (314) 427-2322 (314) 427-0496 (314) 429-7783 (314) 427-2840

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The first week of August 2016, my 2002 Saab broke down and I took it to Floyd's to have it fix. I was told that the belt in the radiator had broken and needed to replace in the radiator. I paid them $800 for these repairs. They did not tell me about the other issues with the car and that these other issues may cause additional problems with the car. I was under the impression that the car was totally fixed and would run properly. Then the same things started happening again. There were oil leaks and the belt came off and the water pump needed to be replaced. I paid them $150 to clean the oil but it would not fix the oil leaks. I am still having the same problems with my car.

Desired Settlement: After paying $950 to fix my car twice, I expect that my car would be running fine. However, I am still having the same problems even after replacing the radiator. I am requesting that Floyd's refund the $950 that I have paid them to "fix" my car which it is not and be able to go to another mechanic to repair my car correctly.

Business Response:

Customer had Saab towed to our shop on July 25, 2016 stating that there was smoke coming from under hood and could not turn the steering wheel - upon diagnosis it was determined that the idler pulley was missing causing the engine to over heat and damage to the radiator.  We contacted customer and she agreed to have missing idler pulley replaced, a new belt and radiator installed with coolant flush.  Customer was informed at this time of serious oil leak.  The vehicle was test driven for at least 20 minutes with no additional problems found.  On August 3, 2016 customer had same vehicle towed back to our shop because the belt came off.  Upon inspection it was determined the water pump bearing had failed and in conjuction with oil leak the belt had come off.  Customer advised we could clean up engine area to determine cause/location of oil leak and given a price for repair and she declined all but the engine clean and dye.  As noted on invoice given to customer (copies faxed over) she was told there could be possible engine damage without this repair.  Customer stated she intended to trade vehicle in and left paying for the minimal work and understanding that the vehicle needed additional repair.  She had driven the vehicle  over 400 miles from first repair to second problem.  In summary we do not feel we failed to inform the customer and she received repair labor and parts as discussed and promised.  We ask to be relived of this complaint.

 

Faxes to follow to office number.

4/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband dropped our Pontiac Grand Am to this business on 4/2/2016 for the safety and emissions test. He returned there to see if they were finished with it. They told him we needed extra work done for a tire rod and an alignment. He said that we would wait for that and to just give us 2 used tires and just do the safety and emissions test. I returned there to pick up the car and they took it upon themselves to replace the tire rod and two new tires. We paid $338.00 for all of the work that we did not agree to. I told the two ladies that were working there that he did not agree for them to do the work. One of the ladies was very unprofessional and told me that my husband is lying to me and he agreed to it anyway regardless. There was no paper signed saying what they agreed to. We had to pay for something that we did not have the money for. We will never return to them, and we are asking for a full refund for the work that we did not agree to be completed.

Desired Settlement: We are asking for a full refund for the work that we did not agree to be completed.

Business Response:

This complaint has been reviewed and we do not feel we should need to refund the funds.  Mr. ******* brought the vehicle in around 11:46AM on April 2 requesting 2 used tires on the front and a safety and emission inspection.  When the vehicle was put on the lift we immediately noticed that the right outer tie rod was "sloppy loose" - so bad that we would not have wanted the vehicle back on the street fearing the loss of steering - this also fails the safety inspection.  Mr. ***** ******* came in approximately 3:15 to 3:30 and this was explained to him.  He was quoted $420.00 for the inspection, 2 used tires, the tie rod, a third brake bulb (which also would cause inspection failure) and a front end alignment - parts and labor.  After a small discussion Mr. ******* asked if he could postpone the alignment at this time and he was told yes but it would need to be done soon.  He was quoted $338.00 without the alignment at this time and his response was "sounds good".    He asked if the repair could be completed by 4 PM when we close and was told we would need to start on now if he gave the approval.  Again he said "sounds good".  He then said he was leaving and it was suggested he wait since we would close and have this finished in 30 to 35 minutes - he choose to leave.  His wife came in at 4 PM to pick up the car and said no approval was given and that they did not have the funds since their rent was due.  We told her that it had been approved by Mr. ******* and we had finished the work.  There was much heated discussion over this but at 4:05 Mrs. ******* paid the bill of $338.53 with a debit card.  If Mr. ******* had not approved the work why did he not take the car with him at his visit around 3:30 - why walk away and leave the car here.  This happened within earshot of another customer - that I have spoken with and we do have video tape of the day since we have cameras in the front office.

The *******s have a vehicle that passed the safety and emissions test, has a safe tie rod, 2 tires on the front and a new third light bulb - we did the work asked and for the price we quoted.  We stand firm on providing good service, quality work and only doing what our customers ask.  I am sorry that there was some miscommunication between Mr and Mrs *******, but we provided the work Mr. ******* agreed to.  

8/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car there in April and June. They gave me a receipt that they gave me a full complete tune-up, and they didn't. My car went out on me Friday, and it cost $1,400 to get it fixed. I had the people who worked on my car save all the parts, and these were all original parts.

Desired Settlement: I'd like them to reimburse me for the amount I spent for my tune-up - either from the April or June visit.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ******* **** - Office Adm Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@yahoo.com At this time it is not possible to give a valid response to this complaint without additional information. The customer did not state which vehicle (we have 5 under this name) and there is no information letting us know what was diagnosed. This could be something completely unrelated to the work we did - for example was this a computer problem, fuel pump, timing chain - there is no information to base an answer on. Once additional information is give and we are clear that this work was done by a licensed repair shop we will offer our response.

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repair Servic On 7/28/15 I went to te place of business to inquiry about a shake my vehicle 2009 Chevy Malibu was experiencing. I was informed that my back rotors needed to be change. I trusted their judgement and proceeded to have my vehicle repaired. The total cost quoted was $375.56 repair order# XXXXXXX. I was told there is still a slight shake due to my front rotors needed to be changed as well. After driving on the highway and coming to a stop my vehicle had the same shake as before the repairs. I called the repair to inform and I received nothing but sarcasm and being laughed at.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I was misled by the shop and the problem with my vehicle was not resolved and deserve a refund of the $375.56.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ******* **** - Office Adm Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@yahoo.com Ms. *** came into our office for the first time on July 28 at 12:26PM stating she had a shake when hitting the brakes. Our tech ***** took the vehicle, which was presented with the donut spare on the right front, for a test drive and determine the problem was related to the brakes. Upon inspection it was found that the front brakes had 4/32 and 7/32 left (2/32 requires replacement) but these pads had been replaced over worn/warped rotors by others, which would cause some vibration or shake to the vehicle. The rear brakes were very bad both the pads (with less than 1/32) and the rotors and the customer was so advised and agreed to the replacement of both. She was taken into the bays and shown both the front wear and the new rear rotors and brakes. On the final test drive there was still some minor vibration but the customer said she could not afford the front repair at the time and was told once that was done the final vibration would be taken care of. She was told both by the service manager, ***** and the front counter personnel, *****, that she would need new pads and rotors on the front. The customer had us replace the donut tire with a used tire as seen on the invoice. She was also advised of the TPS light being on, the MIL light was on indicating some engine issue, the sway bar links are making noise, turn signal switch is faulty and the right outside mirror is broken - she was told all of this at the time. The customer did call back in on July 29th and spoke with ***** who again reiterated that the rear vibration was gone but until she replaced the front pads and rotors there would still be a slight vibration. It was our understanding that the customer would budget for that repair in the near future. The next contact was this case from the BBB. In summation - the customer received what she agreed to and could afford at the time - new rotors and pads on the rear, a used tire for the donut and a recommendation on the completion of the front brakes. She was made completely aware of the additional work that would be needed more than once. Therefore we feel the customer received value for her funds and no refund is warranted. Copies of the work order and invoice has been faxed over.

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 14, 2015 I called Floyd's auto repair to get a quote to have some auto repair work done on my 03 gmc envoy. The lady I spoke with quoted me a price of $650 to have a oil pan gasket replaced and a rear main seal replaced the price was a really good price but because it was low I didn't she quoted me the correct price for both things to be done. The following Monday my fiance called to check and make sure that was the correct price and she quoted him the same thing, so that following Thursday which was February 19th I drove my truck to the shop and dropped it off. My truck was running fine when I lefted it, when my fiance called to check on it Saturday the owner of the shop told him before he do the rear main seal he could possibly save us money by checking to see if he cleaned and unclogged the oil pan screen and put the oil pan gasket on that it would help the oil pressure gauge. When he did that it did not help my oil pressure gauge so my fiance asked him how much did we owe him for the work and he said $808 my fiance then told him that we were only quoted $650 to do the job we asked him to. Apparently the lady that had quoted us the price gave us the wrong price and the work we needed would have cost us $2100. He did say he would work something out with us and he ended up charging us $500, the problem is 2/23/15 after I paid for the work my fiance went to start the truck it started and then shut right off and it kept shutting off then it would not start at all. They told me I needed a new battery this was late in the evening right before they were getting ready to close so we went and bought the battery and my fiance went back the next day to replace the battery it still did not start then they said it was my starter. I ended up having to have my truck towed from there even though it was perfectly fine except for what I needed done when I dropped it off. A starter was put on and my truck still is not running as of 2/26/15 my fiance called the shop and have not received a response

Desired Settlement: I would like for the shop to either refund me my money or come and tow my vehicle back to their shop and restore my vehicle back to the running condition it was in before they did any work on it or repair what they may have done wrong because again I drove my truck into their shop and I should not have had to have it towed away from there and we can't get the owner of the shop to return our phone call so that we can try and resolve this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** - Office Adm Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@yahoo.com At this moment we have the customers vehicle in our repair facility to determine how we can best address this problem. We were always in contact with the customer - they were not ignored and the calls did not go unanswered. We will withhold additional comments until a course of action is decided that will best correct the situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/03/10) */ The issue is not resolved. When they towed my truck in, we called in and they said my motor was gone. The problem that I have is my motor locked up because of what they did not do correctly. We had my truck towed to another shop where they would put in a new motor. They cleaned out my oil pan filter and the mechanic said they were supposed to have primed my oil pump to get the oil circulating back through the engine and if they did not do that it would cause the motor to lock up. He said it shows I have oil in the reservoir but it is not circulating throughout. That, plus the fact that I drove my truck into them with out any knocking noise or having a hard time staying on. I drove it to them for two leaks they were to fix. They did what they did and pulled my truck out and had it parked as if everything was fine when it was not. When I went and paid for the work they did, after I paid them I got my keys and went out and the truck started, knocked really bad, and then shut off. It would not start anymore and they said I needed a new battery. I went and bought a new battery and it still didn't start. I ended up having my truck towed from their establishment. I drove it there but had to have it towed from there. I have not driven my truck since and feel they are responsible for that. My fiance called Saturday and asked to speak to the owner who turned out not to be in. My fiance explained the issue to them and why he was calling and they said to call Monday. We called all day Monday and left messages and he has not returned one phone call. The issue is not resolved. Final Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/03/18) */ We have settled the issues between **** ********** and Floyd's Tire. We have a signed letter stating Ms. ********** is satisfied with the agreement reached and will not pursue the issue in this complaint any further. Should you need a copy of the settlement agreement, please let me know. Thank you ******* **** Office Administrator

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I picked up my truck after it had been inspected, I noticed that the dash had a crack on the driver side where the inspection sticker is. The mechanic that scraped off the old sticker said it was impossible that he broke it. Last year, my son had the shop check out his air conditioner in his Jeep. He discovered that someone had broken a hose connector. They also denied that.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least partial payment for the cost of a new dash.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** - Office Adm Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@yahoo.com This customer has been coming to our facility since 2010 with all but one visit being for state inspections. When we do a state inspection it is our responsibility to remove the old sticker which we do by scraping it off the lower left hand corner of the front windshield with a razor blade attached to an eight inch extension so the technician does NOT have his arm wedged between the dash and the windshield to reach it. If you consider the small size of the sticker and the short period it would take to remove the old sticker, it is not realistic to believe this would cause a crack in the dash. We do not know how this vehicle is housed but it is a 1995 vehicle (20 years old) and if it has been allowed in direct sunlight for part of those years then a reasonable person would expect deterioration and cracking - that is a "normal wear" situation. We do not believe our technician did this, he has stated he did nothing to cause a crack - therefore we do not feel responsible for any financial reimbursement at this time.

1/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2002 KIA Reo December 2, 2014. The check engine light came on 3 days later. I bought a new battery, but it drained a couple of days later. I took it back to Floyd's Tire & Car Care Center and got it back January 5, 2015 and now the radio is damaged. They said they did not do anything to the radio it was the battery's fault. Since I've had the KIA I have taken it back two or three times, but Floyd's Tire keeps saying there is nothing wrong with it. So far I've paid $544 to another repair shop to replace the alternator and ignition coil.

Desired Settlement: I want the radio fixed or replaced. I would also like to be reimbursed the labor charges for replacing the alternator and ignition coil.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** - Office Adm Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@yahoo.com Customer complaint does not match our records - so I will respond with information from our records - supported by documentation. Vehicle came to us on Jan 5, 2015 with a complaint of no start/died/jumped but died and non functioning turn signal. Diagnosis found blown 80 amp fuse (main fuse), the alternator not charging and cylinder #2 showed no spark which would effect starting and required replacement of coil pack. Customer was advised and he and grandmother agreed to work. The turn signal only required securing bulb at no charge. The vehicle was driven off our lot with no additional problems to our knowledge. On January 6 the customer came in very upset stating his radio now did not work and the check engine light was on. The test code of ***** showed the coolant thermostat and the cold temperature had caused light to come on - the code were cleared and the customer was advised if this happened again he would need to replace the thermostat. As for the radio - once it was removed it was discovered a fuse internal to the radio had blown - this has nothing to do with any of the other repairs or problems. In all the customer paid only for the needed alternator and coil pack and fuse which he agreed to and the radio problem was repaired before we were made aware of this complaint and at no charge to the customer as a courtesy. In summary we feel we have preformed professionally and offered a good value to this customer and do not feel he is entitled to a refund for parts he agreed was needed. Documentation FAXed in.

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid 400 dollars for work involving a timing and serpentine belt. Now I have a bad tensioner and pulley that should have been replaced. I paid to have my timing and serpentine belt done. After the work was done the belts made a very loud sound like a supercharger noise would make. I took it back and was told it had to be worn in. I ended up taken it back two more times and was finally told they put a cheap belt in there. So I paid 400.00 for a cheap product that you can hear a block down the road. Now a noise is coming when I push in my clutch. To find out its the timing tensioner and pulley that according to other shops should have been replaced along with the belts. Of course they now want 390.00 to fix. They even had the nerve to charge me 39.99 just to look at the problem. I feel this shop is just looking to make a quick buck and I am very displeased and upset.

Desired Settlement: I want the work done right, and or a refund for my troubles.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@yahoo.com Mr. ******* has failed to give you all the pertinent information on the 2008 Chevrolet Aveo. Yes we did install a timing belt and serpentine belt on this vehicle in April 2012 at 53438 miles. We did not diagnose this as the problem - the work was done specifically at the customer's request. There are no record of Mr. ******* returning with any complaint on the squeak; however he did come in on July 19, 2012 for an emission inspection and again on July 18, 2013 for a safety and emission. At no time on these visits were there any mention of belt noise. There now is 76421 miles on this vehicle - some 23000 addition miles and some 27 months later it is possible that the tensioner and pulley have worn and for us to determine this we need to do an inspection of the timing components which requires removal of the front cover. We do not provide this labor at no charge: however when the customer authorizes us to do a recommended repair we waive the diagnosis charge. Under these circumstances we do not feel Mr. ******* is entitled to any refund on the diagnosis or repair.

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Floyd's Tire & Car Care Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)