This business is not BBB accredited.

Bates Automotive & Restoration Center Inc

Phone: (636) 638-1111 Fax: (636) 638-1113 1228 N Truman Blvd, Crystal City, MO 63019


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bates Automotive & Restoration Center Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bates Automotive & Restoration Center Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 08, 2010 Business started: 09/01/2008 Business started locally: 09/01/2008 Business incorporated 09/12/2008 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Bates, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Bates, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1228 N Truman Blvd

    Crystal City, MO 63019 (636) 638-1111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my **** **** ******** had antifreeze leaking on my passenger floor board and no heat-couple people said it was most likely heater core-my neighbor who is a mechanic said he would clamp the hose off to stop the leakage until I could afford the repair-2 weeks later I took it to bates and told them of the problems-3 days later *** ******** called and said I could head that way- when I get there he asked " is there a reason you wanted the heater core changed, it looks good' I was at a loss for words - you are the mechanic if nothing was wrong why did you replace it? he said to bring it back the following week and hed look at it, may need to reset with a code- I paid 565.00- for something that didn't need to be done! and I still had no heat-the next day I had antifreeze all in the floor board again- took it back the next mon-he said it was a busted line-why he didn't find this while he had the jeep for 3 days? then he tells me I had to order the part then he says he will-a week later I take it in for the new hose-96.50$ more and I still have no heat-now they say it may be the bland door?? have to take dash apart again- which means another 400-500$ shouldn't they have checked all parts related to heat when they had it taken apart? I am so disgusted with this shop! I feel like they took my money and didn't fix the problem! I want a refund! or fix the problem -close to 700.00$ later still no heat and the dash wasn't put back properly and now the glove box wont close he has it tied together-he shouldn't have broken that- it wasn't tied up when I took it to them

Desired Settlement: a refund or fix the heat!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/17) */ The customer was scheduled on a wednesday for the repair,then no called or showed.She showed up the following thursday wanted it done asap.We told her we would work it in (this is an 8hr job,complete dash has to be removed) Someone had disconnected heater hoses prior to bring into shop.She did not want it checked,just replace heater core.We replaced core and connected lines.No leaks.Also the glove box was already broke!!! Had we broke it,we would have fixed it! She would call anywhere from 2-7 times a day wanting it done and yelling "it shouldn't take that long" and threating to call local news channels on us for taking too long.Again this is an 8hr job we were "working in" among other jobs already there,which they had appointments for.Had she brought her's in the week before as scheduled,it would have been on time. We run on appointments first,drop offs second. She returned a few days later with leak in floor.We pressure tested and found metal lines from firewall to core has a pin hole in it.these lines DO NOT get removed with heater core,but to help the customer,we covered the labor if she would pay for the parts.After repairs pressure tested again and found no leaks.During checking after repairs found there is warm air from vents but not hot.Suspect the blend door actuator is not fully going to the hot position.We had to get the heater core fixed before able to tell what else is wrong. We tried explaining this to her but all she did was yell,scream and cry. Also tried to show her the old parts and she didn't want to see them either. We are in business to repair cars,not restore them (fix everything that is broke for one price) We try to work with our customers and make things right but she has to understand both sides of how it works. We feel we went above and beyond to help Ms. during this event and still tried to help the last time in but there seems to be no reasoning with her. We are still willing to try and make this right


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bates Automotive & Restoration Center Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)