BBB Accredited Business since

Al's Automotive & Tire

Phone: (636) 343-1972 Fax: (636) 305-3408 1643 S Old Highway 141, Fenton, MO 63026 http://www.alsautoandtire.com ! There is an alert on Al's Automotive & Tire !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Al's Automotive & Tire meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Al's Automotive & Tire
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1981 in MO Business started locally: 01/01/1981
Business Management
Mr. James Berberich, Co-owner Ms. Diane Berberich, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Berberich, Co-owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto - Emissions Testing Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Repair Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Fr & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services - Oil & Lube Starters - Engine Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service


Additional Locations

  • 1643 S Old Highway 141

    Fenton, MO 63026 (636) 343-1972

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Al's Automotive in Fenton, Missouri. They overcharged me (in my opinion) for a starter and battery they replaced; but as I'd already told them to go ahead and make the repairs, I paid the bill. When I drove away in my 'repaired' vehicle, I noticed that the gas gauge needle was BELOW the little stopper peg next to the "E" on the fuel gauge. As if the needle had gone all the way around, over the top, and was now stuck below the peg. I now have no way of knowing how much fuel is in my car. It was not like that when it was taken in to Al's Automotive. I went back and told them about it, and they said I'd have to get it fixed on my own as they have no way of knowing if it was like that before it was brought to their shop. Even though *****, one of their mechanics, told me to my face that it most likely happened when they were working on it. I can assure you it wasn't like that before it was taken in to their shop. Product_Or_Service: vehicle repair Order_Number: XXXXXXX Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: The defect in mechanics was caused while in their care, they should be responsible for repairing the issue to my satisfaction. It's called good customer service; we caused it, we'll fix it. Even if it's something they claim "I don't know how it could have happened," (which they said to me) I can again assure you that the gas needle worked properly before the vehicle was in their care.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/31) */ The customer had his 1998 Malibu towed to us with a no start condition. Our testing revealed a bad battery and a failed starter. Contrary to the claim stated by the customer that he was overcharged; he was in fact offered replacement parts at a lower price per his request. He had to approve any repair before our work took place and he did. Since the customer battery was in an inoperative state upon arrival, we could not verify the claim that the stepper motor controlling his fuel gage had not failed prior to our service. Again, what the customer did not accurately state was that *****, my ASE Certified Master Technician, stated was that the stepper motor performs a gage sweep every time it has proper power applied which occurs when the ignition key is turned on. What the customer was also told by ***** was that stepper motors do not fail because they have proper voltage applied but because they wear out and the condition can occur without warning. It is not "caused", as the customer claims, because he had a new battery installed and a starter replaced. It is not caused, it wears out. Other customers have experienced this part failure and had us replace their stepper motor. It is a documented failure item and it is serviceable. We stand behind our work and take responsibility if we cause a problem. We have an A+ rating with the BBB and an 100% approval rating with AAA. We would not earn that standard of quality service if we truly acted as this customer claims. We offered to help the customer get the motor repaired in a way that would save him money, but that's when he left and then filed a complaint. Also, we have been recording the vulgar phone calls that have been made about this service and will turn those over to the Attorney General. It is sad that people resort to such tactics.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Al's Automotive & Tire
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)