This business is not BBB accredited.

Rent to Own Auto Centers LP

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 737-5200 View Additional Phone Numbers 2725 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Saint Charles, MO 63303 http://www.rtoautocenters.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Rent to Own Auto Centers LP include:

  • 24 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Rent to Own Auto Centers LP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 22, 2011 Business started: 04/01/2011 Business started locally: 04/01/2011 Business incorporated 05/27/2011 in MO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Randy Blount, General Manager & Partner Janet Moderhack, Accountant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Blount, General Manager & Partner
Customer Contact: Janet Moderhack, Accountant
Business Category

Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Dealers - Used Cars


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1204 Jeffco Blvd

    Arnold, MO 63010 (314) 561-5400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2725 Veterans Memorial Pkwy

    Saint Charles, MO 63303 (314) 737-5200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9933 Watson Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63126 (314) 561-5430

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 08-11-16 I purchased a 2013 Ford Fusion from this company. I put $1800 down, with payments of $367.82 every two weeks and it came with a warranty covering the transmission, engine and I was not to drive over 50,000 in 3 years or 2500 miles a month. I went over this mileage since I went over $209. I also have a problem with the front end on the driver's side. I took it back to them they claim there is nothing wrong with the car. The check engine light is on and the car died on me on 08-30-16. It seems to be a problem with the transmission. I called them on 08-31-16 because I took the car to them to repair. They said they will not give me my car, will not exchange the car and will not refund me. They claim I abused their car.

Desired Settlement: I would like all of my money back. The down payment, the two monthly payments I made and the overage amount for the mileage.

Business Response:

Ms. ***** entered into a rental contract on 8-11-16.  A three year or 50,000 warranty on the engine, transmission and drive train is included in our program.  Ms. ***** upgraded her mileage program to 25,000 per year or 2,083 per month.  Our standard mileage program is 20,000 per year.  We suggest that our customers come in after 30 days and we will run their miles to be sure they are in the proper mileage tier.  When Ms ***** came in on 8-26-16 she had driven 2,396 miles from 8-11-16 - 08-26-16.  If this was normal driving then she would drive approximately 47,920 miles per year.  Our highest mileage tier is 30,000 and we explain that our program does not work for everyone if they do a lot of driving.  The contract states that excess miles are charged at .20/mile.  Ms. ***** paid $206.30 for the excess miles driven.

Ms. ***** has brought the vehicle in two or three times stating there was a loud noise on right front tire.  My service manager and service technicians test drove the vehicle with the customer and could not recreate the noise.  My Service Mgr offered to drive vehicle for a day and try to hear the noise and Ms. ***** declined this offer. 

On 8-30-16 we received a call from Ms. ***** stating the car was overheated.  Rent To Own Auto Centers had the vehicle towed to our shop.  See attachment for the result of the diagnostic test that was performed.

Due to the diagnostic results, Ms. ***** was negligent with the vehicle and Rent To Own Auto Centers has taken the car back therefore voiding her contract.  No refunds will be given.

 

7/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rent a Mazda 6 April 8th 2016 ,and put $1900 down. As of today the vehicle has Bern turned off at least six times. This most recent issue took place 7/7/2016. I spoke with Harold on 7/6/2016 at 4:30pm,and proceeded to make a payment of $250 that was due on biweekly payment. Was asked how much payment I was making and informed him of the above stated amount. Shortly after 5p.m. received voicemail stating that the debit card I used and did not process payment. Was told that they would retry. When I attempted to call and speak with someone they were closed. I check my account and the funds where available. Left home around 6:30am to report to work the next morning with car starting up fine. Called debit card to insure payment was available for processing and was notified that card had been ran back to back by company and several dollars were charged for processing which left 246.59 in my account. I went TO my car at break at 0900 and it would not start. At 9:06 am I called and spoke with Judy regarding payment. I informed her of payment attempted to be ran several times for an amount more than the scheduled payment amount. I was told that because it was the 6th day I was charged a $10 late fee. I informed her that I previously attempted to make payment with Harold the previous business day and was not considered late. My original payment was due 7/1/16 and am allowed a Grace up until the sixth day. She then stated because it is now 7/7/2016 an additional $10 is due. I informed her that my card could be charged $246.00 and I would be able to deposit the $14 once I was able to break and deposit fund are utilize a family members card to pay this amount. She agreed and my card was processed and shortly after I went outside to check 0930), and it was restored. I spoke with a family member and had them call using their debit card to make a payment while I was at work. I have thecontact information and account information for him to do so. I received a call shortly after 11:30am from my brother stating that they refused to accept payment saying that the car had been turned back off for non insurance lapsed/payment. I walked out of my employment and sure enough the car was turned back off. At this point I was very upset and couldn't understand why they were doing this. I called back and a **** answered the phone which was very rude and made me feel like (expletive removed), which I have reported his behaviors with customers on several occasions within the short period of time I had the. He placed me on whole when I asked to speak with someone else and conveniently the call was dropped. I called back and spoke with ****** which stated that they had received a call from my insurance company saying I had no insurance. I informed her that I had just paid my insurance an had proof of payment. She stated that nothing could be done until I had insurance company contact them with updated insurance. I call Safe auto insurance and spoke with a ****** which pulled my active full coverage insurance and completed a three way call to car dealer. I have her the contact person name as ****** which requested updated insurance. ****** from Safe auto informed ****** from car dealer that I was on the call and verified that my insurance had not lapsed, she also voiced her concern to why the car dealer informed me that they were contacted by Safe auto alerting them of me not having insurance when I have been insured with them since May. Safe auto representative also stated that they do not call lenders directly to inform of any lapsed insurance by phone and to please not market them to their customers as doing such. Insurance rep obtained Facebook number and email address from ****** with car dealer (******@rtoautocenter.com) and informed her that she would be faxing and emailing same current insurance. ****** from car dealer assured her that it would be turned once info on insurance was received and it was about 30 minutes later. I went on about my day and left work at/or around 4:50pm. I had to stop off at the Galleria to return and item and returned to car around 5:30. I got in the car and vehicle was turned back off. I COULDN'T believe this was happening. I attempted to call Car dealer but they were closed. I had to sit on the lot for overtime 2 hours waiting for a family member to pick me up. I don't know what else to do at this point. I did everything they asked me to do today and still was stranded far from home on a parking lot. Please help me. They have shown to have very bad business practices and something needs to be done.

Desired Settlement: Why was the vehicle turned off three times in ONE day first payment was made then proof of insurance. I've had to inconvenience and pay money for transportation home because of the situation. Rent to own auto centers need some type of discipline that does not put the consumer in risky and possibly unsafe situations.

Business Response:

Ms. ********* came into Rent To Own Auto Centers on April 8, 2016 and entered into a rental agreement.  At the time of contract Ms. ********* paid a total of $1,100.00 ($850 for the origination fee and her first bi-weekly payment of $250.  As of today, the vehicle has been disabled three (3) times for late payment and approximately three (3) times for insurance issues.  Our program is explained to our customers in detail prior to getting into our program and they are provided documentation that they have to initial and sign in writing.  We offer a five (5) day grace period and on day six (6) the vehicle is disabled until the full payment and late fee is paid.  Our Contract Disclosure details (item #3) details the late payment policy which is explained and initialed by each customer prior to signing the contract.  It is reviewed again when the contract documentation is signed.  Our late fee is $10.00.  Insurance is required at all times with an acceptable carrier.  Ms. ********* has changed insurance carriers three times since April 8, 2016 and in one case Rent To Own was not notified of the change.  On July 7, 2016 Safe Auto notified us that the insurance had lapsed.  Since Rent To Own is the owner of the vehicle we are notified on insurance issues.  Safe Auto had called is back and communicated they had made an error and on a three way call between Safe Auto, Rent To Own Auto and Ms. *********. 

Our customers are responsible to make payments in a timely manner with a debit/credit card, cash or money order.  At the time of contract each customer is given a payment schedule detailing all payment due dates and amount.  If a debit/credit card is declined it is their responsibility to correct and issues and call within our posted business hours to have payment processed.  Rent To Own Auto Centers does not have any authority to correct debit/credit card issues on behalf of a customers account.

Rent To Own Auto Centers did not refuse to accept payment from Ms. *********'s brother. 

We invite Ms ********* to come into our location and we would be happy answer any questions or clear up any confusion on our program. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

I purchased a 2003 Toyota Tundra June 27, 2016 for $12, 800 with $700 down and it came with a powertrain warranty.

Later that day I was going over the paperwork and saw the price was $38,000 with monthly payments of $740 for 48 months. I returned the next morning for someone to correct the amounts I was told verses what is on the paperwork. The representative said it was my vehicle and if I did not make the payment it would be repossessed. I asked for a refund and was told you do not give refunds.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the Tundra and get my deposit back.

Business Response:

Tell us why here...Mr. ****** visited our Arnold location and our auto rental program was explained to him.  Our program is a 48 month rental program  with 104 payments and if all payments are made the title is given to the rental customer.  Our payments are bi-weekly and there is a non-refundable origination fee associated with each vehicle.  He selected a 2003 Tundra that had a $600 origination fee and a bi-weekly payment of $270.00.  Our customers have an option to add RTO Insurance  liability and comp/collision insurance into his contract.  Mr. ****** chose to add his insurance to his contract and this brought his bi-weekly payment to $364.46.  When taking our insurance there is a one-time binding fee of $101.30.  Prior to signing our rental agreement, Mr, ****** was presented a written order with all information regarding his payments and it is noted that the Binding fee and Origination fee are "non-refundable."    The total amount due from Mr ****** at contract was $1,065.76 - he paid $700.00 and signed a promissory note in the amount of $365.76 which is due on 7-27-16.

Mr. ****** had to sign accepting the insurance and the amounts prior to the rental agreement being generated.  Our rental agreement is generated and reviewed with Mr. ****** - Mr ****** was asked to initial various parts of the rental agreement and sign all paperwork.

Our customers are given several opportunities to ask questions if they have any with regard to the documents signed or our program. 

 

The documents signed are correct and unfortunately there will be no refunds.  Each customer is given a  payment schedule for the full term.  Our program allows a five (5) day grace period and on day six (6) the vehicle would be disabled until the full payment and the $10.00 late fee is paid in full.  Once again this is all documented in the paperwork given to our customers. 

 

Mr. ****** can return the vehicle at any time and his obligation to make future payments cease.

 

2/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September 23, 2015 I got a car from this business and paid on it for four months. They took the car away from me about two weeks ago claiming that I was tampering with the GPS. Someone else had the car before they sold it to me and I did not tamper with the GPS. I did have the oil changed in it.

Desired Settlement: I would like this business to refund my four monthly payments. I feel like this company is committing fraud.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rtoautocenters.com Ms ******** rented a vehicle from us. Each one of our vehicles has a GPS unit and this is disclosed to the cutomer when delivering the vehicle and signing the contract. The unit is tested to be sure the signal is reaching the unit. We had tried to contact Ms ******** several time to alert her that there may be something wrong the GPS. Ms ******** came into our location and we did an oil change and inspected the GPS unit. It was discovered that the tie wire holding the GPS was pulled and the power source and antenna was disconnected. Tampering with the unit is prohibited and Rent To Own as the right to repossess the vehicle if the GPS units have been tampered with or disconnected. There will be no refund to Ms. ********.

2/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a truck from this dealership in November 2015. I pay so much money a week, $270. I thought my payments would be monthly and I was not notified I would have to pay weekly. I have my own auto insurance, *****, and then I was told by the dealership that I could not use *****. I have to use their insurance and they cut my car off because their is no grace period. I gave them my credit card to make an insurance payment and I guess because of the holiday they did not receive payment on due date and the shut my car off.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to work with me on payments or to just give me my money back. If they cannot work with me on payments I would like them to work with me on a different vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rtoautocenters.com Ms ***** did enter into a rental agreement with Rent To Own Auto Centers. Our rental agreement clearly states that the payments are due bi-weekly. Each customer is provided a list of insurance companies that are non-acceptable in our program. ***** is a company on the list and will not write policies for vehicles in our program. There are several companies that our customers can use including our own insurance. We never tell a customer that they must use a certain company. Ms ***** elected to secure auto insurance with Acceptance Ins and is reponsible to make her payments to Acceptance. If a customer's insurance lapses for any reason their vehicle is disabled until we receive a current proof of insurance. We do offer a give (5) day grace period with no penalty. The customer initials that they understand that if payment is not paid on day six (6) the vehicle will be disabled until the full payment and the $10 late fee is received. We do not keep credit card information on file, our customers call in their payments and if the credit card transaction processes without denial the payment is posted to our customers account. Our customers can return their vehicle at any time and their bi-weekly payments stop.

2/3/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was purchasing a car from the above referenced company for over a year, there were several times I fail behind two payments but always made arrangements to bring the balance to zero. In December of 2015 they repossed my car and I immediately call to find out what I needed to do the representative of the company advised me of the amount I would need to pay and I advised her I would be pulling the funds from 401k and would be here on the week of January 11. The representative contacting the corporate office and advised the representative that was fine. When I called to pay the amount they stated I owed ,I was informed my car had been put back in inventory and I could pay what I owed on the old car, and pay to get on a new car. The company made an agreement with me and then do not do what they stated they would. They basically wanted me to pay double for the car to get it back, after they had already made other arrangements with me. Thank you Product_Or_Service: Car

Desired Settlement: I want my car back as ther stated they would do , they made an agreement and didn't even inform me of anything after we spoke and agreed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rtoautocenters.com Ms ****** entered into a contract to rent to own a vehicle with us. Per the contract, the customer agrees to make bi-weekly payments. A five (5) day grace period is allowed without penalty. On day sic (6) there is a $10 late fee and the vehicle is disabled until the full payment and the late fee is paid. Unfortunately, we try to work with our customers but the only formal and binding agreement is our signed contract. Our Office Manager was able to work with our corporate office on several occasions with regard to Ms ****** but it the issues kept repeating themselves. It was a corporate decision to recover the vehicle and unfortunately they will not hold a car for a customer to re-affirm for more tha 3 - 5 days. Once a vehicle is returned to our inventory, if the customer chooses to come back into our program they would have to sign a new contract and pay all monies due on the prior contract. Ms ****** also had a repair bill approximately $8xx.00 from July, 2015 that is still outstanding. Ms. ****** kept making promises to pay but never did pay the bill. Once again the only formal agreement is the contract and it clearly states that Rent To Own Auto Centers can recover the vehicle due to non-payment.

12/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a phone call from Rent to Own Auto Centers on 12/15/15. The representative left a message on my machine stating that there was a problem with my GPS system in the car and I need to contact them so I can get the GPS system fixed as soon as possible or may car might shut down, and they will not want me stranded for the holiday season. I returned the phone call as soon as I received the message so I could try to set up a date and time to bring in the car to get the issue with the GPS fixed. I would from 8am-430pm in Fenton Missouri and Rent to own auto centers business hours are 9a-5pm in St. Charles Missouri. I expressed this information to the rep and the first suggestion that he gave me was to drop the car off in the lot and leave the keys in the ignition and they would do the same once they close so I can pick the car back up. I declined that because if anything were to happen to the car it was my insurance premium that would rise. I also stated I have to get my children to school and make it to work on time and he told me that was a personal problem. I was told this would take 30 minutes to complete so I went to rto on 12/16/15 @ 830a and did not leave there until 1030a after I told them I had some place to be at 930a. One of the workers told me to stop talking because they would put me to the back of the list if I continued to complained about being inconvenienced. I was spoken to in a very rude matter and I was being held up on purpose. I asked if my car was to be shut down due to issues with their GPS would I be compensated in any way, they told me "no" and the roadside assistance that is covered under the plan would not help me also. Product_Or_Service: toyota highlander

Desired Settlement: I feel like I should be credited from Rent to own auto centers because of the inconvenience. I missed a very important appointment because of all the pettiness that was going on, on their behalf. I would also like an apology for the way I was treated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rtoautocenters.com Ms **** arrived in our ST Charles location at 8:45am. Our tech looked at the car and had to figure out why the unit was dead. Once they found the issue the unit was replaced and a new unit installed. Unfortunatley, it took longer than 30 miuntes but this is out of our control. When any of our vehicles are brought in we inspect the car and calculate miles. It was discovered that she was over in her alloted miles and her full payment was 14 days late. We allow a 5 day grace period and she was well over this timeframe. When issues were discussed with her she did not listen and kept insisting that we inconvenienced her. Typically, until full payment is received the vehicle would be disabled until we receive full payment. The manager authorized to let her leave with the understanding she would make the balance of her payment by noon. Ms. **** was addressed in a professional manner. She sat in our showroom speaking to someone on her cell phone in a louder than normal voice complaining about the level of customer service and inconvenience that Rent To Own was causing. Unfortunately, we do not issue credits due to service taking longer that estimated.

8/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 8, 2015, I got a 2008 Ford Focus from this business. I made a $500 down payment on this vehicle. I am having a lot of problems with the vehicle and I have only had it for six days. There is a real bad shake, bad rotors (groove in front rotor), tie rod is going out and the car jerks. I was wanting a safe and working vehicle for my pregnant fiance. The business is not willing to assist with repairs. They do not even provide a spare tire. The company advertises that there is a 50,000 mile warranty with every vehicle. I pay $376 every two weeks and the car is not safe to drive. They are telling me that if I want a different car I have to make another $500.00 down payment. They are advertising that they are A+ BBB rated.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to take the vehicle back and return my $500.00 down payment. They can keep the first payment and insurance ($500.00) just so I can get a vehicle elsewhere.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Acct Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rtoautocenters.com Mr **** brought the vehicle in and our service department drove the vehicle two times. Our Service Manager and Mr **** took the vehicle for a test drive together. They were able to get to 70mph with no shaking. The second time was with a service tech and they did notice a slight vibration and were going to balance the tires. Unfortunately, Mr. **** became agressive towards our security staff and was escorted from the premises. In May the tie rods were inspected and were in good shape. Rent To Own does offer a three year or 50,000 warranty on three items 1) engine, 2)transmission and 3)drive train. If Mr. **** would like to return his car and get another vehicle he would have to sign a new contract and pay the new origination fee and bi-weekly payment. Unfortunately, we do not give refunds.

7/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rent to own a car in april paid s down payment of $1600.00 and sign a contract that my payment wwould be $395.00 every two weeks . The reason I did this is because of my credit right now. I Explain that I get pay on the 5 and 20th of each month and so my payment will be around day late, I was told I have 5 day grace and then a late charge will be added. I was always 11 days late and paid tpaid the late fees. I was ask to stop by the shop because something was wrong with car tthey told me the visit would be 30 min I was 3hours late for work and they wowould not tell me what they did. I found out they put a GPS on the car the next 2week they shut the car off on day 8. I paid them in July I was late I call to make my payment I was told I had to pay both payment even though I was not in my grace time I did not have $850 so that night they came and repo the car during the night. I call and they wouldn't even take the full payment they said we just want to keep the car please bring our key . I ask about my down payment they said sorry. Product_Or_Service: Csr

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my down payment. I would also like for them to stop taking advantage of poor people. I would have paid $47000.00 for the car at the end of that contract not right.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Acct Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rtoautocenters.com Ms ***** ****** leased a vehicle from our company on 4-13-15. Our program is very clear and the customer signs a contract, as well as addendums with regard to our program. Our payments are bi-weekly and each customer is given a payment schedule. We offer a five (5) day grace period with not penalty; however, on day 6 the vehicle is disabled until the full payment and $10 late fee is received. Each of our vehicles is equipped with a GPS unit and all customers are made aware of this by signing the GPS agreement. Apparently, the GPS unit on this vehicle was not working so we asked the customer to bring the vehicle in to check the unit. At the time the car was picked up Ms. ****** did owe two payments and a late fee$ 10 totaling $800.44. Our contract also states that we can repossess the car for non-payment. Our origination fees/down payment are not refundable per our contract.

5/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a vehicle from Rent to Own about mid March of this year. It is not only May the 7 and the vehicle has stopped working. Three days after I purchased the car I called in with a complaint about the vehicle losing power while driving and was told if continued call back have the car towed in. Of course the car worked the next day, so I didn't call in. During the entire month of April, I had no complaints with the car. May 1 my engine temp light continued to come on and off so I put anti- freeze in the car. The light stayed off until May 5 and the car started to smoke and shut completely off. I had the car towed to my home because the business was closed for the day. Upon the following day I call Rent to Own with my concerns and they just brushed me off. The answer was always if it not the engine or transmission we do nothing about it. I was then told I drove the car to much, not even asked how many miles were on the car. They were jus very rude about the situation. I've only had the car for a month and a few days. These problems should not occur this soon, unless the car was bad from the start, and they masked the issues very well. Product_Or_Service: Dodge Magnum

Desired Settlement: I don't want to be responsible for the issues with the car. I'm returning the vehicle and I don't want to be penalized for anything.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/05/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rtoautocenters.com The customer had the vehicle towed to our service department Our Service Manager, **** ******* spoke with Ms ***** with regard to the issues with the vehicle after he had an opportunity to take a look at the vehicle. It has been determined that Rent To Own will replace the engine due to the interanl damage from overheating at no cost to the customer. Ms. ***** was satisfied with the determination and was going to remove her complaint with the BBB. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) All I wanted was someone to look at the vehicle before accusing me and the company did that and beyond.

3/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: re-po charged on returned vehicle that had mechanical problems I purchased a jaguar from the dealer paid 260 every two weeks roof was coming apart had pins to hold roof together door panels was of track was told they could repair but I would have to cover the price do to them they have to be ordered because they were expensive parts for jaguar... I then called manager to see if I could get another vehicle was told i needed another down payment..why? I then called and stated I would return vehicle or they can pickup.. they picked vehicle up...I called two weeks later to see if I could get another vehicle they said I had to pay for repo and my payment 480.00 but my payment was due the day you picked it up I pay in advance right...? and you didn't say I was going to be charges a repo charge if you came out. I could have dropped the car off. This was last summer i tried last week to get another car told i had a repo charge.. I had three cars from rent to own always paid on time this is horrible and cruel way to treat customers...I should not have to pay a repo.. why and you said it was no problem to pick up the damaged car you gave me a jaguar with pins holding ceiling up door panels falling apart could not fasten seat belt and I was responsible I was a good customer look up my history...thanks

Desired Settlement: just would like repo charges taken off you offered to pick the vehicle up if I had no ride back and if I pay in advance why is payment due if I returned the vehicle in a timely manor. I would love to continue to be a customer if disputes can be settled...

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rtoautocenters.com Rent To Own Auto Centers incurs costs to retrieve our vehicles when a customer want us to pick it up. Our repo fee covers these costs. I am not sure who Ms. ****** spoke with but typically we encourage our customers to bring the car in to avoid the repo fee. Unfortunately, we will not be able to remove these charges from the account.

3/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wasn't able to use the car from 4pm Saturday-9am Monday due to them not cutting the car back on after payment was made. The car payment was 2 days outside of the grace period so it was off. Made the payment on 2/20 around 4pm and didn't need to use the car again until 4pm Saturday. We assumed that it would be on, but guess it "our" fault for not checking. It wasn't on and they close at 3pm on Saturday so we couldn't use the car until they reopened on Monday at 9am. I asked if we could be given 1 day within the grace period as a courtesy and was told that I should've called before 3pm! I explained that we didn't need to use it until 4pm by a rep. I asked to speak w/ a manager (*****, who also accepted the payment and we have the receipt to reflect it) and she pretty much said the same thing in addition to the fact that we shouldn't have let it fall outside of the grace period and it never would've turned off. I understand that and I understand that when you don't pay it can be cut off but when you DO pay and DONT have service some type of courtesy should be offered. To not pay AND not have service makes sense, but to pay and STILL not have service does not make sense. She offered apologies and said she would reach out to corporate but I think this is an unfair practice and the consumer should be given some sort of courtesy for not having full use of the vehicle that we're paying for. She also offered to let us bring the car in at our convenience to make sure the satellite signal is working on the car but that doesn't make us whole. I don't think we are asking for much as it put a damper on my husband and I's plans this weekend. We had separate activities to attend to and it was a struggle to be reduced to one car and have to be a burden to others. Other than this we haven't had a problem with the service at this company.

Desired Settlement: We would either like an additional 1-2 days be added to the grace period just one time or deduct $52.14 from our next payment for the 2 days we weren't able to drive the car. This amount was based on our payment of $365 divided by 14 days which is $26.07, multiplied by 2. We just want to be made whole.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Acct Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rtoautocenters.com Our company extendes the five (5) day grace period to all customers. Unfortunately, we cannot grant any additional days or deductions for these types of isolated situations. As we communicated to Ms. ******** who is not on our contract, payments made on the due date or withing the grace period will not be disabled and therefore customers will have full use of their vehicle. The devices can be affected by weather, and various other factors that can interfere with the signal when enabling of the vehicle. I suggested that perhaps the car should be brought in to see if the device is functioning properly.

2/18/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from their watson rd office on Thursday 2/6/2015. The price and down payment kept changing. I was first told that the auto was part of the 500.00 group. After arriving at watson rd, they informed me that it was part of the 1000.oo group of cars. Finally they agreed to 750.00 plus 250.00 for insurance. Alas, I had only 780.00 with me as originally I was told 500.00. Rent to own really misrepresents prices and amounts in a bait and switch way. I was told they needed 246 more dollars as 1/2 of my first months payment. This is not advertised at all. I arranged to bring the amount the next day. Unfortunately my mother had a stroke that evening, I called them at 5:15 the next evening to find them closed. I called the following morning saturday 2\7 as I learned that the auto I purchased had been shut down. I informed them that the bank transfer would not be approved until Monday and offered to bring the car back to them until I had the cash, they responded by telling me to bring the other funds in on Monday and shortly turned my auto back on. Monday morning I reported to school then left early to take care of my funding with rent to own autos. After leaving the bank, I found my car again turned off. When I called to check, I was treated like a second class citizen, they made accusations and threats. I sat in below freezing temperature for 1.5 hour waiting for them to turn the car on. When I called again they were really ****** and accused me of lying, they claimed the car had been on for an hour, but I assure you I had tried the car every 5 or 10 minutes. Finally after arriving to the St. Charles location, I was agin treated like a common criminal. With this I decided that I did not want to be in business with such an outfit and I returned the car. Incredibly, they still demanded the 246.00! I laughed and asked them to return my 780.00 applied on Thursday and they refused. Now I am out even the little down payment I might have used elsewhere. Product_Or_Service: auto

Desired Settlement: I am willing to settle for at least 1/2 of my down paymentdown payment 780.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Acct Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rtoautocenters.com Ms. ***** rented a vehicle in our Crestwood location on 2-5-15. Our Crestwood location had a special sale from 1-29-15 - 2-4-15. The vehicle Ms. ***** rented was no longer on sale; however we honored the $600 origination fee. Our program was explained to Ms. *****, $600 origination fee, $260 bi-weekly payment plus insurance in order to get into our program. She said that she had $780.00. We were able to write her a promissory note in the amount of $246.55 representing the difference between the total monies due at contract and the $780 monies that she had. Ms. ***** signed a promissory note that would be payable on 2-6-15 in the amount of $246.55. She was told that if this amount was not paid the our corporate office would disable the vehicle until paid in full. Our locationis open until 7:00pm on Fridays and we never received payment from Ms. *****. On Saturday, 2-7-15 the vehicle was disabled and we tried to contact Ms. ***** at the phone number she gave us. Her phone would not allow us to leave a message. She did call us back and spoke with *** ***** her salesman. She told *** she could pay on Monday 2-9-15. Our corporate office had located the vehicle at ***** **** ******* We received approval allowing us to extend the due date to 2-9-15 by 9:30am. On Monday 2-9-15 when the payment was not received our corporate office once again disabled the vehicle. Ms. ***** told our office manager in Crestwood that she would pay the note in our St Charles location Monday afternoon, so once again our corporate office enabled the vehicle. Ms. ***** arrived in our St Charles office somewhere between 1:30pm and 3:00pm stating that she wanted to return the vehicle. Our program allows the customer to return the vehicle anytime, however there are no refunds. We took the keys, inspected the vehicle and asked her, not demanded, if she was going to pay the promissory note. She said "no" that she wants a refund. We explained that she did not pay all the monies that were due, so there would not be any refund.

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repair stalled for over a week. Incomplete repair to vehicle. Rto auto center sent me to sago e and m auto center to get repair done. I dropped the vehicle off on the 20th of October after making an appt to take car in on the 13th of October because sago e and m didn't have time to check out the vehicle. I dropped the vehicle off and then waited for them to call and say it was done and I could pick it up but no phone call was received so I called on Thursday the 23rd of October to find that rto auto center had not returned e and M's phone call to authorize repairs to the vehicle. I then had to go to rto auto center and speak to **** the manager their. The manager then called e and m auto center to get an estimate and he told me he would call me. I then called back on Friday the 24th of October to find out that **** was waiting on corporate to authorize the repairs to the vehicle and **** then said he would call me and let me know that the vehicle was ready to be fixed. I never received the phone call from ****. I then received a phone call on Monday the 27th of October saying that if I didn't make my payment on the vehicle that they would disable the vehicle till I made the payment. I received this phone call after 3 on Monday the 27th **** left a voicemail cause I can't answer my phone at work. I then called him back and left **** a voicemail saying that they could disable the vehicle cause it's still at the shop that they sent it to. I then went to e and m auto center to retrieve my belongings from the vehicle on Tuesday the 28th then I went to rto auto center and talked to a lady named **** a. ******* she said that she understood and would have **** call me and I asked her to have corporate call me and she said she would but I never received that phone call I never received a phone call from **** either. So I asked my girlfriend ***** to call and get corporates number so she called and spoke to **** that would not give her the number and was very ignorant to her on the phone. So when I spoke to ***** she told me **** would call me between 9 and 10 on the 30th of October. I got up at 9 on the 30th and waited for his phone call which he did call but refused to give me corporates number so I asked for his boss's number to which I called and he has not returned my call. But all in all the vehicle has had some repairs done but the main problem hasn't been fixed it needs a new heater core put in and he's saying that it doesn't need it. But **** told me he would let me know when the repairs were authorized and **** didn't do that.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money I put down on the vehicle refunded so I can go get a vehicle that is in good running condition. I put down 750.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rtoautocenters.com The vehicle Mr ***** leased from us overheated. The vehicle was repaired. Mr. ***** was called to let him know it was fixed and he never returned to pick up the vehicle. Rent To Own Auto Centers recovered the vehicle on 11-6-14. Mr. ***** failed to make the required payment that was due on 10-24-14. Rent To Own Auto Centers will not be refunding any monies to Mr. *****.

11/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Got a SUV on 9/5/14 on 9/6/14 check light came on while driving to work Motor misfires Serv Mangr would not swap cars for good one stuck with lemon! 2007 Chrysler Aspen got it on friday afternoon check engine light came on saturday morning. car used full tank of gas in less then 3days only drove 200 miles total. Their tech put on computer shows vehicle has 4 problems major problems misfiring motor and emissions problem. Asked if I could swap for car that is not defective they said no per contract. Vehicle was broken when I drove off the lot ask if they just cleared the check engine light since clocks were all wrong before I bought it. Expressed to him my concerns for potential issues and not comfortable with vehicle since already broken in just 3 days and limited driving. The service manger claims vehicle was in perfect condition passed safety and emissions test. The license plates were issued in Dec. 2013 and good through Dec 2015. After an hour of being at dealership today offered to fix the problem, but that would leave me with no vehicle he then said would make an exception and give me a loaner car for a day. Asked if he can make an exception for that why cant I get a car of equal value for a swap that isn't broken and even offered to pay a little bit more cash. I traded them my car for $1200 plus gave them $462.00 cash to get this lemon of an SUV. Serv manger again states will not swap cars and I told him my schedule is very chaotic not sure how I would get him his loaner back and that this whole ordeal is a major inconvenience he then stated to me "how is it his problem if I can get back and forth to work?" Service manger is unprofessional raising his voice to me speaking very condescending asking me what I want him to do about the bad motor issue I advised him I'm at their mercy I traded my car now I have a lemon of a vehicle that I'm stuck in even though it was already broke. They have no concern of the position their broken car puts me into and are limited in the assistance they can provide. I have nothing but regret for dealing with Rent to Own and really feel like I have been scammed out of all my money and they dont care about satisfying a customer or meeting the customers need. Like the service manger stated how is it his problem, great way to do business RIPOFF! I will also be filing a complaint with the Attorney Generals office for unethical business practices.

Desired Settlement: A car or truck of equal value that is not broken. Or a refund minus the miles I put on the SUV so I can go purchase a replacement vehicle that is not broken.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/19) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Service Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@rtoautocenters.com On 9-8-14 Mr ******* came to our location with a complaint that the check engine light came on the morning after he leased his vehicle. Our mechanic diagnosed the issue as either a bad spark plug or coil which caused the vehicle to mis-fire. I informed Mr. ******* of the issue that it would take a couple of hours to fix. I offered two options 1)fix it immediately or 2)he could bring the vehicle back the next day to be repaired and I would allow him to have a loaner vehicle while we fixed his vehicle. Typically, we do not issue loaners. He told me the vehicle was a lemon and he wants a different vehicle. I responded that the car is not a lemon and it requires a simple repair of a wearable item. The options did not appear to be good enough to Mr. ******* as he was too busy to wait and his time was too valuable to come back the next day. I explained that I cannot fix the vehicle if we do not have the car. He proceeded to tell me that he has to have a vehicle to get to work, coach football and drive his kids around. Once again, I told he we would loan him a car while repairing his. He still wanted to swap into a different car. I told him we do not swap vehicles when the vehicle he leased can be repaired. He did not want anything to do with what I was telling him. Mr ******* proceed to degrade me and our company. I told him we were at an impass and I do not know what else we can do for him. He began repeating all his personal issues and I respectfully aaked him why his personal issues were our business and that we just wanted to fix his vehicle. He said that he was going to report us to the BBB and Attorney General. He also said he would drive the vehicle until the engine blew up. He used strong profanity and stormed out of our store. We have not heard from Mr ******* since 9-8-14.

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2014 Delivery Issues
2/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Made payment to the company which were disputed. So then I had to make additional payments to make my account current now that the original payments that were in question have been found to not have been made fraudulent I have over paid and the additional payments have not posted to my account and now my account is not current and my vehicle has been remotely shut off. I'm am now being told that it could take 6-8 months for this to be resolved which is hardly in a timely manner especially when the accounting lady completely admitted she knows I have over paid. Product_Or_Service: **** ****

Desired Settlement: I want the payments that have been made to be credited to my account... and for my account to be made whole.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@**************** Mr. used his roommates (roommate is authorized on CC) credit card to make four (4) car payments. His roommate's mother contacted Rent To Own Auto Centers to notify us that four transactions had been unathorized by her and she was disputing the charges as fraudulent. Upon receiving the call from the mother we notified Mr. that he would have to make four (4) payments in order to keep his account current. Rent To Own has received one (1) chargeback to our account. The cardholder has 120 days from the date of the charge to dispute; however, if she would bring a letter from her credit card company stating the disputes have been denied on her side and a notarized letter stating that the other three charges will not be disputed and signed by both authorized users we would forward to our corporate office for approval and we would apply the monies to Mr account. As of XX-X-XX Mr owes Rent To Own $910.xx which is more than the total of the three amounts that are in dispute.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Rent to Own Auto Centers LP
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart