This business is not BBB accredited.

Enterprise Holdings, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 506-4800 Fax: (314) 512-4706 View Additional Phone Numbers 600 Corporate Park Dr, Saint Louis, MO 63105 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.enterprise.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Enterprise Holdings, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 36 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

36 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 22 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 36

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Enterprise Holdings, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 19, 1968 Business started: 10/30/1956 Business started locally: 10/30/1956
Business Management
Pam Nicholson, President & CEO Rhonda Branneky, Administrative Assistant Andrea Curd, Executive Assistant for St. Louis Group Dan Gass, AVP Customer Service - Corporate HQ Michelle Roach, Complaint Contact Karsten Summers, Complaint Contact Andrew Taylor, Executive Chairman
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Andrea Curd, Executive Assistant for St. Louis Group
Principal: Pam Nicholson, President & CEO
Business Category

Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Alamo Rent A Car Enterprise Car Sales Enterprise Car Share Enterprise Commercial Trucks Enterprise Fleet Management Enterprise Leasing Co Enterprise Rent-A-Car Enterprise Ride Share National Car Rental Zimride by Enterprise
Business Management

Alamo Car Rental and National Car Rental were acquired by Enterprise Rent-A-Car August 1, 2007.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 South Broadway

    Saint Louis, MO 63102

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10124 Natural Bridge

    Saint Louis, MO 63134

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10144 Page Avenue

    Saint Louis, MO 63132

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1020 Linn St

    Sikeston, MO 63801

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10501 Page Ave

    Saint Louis, MO 63132

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10638 New Halls Ferry Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63136

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1090 N Highway 67

    Florissant, MO 63031

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11124 Manchester Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63122

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1115 Three Rivers Blvd

    Poplar Bluff, MO 63901

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1121 Gravois Rd

    Fenton, MO 63026

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11931 Olive Blvd

    Saint Louis, MO 63141

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1321 Broadway

    Highland, IL 62249 (618) 651-9780

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1424 N Belt W

    Belleville, IL 62226

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14374 Manchester Rd

    Ballwin, MO 63011 (314) 506-4962

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15201 Manchester Rd

    Ballwin, MO 63011

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15479 Manchester Rd

    Ballwin, MO 63011

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1580 S Service Road Highwy 70 W

    Wentzville, MO 63385

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2004 Phoenix Center Dr

    Washington, MO 63090

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2008 N Kingshighway St

    Cape Girardeau, MO 63701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    202 W Karsch Blvd

    Farmington, MO 63640 (573) 747-1447

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    219 S Lewis Ln

    Carbondale, IL 62901

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2229 S Brentwood Blvd

    Saint Louis, MO 63144

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2703 W Deyoung St

    Marion, IL 62959

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    29 Hunter Avenue

    Saint Louis, MO 63124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3000 Washington Ave

    Alton, IL 62002

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3700 Nameoki Rd

    Granite City, IL 62040

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3701 Lemay Ferry Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63125

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3725 Bogey Rd

    Saint Charles, MO 63303

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3733 Veterans Memorial Parkway

    Saint Charles, MO 63303

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3925A Lindell Blvd

    Saint Louis, MO 63108 (314) 534-4440

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    397 Travis Blvd

    Troy, MO 63379 (636) 528-1424

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4251 S State Route 159

    Glen Carbon, IL 62034

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4927 S Kingshighway Blvd

    Saint Louis, MO 63109

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 S 34th St

    Mount Vernon, IL 62864

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5718 S Lindbergh Blvd

    Saint Louis, MO 63123

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    590 Lewis and Clark Blvd

    East Alton, IL 62024 (618) 254-0638

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    600 Corporate Park Dr

    Saint Louis, MO 63105 (314) 512-5000 (314) 506-4800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    623 Dunn Rd

    Hazelwood, MO 63042

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    635 S Truman Blvd

    Festus, MO 63028 (636) 933-1777

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7226 Manchester Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63143

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7730 Bonhomme Ave

    Saint Louis, MO 63105 (314) 862-4486

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    830 S Illinois St

    Belleville, IL 62220

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8844 Ladue Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    909 W Highway 50

    O Fallon, IL 62269

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9305 Natural Bridge Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63134

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9803 W Florissant Ave

    Saint Louis, MO 63136

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9933 Watson Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63126

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a car from 2802 Pacific Ave SE Olympia, WA 98501 we returned the car on 6/12/16. Enterprise Car Rental refused to refund my wife and me $100.00 based on the time of the return of the vehicle. We were not advised to return the car at 8:30am. We were told "whenever you can get back to us on the 12th". Car rental under the name of my wide ***** ******.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of $100.00

Business Response: We had responded to the BBB on this via email on 7/6/16. We spoke with the customer and refunded the $100

7/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

**** *** *** ********** ** *****

Was charged $13 fee for toll violation even though I had ez-pass installed. Called customer service on 9/18/15 and was told a refund would be issued in the next 30 days. Called again on 11/17/15 and spoke with ****** who said he saw the refund was still pending and would be issued in next 30 days. I still have yet to see the refund.

Desired Settlement: $13 refund

Business Response: We have ensured that our accounting team has in fact issued the $13 refund yesterday. ***** **** has left a message for Ms. ***** and also emailed her the information this morning. We apologize for the delay.

6/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

 

**** * **** ******* ****** ******* ** *****
************

On May 13, I was in a car accident. A young woman pulled out in front of me, and even though I slammed on my brakes, I was unable to avoid hitting her. As a result, my car is likely totaled and is sitting in a tow yard waiting to be inspected by insurance agents. I recently moved to a new area and do not know many people whom I can rely on in situations like these, but I knew that I could find reliable transportation because there is an Enterprise rental company in town, and they promise to pick you up at home if you have trouble getting to your rental location. I booked a rental on Priceline, confident I would be able to get a ride and pick up my car the next day. My reservation was scheduled for noon, simply because that is the default time listed by the online reservation system. Due to the accident, I was more tired than I anticipated, and slept in much later than I would have guessed. I did not wake up until almost noon, but I was not worried about my car rental because I had a reservation, complete with confirmation number. I planned to rent with a debit card, and from recent experience (when my car was having repairs), I knew that I needed a selection of paperwork in order to use my debit card. I spent about an hour collecting and printing the various paperwork and then called the local branch to ask for a ride. That's when the local branch informed me that they had rented my car at 1:30 because I was not there exactly at noon. When I asked why they did not call to confirm whether I wanted the car before they gave it away, they simply stated that they were busy. It's been a while since I have worked in customer service, but in my day, we were trained to be full of "please" and "thank you" and do everything possible to accommodate the customer. The woman I spoke to simply did not seem to care that she did not have my car. She told me that there was another location a few miles away that might have a car for me. She gave me their number so that I could call, did not offer to call for me. I called, and the other location did have a car, but they could not come pick me up because I was out of their area. I called back the original office and asked if they could give me a ride to the second location, and the woman on the phone said that she could not give me a ride. Not only did the one location neglect to fulfill my order, when another location stepped up and had a car to help them out, the first office could not even find a way to get me to that location. The office took no ownership in the situation and showed no care for good customer service. Now I am left with no car and few other options because most rental car locations around here close at 3pm on Saturday. I depended on your company for the service you say you provide in a time in which I greatly needed that service. I counted on the guaranteed reservation, and took your company's word that those words meant something to you, as they did to me. I have been profoundly let down by Enterprise. To add insult to injury, your employee treated me with a shocking lack of concern and care. I emailed Enterprise about this incident, and they offered to mail me a coupon for a free car upgrade at a non-airport Enterprise location. I would have preferred if they offered no compensation over something so insulting. Yesterday, they could not even deliver the service they promised by a contract, and now I am supposed to believe that they will not only deliver the service in the future but be able to guarantee a certain class of car. Please just treat people better in the future.

Desired Settlement: I have a reservation for a car on Monday ... please get me the car as promised, and please treat people better in the future. Sometimes people use your service because they are in need. People in times of need deserve to be treated politely, and a little compassion might even be in order. At bare minimum, provide the service you have contracted to provide.

Business Response:

We have made several attempts to contact this customer. We have left several messages and we have not received a return call. She did end up getting into a rental from us though. Please have customer contact **** *******, area manager for the rental location, if she needs further assistance. His contact number is ************ or email him at **************@ehi.com

 

6/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a car in El Salvador on 2/23/16 from Alamo Car Rental whose corporate address is in the United States of America. I initially presented my **** ** ******* Spirit Airlines Mastercard to hold the deposit of $350 and was informed the two day rental cost $124.84. I returned the car on 2/25/16. There was only one man on site who checked the car in and said everything was ok. I had returned it on full. I made the mistake of requesting to use my VISA debit/credit card to pay for the rental instead of having it put on credit. He presented me a receipt for the Mastercard which I thought was a release. He rang up a receipt on my VISA for $124.30 which I signed because I wanted to pay the car rental with that card. To my surprise when I got home and checked my statements I realized I had been billed twice to **** ** *******, then to my VISA. I contacted the Alamo online, because it is hard to get through on the telephone and I attempted to send emails. Initially, the **** ** ******* reversed the charge. On 5/13/16, I got a letter from **** ** ******* which stated that they were reinstating $124.84 because I agreed to pay for the rental. To my dismay, the Alamo customer service representative told **** ** ******* that I agreed to use $124.30 to pay for alleged damage. They told **** ** ******* that I returned the car with a small scratch. At no time when I returned the car did that guy say I damaged the car. I keep asking what is the proper procedure if a car is returned damaged. When I checked it out, we checked off existing damage and did not do that at the time I returned the car. This company is alleging that the cost of the scratch is $124.30. There is no documentation that such a scratch would even cost this much. Alamo in MO is relying on the El Salvador report but will not respond about procedures or what is supposed to happen. I am appalled that they are supporting an allegation made after I left the ticket counter.

Desired Settlement: I want the charge reversed to **** ** ******* for $124.84. The difference between $124.84 and $124.30 is 54 cents. If the Alamo want to charge me for that, then ok. I thought I was dealing with a reputable brand recognized in the U.S. and could get resolution through the corporate office in the U.S. Instead, they ignore any questions raised about a damage claim made against me after I left the ticket counter. I agreed to have my VISA charge used instead of my MasterCard. I didn't agree nor will you find any written agreement from me that I accepted some allegation that a scratch cost $124.30. There is no report from any collision repair company. If the car had a scratch, I purchased insurance. I did not receive a document showing damage at the time of return to compare against the existing damage on the car at the time I checked the car out. Alamo Corporate Office does not appear willing to believe my account or investigate the procedures followed at their El Salvadorean comp

Business Response:

Damage Invoice Attached

Per our rental office, the damage charge is valid and will not be reversed. We've communicated this to Mrs. ****** through multiple reference numbers. Please let me know if you have any additional questions.

6/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was promised a refund but have not heard from them. I have made numerous calls. Notes from previous calls are not available. Call back promises are not kept. No one will provide contact info to escalate the matter. Unprofessional demeanor. They are clearly not interested in returning any overcharges even tho they have agreed I am due them.

Desired Settlement: Credit Refund. Re-embursment for expenses incurred per conversations. Explanation for high level of un-professionalism.

Business Response:

Area Manager has left another message for the customer and requested a call back on his cell or office phone #s.

 

5/30/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made the reservation online using my plus points to cover the charges & put my credit card on file for the security deposit. There was an issue with my points being applied to the reservation and both myself and the branch (**** ******** ******** ** *****) were having trouble getting assistance from Customer Service at time of vehicle pick up (04-26-16) and return (04-29-16). 5-06-16: CSR supervisor (******** Reference number *******) stated card would not be charged ($78 and some cents) & plus points would be used to cover charges as originally requested when reservation was made. 05-07-16: My credit card was charged $104.65 (even though ******** stated the cash price of the rental was $78 and some cents) 05-09-16: Called Customer Service. Spoke with supervisor named ****** who was extremely rude and unhelpful. She told me to contact the branch to get it resolved, even though her department had made the promise to resolve the issue. 5-09-16: Branch rep *** stated he would contact Customer Service to get things straightened out. 5-10-16: Branch Rep (***) stated full amount of $104.65 would be refunded due to discrepancy.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $104.65 returned to my credit card.

Business Response: I refunded the customer in full and apologized that we made her wait for a refund. This was definitely an internal problem and she should not have been out in a position to wait for her money back. 

5/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

The facility was in Chicago Illinois, on 71st Western but that facility is no longer open. So I've been contacting corporate on this issue. I'm a customer of Enterprise, February 2016 it was brought to my attention that I had 3 tickets under my Illinois DL# that belong to a rental vehicle from Enterprise rental from 2013. This was an issue that I was not aware of until I received a vehicle Boot on my personal car.I contacted the citations department and was told that further investigation was needed so I personally paid for 3 tickets that were not mine for over 900 dollars in order to release my car. I've have spoken with many reps in the corporate office and have been told that there researching the issue. The plates were Florida plates on the tickets and I have explained so many times that I have never had a rental with Florida plates in Illinois and the tickets are not mine. Its been 2 months now and although I call in the reps states that my complaint is being looked into and that I would receive a email or call because there is no proof in the system showing that I ever rented a vehicle with the stated plate. I would like for Enterprise rental to refund me. I've submitted receipts and other documents that were needed to handle this situation. I would like that Enterprise take responsibility and handle this matter promptly and show customer service to a valuable customer.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response:

An update from our Area Manager:

I spoke with Ms. ********* yesterday.  Confirmed that she was in the FL plated car, but we still need to research the tickets, she doesn’t have them.  I am still working on a resolution, clearly tickets from 3 years ago are not easy to find, so our  next step is to call the city.

5/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

**** * ********* **** *****

I contacted Enterprise Rent-a-Car Customer Service 2-3 months ago to reserve a rental car. I reserved a rental car 2-3 weeks in advance for a discounted rate at 408.00 for "month to month." I specifically advised the Customer Service I would be renting a car for 6 months to 1 year. The Customer Service specifically told me the Rental Care was for MONTH TO MONTH @ 30 day increments. When I got to the Enterprise Rental Car location they showed me the computer screen which the Customer Service set the car up at 412.00 as a weekly rate only 28 days. I called Customer Service back. They said don't have a month car rental. I asked for a Customer Service Manager. They transferred me to someone who LIED and said they were a Customer Service Manager and they were NOT. Then, they said it was all taken care of and the Enterprise Rent-a-Car location had all the month to month information. HOWEVER, when I went to re-check my car in and pay the monthly rental IT WAS NOT SET UP IN THE COMPUTER. I had to make a scene in the office and tell them I would contact *** ********* CEO in St. Louis by Federal Express if they did not put it for a completely MONTH PAY. The Manager said he would ONLY do it ONE time. HOWEVER, I rented the car for MONTH TO MONTH. NOT WEEK TO WEEK FOR 4 WEEKS AT A TIME. I TOLD THEM I WOULD NEED THE CAR FOR 6 MONTHS TO ONE YEAR. I have a grandson to take care of on own who has to be in hospital for a proceedure every month. We are in hard times and I can only work part-time right now. I called in and the Rental Car was to be 408.00 MONTHLY. Every-timeI need help. I have a grandson sick with hospital visits. If I don't have a rental can't get him to hospital for month treatments. I can only work part time. Customer Service says the Leasing office is wrong. Leasing office states the Customer Service did not set up screen or input information correctly. I go into the office directly THEY TELL ME THE CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPT SET UP THE SCREEN AS SOMETHING DIFFERENT. EVERY MONTH I GO IN THERE AND IT'S ANOTHER BATTLE BETWEEN THE OFFICE LOCATION AND CUSTOMER SERVICE WHO SET UP LIES IN THE COMPUTER SYSTEM. LYING, LYING, LYING and NOT giving me what they promised when I called in and reserved the rental car. That is called "BAIT AND SWITCH" AND IT'S A FEDERAL CRIME. PLEASE HELP ! I'M IN TERRIBLE FEAR TO THE BS I'LL GET FROM THE LEASING OFFICE BLAMING CUSTOMER SERVICE AND CUSTOMER SERVICE BLAMING THE LEASING OFFICE FOR THEIR RATES AND DAYS I WAS ORIGINALLY PROMISED.

Desired Settlement: I want Enterprise Rent-a-CAR to honor the original agreement from when I called into Customer Services and requested a rental car for month to month at 408.00/month. I'm in terrible fear to get back to the office and deal with more BS of upgraded costs with less days on a month to month than they promised originally. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE ARE LIARS. I AM TYPING UP A LETTER TO SEND TO CEO *** ********* IN ST LOUIS TO ALSO ADVISED HER OF THIS. I have a sick grandson with enough to deal with. I can't go without a car and be jerked around any longer. I'm in terrible fear to check the car in again. To see what they will throw at me this time. It was simple, what I was promised is a rental car at month to month for 6 months - 1 years at 408.00 per month !! I want what was promised to me. Again, I had to make a scene in the office last time to get a full 30 days. Manager said he would only do it ONE time.

Business Response: Our Area Manager has spoken with Ms ********. She was very happy with our rental branch location but was upset with the reservation line. She was happy that the branch took care of her but wants to ensure that our reservation team is on the same page. Management of our reservation line has coached the employees that were involved. Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ********

5/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Okay I am a Gold Plus Member. I have been with Enterprise since 2000. I understand all businesses have policies and procedures. I believe when you are dealing with a loyal customer the rules should be allowed to be broken from time to time. My problem is with the corporate office. My reservation could not be completed as my cable bill had a past due balance of $125. Upon cancelling my reservation my rewards points were not returned to me. I called to inquire and express my concern about not obtaining an rental for such a minute thing passed on my tenure and rental history. The internal complaint number is ********. I was told nothing could be done about my complaints until 3-5 business days. I spoke to four representatives. None of them provided the same information with regards to the situation and thus far the information that was provided did not occur. Rep told me the points would be returned in 24-48 hours from Friday April 8 to date the points are still not available. Rep to told me the points could be returned instantly before transferring me to rep 3. Rep 3 told me the points would be returned in 3-5 business day and transferred me to rep 4 in escalations to file my complaint. Rep 4 told me the points would be available in 24 hours that did not happen either. I was not able to rent the vehicle until Saturday the 9th. I had to have a relative come from out of town to help assist with this for $125. Please note the entire staff at Cleveland Hts, OH branch was very friendly, understanding and accommodating. The got me in a vehicle and out the door in 30 minutes or less. I interacted with ******* ****** *** ***n, what A+ rating customer service.

Desired Settlement: I want my points and and to feel valued as a customer. I have been a customer for 16 years and I know with in the last three months along spending upwards of $2K in rentals, I feel something should be offered or done to show that I am appreciated as a loyal customer.

Business Response: Our Loyalty Team has reached out to Ms. ******** in regards to her points. We apologized for the level of service she received when calling our Contact Center and she was offered 500 points. She declined this offer but did express that she still had concerns over our rental guidelines and policies. We have asked that someone in our local Corporate office reach out to Ms. ******** to further address this matter. We will update you with the ou8tcome of that conversation.

4/23/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/23/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

Business quoted online rate of $40.76 and charged $247.63 on delivery of one-day, one-way car rental.

Elko Regional Airport
*** ******** ***
***** ** *****

Desired Settlement: Credit reflecting quoted rental rate.

Business Response:

From: **********, ****** *
Sent: Friday, April 22, 2016 12:02 PM
To: *****, ********* *
Subject: RE: **** - ******* ******** - You have a New Message from BBB Serving Eastern Missouri and Southern Illinois, Consumer Complaint #********

 

I spoke to customer and everything is handled.  I am refunding him the $206.86 to honor his ********* rez even though it is wrong but that is not his fault.  He is removing BBB complaint today.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ********

4/19/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

The location I rented the car from was at Tocumen International Airport through National Car Rental. I do believe the address is Avenida Domingo Díaz, Panama City, Panama.

I booked the car online with the liability coverage since my insurance does not cover me in Panama. National seemed to have the best deal for the car rental and the coverage for liability at $6/day. When I arrived I was told that the website was wrong and that it was actually $12/day. They could not offer an explanation to why the website was different. I argued and said that I was not paying the $12/day. We arrived late at night and at this point there are no other options. They told me they could not give me the car if I didn’t agree to the $12/day. This was the worst experience I have ever had with a bait and switch as the rental ended up being more expensive than the competitors. The agents at the counter made me sign to agree to the rate before they would give me the car. Once I returned home I called National and they agreed that the rate should have been $6/day and said they would make it right. After a week I received a response that since I signed and agreed to the higher rate they could not refund me the difference. I feel deceived, tricked and backed into a corner to pay for something I did not want.

Desired Settlement: All I want is to have the charge to my credit card adjusted to the $6/day I agreed to pay when I book. I still have the original booking and proof it should have only been $6/day.

Business Response:

We have worked directly with Mr. ******* to close the case, refunded $44.94. Please close the case on your end as well.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *******

4/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a car from my local Enterprise on Thursday, 3/31. It was picked up that morning around 8:20 and dropped off the same day before close of business. It appears I was charged more than I should have been, a deposit of 250.00 was left but I was charged 351.10. The deposit was refunded which left the actual charge of 101.10, this is the highest I have ever been charged for a rental, even with the added insurance of the vehicle and I know I asked the rep if this is the least expensive vehicle and he said it was. Ive rented numerous times from this location and have never paid this much. Please note, my mother dropped off the car that day and the rep(s) there initially refused to give her a ride back home, she lived less than a mile down the street and is handicapped. Another rep there agreed to give her a ride but did not provide her any receipt as they normally do, she was told it would be texted me and it was not. Since there is no receipt, I do not know how or why I was charged so much for an economy car. The address for my local enterprise is *** ****** *** *** ******* ** *****.

Desired Settlement: I need any overpaid charge(s) refunded ASAP and a receipt explaining their unusually high price.

Business Response:

Hello,

Our records confirm that Mr. ****** did rent a vehicle on 3/31 and he did return it the same day.  Mr. ****** did not have a reservation in the system.  He came into the office the morning of 3/31 and asked for the least expensive vehicle we had available.  We were able to accommodate him with a compact car.  The estimated charges (which would have included the daily rental rate of the vehicle as well as the optional products Mr. ****** selected) were calculated.  This total was communicated to Mr. ****** and he chose to accept the terms of the rental at that time.  He raised his concerns about the rate of the vehicle to the assistant manager as well as the branch manager before he left the office.  It was explained to him that the rate of the vehicle can switch from day to day based on the market and the availability.  He again had the option to accept the terms of rental, or decline.   Mr. ****** accepted the vehicle and had the use of the vehicle for the day. 

Our investigation shows that there was no overcharge in this matter, as all rates and fees were explicitly communicated to Mr. ****** at the time he rented. Further, all charges are printed on the contract that Mr. ****** would have been required to sign.   A receipt will be mailed to Mr. ****** per his request so that he may view the detail of charges. 

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. 

4/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ENTERPRISE Car rental at **** **** **** ** ******** ******** I had put my vehicle in the car shop.I had decided to rent a car from enterprise Car rental long time customer here despite the problems i had in the pass. stealing money off my credit card and lying to me about price of the rental carS deposit. i believe and second chances . I had my wife to call to make a reservation at the car rental my wife explains to sell associate that our address on the license is different because we just moved .The sell associate says the lease will be fine to bring,but once we get their they do not have a car the sell associate starts to state and yell, the lease want do.That is not enough keep in mind i rented at enterprise car rental 7 or eight times before this incident. A young man comes from back out to the front of the sale counter yelling,I will not rent you anything from here and i care if you call the manager that to. you do not talk that way to my sale associate the young man stated to me as it was his women.the young Lady yelled at me first This is was the most unprofessional place i have ever been this guy refused to rent to me and he was not a manager and for no reason. I'AM A SENIOR CITIZEN AND DESERVE TO BE TREATED WITH SAME RESPECT THAT ANOTHER GETS. Thanks for your prompt attention on this situation

Desired Settlement:

Business Response:

I spoke with Mr. ***** and offered a genuine apology for the way he felt this was handled. This customer was unable to meet underwriting qualifications at one of our branches and then came to a different location, believing he would be able to qualify there. I explained that I would be happy to handle his next reservation for him to ensure that he is taken care of and fully aware of all qualifications in advance. Please let me know of any additional questions or info needed.

Thanks, ****

**** ** *****
Area Rental Manager

4/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a vehicle online that offered a free upgrade. My initial vehicle of choice was a midsize. Once I lodged the reservation, I was given a price with no other information to discard or discredit my initial choice of a midsize. My initial reservation of a midsize validated an upgrade. When I got to the counter, I was informed by the CSR that my online reservation indicated a compact vehicle for an upgrade to a midsize. At no time did I click or make an initial reservation for a compact vehicle. My initial reservation included a midsize. I showed the representative at the Alamo counter a visual of the reservation. After viewing the details of the reservation, the representative said they get lots of complaints on this and agreed that the advertising is misleading. However, I wasn't offered any recourse. Furthermore, the representative agreed that the advertisement may be purposefully misleading in an attempt to better profit from the customers. Due to availability, I had to take what was available. Based on my reservation, I expected a full size vehicle. I ended up relegating to a midsize which became a pain in the end.

Desired Settlement: Due to misleading advertising, it's fair that I receive my next 3 day rental either complimentary or deeply discounted. Based on the information on the website, I expected a full size vehicle. Moreover, I prepared for a full size vehicle. Having to relegate to a midsize was very unaccommodating.

Business Response:

Good morning

 

We have contacted the customer and apologized for his experience. We have provided him with the 3 free days he requested and he is now satisfied.

 

Thanks you

4/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a rental car reservation through Alamo.com on 12/2/2015 to rent a car from Alamo's Cancun branch from 12/12/15 through 12/19/15. I was quoted a price of approximately $24.64 for the entire rental, which is competitive with other rental car companies in Cancun. I received (and printed) a confirmation page reflecting this price as confirmed by Alamo. I arrived in Cancun after it was already dark, having never been to Mexico. When I got to the Alamo office (which is off-site, that is to say, there are not other rental counters or offices next to Alamo), I was told that the ~$24.64 price was incorrect and that they would not honor the price on my confirmation document, which I had in hand. The Alamo employees working at the office spoke extremely poor English and it was very difficult and stressful to understand what was going on. They told me that I was required to buy insurance by federal Mexican law. In my correspondence with Alamo's customer support, ***** *********, a rep of Alamo's wrote: "This reservation did not include any insurance, and as you know in Mexico, 3rd party liability insurance is required by law on all vehicles." If Ms. ***** is referring to Alamo (“as you know”), that would indicate that Alamo knew that this insurance was required, which means that quoting me a total price of $24.64 is at best dishonest, and at worst, fraud. If Ms. ***** is referring to me, it is completely unreasonable to suggest that I be knowledgeable of Mexican law with respect to 3rd party liability insurance on rental vehicles. Then, it was explained to me that I was to be charged both state and federal taxes, which also significantly increased the price of the rental past $24.64. Again, Alamo is surely fully aware of such taxes, and once again, by excluding such taxes, which alone exceeded the $24.64 quoted price, would imply intentional dishonesty. Please remember that the Alamo employees at the branch speak extremely poor English, so I can barely understand why they are charging me all of these fees and why they refuse to honor a printed rental confirmation with a quoted price from Alamo.com. Very importantly, I felt like I had no other option than take the rental, even with the approximately $200 upcharge. I found myself in a foreign country, not speaking the language, at night, with frankly no other reasonable option than to take this car. I felt cheated and deceived and with no way out. The contract and price break down that was provided to me was in Spanish, and even reviewing this document now, without time pressure or having just gotten off a lengthy flight, I am not able to figure out which charge is what and for how much. Please consider how this felt after arriving in Cancun and the employees speaking poor English. I have just returned from another trip to Mexico and this time, I rented a car from Dollar. When I made the reservation with Dollar, I was quoted a price of ~$10 for the week. When I returned the car to Dollar at the end of the week, I paid the ~$10 that I was quoted by the company. They made no claims of insurance being required by federal law. Ultimately, Alamo billed me $215.14, which is $190.60 more than was stated on the rental confirmation I received when I booked the reservation. I have documentation supporting all aspects of this issue, including my correspondence with Alamo's customer service representatives who refused to help me.

Desired Settlement: I only request that Alamo honor the rental confirmation that they provided me for the approximate amount of $24.64. Since I was charged $215.14, I request a refund of the difference, which is $190.60.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** -

Thank you so much for choosing Alamo for your rental needs. My name is ***** and I would be happy to assist with your case.

I apologize that you felt anything other than complete satisfaction when renting from one of our facilities. Customer Service is our way of life and we strive to prove that in every encounter.

Regarding your specific case, I saw that you stated you felt cheated by not being aware of the additional coverages that you eventually purchased. I wanted to make you aware that we ensure that every phone reservation agent properly quotes our coverage options when booking via the phone. In the event of online bookings as you've done with this reservation, we place that same information on our website during the booking process (Under Policies & Help).

If our customers miss the information there, we also have the information listed in the email confirmation that was sent to your *********.com email address (Under Important Policy Information).

Again, I would like to apologize for you feeling anything except completely satisfied. To help better your overall experience, I would like to offer you 2 Free Days towards your next US/Canadian Alamo Rental. If you accept, please reach to me via email and I will send the Free Day Codes over to you.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

***** ****** - Customer Support Specialist

**************@ehi.com - ************

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not accept your offer.


Sincerely,

******* *****

4/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Location involved *** **** ** ********** ** ***** When I rented a vehicle early February from them their service is fine, but aren't following their policy. I was supposed to get a refund $117 supposed to be within 10 to 15 days. I called around the 15 day mark and addressed the issue and spoke with *** that worked there who sent me to their ****** ********, the accounting manager, who addressed the issue said they were supposed to send me a new check and I was supposed to receive it within 3 days. When I didn't get it I called again and now no one contacts me back. It has been over a month now and I want my money.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $117 back like promised.

Business Response: The check was sent to the customer after he spoke with our Accounting Department.  Our managers were able to speak with him on 3/22 and the customer confirmed that he was in fact able to locate the check in his secondary mailbox. 

3/31/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was damaged and the other party's insurance company has rented a car for me. When I came to pick up the car the Enterprise agent told me I had to have the optional Collision Damage Waiver or else she'd not rent me this car. I signed up and contacted the insurance company to have them cover this CDW. The Insurance company says they won't cover optional coverage and that I shouldn't have to have it. Upon contacting Enterprise the customer service rep "April" did research and concurred that I did not have to have this optional coverage. The local branch refuses to remove it and even stated again "It is optional coverage but I'm not renting you a care unless you take it:" I'm checking now with the attorney generals office to see if this practice is illegal in the state of Tennessee.

Desired Settlement: Remove the fee for the "Optional" coverage I was coerced into.

Business Response:

I called and spoke with the customer, and we resolved her issue by refunding the amount she has paid towards the optional coverage and taking the optional coverage off of the ticket. She is aware of her financial responsibility for the rental vehicle.

 

Thanks,

*****

 

***** ******

Area Rental Manager

************

********************

Enterprise Holdings

West Tennessee Region

**** ******* **

******** **

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
***** *****

11/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found a 2015 Hyndia Sonata Limited 4 door with the stock # ******* It was listen on the website at $9,164 and above it Blue Book suggested retail $23,108. I printed the page with all this information. I called and they said it was a mistake and the price listed is the mileage and the mileage is the actual cost. I spoke to *** ***** and he said their is a disclaimer on the website that they are not responsible for typographical errors. I cannot find this disclaimer on the website.

Desired Settlement: I want to purchase the vehicle for the advertised price of 9,164.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/06) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** GCSM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@erac.com We are certainly sorry that our data entry error has caused any frustration or inconvenience. It is certainly not our intent to mislead anyone. This specific situation involved the incorrect entry of the actual miles in place of the purchase price. We did recognize the problem quickly and made the proper price correction. Her is a copy of the Disclaimer listed in our Terms and Conditions on our website. "Price includes all costs to be paid by a consumer, except for licensing costs, registration fees, and taxes; also not included are title registration, tag, governmental fees, electronic filing charges, any emissions testing and/or state inspection fees, and any finance charges (if applicable). Price does not include processing, administrative, dealer conveyance fee, closing, dealer and handling, or similar fees of $199 or less, except in the following states where the advertised price is inclusive of this fee: CO, FL, GA, KY, MA, NE, NJ, NY, SC, and TN. Vehicles subject to prior sale. We make every effort to provide accurate information including but not limited to price, miles and vehicle options, but please verify with your local Enterprise Car Sales location before purchasing. Current mileage may vary due to test drives and vehicle relocation. Used vehicles were previously part of Enterprise short-term rental and/or lease fleet or purchased by Enterprise from other sources including auto auctions, with previous use possibly short-term rental, lease or other. We were in fact contacted by ********* ***** on this car by phone. We communicated at that time that the price was an error and that we could not sell it to her at that price. I would be happy to contact Ms. ***** and communicate that, as well as apologize for any frustration this has caused her.

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called over three times trying to obtain answers on whether on how National's reward system works. I spoke to a few representatives who have told me many different things including a very rude ******* at extension XXX-XX who claimed she was a supervisor and wouldn't transfer my call to another supervisor or to her manager. I will be filing a formal complaint for the complete lack of customer service on her part. I also need to understand where my credits for my rental were applied to. Please respond and let me know how and when my rewards for my three-day rental were applied. This is my first experience with National after using ***** for many years and am completely dismayed by the lack of customer service I've received so far.

Desired Settlement: I need to have someone at National add the proper airline miles to my three-day car rental in Phoenix, AZ. My earnings preference is Southwest Airlines.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/13) */ Contact Name and Title: Brad Lambrechts - BSS Contact Phone: 3145874541 Contact Email: e807kf@erac.com National Emerald Club allows for member to earn one of two rewards. They can either earn (1) Frequent Flyer miles or (2) Car Credits for free rental days. This option is chosen when the member signs up and registers for National Emerald Club. Mr. Semir's account has been set up to earn (1) Frequent Flyer miles and therefore he didn't earn (2) Car Credit for free rental days because you cannot earn both. This was explained to him by multiple of our representatives. I have also confirmed that his Frequent Flyer information is attached to this rental and airline miles should be issued from his personal chosen preferred airline, Southwest. He may choose to earn (2) Car Credit for free rental daysmoving forward. (Or even change his airline preference.) To do so he would need to sign into his Emerald Club account and opt into that preference.

12/8/2014 Delivery Issues
10/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alamo refused to honor confirmed reservation for 11 passenger full size van, which forced me to rent from ******* at a much higher rate. On 3/14/14 I booked a reservation with Alamo, through ************ for a full size van with automatic transmission, to be picked up at TLV airport on 3/31/14 and returned on 4/23/14. "Full size van" is described by Alamo as carrying "11 adults, 2 large suitcases, 1 small carry-on, 4 doors". The rate provided was 247.72 euros per week plus 35.39 euros per extra day, the total being 813.94 euros for 23 days. The confirmation number was XXXXXXXXX. On 3/25 I checked the status of the reservation at alamo.com, and I found out that Alamo reserved for me a 7 passenger minivan, instead of the 11 passenger full size van I reserved. I contacted them immediately to correct the issue. Alamo responded two days later, on 3/27, explaining that they could not honor the 11 passenger van reservation, since that location is served by Europcar which doesn't carry these vehicles. Just three days before an international trip for a group of 10 people, I was left without a vehicle for the trip. I began immediately searching for a replacement vehicle, but there was no 10 or 11 passenger van available at any of the rental agencies in TLV. Eventually I was forced to settle for a 9 passenger van, which was only available (with automatic transmission) from ******** at the rate of $3198 for the above rental period. With no other choice, I rented this van and paid the above rate, plus 18% VAT, totaling $3773.64. The rental agreement number is XXXXXXXXX. Alamo's refusing to honor the original reservation constitutes a breach of contract, which entitles me to full compensation for the incurred damages, in this case the difference between the price I was to pay according to the contract and the price I actually paid.

Desired Settlement: As of this day, 813.94 euros equal $1106.05. Adding 18% VAT, which I would have to pay additionally if I rented the car from Alamo, makes the total $1305.14. Therefore, the difference between what I paid and what I should have paid is $2468.50. This amount should be paid to me by Alamo as compensation for the damage incurred by their breach of contract. I have attached here a copy of the confirmed reservation, as well as of the car details page which describes a full size van as an 11-passenger one.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/07/24) */ Our research shows that the Full Size Van on the Expedia website for destination Tel Aviv is described as a 7 passenger van. A pop up occurs if a customer clicks on "Full Size Van" that states that it is a 7 seater. If the customer selects Full Size Van for Tel Aviv, the booking describes it is a 7 passenger van. Therefore, it should have been clear at the time of booking that the Full Size Van for Tel Aviv was a 7 seater passenger van. The Alamo.com site also describes the van for Tel Aviv as a 7 seater. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 24, 2014/08/06) */ In addition to the above: The car type pop-up window seems to be part of an Expedia redesign which took place at the end of March. No such pop-up windows existed at the time of reservation. Alamo is using information which may be true today, but was not in existence at the time of reservation. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 28, 2014/09/11) */ 9/11/2014: Mediator called consumer but consumer not available. 9/12/2014: Mediator left message for consumer. 9/15/2015: I have not heard from Alamo and still think they should reimburse me for the $2,468.50 difference. 10/09/2014: Mediator called and left voice mail message for Mr. ******** 10/13/2014: I will send the invoice for the 9 passenger van rented with Thrifty. 10/15/2014: ******* did contact me but I am still trying to be connected to the correct person. I will let the BBB know if we reach a resolution. 10/16/2014: I spoke with ******* and they agreed to give a refund. According to their calculation the refund amount is a little less then requested, but I am satisfied with the result. Thank you so much for your help in resolving this matter. Final Business Response /* (1000, 29, 2014/09/11) */ 9/15/2014: Mediator spoke with contact ****** ********* and was referred to Billy Harvey. 9/15/2014: Mediator left message for Mr. ******* 9/16/2014: Mediator left message for Mr. ******* 9/22/2014: I will speak with ****** ********* and callback. 9/24/2014: I am attorney, ****** ********* representing Enterprise Holdings Inc. I **** discuss details of case with ****** *********. 10/02/2014: I am working on this issue right now. ******** owns and operates that market and they operate under our brand. I am working on a resolution with contacts I have in the industry. We want to do everything we can to assist Mr. ******. 10/09/2014: I have been making headway with EuropCar. We need the invoice and charges from ******* for the 9 passenger van from Mr ******. 10/14/2014: I just wanted to give an update on my work with ********* The issue has been turned over to ******* and they will be contacting and working with the customer directly. 10/16/2014: Mediator sent email to ****** ********* with the resolution.

9/23/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I rented a car from the location in Pottstown PA. At the time of initiating the rental agreement the car looked to be in decent repair with only minor damage. The inside was dirty however since it was time for the location to close and this was the only car available we decided to proceed considering all factors. On the following evening when my husband was returning from his business matters he was alerted that the tire pressure was low in the car, he stopped and filled the tire with air and proceeded home. That evening my husband did call the local location and leave a msg for the manager to return his call the following day, this however did not happen. Afterward on Thursday morning when my husband was attempting to leave for work he again noticed that the same tire was low, he once again filled it with air this time he also checked for a spare tire but there was not one located in the car. Once again my husband called and left a msg for the manager to return his call related to the tire to no avail. Finally on Friday Sept 12th when my husband was attempting to come home again the tire was almost completely flat. My husband noticed a tire shop close and they fixed the tire for him and he continued home. I am not happy that not only did my husband need to continue to fix the tire, he also could not get a phone call back from any staff at the location which he rented it from.

Desired Settlement: I would like to speak with a representative from corporate on this matter. Both my husband and I feel that we should be refunded at the very least partially for our inconvenience and time put into a car which is not even ours.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/22) */ Our Regional Manager *** ***** spoke with Ms. ***** on September 19th. *** apologized and was able to address the customer's concerns. *** agreed to refund 2 days of the rental charges and the fuel charge. The customer was satisfied with this resolution. Sincerely, ***** ***** Enterprise Rent-A-Car

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 8th of 2013, my 2000 Saturn was hit, while parked, by an Alamo Rent a Car rental. My Vehicle was considered a total loss. Alamo Rent a Car is self insured. It has been over a year and I have yet to collect so much as one penny for the damage done to my vehicle. It blue books for $3,000. That is all I'm asking for, despite the fact that I lost half a days pay from work when I had to retrieve my vehicle from the tow yard after the police impounded it. Alamo's front insurance company, "Rental Insurance Services INC." also refused to pay for that expense.

Desired Settlement: $3,000 Kelly Blue Book value for my totaled vehicle.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ********* ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@erac.com Rental Insurance Services, Inc. (RIS) handles claims involving vehicles rented from Alamo Rent a Car on behalf of ACE American Insurance Company (ACE). We have reviewed the claim file for this complaint. This was a three vehicle accident in which one of the parties died as a result of their injuries. Due to the fatality the policy limits afforded by ACE maybe be exhausted. On 9/25/13 a RIS representative discussed the limits issue with the complainant. Further discussions regarding the limits issue were had on 10/25/13 and 10/30/13. Additional conversations were had with the complainant on 4/3/14, 4/25/14, and 5/21/14 regarding the status of the claim. Letters were also sent to the complainant on 10/3/13, 5/23/14, 6/24/14, 8/6/14, and 9/5/14 to inform him that the investigation was still ongoing. Due to the serious nature of the other party involved in this loss RIS has been unable to resolve the complainant's damage claim. RIS has recently received contact from a representative for other party and will be working with both to resolve.

6/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/31/2014 Delivery Issues
2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alamo failing to honor their policy listed on Alamo.com and rude front counter associates. I rented a vehicle from Alamo on 09/03/2013 under RA# XXXXXXXXXX. When I returned the vehicle on 09/18/2013 I went in to switch the payment type from the credit card on file and I was going to use a gift card to pay for the total amount of the rental. I was told that gift cards are never allowed as a method of payment upon return of any rental. I attempted to advised the front counter agent ****** that I have returned over 85% of my pervious rentals and paid using a gift card. Ashley then told me that she had been working there over 3 years and Alamo would never had allow me to do such thing. I explained to her that not only is that not true but she personally returned the pervious rental I returned and I used a gift card for that rental as well. Per Alamo website it states the following: Gift/Prepaid Cards: https://alamo.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1650/kw/method%20of%20payments Is considered a gift certificate bearing the ***** ********** or ******** ******* logo. Alamo only accepts gift cards for final payment upon return of the rental vehicle. Gift cards are not acceptable as a form of deposit. Gift Cards are not accepted in Latin America or the Caribbean. I immediately used my cell phone to bring the information up online to show Ashley and the Manager on duty Alamo Methods of Payment Guidelines and was told I still could not use a gift card upon the return of the rental no matter what Alamo.com stated or any pervious rental history. Mind you no where on Alamo Methods of Payment Guidelines website does it state subject to change, varies from location to location, or at manager or front agent discretion. The following morning 09/19/2013 I contacted a rude and disrespectful Alamo corporate customer service rep who stated she had taken down my information and will forward it to the appropriate party who will follow up with me within 1-2 business. The one to two business day time frame has been exhausted. I contacted the Alamo corporate customer service department again today only to be told there is nothing in the system that I had spoken to a rep on any day. Please note Alamo has the best rental rates in my opinion but there customer service is a complete disgrace. Its sad that even the location manager isn't aware of Alamo policy for Alamo Methods of Payment Guidelines. I see the saying is true "You get what you pay for". Now it will be a honor to use a different rental agency regardless of price to get better and professional service.

Desired Settlement: I would like Alamo to honor their policy and allow me to put the total amount of the rental on a gift card and refund the original amount of the rental that has been charged to the credit card on file at the time of the rental.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/25) */ Good Morning, it appears that this incident is out of the St. Louis airport, not Sacramento. Can you please forward it to the appropriate Enterprise in St. Louis? Thank you! ***** ******** Final Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2013/10/08) */ LM for Ms. . While we do accept prepaid cards as final payment we do require that the card is able to be swiped in a credit card reader and has the customers name embossed on it.

9/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 23rd I reserved a car through Alamo rentals(Confirmation # XXXXXXXXX) for an upcoming trip to be picked up in ****** ******* on July 9th and returned to ****** on July 23rd. The rental itself was fine. Apparently even though the rental was through Alamo they contract out to Europcar in Germany. Upon returning my credit card was charged two separate times for $110.14 and $1,038.11 on July 24th. According to the receipt I signed they were taking 780.73 euro authorization and as long as everything was returned they would release the authorization and would charge me 500.61 euros. This was slightly more than the 487.41 euros I had been quoted, but I figured it was taxes so I signed it. So if my credit card was correctly charged it would have been charged 500.61 euros or approximately $660. Instead with the 2 charges, they charged me a total of $1,148.25. I contacted Alamo(****) and he apologized and created a case file(#XXXXXX-XXXXXX). I was told they had to contact Germany and I would hear from them in 7 days. After 8 days without hearing anything I contacted **** again and he said he would escalate my case to a high priority. It has now been an additional 9 days(17 total) and still not a word. I keep contacting **** and he keeps saying they are waiting to hear from ******** In the meantime I received a bill from **************** as part of Alamo) and it appears the extra charges were because they said the GPS was missing and they filled the gas tank. I left it with a full tank of gas, I filled up right as I was entering the drop off, and the GPS was turned in where the attendant asked me to put it. I expect a refund of the extra *********************** Product_Or_Service: Rental Car Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund A refund of the extra charges for at least $488.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/09/26) */ HI Again, Thanks.Yes when I originally sent in the complaint to the BBB it had been over 17 days without a response. It was after this, in between my BBB complaint and your email that I saw the refund hit my credit card statement. Thanks! ****

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was hit by their client, ********** ****** car, and after 2 months still no resolution. I was sitting at a stop light in my car July XX XXXX. A person driving an Enterprise rental car totaled my car from behind. After filing a police report I tracked down ****** ********* ********* their carrier, and was directed towards **** K. ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX **************@erac.com . I was told this would be a simple transaction that would take a few days to settle. That was almost 2 months ago. My car is inoperable. They provided no rental car and despite repeated emails and calls keep saying it **** be 2 more weeks before they have a finding..... I was sitting in my car at a stop light - how long should that take?

Desired Settlement: A completion to our business . I would say in a reasonable amount of time, but that has already passed.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/19) */ RIS became aware of the Mr. claim on July 22 and the adjuster made contact with Mr. on July 23. Our investigation of this claim is ongoing. RIS has kept Mr. informed on the situation and cannot comment further at this time.

9/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 10, I rented a car from Enterprise Rent-a-car for three weeks. When I rented it, they told me I had to bring it back with the gas tank full or I'd have to pay over $5 a gallon to fill it up. No problem. I got the car and drove to my hotel ********** and went to sleep. The next day I was driving less than a mile away and realized the gas tank was between 1/4 and 1/2 full, so there was no way it was full when I got it. I called the company, but they were not helpful. He would not make any kind of note on the account, and he only told me not to worry if I bring it back "a little below full."The employees need to make sure the cars are full when they go out. I know he got in the car and checked the mileage, so he could have easily seen the tank was not full. I still did not feel comfortable returning the car at less than full because of the $5+ charge for gallon they would charge, so I returned it on F.In the end, the gas cost me about $21.54 to fill up again (six unused gallons x 3.59 a gallon on Aug 31st). This was not a lot of money considering I paid $654.49 to rent the car for three weeks, but it is disheartening to be cheated out of even twenty dollars by the only rental car company I use. Product_Or_Service: Fiat Account_Number: RA# XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Well, I would like to have a credit of $21.54 put back on my credit card, but more than that, I think it's important to reiterate that this is happening, and to make sure that employees are diligent about checking this stuff even on busy days, as was the day I rented the car.Also, when we bring the cars back, they should specifically ask us about any problems so we could voice these kinds of concerns there and deal with them without going through BBB.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/09) */ I left a message for Mr. and sent him a copy of his charges. We refunded the requested amount. I left my number for him to call if he wished to discuss further.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Enterprise Holdings, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart