BBB Accredited Business since

South County Auto Plaza

Phone: (314) 416-8200 View Additional Phone Numbers 1077 Barracksview Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63125 http://www.southcountyautoplaza.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South County Auto Plaza meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for South County Auto Plaza include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on South County Auto Plaza
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 17, 2004 Business started: 11/01/1994 Business started locally: 11/01/1994 Business incorporated 11/17/2006 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David E. Becker, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David E. Becker, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
D B E Enterprises

Additional Locations

  • 1077 Barracksview Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63125 (888) 687-3467 (314) 416-1581 (866) 524-1960 (314) 416-8200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/1/2016, we purchased a 2005 Dodge Dakota from South County Auto. The vehicle was paid with a cashier's check and personal check for a total of $10,139.50. She also was talked into purchasing an extended warranty for $1990 with Alpha Warranty Services. At the time of purchase, our salesman ***** *** told us that the title was locked in office and would not be able to get until after holiday weekend. He is no longer with the company and we have been dealing with ***** *******. We need the title to obtain license and pay taxes on vehicle. We have been getting run around from South County Auto Plex. ***** told us on 6/24/2016 that there was a lien on the vehicle. South County said they obtained vehicle from a wholesaler who had purchased it from **** ********. I have asked to speak with the owner **** ****** but he is never available.

Desired Settlement: If South County Auto cannot obtain a clear title for me, I want to cancel this sale and return the vehicle for a full refund of the sale price of $10,139.50 and the $1990 for the extended Warranty.

Business Response: The truck was a trade in at **** ******** Ford. We have title but we're waiting for lien release from them due to customer paying off their own car instead of allowing dealer . That always takes a longer time. We have done our due diligence and have verified that the lien was satisfied and we are just waiting for release . Should be another couple daYs. We have informed customer of this, and obviously they don't like the answer, but I can't change the speed in which a lien release comes from a lender .. If they have any penalties bc of delay, we will pay the fee. As I stated complaint was resolved b4 we were contacted by BBB.. Can't do anything else 

Consumer Response: This has been resolved. On Friday, July 8th, we were provided the title and lien release.

2/1/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About to pay for repairs seven days after buying a truck. Bought a ford 2009 king ranch January 11th. Truck threw a code the very next day. Had code looked at and cleared. After a few days of running bad after the truck had time to warm up. I called in to let them know about the problem. Was met with a, sucks to be you attitude. Told that they would split the cost on some Engine problems that had to be fixed. This was only seven days after I bought the truck. So now I am paying $600 for repairs on a truck that I have not ran a tank of gas threw. As well as 1/2 the cost on this rental I am stuck with until I get my truck back. Was called Friday and told more problems had been found and 200 more dollars would be add it to my part of the bill end it now it would be another few days without my truck. They have almost had the truck back as long as I had. And the cost of my part of the bill equals two months truck payment on my vehicle with only have had it for seven days.

Desired Settlement: Really don't think after having truck for seven day I should be told that I should have to pay for repairs on a vehicle that I was told had gone over on a examination.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/02/01) */ The customer purchased the vehicle and brought it back nine days later. He had a 30 day/1,000 mile warranty 50/50. We diagnosed the issues and he agreed for us to do the work and signed the work order. If he had a problem with the cost he should have discussed it before the work was done not after we completed it. This customer shook my hand and told me we were doing him right because we offered to do additional work at no additional cost because we were already in the engine. He authorized all work to be done. I have a service ticket that is not paid for and I don't feel this is a valid complaint. He agreed to the service and signed the ticket and then got my employee to let him take the vehicle without paying the bill. I will be faxing the ticket and would like this complaint removed.

11/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: South County Auto Plaza Mess Please, do not buy a vehicle from this car dealership! My husband and I purchased a 2006 BMW X5 on August 2015. To our surprise the vehicle was in great need of repairs. To start the driver's window gave us several problems. We weren't able to let the window up or down and when we returned the car back to the dealership for repair, we were told that it would be an additional cost. By that time we were still under a 30-day warranty. But, they had agreed that all repairs would be made, however we had to pay an additional cost even though we were under warranty. Needless to say the window gave us constant problems such as falling through and constantly falling off track even though we paid our money and the problem was supposedly fixed not once, not twice, but 3 times. After the 3rd time we contacted the dealership once again! But they did not return our call. Therefore, we took the vehicle to firestone and they immediately with ease fixed the problem. Now, We are learning that the vehicle has mixed match tires. That's right! None of the tires match. They put faulty tires on the vehicle so we will have to have them all replaced. Unless you are in need of paying for additional repairs to a vehicle do not purchase a vehicle from here!

Desired Settlement: Refund for repair to the window

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/09) */ This vehicle had an issue and we fixed it and the next day it had an issue and fixed it. months later they called back and said it was broken again. We offered for them to bring in the BMW X5 for us to look at it. At this point we did not know if it needed to go to a BMW dealer or if we could fix it. Three months later they took it to ********* and they want to be reimbursed for the charges. I was always willing to do the repairs and they never contacted us back but filed the complaint. I would like to have contact with the customer before considering paying for the bill at *********. I feel we should have had an opportunity to complete the repairs. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/11/10) */ This problem was resolved and the owner agreed to pay for the cost of the window.

10/26/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2002 GMC Sierra August 6, 2015 and it came with a 100,000 mile engine only warranty. It also came with an emission inspection and only needed a safety inspection. I was driving with my young son and the brakes went out and we went off the side of a the road. I got it to a shop and was told the hydro boost was bad and it should not have passed safety inspection. I called South County Auto Plaza and was told it was not covered under the warranty.

Desired Settlement: I will have the vehicle repaired and would like South County Auto Plaza reimburse me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/10/19) */ I tried to contact the customer for more information so I could assist his issue, such as the miles on the vehicle at the time, what is actually broken, etc. I have not received a call back or anything from him and have been trying to call him for quite some time. I would like to hear from this customer so I can help him.

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2012 Chevy Cruze and something was wrong with the brakes. I told them about it when I first got the car. They did their own safety inspection and I don't think they did it right. If it would've been taken somewhere else, it would've failed. After I drove the car for a while, they blamed it on the driving I have done for the brakes getting worse. It was a lot of back and forth. They repaired the front brakes and rotors. The back brakes are still squeaking. I don't want to take my car back there because they are not fixing my issues. They told me I had to pay for the brakes myself and they would give me a discount, and I told them that I brought this to their attention immediately, and if they would have fixed my brakes then, they wouldn't be as bad now. I've only had the car for 2.5 months, so there's no way I put that much wear and tear on the car.

Desired Settlement: I want them to finish repairing the back brakes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/10/19) */ We don't warranty brakes. A few months ago, we put on new brakes in the front where they were squeaking and about a month later, she came in complaining the back brakes were squeaking. She needs brake pads. We were trying to be nice and help her out the first time, though we didn't owe her, and now she is trying to act like we owe her the back brakes. We never said she was "driving it bad" or anything like that, but said is that she was driving it, because she put so many miles on it in the short time. Her brakes are not and have never been under warranty. She is not owed anything, and her brakes are absolutely not under a warranty. The car is driving fine, but she just wants more for free. We told her if she buys the parts, we'll do the labor, and she refused.

9/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 06/28/2014 I purchased a Dodge Charger RT 2006 from South County Auto Plaza. Before purchasing the car Me and my fiance took the vehicle for a test drive. After our test drive we pointed out that there were issues either in the front end or under the vehicle, and that there were major issues with the body. Before we purchased the vehicle we were guaranteed that the problem in the shaking and rattling in or under the front end would be checked and repaired, we were also guaranteed that If we paid an extra $800.00 that they (the dealer) would have the body work repaired. What consisted in body work was that the hood and front end needed repainted, deep scratches around the whole car need touched up and buffed out, clips were missing in the front and rear bumper, and there is a good size of rust that needed repaired. After the dealer had my car in the body shop for 7 days nothing was touched but the hood had large amounts of bubbles that busted open. my paint was uneven and the rust spot wasn't fixed. I was told it could be redone, the hood only but they did the best they could. I kept getting the run around on getting all the other problems with the car fixed and it was never done because my warranty finally ran out. The whole exhaust is rusted out, and the rear differential is leaking. To top it off the motor went out on the car as well because stop leak was in the engine to cover up the major engine problems. They should have never sold me this car being in the shape it was in. Following is what I have paid out. New engine $4260.00, body work $800.00, engine install $650.00, whats left to repair that dealer should have repaired: Exhaust system $500.00, Rear differential repair $150.00, Brake caliper $120.00, starter $80.00. I was completely ripped off. This doesn't include gas, tow, lodging, and rental for having to get my car home or pay from missed days from work. I have a family to take care of and I paid top value for a car that should have been in excellent shape. Product_Or_Service: Dodge Charger RT 2006

Desired Settlement: Im asking that the amount of $5910.00 for the repairs I have made, and that the total amount of $650.00 for the repairs that still need done refunded. I have all receipts for what I have paid which my attorney has copies of.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/21) */ The consumer purchased a 2006 vehicle in June 2014 and driven 18,000 miles. She never brought it back here with the problems she is requesting payment for.We did everything we owed her when she bought the car. we sent it to the body shop.We replaced the mufflers and new tires. We gave her a 30 day/1000 mile warranty when she bought it. We cannot offer her any reimbursements for outside work. This is beyond the 30 day warranty and is not a valid complaint. Her request is beyond reasonable.

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Dodge Charger from this car lot. Was told that the dying problem with my car would be fixed. Wasn't fixed and now the car lot refuses to pay for it to be fixed or to give me my money back even though I had a witness hear them say they will fix it. They also never return phone calls when they say they will. Have to call 15 times to get through to a manager. They know my car has a dying issue and has died in the middle of the highway on my multiple times

Desired Settlement: I would like to return this vehicle for my money back. I bought it on Black Friday in 2014 and maybe had the car 10 days total since then

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/02/05) */ The consumer purchased the vehicle and brought it back in. It was dying intermittently and we took it to Southtown Dodge and they had it for a week or so and fixed it. We paid for the repair. It drove fine for a while and she called the other day with the same problem. We told her to take it to Southtown Dodge and I will call to let them know it was having the same problem. They received the car and we have not heard back from the customer. We paid Southtown Dodge for the repair and they should take care of it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response because I was told at the time of purchasing this that it was going to be fixed. DODGE didn't fix the problem and still hasn't fixed the problem. I have tried to contact this lot a few times with the promise of a call back from the manager to not get a call back. I have barely had this car for 15 days since i bought the vehicle. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2015/05/13) */ 05/14/15: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 05/19/15: I sold the vehicle. I no longer need to mediate this case.

4/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a vehicle from this location and there were some things wrong with it they said they'd fix. The anti-lock brake sensors were acting up, the back glass would not open, one of the shock absorbers were defective. We took it in once to have them take care of the brake issue. The next day they called us and said nothing was wrong with it. It still had the same issue. Two weeks later, one of the brake pads came off of the caliper. The first night we drove the vehicle home, the driver side front brakes were heating up really bad and nearly caught fire before we got home. They said they fixed it but a week and a half later or so the brake pad came loose. We took it in there two or three other times to have them rectify these problems and they've never been taken care of.

Desired Settlement: We want the repairs done and we want them done correctly by another shop. We'd also like a rental car while the vehicle is down.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/04/10) */ ***** did not buy a car from us, ******* did. We sold a 2003 Trailblazer in 2013 with 113,000 miles and it came with a 30 day/1000 mile powertrain warranty. There was a signed "We owe" statement that has nothing on it. When the vehicle was brought in for an issue we could not duplicate the problem she was indicating. The vehicle is over a year beyond the warranty and we will not pay for repairs or a rental vehicle.

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year I bought a 2010 Chevy Cobalt. Lets start with the test drive. When on the highway we were stranded for 20 minutes do to the car running out Last year I bought a 2010 Chevy Cobalt. Lets start with the test drive. When on the highway we were stranded for 20 minutes do to the car running out of gas. The biggest issue was the transmission needed work. I got a quote from two transmission shops saying the same thing, yet they did not fix the issue. I even asked them to fix the headlight that was leaking, but they did not. I bought it at the end of the year, but when the summer came around there was no ac in the car. This should have been said, but of course not since it would be a deal breaker. Lastly, when a company says home of the 5 year 100k warranty, it means it comes with the car. You guys sell it. Well guess what, All dealers sell extended warranties and they are not the " Home Of."

Desired Settlement: Fix what was broke when I bought it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/05) */ The customer bought a Cobalt October 2013 and we have never heard from the customer since. Usually issues are brought to our attention within 30 days. I'm sorry but we have no record of owing the customer anything.

7/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/31/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on South County Auto Plaza
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)