BBB Accredited Business since

Northtown Motors

Phone: (314) 524-5961 View Additional Phone Numbers 1016 S Florissant Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63135


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northtown Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Northtown Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Northtown Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 06, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1959 Business started locally: 01/01/1959
Business Management
Ms. Aundrea Riffle, Office Administrator Mr. George Riffle, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Aundrea Riffle, Office Administrator
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto & Truck Brokers


Additional Locations

  • 1016 S Florissant Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63135 (314) 524-5961 (314) 524-7874 (314) 524-5963

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To get some of my money back because I've been ask them two year to fix my car right. I had accident in my truck. I took it to Northtown for repairs. I paid them Three thousand dollars for the body them they charged me another seven hundred dollars to fix the problem after I picked it up from the because it was running harsh they said they had only did body work so I went along with that I drove it for about a couple of weeks and it start leaking I called them they told me to bring it back. I was there for a couple of hour they said they had the problem fix I drove it for another week or two and them it just cut out I called them up and explain the problem they said have it towed back to there shop I friend got it start and I could only travel back and forth to work I didn't pay them for about a month and two weeks and they came and towed it. I called him up and told him if there not going to fix it I'm not going to pay them he said they were going to fix it they had my truck for about three months till I got enough money to give them and the day i got it back it cut off again I called them he said to tow it back I said no because I'm steady giving up money and your not fixing it. I've came out of four thousand dollars and the truck is sitting in front of my house. I want some of my money back cause they do not no what the problem is.

Desired Settlement: I would like some of money back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/12/10) */ ***Document Attached*** Ms. ****** is correct in that she brought her 01 Ford Expedition in to Northtown Motors on or after 8/25/14 for body work pertaining to an accident. She is also correct that her insurance paid us $3036.39 for the work that was done (see body shop attachment). The next invoice we have for Miss ****** is 10/9/14, invoice # **** for $768.82 (almost 2 months). The work that was done had nothing to do with the accident repairs (see attachment). That work was completed on 10/15/14, the next repair ticket was 12/19/14 (4 months after body work). This invoice had nothing to do with the first 2 repair jobs (see attachment invoice # **** for $44.42). All warranty work must be done by Northtown Motors, we were never informed she had a friend work on the auto that alone invalidated the warranty with us. I am not sure what issues this auto had before the accident, but all of the work Miss ****** paid us to do we did, all 3 work orders are for unrelated issues. As to the current issues a year later had Miss ****** brought the car back to us a year ago when we did the work; we might have been able to help her. But as things stand now even our regular warranty would be out, and the work she paid for she received. No Refunds are due Ms. ******.

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently had some work done on my car (oil change, repair wires, AC, etc.). On my way home, June 22, the wire started smoking and killed my battery. They said they were going to send a tow truck and never did. I got the car back into the shop myself. My warranty was supposed to cover the whole charge, but now they are trying to charge me $300 to repair the issue. I already paid $500 for the work they did, which caused the problem. The warranty says "Warranty on parts and labor: 6 months or 6,000 miles. Work must be done in our shop". The car is still at the shop. They originally told me it would be replaced for free, and now they're trying to charge me. They're trying to say it's not their fault, because the wires they originally replaced caused the issues with the other wires.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the problem for free, since they are responsible and it is under the warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/10/19) */

8/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put my car in the shop with this company for them to fix it. I signed the paperwork and they had me sign a contract stating if I didn't make repairs they could come repo the car. I paid and got the car back and shortly after, the power steering pump FELL out of my car. This is not what I took it to be repaired for. I couldn't turn the steering wheel and had to leave the vehicle there. I am a pizza delivery guy and was working at this time. They towed the car there and said they would fix it for another $700. They fixed it and we were making payments on the car but the car was acting even worse than when I got it back from them. I stopped paying for these services that have not repaired the vehicle. They came and repossessed the car. I signed the form for the first repairs that were paid off, not the second repairs.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the vehicle back without any repossession fees and would like to get these repairs resolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/08/18) */ Mr. ******** brought in a 1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS that he had recently bought from a privet owner 1 week prior, to have the car checked out and a Mo. State safety inspection done. After explaining to Mr. ******** what work needed to be done to pass the inspection, see attached invoice #**** he authorized us to proceed with the work. The issue Mr. ******** is complaining about is the wiring for the fan that we repaired (the fan shorted out and caused the wires to overheat and melt off the insulation) all occurring before the car was brought to us for inspection. We fixed the fan replaced the striped wire back to where the damage was done from overheating. When the car was brought back to us because the wires caught on fire, we pulled the wiring diagram only to discover that someone had removed the fusible link that prevents the wires from overheating and starting a fire so the fan would work until it over heated. Our warranty only covers work we have done, as the fusible link had been removed before coming to Northtown there was no way we could have known it was missing as all cars do not have this link. Not one charge that is on the attached bill is a duplicate charge. Confirming this was not the issues we worked on the first time, thus it would not be covered under warranty. As to the Tow issue the company we are contracted with was delayed due to the flooding that occurred in Troy Mo. and Mr. ******** was not willing to wait for them to pick up the car, so he was informed he could get it towed to us at his expense if he could not wait.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Northtown Motors
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart