BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2001

Northtown Motors

(314) 524-5961View Additional Phone Numbers1016 S Florissant Rd, Saint LouisMO 63135-3237 Send email to Northtown Motors

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2001

BBB has determined that Northtown Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Northtown Motors' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Northtown Motors

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
06/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a truck in February 2013. I had a thirty day warranty. I told them the transmission was slipping and kept telling the salesman (Mr. ***). They wouldn't look at the truck. I took the truck back and they said they would repair it. Then I went back to get the truck and they wanted me to pay $1,400.00. I told him that was crazy and he said well just give me $700.00. I told him no. I don't think I should have to pay for this since I complained from the beginning about the transmission.

Desired Settlement
I feel that they should pay for this repair. I have been making all my payments on time.

Business' Initial Response
This consumer is happy. She said she was going to contact the BBB to remove the complaint. She brought the vehicle to us 4 or 5 months after the warranty expired. We explained to her that we could not use the warranty and offered her a payment plan. She said this was resolved and was a mistake.
****** ******.

02/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
December 3, 2010 I purchased a 2003 Dodge Durango for $10,070.00. I was paying $329.73 per month. The car broke down several times. I talked with (NAME) and he said he would have his guy fix it for $500.00 and I can pay $250.00 (car payment) plus $100.00 per month for the work done. The car caught on fire September 24, 2010. I went to pay off the car and he said I owed him now for sales tax plus the rest of the payments on the car and it is $6,570.00. I don't owe him that much. He will not provide me with a contract showing what I owe. He also can't explain why I had to pay the extra money per month. When I asked him he said it was a processing fee for my payment. Do I have to pay him that money if I don't have a contract? I have sent in all the receipts and repairs to the BBB. I only owe $3,430.00 My insurance company wants to settle this and send him a check but that isn't the right amount and his name is on the lien. I only have rental insurance until October 24, 2012 and I don't have any other way of getting transportation. I'm 73 years old and don't think he has treated me right. I need to purchase another car and can't until this is settled. Please help me.

Desired Settlement
I want to pay $3,400.00 and be done with this. I'm sending in all of my paperwork. I want to know if that is right that he charged me all that money as a processing fee also. I don't think that's right that he can't find the contract and wants $6,570.00 instead of $3,430.00. Why doesn't he have to prove this?

Business' Initial Response
1. See attachment #1 (Finance Agreement) that explains all cost and total payment at the end of contract.
2. See attachment #2 that show's Ms. ****** put NO money down on this Durango, because Mr. ****** felt sorry for her and she had bought 3 autos prior to this sale and paid them off. It is not, was not, nor will it ever be the policy of Northtown Motors to sell any auto with no money down. The org. price of the auto was $9995.00 + fees/charges noted on the buy order (attachment #2).
3. See attachment #3 Ms. ******'s pay sheet/ payment history as you can see she was scheduled to make 36 payments at $329.73 starting on 12/3/10. As of this date she should have made 24 of the 36 payments due but as you can see she only made 21 and 6 of that 21 pmts was less than what was due. Also note on attachment #1 there is a $25.00 late charge that should have been added to each and every payment, but that did not accrue, Mr. ****** was nice enough to wave that fee due to Ms. ****** being a return customer.
4. Ms. ****** has a copy of each and every piece of paperwork that pertained to this deal.
5. We have no record of these break downs Ms. ****** is speaking of please see attachment # 4 & 5 that show any repairs known to Northtown Motors. Attachment # 4 was due to a car wreck on 3/16/12 and this was covered by insurance, and Attachment # 5 was to check battery and breaks on 1/4/12.
6. If you will note Attachment #6 a copy of Ms. ******'s MDL # TXXXXXXXXX she is clearly mistaken about her age she was born in 1952 so that would mean she turned 60 this year on her birthday in July, not 73. That is unless she falsified state document.
7. The pay off remains the same $5150.00, when that amount is paid we will release the lean and the title.

There is not a spote to enter my attachments so I will fax them

Consumer's Final Response
See attached document

09/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/29/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto & Truck Brokers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/06/2001Business started: 01/01/1959
Business Management
Principal: Ms. Aundrea Riffle (Office Administrator)
Contact Information
Mr. George Riffle (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto & Truck Brokers

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Northtown Motors

1016 S Florissant Rd

Saint Louis, MO 63135-3237

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1016 S Florissant Rd 

    Saint Louis, MO 63135-3237(314) 524-5963
    (314) 524-7874
    (314) 524-5961

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Northtown Motors is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (314) 524-5963
  • (314) 524-7874
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.