BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2001

Northtown Motors

(314) 524-5961View Additional Phone Numbers1016 S Florissant Rd, Saint LouisMO 63135-3237 Send email to Northtown Motors

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2001

BBB has determined that Northtown Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Northtown Motors' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Northtown Motors

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a truck in February 2013. I had a thirty day warranty. I told them the transmission was slipping and kept telling the salesman (Mr. ***). They wouldn't look at the truck. I took the truck back and they said they would repair it. Then I went back to get the truck and they wanted me to pay $1,400.00. I told him that was crazy and he said well just give me $700.00. I told him no. I don't think I should have to pay for this since I complained from the beginning about the transmission.

Desired Settlement
I feel that they should pay for this repair. I have been making all my payments on time.

Business' Initial Response
This consumer is happy. She said she was going to contact the BBB to remove the complaint. She brought the vehicle to us 4 or 5 months after the warranty expired. We explained to her that we could not use the warranty and offered her a payment plan. She said this was resolved and was a mistake.
****** ******.

10/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I recently had some work done on my car (oil change, repair wires, AC, etc.). On my way home, June 22, the wire started smoking and killed my battery. They said they were going to send a tow truck and never did. I got the car back into the shop myself. My warranty was supposed to cover the whole charge, but now they are trying to charge me $300 to repair the issue. I already paid $500 for the work they did, which caused the problem. The warranty says "Warranty on parts and labor: 6 months or 6,000 miles. Work must be done in our shop". The car is still at the shop. They originally told me it would be replaced for free, and now they're trying to charge me. They're trying to say it's not their fault, because the wires they originally replaced caused the issues with the other wires.

Desired Settlement
I want them to fix the problem for free, since they are responsible and it is under the warranty.

Business Response

08/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I put my car in the shop with this company for them to fix it. I signed the paperwork and they had me sign a contract stating if I didn't make repairs they could come repo the car. I paid and got the car back and shortly after, the power steering pump FELL out of my car. This is not what I took it to be repaired for. I couldn't turn the steering wheel and had to leave the vehicle there. I am a pizza delivery guy and was working at this time. They towed the car there and said they would fix it for another $700. They fixed it and we were making payments on the car but the car was acting even worse than when I got it back from them. I stopped paying for these services that have not repaired the vehicle. They came and repossessed the car. I signed the form for the first repairs that were paid off, not the second repairs.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get the vehicle back without any repossession fees and would like to get these repairs resolved.

Business Response
Mr. ******** brought in a 1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS that he had recently bought from a privet owner 1 week prior, to have the car checked out and a Mo. State safety inspection done. After explaining to Mr. ******** what work needed to be done to pass the inspection, see attached invoice #**** he authorized us to proceed with the work. The issue Mr. ******** is complaining about is the wiring for the fan that we repaired (the fan shorted out and caused the wires to overheat and melt off the insulation) all occurring before the car was brought to us for inspection. We fixed the fan replaced the striped wire back to where the damage was done from overheating. When the car was brought back to us because the wires caught on fire, we pulled the wiring diagram only to discover that someone had removed the fusible link that prevents the wires from overheating and starting a fire so the fan would work until it over heated.
Our warranty only covers work we have done, as the fusible link had been removed before coming to Northtown there was no way we could have known it was missing as all cars do not have this link. Not one charge that is on the attached bill is a duplicate charge. Confirming this was not the issues we worked on the first time, thus it would not be covered under warranty. As to the Tow issue the company we are contracted with was delayed due to the flooding that occurred in Troy Mo. and Mr. ******** was not willing to wait for them to pick up the car, so he was informed he could get it towed to us at his expense if he could not wait.

09/05/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto & Truck Brokers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/06/2001Business started: 01/01/1959
Business Management
Principal: Ms. Aundrea Riffle (Office Administrator)
Contact Information
Mr. George Riffle (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto & Truck Brokers

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Northtown Motors has received 3.46 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Northtown Motors

1016 S Florissant Rd

Saint Louis, MO 63135-3237

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1016 S Florissant Rd 

    Saint Louis, MO 63135-3237(314) 524-5961
    (314) 524-7874
    (314) 524-5963

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Northtown Motors is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (314) 524-7874
  • (314) 524-5963

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.