BBB Accredited Business since

Imports Ltd

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 771-6699 Fax: (314) 771-0442 View Additional Phone Numbers 3700 Chippewa St, Saint Louis, MO 63116 http://www.importslimited.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Imports Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Imports Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Imports Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 03/26/1984 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
James David Cornelius, Owner Richard Scharban Jr
Contact Information
Principal: James David Cornelius, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Grand Finance Grand Finance Co Grand Imports Ltd McCown Coach Sales

Additional Locations

  • 3654 Chippewa

    Saint Louis, MO 63118

  • 3700 Chippewa St

    Saint Louis, MO 63116 (314) 771-6699 (314) 481-5777 (314) 771-2021 (866) 771-6699 (314) 771-3160

  • P. O. Box 2664

    Saint Louis, MO 63116

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/11/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** ******** and I purchased a car from your dealership today 5-9-16. I took a second look at my paperwork today and noted that the amount financed after my cash deposit was wrong. I purchased a 2006 Nissan Maxima 3.5 SL. The car is still listed here: http://www.*************************************/Used-Car/StLouis-MO/6291435/Details.aspx at 7995. The sticker on the car was marked 6995 on Saturday May 7th and per the salesman (******) the car was marked down 1000.00 from the online price.which was the same day I was approved by financing on the difference between the 6995.00 minus 4,000 deposit (3600.00 cash 400.00 debit). My total finance amount should have been roughly 4,000.00 including the ~700.00 gap insurance and the ~200.00 administration fee. The 6995.00 price tag was about the same as the blue book value of the car so I agreed to have the financing department run financing information on Saturday pending a vehicle check which I had done this morning. Everything checked out and I purchased the car. Later, I realized that the sale price on the paperwork read 8995.00 plus gap insurance and fees when it should have been 6995.00 plus fees. That is a 2 thousand dollar difference. You have another Nissan Maxima for sale for the amount of 8995.00 perhaps the person that was filling in for the original finance manager today (5-9-16) made this error. I know that I did sign and initial paperwork which was all waivers. The financial amounts were all on the computer. I’m hoping this is an error and not a simple bait and switch. I am going to file a complaint so that I can protect myself and warn others if in fact this was a bait and switch. I emailed you using the email address on your website in concern about this error prior to filing this complaint. Mistakes happen. I understand that. Please contact me at ************. We can resolve this by 1 of 2 ways. Initiate a change in the total financed amount and email me the corrected paperwork or make and adjustment on my deposit in the amount of 2,000 within a few days. The sale price of the car is wrong so if I am taxed more than I should in the event that this is not resolved by the time I register the car I would need an adjustment there as well. I will give you a call to discuss this tomorrow as well but wanted to put it in writing for my protection just in case this doesn’t get resolved without including a 3rd party or getting courts/lawyers involved. If anything needs to be cleared up feel free to contact me.

Desired Settlement: People make mistakes. Sometimes I do myself. No harm No Foul. Please contact me. We can resolve this by 1 of 2. Initiate a change in the total financed amount and email me the corrected paperwork or make and adjustment on my deposit in the amount of 2,000. The sale price of the car is wrong so if I am taxed more than I should and if this is not resolved by the time I register the car I would need an adjustment there as well. I will give you a call to discuss this tomorrow as well but wanted to put it in writing for my protection just in case this doesn’t get resolved without including a 3rd party or getting courts/lawyers involved.

Consumer Response:

Hi, I issued a complaint last night regarding a Sales/Pricing error at Imports Limited Auto Sales at **** ******** *** *** ****** ** *****.

I would like to remove the complaint. The dealership agreed to look over the paperwork again this morning and I expect the issue to be resolved.

Thanks for you help on this matter.

****** * ********
***********@gmail.com
**********

3/2/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Imports L.T.D. Now, my name is ***** ****** I most resently purchase a vehicle from your inventory of cars, the one chose cost $5194.00 totolly. It quit running on the roadside on my way to work. How irritating that is. I hadn't had possession of the vehicle for fourthy days. "Now I was on my regular routine going to work... all in spontaneous moment the engines- began to make so very strange noise next the car began losing acceleration. As if the problem which were never reveal began to act up.... That aspect of the car trouble was not reveal as the law so require. Atleast providing the buyee with a fair process to conduct civil business, the buyer shouldn't been made aware of such defects, instead of its contrary conceal a none fact, for the sake of purchase. "damage good doen't retail caalogy a none damage properity! Damage value depressiate. P.S. please read my letter I look for result in this civil-minded grievance procedure. Your client ***** ****** Enclosures attached

Desired Settlement: P.S. please read my letter I look for result in this civil-minded grievance procedure.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/11/16) */ I have included for your review copies of the documents we sent Ms. ****** on November 9, 2015. It is not clear from your correspondence what the actual issue is but we will keep you apprised of our progress. Please understand we were not given the opportunity to help Ms. ****** prior to a complaint being filed so would the BBB consider a retraction of this complaint if our gesture of goodwill is within your policy guidelines. Thank you for your assistance in this matter. Sincerely, ***** D *********

11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7/31/2015To Whom this May Concern, *** ***** **** ******** I am writing second notice to Imports LTD. I have finally received all of the documents and estimates on my car. As I stated in the very first communication sent to ***, the man that sold me this great car. I took the 2005 Mercedes Benz in for routine oil change and routine service. There was a concern and they said that I needed to have it looked at by a Mercedes Benz dealer. I did and what they found was unheard of. I purchased the car from you on April 8, 2015. I have added approx. 3ooo miles and maintained the car impeccably. I am aware that I signed an AS IS document. I also have since read the document very closely as I was rushed the day of purchase because you had sold so many cars that you were closing on that day. The document that I signed says that I was not misrepresented. Myself and my attorney feel that wording is misleadingand quite honestly a LIE. I was given a car report, printed right off of **** computer that says the car is perfect and specifically NEVER BEEN IN ANY ACCIDENTS. I have attached the independent Carfax that highlights 2 accidents. I WAS MISREPRESENTED. I am a consumer and I have retained an attorney with my questions. I also have a copy of a safety and emission inspection that says passed but based on the findings in the evaluation of the car, I question the validity of the inspection; and will be reporting that as well. It is my hope and expectation that we can come to some sort of agreement that will save both of us time, money and embarrassment. I have prepared a packet very similar to the packet that you are receiving for Attorney Chris Koster, BBB of St Louis, Fox 2 News and KMOV. 2005 Mercedes Benzs SLK 350 purchased 4/8/2015Purchase Price 14,194Sales Tax 887.00Telle Tire 103.38Mercedes Benz 151.05Interest on LoanTBDTotal (less Interest) 15335.43Total 15335.43 Is the total that I am out as a consumer based upon the fraud and MISREPRESENTATION at the time of the sale. I am confident that you want to make this right in good faith as the successful company that you suggest you are. I hope that we can handle this with no further incidentCasey **********************@gmail.com Product_Or_Service: 2005 Mercedes Benz SLK 350 Account_Number: attached in complain

Desired Settlement: Purchase Price 14,194Sales Tax 887.00Telle Tire 103.38Mercedes Benz 151.05Interest on LoanTBDTotal (less Interest) 15335.43This car was misreprested and is of no value without costly repairs totally 9572.40. I would like them to reimburse my money and cost accrued and take their car back, in the same condition they sold to me

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/06) */ Regarding the above referenced case, I have included for your review a copy of a letter sent to Ms. ******** on July 29, 2015. I believe it is important the BBB understand we have been given no opportunity to assist Ms. ********. We received an email from her on July 28, 2015 and sent her a written response on 7/29/2015 (see copies enclosed). Per your BBB correspondence, Ms. ******** has now complained to several entities but again has not spoken to our staff. Per our July 29, 2015 correspondence to Ms. ********, we have offered to schedule a follow-up diagnosis to determine how to assist. I will provide a follow-up to the BBB after we speak to her. Thank you for your assistance on this matter.

8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a 2006 BMW X5 from the dealership as is. I have been making repairs on the car but have discovered they rigged the car to hide defects. The low jack malfunctioned and when I took it to get it cut off, they discovered their was corrosion from water damage through the electrical system. They put glue on the PCV valves instead of replacing it. I do not feel that they disclosed any of the issues they were aware of before I purchased. They offered me $100 to remove the low jack, or I would need to tow the car to their shop at my expense. This devise was not standard on this car.

Desired Settlement: I need them to fix the problems they hid from me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/08/06) */ I have included for your review a copy of a letter sent to Mr. ****** on May 22, 2015 addressing this matter. Per Mr. ******' statement to the BBB, I am not clear regarding his reference to a "low-jack" system. I have discussed this term with the manufacturer representative and we do not know what a "low-jack" is. It was previously our understanding Mr. ****** had discovered an ignition-interruption device that had possibly been installed by a previous lender (these devices are usually hidden in the vehicle to prevent tampering by the owner). As you can see from our correspondence, we explained to Mr. ****** we do not install these devices and had no knowledge of one on this vehicle. We then offered to assist Mr. ****** in the removal of the device. Our manager *** ******* explained our insurance carrier prohibits our towing vehicles but if the car is delivered to ***** Auto Service, we would pay for the part removal. Mr. ****** has not communicated with us again regarding this issue. Lastly, Mr. ****** states in his letter to the BBB "They put glue on the PCV valves instead of replacing it." I assure the BBB there is no reasonable purpose for anyone to "glue" an inexpensive part such as a PCV valve and would like to reiterate we do not do repairs; they are performed by 3rd party vendors who routinely replace PCV valves for us. In conclusion, we are still available to help Mr. ****** if he would like our assistance. I will send him a follow-up letter and cc your office. Thank you for your help on this matter.

6/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Chrysler Pacifica 2006 on October 6th, 2014 for $7,000. The vehicle was sold as is under the pretense that we would pay for emissions. When I took it to get tested it will not pass emissions. I've taken the vehicle back to them and asked them to make the repairs and they say they cannot find out what is wrong with it.

Desired Settlement: I want them to make the appropriate repairs so that it will pass emissions.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/13) */ Ms. ******** purchased a vehicle from our company on October 06, 2014. On December 5, 2014 Ms. ******** inquired about the Mo Emissions Guidelines referencing this purchase. At that time I explained the Missouri Emissions Gudielines are illustrated on the face of the Purchase Order (see copy attached). The mandated guidelines are 10 days or 1000 miles for an emissions test and 30 days from date of purchase are allowed to register the vehicle. Ms. ******** acknowledged both guidelines had been exceeded. I then suggested Ms. ******** have the car tested and if it needed to repair to turn it into the service contract provider ASC Corp (see copy attached). Ms. ******** left and I did not hear from her after 12-5-14 (see copy of correspondence) Additionally, Ms. ******** did not return the vehicle to us for a diagnosis as stated in the complaint dated 12-22-14. If Mrs. ******** would like to have the car diagnosed please have her call me anything during regular business hours Mon-Sat (:00 AM- 6:00 PM. We will have the car checked and offer a resolution. Lastly, I took vacation Christmas through Jan 4 and learned of this complaint when I returned Monday January 5, 2015. Thank you for your assistance. Sincerely, *** *******

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed $3,000 down on a 2005 Volvo S60 May 15, 2014. It was an AS IS sale. However, I purchased an extended warranty through the company. At purchase it did not pass safety or emission inspection and the check engine and pollutions lights were. Three tires were in bad shape with wires showing through the tread showing. I have brought it back for repairs, but Imports Ltd could not get it to pass inspections and are now refusing to help. Also, my name on the paperwork was misspelled and the wrong date of birth was indicated for the extended warranty, which I later found out to get a lower rate. Because I was not not able to get it registered I got a ticket.

Desired Settlement: I want the Volvo repaired to pass safety and emission inspection, three tires and reimbursement for registration late fees and the ticket I received.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/22) */ Ms. ********* purchased the above described vehicle on May 15, 2014. Subsequently on June 11, 2014 Ms. ********* returned regarding a check engine light (see document A titled After Sale report). On June 11, 2014, we scheduled an appointment to have the vehicle diagnosed at ********* Automotive 6-13-14 (See document A page 3 enclosed). Ms. ********* did not return for the appointment. Additionally, please refer to document B (buyer's Order) dated 5-15-14 which reflects the miles at time of delivery as 55,836. On June 11, 2014 the miles were 58, 862. Ms. ********* or her male associate had driven the vehicle 3,026 miles in 26 days or an average of 116.38 miles per day. If Ms. ********* or her associate have been consistent in their use of this vehicle it has likely been driven 12, 219 miles since the date of purchase. Regarding emissions, I have included for your review a copy of the Buyer's Order (document B) which explains the emissions procedure and limitations. I have also included a copy of the MO. Vehicle Safety Certification which was given to Ms. ********* on the date of sale. In your correspondence Ms. ********* claims Imports Ltd. has improperly spelled her name and misstated her birth date on the sales documents. For clarification please refer to the Financial Responsibility form dated 5-14-14 (document C) which has a copy of Ms. ********** Driver's License that reflects a Name and D.O.B. identical to that on the sales documents. Lastly, on August 28, 2014 Ms. ********* called her Salesperson ******* ******* on his cell phone at 10:00 pm requesting we provide an additional temporary license. In that conversation ***** Explained the Missouri Department of Revenue allows 1 temporary permit covering the first 30 days of ownership. Ms. ********* was not pleased with *****'s explanation and asked if he knew anyone who would sell her an additional permit. ***** stated he did not and asked Ms. ********* how she was doing and she responded "fine". In conclusion, if Ms. ********* had taken the vehicle to ******'s Auto Service in June as advised this entire matter would have been avoided. As previously explained we at Imports Ltd. consistently exceed the terms of all written agreement in the interest of customer goodwill. Consistent with this police we offered to help Ms. ********* but she did not respond to the offer. In the interest of customer goodwill we will reschedule an appointment but we must make this offer at "arms-length" because Ms. ********* was brutally attacked on our property by her associate at the time of delivery and we prefer any further contact be by phone or email. If Ms. ********* would prefer a cash payment we will mail a check in the amount of $250. Sincerely, ***** ********* President Imports Ltd.

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 Chevrolet Tahoe July 19, 2014 and it came with a 30 day/1000 mile 50/50 warranty. The check engine light came on July 24th and I took it back the next day. A salesman came out hooked up a machine and erased the code which turned off the check engine light. Then he told me because of the code indicated it was not covered under the warranty. After that I left. While driving on the highway to Michigan July 26th, the service stabilizer link, check engine and traction control service lights came on. I took it to *** ****** July 29th for a diagnostic check and it's being looked at.

Desired Settlement: I would like the problems repaired.

Business Response: Regarding the above referenced complaint dated 7-30-2014. On 7-24-14 Mr.******** returned regarding a check engine light that had illuminated. Our staff connected a code regarding device to the vehicle and after an on-line review concluded it was and EVAP system monitor that can result from fueling the vehicle while the engine is running. The code was cleared and Mr.******** was instructed to always turn the car off when fueling and let us know if the light came on again. Regarding the TPS (tire pressure) monitor, Mr.******** signed the attached affidavit on delivery acknowledging the "high profile" after market wheels on the car are the reason the vehicle does not monitor the tire pressure (see document A attached). This situation occurs when the original equipment wheels are replaced. Mr.******** has yet to contact us regarding any additional issue. Additionally, the terms of the 1000 mile 50-50 limited warranty were explained in detail to Mr.******** on delivery (see document B attached). It is likely if the vehicle has been driven to Michigan it has exceeded the defined terms of the limited warranty. However, as with all customers we would have assisted Mr.******** had he given us the opportunity. If possible, please remove this complaint from our file due to our not being notified by Mr. ********. We will offer assistance if he calls and explains the circumstances. Thank you very much. Sincerely, ***** ** *********

4/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Imports Ltd
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart