BBB Accredited Business since

Hollywood Motor Co

Phone: (314) 423-0033 Fax: (314) 423-3262 View Additional Phone Numbers 9500 Saint Charles Rock Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63114

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hollywood Motor Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Hollywood Motor Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 22, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 01/01/1977 in MO
Business Management
Mr. Ken Grayem, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Grayem, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • 9500 Saint Charles Rock Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63114 (314) 423-0033


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 2006 Nissan Altima from them on 9/4/15. As soon as I took it to test drive it was shaking funny and the air was not cold either. I noticed it felt like the transmission or the motor mount. Whenever I took it back to them I told them about it. They took it to the shop and told me everything was fixed. I picked it up and not even a week later the car began to shake. I called and told the mechanic there that it was it was still going on. He told me to come back up and they would look at it again. They supposedly fixed it again, they said it was the motor mount. It stopped shaking, but now veers to the left. I went and got an alignment done and it didn't fix it. The air is still not working. I contacted them again and he told me my car wasn't under warranty anymore and I couldn't take it back to get fixed. The way he talked to me was so rude. I took it to a shop recently and was told the air compressor was completely shot and the wiring was bad.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to fix the air conditioning like they promised to do in the first place.

Business Response: see attached

5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: St. Charles Rock Road I went there mid-March and told him I didn't have a license, but he insisted on me test driving the car. I got pulled over because he didn't put the tags in the correct place. In addition, they sent a box of cookies to my job without my permission. I was fired the day after they delivered these cookies, which is the reason I believe. After employment verification, they found out that I was discharged. I got a different job. They said they needed a pay stub and I said I didn't have one yet since I just started the new job. She said she just needed one and asked me to come into the office. She immediately said I could not keep the car anymore until I present them with a pay stub. I tried to explain to her that I was a traveling consultant and needed a vehicle. I was starting my job and could still present them with proof that I was making the same amount of money. They took my car, I took my stuff out, and I had no way to work. I basically lost my car again because of their inconsideration with all of this. I put a $1,000 down payment on the vehicle, and they said if I don't sign a new contract, they would be keeping it.

Desired Settlement: I want my $1,000 down payment back, especially since I have lost two jobs now and have gotten a ticket because of this company.

Business Response: Business Response Attached

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Although some details have been misappropriated, I am happy to move away from any further association with Hollywood Motors. Respectfully, sending any information or packaging to a customer's professional workplace, without consent and before a lender verifies employment, is not within the scope of any car dealership's operation. I encourage the Better Business Bureau to maintain communication with Hollywood Motors in the hopes that similar mishaps do not occur in the future. 


***** ******** ***

3/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ** ******* **** **** I Bought 2005 Saturn Relay from this dealership. I was under warranty when I got my e-vap fixed the first time. My check engine light came on and read it was an E-vap. I went to get my car fixed for a different reason and on 3/9 it said my e-vap canister code came up again. I got it fixed 2015. They must not have fixed this issue right the first time, so I feel they should reimburse me for what I paid to get it fixed again.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for paying for the e-vap to be fixed again, because they must have fixed it incorrectly the first time.

Consumer Response: I attempted to get in touch with the general manager of the dealership. They kept transferring me and I never got to anyone. I did try to reach out first to solve it with them before filing a complaint.

Business Response:

     The customer purchased the 05 Saturn Relay 5/6/15.  She received a 30 day /  1000 mile warranty.  She returned on 6/11/15 with a warning light that there was an issue with the evap system.  At this time she had the vehicle 36 days and had already drive the vehicle 1516 miles.  She was out of warranty by 6 days and 516 miles.  We made a decision to do a good faith repair and diagnosed and repaired her vehicle at no charge.  It is now 9 months later and at that same rate of driving she would have driven over 13,000 miles.

     The evap (evaporation) system in a vehicle is designed to capture gas fumes and recycle them back into the system rather than escaping into the environment.  It is a complicated system and the failure of multiple components can cause the engine light to come on and whose failure can trigger an evap warning and consequential repair.  The evap canister she said was replaced is positioned under the back of the vehicle and is a filter that can capture the excess fuel that will overflow into it during the fueling process.  One practice that commonly causes the canister to fail prematurely is when somebody tries to force more gas into the vehicle after the pump shuts itself off when full.  Some people call this "topping off the tank".  However this is a bad practice and over time will accelerate the failure of the canister.  A vehicle that is over 10 years old as this one is, the life expectancy of the canister is spent regardless.

     Finally in researching the records in our repair shop we found that the evap system part we replaced on 6/11/15 was a purge solenoid located under the hood by the exhaust manifold. 

     It made sense for the customer to assume that this could have been the same repair over again when she heard it was an evap repair, but it was a completely different component.  Also I would like to recommend that anyone who feels an item on their vehicle should possibly be a candidate for a warranty replacement, to take the vehicle to the person they think should provide the warranty before they repair it.  It is not a good practice to have it repaired then go ask another shop for the money.  The warranty system is not designed to function in that manner. 

     We are sorry the customer had this issue but it really does not involve us at all, and we appreciate the opportunity the bureau provides to resolve these issues.

*** ******, President

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Cadillac SRX a month ago. It was okay for two weeks, and about week 3, it starting having issues. I brought it in and they said they'd fix it. Three days later, it started doing the same thing. They wanted me to leave it there so they could fix it. I took off work yesterday and demanded that they fix it, and they gave me the run around. They used every excuse - manager isn't here, they already fixed it, etc. This car has On-Star, so I called them, and they said it has to do with the engine oil. Hollywood is saying that because the engine light wasn't on, there was nothing wrong with the car. They lied saying there was no manager in, when I saw the manager walk in, that they fixed it, though they did not, and the mechanic actually got in the car and asked On-Star what to do. This was all around terrible. They did not treat me right and they are selling bad products. Just because the indicating lights aren't on in the car, does not mean there is nothing wrong with the car.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take responsibility for the faulty product they sold me and the way they treated me. I would like an apology and for them to run their business better.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* - GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****** This customers vehicle had a bad oil pressure switch. We replaced it with a brand new part and charged her nothing for the repair even though the vehicle was out of warranty. Hollywood Motor Company considers this dispute resolved.

7/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 Ford Fusion on July 8 and I put $0 down, 72 month financing. He said there is a 30 day warranty on it, and the check engine light continues to come back on. Today is the second day I am taking it into the shop. They say there is nothing wrong with the car, but this light shouldn't be coming on if that is the case.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a different vehicle or for my loan to be terminated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****** We have resolved the issue with the customers car and have satisfied them completely. This matter is resolved.

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I acquired GAP insurance when I purchased a Saturn Aura from Hollywood motors. The car was totaled out on April 22, 2015. I contacted Hollywood Motors and requested that all extended warranties be canceled out and notified *****, ******* and ***** that I need a copy of the cancellation notice and a copy of the settlement check to submit for the processing of the GAP insurance. I was told that this was not a problem. I also was told by ******* the check had been mailed to him, but it had not been received as of Monday, May 25, 2015. ******* also informed me that Hollywood motors would add three portion to it and send the settlement to ****** ******** As of June 1, 2015 I have been given the run around by Hollywood motors. Product_Or_Service: Car service warrenty

Desired Settlement: A copy of the extended warranties, settlement check and any refund for the processing of the GAP insurance claim.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****** The above complaint has been resolved. The customer has been issued all of the documents that she has requested. We didn't receive the check until June 1st, 2015. We gave Mrs. ****** her paperwork that she requested Jun 3rd, 2015. The request was processed with efficiency. Hollywood Motor Company apologizes for any confusion. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/06/11) */ Thank you for your timely response the issue has been resolved as of Friday, June 5, 2015.

3/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertising and misleading sale practices. Hollywood Motor Company has been running an ad in the local classifieds magazine for the past month.The add guarantees financing to any one who works at 13 dollars down no the only astriks attached statement being that a $199 dollar documentation fee would be required up front. I contacted Hollywood Mo. CO. on the 11th of November to inquire about the add. I spoke to ***** about a white Ford Ranger that was pictured in the ad and spoke with her about financing and asked directly if all that was required was a job and drivers license to qualify for the 13 dollars down and was assured that yes they where working through several lenders and they would get me financed with that deal and we set an appointment for Saturday the 15th of November to come in and look over the truck and take it for a spin. I recived a phone call on 13th of November from ***** to confirm my appointment and made I made reference to another truck I had seen on their wedsite and asked if she would be able to give me the same financing on that truck since it was not included in the ad and was told by ***** that she could make it work. I arrived on Saturday the 15th at my appointment time and was not met by ***** but a gentleman.. who I had such brief contact with I can not recall his name. Me and my girlfriend both filled out applications and provided the required documents and where told to browse the cars and let him know which one we liked and he set us up on a test drive we looked at and drove both the trucks that I had referenced in my phone calls with ***** when we returned the gentleman that had taken our applications informed me that unfortunately all of their lenders where closed that they use for 13 down deal where closed for the weekend and the only one he knew for sure he could get us approved with would require 10% down. "Red flags" why have me come in on a Saturday to sign on a deal you can't process on a Saturday? They tried a bait and switch on the financing... I didn't take it. Asked to look at one more car a Ford Fiesta and then set an appointment for a day when the bank was open.. when we came back in we spoke to an woman who never identified herself and set an appointment for 6:30pm Monday November the 17th and that I would like the numbers run on the black Ranger and the Fiesta. I did not receive a conformation call or email today the 17th so I called at 2:00 pm ***** was not available at the time I was told she would call me back in 10 to 15 mins I recived a call back from ***** at 2:27.. She informed me that I didn't quality for the financing that was guaranteed by their ad and in to separate phone conversations and I would require a co signer that makes atleast 2000 a month or a larger down payment. I reminded ***** that the ad had guaranteed financing at 13 down if I worked and she had confirmed the same each time I had spoken and she would need to figure out how to make it work as I was told it would and give me a call back... she apologized and told me there was nothing she could do it was up to the banks and out of her control. I called back at 2:27 and asked to speak to the manager I spoke with *** and informed him of the troubles... he told me there was a disclaimer in fine print that all financing was subject to cerdit approval. I informed that the ad had no such disclaimer that the only disclaimer was that a $199 doc fee he apologized if there was discrepancy in the ad they have a lot of success with it but there was nothing that could be done because it was up to the banks. I belive they are using a deceptive sales technique to get people into the store for 3 reasons 1) My appointment was set for a day that they could not possibly honor the deal.2) the speed at which they offered the 10% down financing. 3) all of the vehicles that are listed as included in sale are still there on the lot minus a late model Camaro thats been running for over a month.

Desired Settlement: Financing on the truck honoring the implied promise of guaranteed financing at 13 down. Or reimbursement of lost wages and transportation cost. I live an hour from the lot and my girlfriend both took off work to come to the lot.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* GM Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ****** Mr. ***** visited Hollywood Motor Company after viewing our "13.00 Down" advertisement promotion in the Thrifty Nickel / Auto Album publications. Upon arriving to the dealership Mr. ***** completed a credit application and his information was submitted to the finance department. After review Hollywood Motor Company contacted Mr. ***** and informed him that because of issues within his credit file and or employment history and or income he would not qualify for the 13.00 down program but he would qualify for financing with a 20% down payment of the sale price. The advertisement was posted with the following disclaimer that reads "Most vehicles come with a Limited Warranty that applies to drivetrain only. 30 days/ 1000 miles whichever comes first, $100.00 deductible applies. See Sales Rep for details. Listed monthly payments (13995 and under) based on 66 months @ 5.20% (13996 and up) based on 72 months @ 5.75%. 20% down payment (Cash or Trade) Subject to Lender and Credit Approval. All info deemed accurate but subject to typographical errors and may change without notice. $199 Documentation fee for storage and processing." If Mr. ***** would like to invest in cash or trade 20% of the sale price of the vehicle he is interested in we have financing available for him and we look forward to earning his business. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There disclaimer does not address the 13 dollars down thats advertised it specificly addresses the 20% down that they are now offering ... they have not addressed the reassurance I was given in 2 different conversations over the phone by Sorel that they could definitely get finance me at 13 down.. and yes I did ask specifically if she was sure that I would be qualified at 13 down and was answered with "we will make it work". I qualified for 10% down on the day of my vist as I mentioned in my complaint. . so why am I now being offerd financing at 20%? At no point have they addressed my complaint about the business practices that I have mentioned... only the advertising issue has been mentioned but only with a canned statement that doesn't address the false advertising contained in it. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2015/03/12) */ 03/23/15: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 03/25/15: Their fine print does not mention the $13 down. I drove over an hour to get there on a Saturday for my appointment. The banks were not open and they could not approve a loan. They have a guarantee to approve credit. I want the company to be more transparent and change their advertising. The advertisement is a lie and I was not approved with the $13 down. When I was at their office they told us we could get a loan with 15% down and then they told the BBB we would need 20% down. 03/27/15: I understand they are no longer using the advertising and I will contact the FTC with my complaint. Final Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/03/12) */ 03/27/15: We no longer use that advertising since the end of 2014. An attorney approved the disclosure. We are now only advertising on Craig's list.

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Hollywood Motor Co
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart