BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/02/2013

D C Auto Sales

Phone: (314) 773-2277Fax: (314) 773-22782901 Arsenal St, Saint LouisMO 63118-2202 Send email to D C Auto Sales

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/02/2013

BBB has determined that D C Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised D C Auto Sales' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on D C Auto Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
07/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My daughter is underage, only 17. I believe 18 is the age of consent. This company sold my daughter a car with the check engine light on but had someone rig it so it would pass the tests. The alternator is bad and he refuses to refund her money. My daughters burthday is 5/4 and he sold this vehicle to her in April, so my daughter was 16 at the time of purchase and did not have a cosigner.

Desired Settlement
I would like him to take the vehicle back and refund the money used to purchase it.

Business Response
To make the consumer happy, I told her to come in and I'd refund her the money on her vehicle. That is what she is doing today. She brought the car back today and is getting a full refund.

Consumer Response

08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Emmission test didn't pass, they will not give me another car or a refund.
June 20th I went to DC Auto Sales to look at cars, they showed me a 2001 Chevy Malibu, I test drove it, I liked it, only thing I noticed wrong was the air condition wasn't working to well, I told ****** the salesman, and he said he would take care of it. So I put $500 down for them to hold the car, my down payment was $1000 I gave them my last payment of the $1000 dollars on July 18th. I signed all the paper work, ****** told me that they hadn't got the emissions test done on the Malibu yet, would I mine taking it to they're other shop on S.Kingshighway Monday July 21th , i said no problem. I turned the car on and the check engine light was on, so I told ****** the salesman, and he told me to take the car to theyre shop the next day which was Saturday July 19th so they could check out the car, I did that, and they told me the equipment was broken, so I would have to come back Monday, I said ok.I went home parked the car. Got up sunday July 20th, to go to the store, and the car would not start. I called DC Auto on July 21th @ ******* and ******** told them the problem, they came and towed the car, ***** *********** called and told me it was the battery and they will get me a new one.I find out later that the car needed a new ignition, they replaced that too.July 22th ***** told me after replacing the battery they needed to drive the car for 50 miles, and then they will give it the emissions test, ***** *********** ask me to give them a chance to fix the problem, and if it didn't pass emissions she will look at getting me another car. Well as of today July 23 the 2001 chevy Malibu did not pass the emissions test. I went to see if ***** would honor what she said, she told me that it(MALIBU) was "GONNA" pass the emissions test, and she was not gonna give me another car or my money back. at this point I don't want any dealings with this company, I just want my money back, oh and by the way ***** said I was giving her a heart attack because I don't want to pay for a car that didnt pass emissions.

Desired Settlement
My down payment of $1005 and my $30 dollars worth of gas I put in the 2001 Chevy Malibu.

Business Response
The vehicle has passed both inspections and customer is making the car payment. We believe this case has been satisfied.

08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On 05-23-14 I 2004 Chrysler Sebring purchased from this company. I paid $1200 down and purchased it as is. My monthly payment is $270. Since I purchased it I have had alot of problems with it. It overheats and have to drive with the heat on for it not to overheat. I took it to them on 07-09-14 for them to repair the vehicle. They kept it for a couple of days. On 07/13/14 they told me I needed a headgasket, the gas gauge is broken and more problems. I asked if they were going to repair it and they said this was my problem and I have to pay for the repairs. On 07-14-14 I wanted to return the car and they said they would take it back, but I was still legally responsible for the car payments.

Desired Settlement
I would like to take back the car and remove the car loan out of my name. I would also like my $1200 refunded.

Business Response
DC Auto Sales is not responsible for this vehicle. Before the sale of the vehicle it passed both safety and emissions inspection. The vehicle was sold with the inspections done and was as is.

06/05/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/01/1994Business started: 01/01/1994
Contact Information
Principal: Chadd Windmueller (President/Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
D C Auto Sales Inc, DC Auto Sales

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for D C Auto Sales

2901 Arsenal St

Saint Louis, MO 63118-2202

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2901 Arsenal St 

    Saint Louis, MO 63118-2202(314) 773-2277
    Fax: (314) 773-2278

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*D C Auto Sales is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.