BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/24/2013

Auto Credit of Southern Illinois

Find a Location

Phone: (618) 967-8637Fax: (618) 993-0477View Additional Phone Numbers1100 W Deyoung St, MarionIL 62959-4402 Send email to Auto Credit of Southern Illinois

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/24/2013

BBB has determined that Auto Credit of Southern Illinois meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Auto Credit of Southern Illinois' rating include:

  • 24 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Auto Credit of Southern Illinois' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service21
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Credit of Southern Illinois
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (24)BBB Closure Definitions
02/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: When we first went and got the car September 2012, they didn't really read through the contract. They just told us where to sign and would not tell us the whole price until we signed the contract. They told us we have a 18,000 mile/18 month warranty for everything on the car. They got our signatures and now will not fix our car. It has broken down 6 times already. They are asking us to keep paying on the car or else they will take us to court. The car is a manual and will not go into any gear. We opened the gear shift and there was all sorts of stuff shoved in there (golf ball, gum, etc.) The men are extremely sexist towards me and it makes me uncomfortable to even go in and pay the bill. My fiance is always at work and doesn't have the time to go in and pay the bill.

Business' Initial Response
Consumer purchased a 2007 Chevrolet Aveo from Taylor Motor Company on 10/12/12. He purchased an 18 mo XXXXX mile extended service contract that covered the drive train only. I can provide a copy of this document if need be. The service contract was not a bumper to bumper contract. They had some issues when they first purchased the vehicle. The engine was replaced under the service contract, and since the repair happened so quickly after purchase, the deductible was waived. On 11/14/12 Taylor Motor Company paid $1393.80 in repairs to remove and replace a lower intake gasket, and replace catalytic converter and brake pads and rotors. There was no charge to the customer for these items even though they were not covered under the service contract.

If Consumer will provide an estimate for the current repairs that are needed, the service contract company will be glad to see if the repairs are an item that would be covered under the service contract.

We apologize for any misunderstanding between our staff and Ms. while making her payments. I can assure you it is not our intention to make her uncomfortable. If Ms does not feel comfortable coming into our Mt Vernon facility, we would be happy to accomodate her payment needs. She can be set up on a recurring debit card transaction, we can set up an ACH out of her bank account, or she can pay online. We also have 3 other facilities to make a payment in person.

I will be happy to provide any documentation needed to show what the Arco Service Contract covers and what the term is.

If you have any questions, please feel free to call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

11/20/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: I bought a 2003 Ford Explorer September 15, 2012. There was noise under the vehicle when it shifted gears and the company signed a 'We Owe' form that promised to repair the popping and vibration under the vehicle. It was taken to automotive for repairs and we got it back and took it for a drive and it still shifted hard and made a popping noise. I took it back to and they kept it again. We picked it up a couple of days later and drove it around and still had the same problems. I called and talked with (____), she told me to bring it in and (____) would take a look at it. (____) and I drove around and heard the noise and he diagnosed it. When we got back he said he would call Auto Credit with what he thought was the problem and contact a ford dealership for a new bushing for the rear end. It was not until after the 30 day warranty expired that called and said they would not cover the bushing and rear end. I would be responsible for any repairs.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: GM
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@goautocredit.com
We have replaced a hub assembly, bearing and rear differential in the vehicle Mr. has purchased. The repair total came to $686.82. We have agreed to replace the bushing as well. We have told them to make the appointment at their convenience.

09/24/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Returned a car we couldn't afford to Marion Auto Credit, and they keep trying to bring it back and very rude on the phone and harrassing me.
My husband and I purchased a 2002 Chevy Malibu from Marion, Il Auto Credit in April 2012 and returned it 2 months later due to the fact we are unable to make the payments for suddent financial situations. When we returned the car, the CSR we talked to was very rude. They dropped the car off at a house down the street from us, not knowing that they dropped it off at the wrong address. I told them this as well. They call our phones every day talking to us in a very nasty tone, and yelled at me that "you WILL pay for this car and we will just keep dropping it off at your house everyday and call you everyday." I informed them if they are going to put it on our credit, then go ahead and do so, I understand that. But all the harrassing and dropping the car back off (well threatening to, the car has been parked at the house down the street for 2 days) is ridiculous. (NAME) is one of the ladies that call and yell and scream at my husband and I and it is totally out of hand. If we can't afford it, we just cant'. If and when they drop the car off at our address, it will get returned to them. I've never dealt with a company that acts this crazy before. It is out of control.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** General Manag
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@****************
Mr. and Mrs. purchased a vehicle on March 31, 2012. They signed an installment contract in which they agreed to make 84 biweekly payments. We have taken the vehicle back to their house, and followed up with a phone call. They do have a contractual obligation to make the payments. To the best of our knowlege, nothing has changed since they purchased the vehicle to prohibit them from making any payments. If anyone has any questions feel free to call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The car was returned to someone else's address. We do not have possession of the car. It was returned by Auto Credit to a home a few blocks down on South 12th Street.

07/30/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: They try and take your money and sell your car off to financial loan company's without contacting the payee first.
In March of 2011, I payed my car note online to notice in my bank account they took out a months worth. My payments are 88 dollars a week. I pay bi weekly since that's how I get paid at work. So I pay 176 every two weeks. When I checked my bank statement like I always do after a payment noticed that they took out 352 dollars. Then you contact them to let them know of their error for them to put you through all this madness, like they don't realize their books are 176 dollars over. They make note of your payment on computer and they hand write it out. So they should see when they do count the end of the day/week that something doesn't add up and that was the first incident. The second incident was when they gave my car away to a loan company and they dont even contact the payee of the change. And the loan company's location was 35 minutes away from my home and they didn't except payments over the phone. The third thing is in July of 2012 went in to make a payment and like I said before I pay 176. The receipt that they gave me said 88 dollars that's only a weeks payment but that wasn't the problem. I checked my bank statement like I always do to make sure they took out the right amount and they took 176 dollars out of my account double what was on the receipt.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title:************ GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@goautocredit.com
I have attempted to contact either ************** or ****** ******. The account is actually in *******'s name. The number I have on file does not reach either of them. I will be happy to work out some type of compensation if one of them will be willing to contact me. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

06/28/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Invalid or false contract

Complaint: Breech of contract 3x and invalid contract,
Wife returned home on 11/30/11 with a 2001 Mercury sable from this place and traded in a 2002 dodge ram 1500 Pu. When she arrived I was shocked to find out that she traded in a vehicle with BOTH of our names on title. (balance still owed as it was financed) I discovered that she paid 9000. for a 3500.car. I sent her back to get my p/u back as without both parties in IL signing off on the trade is was not a valid deal. Auto credit told her too bad they processed the paperwork already and she was "stuck" with the car. According to there contract she has 72 hours to trade the car back in for another so I sent her back to trade it in on a cheaper BETTER car and again they refused breaching there own contract. It was setup for a WHOPPING 87. wk payment. We told them that there own contract says that she can trade it in within 72 hours and they refused. They LIED to her about the mechanical condition saying that it was just serviced. My husband noticed a tyranny leak and they blamed it on armor all burn off. In fact it leaks 1 qt a month. 2 weeks later they shut off the car with a gps which they told her was used ONLY in the case of it being stolen. We told them that my husband needs to go to 2 meetings that day and they are finance sensitive and if he blows the meetings he can get hit with a 10k fine and they said they didn't care and in fact told her if she didn't make a payment she will be sued. 18 payments later we are still fighting them with NO prevail. (18 payments because there right WE ARE STUCK) All we get from them is threats. I did NOT agree to this deal and I did NOT agree to trade in my p/u and I surely didn't SIGN anything which IL law says both parties MUST sign off on the trade in. To date, we are still fighting to get back our p/u. The p/u was worth well over 4000 (blue book) and they suckered her into 2500 TRADE IN VALUE. When we confronted them about there 30 day warranty to fix the tranny they told us NO and if we want it fixed we have to buy an extended warranty which was 1300 meanwhile we have a 30 day warranty that they refused to acknowledge and YES its in writing. They told us there is a 0 day grace period on payments and in fact harassed us at 4:30pm about a payment that was due THAT DAY. HELP! They were not allowed to take my p/u. They broke the contract by NOT honoring there service contract and they broke there contract by not letting her give it back within 72 hours AND they broke the LAW by taking a vehicle without MY permission. I did NOT want to trade in my p/u and even if I did, i signed NOTHING to that fact. When we told them these things they said " too bad your stuck and if you don't pay we will for the next 10 years go after everything my wife has until they get all there money from the sale" Talked with DMV AND the dealership that we bought the p/u from and they also stated go get your p/u it was a illegal transaction but they refuse. Now we ask them can we be a WHOPPING 6 days late as wife just went on unemployment and they said too bad if its not paid today they will shut off the car. We told them that would effect MY job and they said "it wasn't there problem" Since the time of this statement they cost me 200 in wages. According to everything I read. They owe me my p/u back, all 18 payments and loss of wages that are in direct result of there illegal stunt. HELP!!

Business' Initial Response
******** purchased a 2001 Mercury Sable on 11/30/11. When she came into Auto Credit to purchase the vehicle, ******** was with her. They picked out the Sable, and we contacted the finance company for a payoff on the trade in. We received a written quote of the payoff from **** Auto Brokers, Inc that only has ********'s name on it.

After they purchased the vehicle, they did come back within the 72 hours to try and get another vehicle. The exchange policy states it has to be a similarly priced comparable vehicle. ******** and ******** were shown the vehicles that would qualify for the exchange, and even drove a couple of them. They did not like them and left. They called back the next day and said the reason they had wanted to do the exchange was because the vehicle they picked out did not have a radio, and they had decided to get a radio from somewhere else and install it themself. We assumed the problem was solved.

******** purchased an extended service contract with her vehicle that covers the transmission. If she is indeed having problems with the vehicle she needs to contact the **** Claims Center and make an appointment to get it diagnosed.

At this time, we have addressed all of the concerns the *********'s have and do not feel the refund of their money is necessary.

Consumer's Final Response
6/28/2012: The dispute was resolved and I got a 2000 Ford Expedition in exchange for my original pick-up truck trade in. I owe nothing on the other car that this dispute was about. It was a combination of the BBB, Attorney General and Secretary of State that convinced the business to resolve this issue.

Page 1 of 2
10/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: I got the vehicle back in 2010. I went over my papers and realized I have paid off the car January 4th 2013. It is October and I have still been making payments. My payments were $155, now they are $145. They never told me I was done making payments. I am up to date on my payments and they repossessed my vehicle 8/28. I called them to get the vehicle back and went in. I called them before I was coming over, an hour ahead of time, because they said something had to be done with the battery. I had just bought a battery. I got into the shop and they told me they needed my keys to charge it. I gave them my key. We waited for an hour and finally we went around back and my whole console was destroyed and they said they had to put a new GPS locator in there. It shuts my car off. They are forcing me to make payments or else they will shut my car off. This is extortion. The GPS drains my battery and I have to carry around a charger to get around.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******* **
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@***********
Ms. purchased her car on 2/5/10 agreeing to make a $155 payment biweekly. She has only made 7 on time payments. We have rewritten the loan to 70 a week, but do not receive the payments regularly. She has been consistantly late and we have done 2 deferments to try and get her caught up. She has fallen behind after each of the deferments. She is currently behind on her payments. The car was in poor condition when it was repossessed. We did install a GPS unit on the vehicle, however, the unit will not drain the battery. We do not have to take the console apart to install the unit. All of our vehicles have the unit on them, and we professionally install all of them. I feel confident we did not cause any harm to Ms. vehicle. I can provide a payment history on this account if it is needed.

09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: I originally purchased a 2006 Saturn Vue from Auto Credit of Southern Illinois with a "Promise to Pay" a down payment with my tax refund. The IRS held my taxes so they gave me the option to either pay $100.00 a month more or drop down to a different car. We could not afford to pay extra so we chose to get a stick shift 2004 Saturn Vue, my wife could not drive it so we took it back within the dealers contract time of 200 miles or 72hrs. We had to fight to get them to uphold their own contract to exchange the vehicle. They then gave us a choice of two vehicles, one a Mercury Sable that the interior door panels were falling off and started smoking from the engine when we test drove it around the block, and a 2002 P.T. Cruiser which we wound up taking because we traded our only car in for the 2006 Saturn. Two weeks went by and we had to put a $200.00 starter on the car out of pocket and they refused to help with it. Come to find out the cause of it not starting was a piece had broken in the steering column and they replaced after I said that I would drop it off and they could have it. After I got my taxes this June I took the car back because it was having engine and shifting problems so I dropped it off at the dealer and told them that I did not want the car anymore because it was falling apart and not worth $422.00 a month. Three days later they brought the car back and parked it in my driveway and enabled the gps system so the vehicle would not start so I could not move it. They then called and harassed me to pay them or they are going to take me to court and take 25% of my wages and they would not let me start the vehicle to move it out of the way. I tried giving it back and told them that I could not afford to fix it and make a payment and they still bring the car back to my house and make it to where I cannot start the car. These people are selling cars that are junk for the price of a new one. Something needs to be done to stop this.
Product_Or_Service: 2002 PT Cruiser

Business' Initial Response
****** originally purchased a 2002 Ford Focus and financed it with Auto Credit in August 2010. In January 2013 he brought the car in and wanted to trade it for the 2006 Saturn Vue. He was an excellent customer, so we traded vehicles with a promise that he would pay the necessary down payment with his taxes. In March he informed us that he would not be getting any of his tax refund back, and could not pay the note as promised. We did not want him to give the vehicle back and suffer a repossession on his credit, so we offered two options. Pay payments on the down payment note, or we will trade vehicles into a lesser value vehicle and forgive the money down. ****** decided he could not pay extra on the payments, and would like to trade into another vehicle. We made the trade into another Saturn that was a 5 speed. He brought it back a couple of days later stating that his wife just could not get the hang of driving it. We agreed to try to find yet another vehicle for him to take. He chose the P.T. Cruiser. We have tried to work with ******. On May 31, 2013 we agreed to lower the payment and defer one payment. ****** has signed an installment loan contract with the 2002 P.T. Cruiser as the collateral. I do not know of any other options we can exercise at this time.

Yours Truly
*** *******
******* *******
XXX-XXX-XXXX

08/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: I bought a car from auto credit and i lost my job and they came and got the car from my parents house. I told them i would not be able to make my payments on it anymore so i gave it back to them they call everyday and harass me and the people i put down to call if i cant make a payment they call about 5 times a day . Also the car was not running right with the transmisson and i haven't had the car very long i bought a 2001 Chevy impala 4 door and the price was 13,000 to pay it off i need these phone calls to stop asap . I cant pay for the car . The tires on the car are not mine and i need them back .. Thank you

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: GM
Contact Phone:
Contact Email:
Ms. vehicle has been picked up and we are no longer calling her or any personal references. We cannot give the tires back on a vehicle that has been picked up. If you have any questions regarding this matter in greater detail please feel free to call me at

07/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: When we bought the van told salesman AC not working properly , brakes squealing and needed to be fixed
AC not working properly and brakes and rotors need to be replaced. Have tried on many occasions to have them fix the problem and was told not their responsibility. This van was not sold as is. Also told us it passed a 88 point inspection. They had us take it to ******* auto and he said half life on brakes and rooters should be turned or replaced. They gave us a can of freon to charge the AC but not the problem. Have talked to customer service and was told to have it checked and they would see if they can do anything. I feel if we are paying almost $10,000.00 for a van we should not have to put almost a $1000.00 into it to be fixed.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@goautocredit.com
The consumers purchased the 2002 Chrysler Town and Country van on April 29, 2013. When they purchased the vehicle, they purchased an 18 month 18000 mile service contract on the drive train only. This does not cover air conditioning or brakes and rotors. We did not promise any work on the vehicle at time of purchase. ****** Motor Company paid to have the brakes looked at on 5/24/13 at ******* Automotive. ******* said that the brake pads had 70% pad left and the noise that the brakes were making were caused by rust on the rotors. Neither are a safety problem. Since air conditioning is not a covered item under the service contract, we cannot get the repairs, if any are needed, covered.

06/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Today is 6/20/13 my payment is a week late and **** account manager called me several times at work hollering where I started hollering at work..
One I am paying 16000 for a 2004 ford explorer been paying on time for a year and been harassed by **** account manager though text and calls at work and payment is never more then 2 weeks late. Even wen she reached me on cell she calls my job and references not understanding why if she spoke with me she even laughs at me over phone wen I beg not to cut my car off gene president of company still has not called me back to try settle this complaint against employee almost lost my job due to this company... I'm tired and very uncomfortable with this company.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@goautocredit.com
Ms. signed a contract stating she would make biweekly payments of $185.00 each. I will be happy to provide a copy of the contract if needed. Several of her payments have been late, and it is our standard practice to call the customer for a payment or to make payment arrangements. If Ms. requests we do not call her work number, we will be happy to honor that request. We always honor the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and we are sorry that Ms. feels we are harassing her. We are only trying to find out when and if she has the ability to pay the payments as agreed. If anyone has any questions about this account, I will be happy to answer them. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars, Consumer Finance & Loan Companies, Credit Services, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Auto Credit of Southern Illinois

1100 W Deyoung St

Marion, IL 62959-4402

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 1629 N Main St 

    Benton, IL 62812-1970

  • 2201 W Ramada Ln 

    Carbondale, IL 62901-5315(618) 435-3995

  • 1100 W Deyoung St 

    Marion, IL 62959-4402(618) 967-8637

  • 3112 W Broadway 

    Mount Vernon, IL 62864(618) 435-3600
    (618) 529-3995
    (618) 969-8810
    (618) 242-2500

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Auto Credit of Southern Illinois is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (618) 993-8683
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.