BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/2012

West County Honda

Phone: (636) 391-6900

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service12
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints17

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)BBB Closure Definitions
03/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized changes to the contract or agreement

Complaint: Company employee changed authorized purchaser title instructions and disguised action. Employee refuses to correct the defalcation.
9-1-12,I purchased a second new vehicle for $24,601.50 from West County Honda within a 2 month time frame. The first went without a hitch. The second is a 2012 Honda Accord. In spite of some questionable tactics to get us to the bargaining table, we came in to purchase the vehicle with full payment in hand. We signed the initial paperwork stating the vehicle to be titled in my name and my wife's name the same as the first vehicle that we purchased. During this 3 hour process we were directed to the finance department and introduced to a gentleman known as (name). (name) attempted to sell us additional warranties and asked for financial information. We stated that we were not interested in the extras and intended to pay the full balance by check. (name) pointed out that if we financed the price of the vehicle at his 1.9% rate and invested the funds we intended to pay for the vehicle, we would be money ahead. At this point I disclosed to (name) that I have my credit locked or frozen as to avoid identity theft losses. (name) explained that he would look into it and would report on our next stage of the purchase. So, we went to the other departments and proceeded with the purchase. My wife and I were directed to (name) office and seated across from (name) at his desk. (name) stated that he had secured the financing in my wife's name and proceeded having us sign paperwork. A few days later we suspected that (name) had arbitrarily removed my name from the title application altogether. I immediately called West County Honda the they confirmed that the vehicle was sold to my wife as the sole owner. I was told that when I receive the paperwork I could change the application to anything that I want. I visited the West County Honda location and confronted (name) to correct his unacceptable actions. I offered to pay off the loan right there and then. I explained that it is relatively simple to unfreeze credit information for a check and he needs to get my name on the loan/title. When I attempted solutions, (name) got upset and claimed that I was talking down to him and left office stating that he did not want to discuss the matter any further.

Business' Initial Response
We did explain the special financing from Honda. When we ran his credit it was frozen so therefore his name could not be on the title or loan. We did put his name as a TOD, to be transferred on death. It is possible this was not explained correctly to him. When he returned we did try to explain, but we found it difficult to communicate with him and a conflict did ensue. We explained that he could be added to the title if the loan was paid off and cancelled. We would be happy to restart a new loan for him. What happened was he paid off the loan, received the release and did add his name to the title.
This has been resolved.

Consumer's Final Response
01/11/2013: The title was registered late and I want the business to reimburse me the late fee. I paid the vehicle off and had my name put on the title.

01/11/2013: Mediator requested consumer submit a copy of the documents he signed to the BBB.

01/22/2013: Mediator left message for consumer requesting documents.

01/24/2013: Mediator left message for consumer requesting documents.

Business' Final Response
We ****** be mailing him a check for $25, for the late filing fee.

01/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: My wife and I purchased a vehicle, the salesman added things we did not want in the loan and in addition gave us expired inspections.
My wife and I purchased a vehicle on July 29, 2012. It was a 2006 Dodge Caravan, that had a sticker price of $9889. Our Salesman (____) was not the most helpful, and he shuffled us through like children in a cafeteria line. He showed us a couple of options that we could have included in the loan and we never said we wanted them. When we went in to sign the papers their explanation was "it's already in the loan." We should have had them redo the paperwork then, but we were in the office for several hours with small children and just wanted to leave. When we received the paperwork in the mail we realized they had added $774 into the loan for things we didn't want. After going rounds with the dealership we finally got them to refund the $774, however, we are still paying interest on it in our loan. We took the paperwork to go get plates for the vehicle on the 27th of August. My wife left out of town with the van on the 25th, and I was going to overnight her plates to her. When I got to the DMV, I discovered that the emissions and safatey inspections were 30 days expired. I quickly contacted the dealership and they said they could not issue a second temporary tag. I was told by (____), that they would mail out a dealer plate to her. My wife wasn't due home until September 10th. The 29th of August came and my wife called saying she still had not recevied the plate. When I called the dealership they told me it was too expensive to overnight her a plate and to just have her drive on the expired tags and if she got any tickets to bring them to them and they would pay for them. At this point we had been given the run around so many times that we were not prepared to put that much faith into the dealership. My wife headed home a week early scared to drive too far on the temporary tags. The contract that we signed with West County Honda stated to include a CURRENT AND ACCURATE inspection. THIS was not included. They are already in breach of contract of the signed documents, in addition we are now paying interest on $774 that we didn't ask for, now we are paying late fees on sales tax and plates due to their negligence. The fact that they TOLD US to just drive on expired plates, shows they have no ethics to stand for.

Business' Initial Response
Mr.
I would be glad to discuss any further interest we may owe you. Please contact ****** ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX
and we ****** come to a resolution.
Thanks

Consumer's Final Response
01/08/2013: Mediator left message for consumer.

01/09/2003: Mediator left message for consumer.

09/20/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: On 8/4/12 I purchased an 08 Nissan Armada from this company. During the test drive I reported problems with the back windows as well as a rattling noise while driving the car. I was told by my salesman that the problems would be fixed. However, these problems still exist after failed attempts to repair the matter and I feel I am receiving the runaround.

Business' Initial Response
Ms ******, Please contact ****** ****** at West County Honda, I would be glad to help you figure out what the noise is and I'm sure that we can come to a resolution.
XXX-XXX-XXXX ext
I look forward to talking to you.

09/11/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: I bought a 2006 Ford Free style and it was certified with a 2 year 24,000 mile warranty I bought it on 08/02/12. the A/C went out on 08/16/12 and I told them about the A/C they told me to take it to the Ford dealer. the ford dealer told me that the warranty company is disputing the mileage on the contract as it is higher that what's on the vehicle. My complaint is I bought the car as a certified vehicle and everything is supposed to work. I want the A/C to work as it was part of the purchase package.

Business' Initial Response
, our Sales Manager, called the consumers on August 30. After we learned of the mistake, made an appointment for the consumers to come in August 31 to get the correct mileage on the paperwork.

05/31/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Purchased Subaru from West County Honda on 3-12-12. Received paperwork and noticed 2 mistakes. We noticed some charges on our paperwork,called the loan dept. (name) on 3-20-12 to cancel Gap Insurance and change $100 deductible to $0 as promised. (name) promised that it would be taken care of asap. Called (name) again-May 12-2012.re:insurance card haven't received. He responded that its in the mail. Also on 5-12 ask (name) if Gap ins had been canceled and removed from loan.His response was Yes. Called Bank on 5-14, no record of credit of Gap ins. (still haven't received ins card)Called dealership 5-14 to inquire on Gap ins credit. Left 2 msgs w/(name), 2msg w/(name) and 1w/(name). (on one of the calls we did contact (name) in loan dept. he could see (name) in the next office through his window and that (name) was not on the phone, he immediately transferred us to (name) only to get his voice mail again.) We are getting the run around and untruths. In today's economy you would think buying a new car is a big deal and we should receive the best customer service ever. We are seniors and we feel that we are discriminated against because of our age.

Business' Initial Response
we deeply regret any inconvience that Mr. has experienced with our finance dept. The person in question has been reprimanded for his poor customer service skills. We have issued a check to ********** bank for the refund of GAP insurance.We have contacted the warranty company to straighten out the deductible issue and plan on having that resolved by mail shortly. Again we are sorry for this whole mess and look forward to seeing Mr. for future business.

Page 1 of 3
05/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: I went to west county honda on april 19, 2013 to look for a car . My son apply for loan and couldn't get it so i co-signed for him. **** ***** change application information without informing us. **** ***** lying a__ put me first as the primary. I call him several times and went out to dealership. **** told me interest rate would be 4.5 and i call credit union an it 5.8%. He's a big lyier and rush to get you out of the office and change everything. My son purchase a 2009 challenger & tires are no good. Took it back twice and they said the tire sensor light ****** go out. Then i took it to another dealership and they said (sensor)inside tire is bad. Please don't go to west county honda you ****** get screwed.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** **** BDC Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX ext 1013
Contact Email: *****@westsountyhonda.com
On April 19, 2013, consumers came into dealership looking at cars. He decided to purchase a 2009 Dodge Challenger. The store processes lead him to filling out a credit application. At that point in time we ran his credit, making an educated guess of what his credit worthiness we asked him if he had anyone that would be capable of signing on the loan with him. Consumer agreed to assist her son with the purchase and completed a credit application. As she had a higher score, our Business Manager explained the most financial institutions ****** give a lower interest rate is the higher score is first on the paperwork. She agreed to those terms and conditions and completed all of the paperwork signing as the primary purchaser. We reiterate that it is not owner and cosigner, its co borrowing. Co indicates that both parties would get the same credit as payment information would report on both credit bureaus
It was after the transaction was completed and the contract was funded by the lender that we were made aware by consumer that she had issue with the transaction. We requested from the lender authorization to "switch names" on the contract and they advised that is we did that the interest rate would be adjusted upward. The higher rate was not acceptable to consumer.
Regarding the tire sensor, West County Honda has completed the requested repair.
On behalf of the entire West County Honda Staff, including Mr. ******, we apologize that she does not feel that she received the best customer service experience. Our passion is that every sales and service transaction our customers are completely satisfied.

01/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: We bought a car that was for our son it was used 1100 miles later the car that certified by their mechanics breaks with a cost of 2700 dollars.
2003 Chevy Malibu had according to our mechanic a head gasket blown and (NAME) the manager told us they had to look at it for warranty. sales manager (NAME) and (NAME) understood the car breaking was an issue. After contacting (NAME) at least 11 times with no answers we contact (NAME) in service and (NAME) in sales. She was sure she could help but nothing. The warranty company after 6 hours of labor said it was a problem not covered and if we wanted our car we had to pay 1200 dollars. Their ****** was so much higher when we could put a new engine in it. See they had just worked on our van and told us of repairs we needed in excess of 2000 and after 2 mechanics looking at it said no so trust issues were broken. But both of our cars needed work at the same time. So long story short we feel that we our overcharged of 803 dollars. Plus the certification process of finding dirty coolant should of been addressed. Sales men not calling back and the owner not willing to back what he sold

Business' Initial Response
This customer purchased an AS IS vehicle. We offered him a discount for the repair and he declined.

09/13/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Sales manager promised to refund $1329 we had paid for ext. warranty on 2009 Civic (car we were trading in). Trade hinged on complete refund.
Purchase Date 3/31/12
Trade in - 2009 Honda Civic Hybrid
Purchased car - 2012 Honda Accord
Sales rep - (NAME)
Sales mgr - (NAME)
(NAME) - person handling (NAME) affairs related to extended warranties, etc.

On 3/31/12, my wife and I stopped by West County Honda. I was in the process of retiring and we had been thinking of trading cars to get something a little larger for trips we were planning. There was nothing wrong with the Civic and we did not have to trade cars at that time. When the Civic was purchased new in 2009 from ****** Honda (same building as West County Honda), we took out an extended warranty for 96 months or 120k miles with a 100% moneyback guarantee if it was not used and turned in within 10 days of expiration. Since was no longer in business, we asked our sales rep if we could get a full refund since it had never been used. He was not certain, so he called the sales manager (NAME))over and asked him. (NAME) said he would find out at which time he left (NAME) desk and within a few minutes he returned and said if we would make the trade we would get a full refund of the $1329 and we would receive this in the mail in 4 to 6 weeks.
(NAME) kept our original copy of the Guarantee and said he would take care of getting the refund. He had mentioned that a special fund had been set up for matters such as this. We had made it clear to both the salesman and sales manager that this was important to us and we would not make the trade without the full refund.

I visited West County Honda the last time on June 23 and gave (NAME) a copy of the check we had received from Conley Insurance for $669.00 which was the prorated amount due us per their calculations. At that time (NAME) asked for my email address and said he would copy me on a note to (NAME) requesting the $660.00 be reimbursed to us. I never received a copy of any such note, so on July 02, I sent (NAME) an email advising him of this and still I did not receive a reply. I then sent (NAME) an email requesting the refund. According to (NAME), we ****** not be reimbursed since we did not keep the car until the contract expired.

The car trade we made on 3/31 was not with ****** Honda or (NAME). The trade was with West County Honda and was made on a promise and a hand-shake with the sales manager, (NAME). As I mentioned previously, there was nothing wrong with our Honda Civic and if we had known we would not get a full refund of the $1329.00, we would not have made the trade. It is our strong belief that West County Honda owes us $660.00



Business' Initial Response
We tried to work with the insurance company to obtain a full refund for the consumer, but cannot promise a full refund. The refund is the insurance company decision and we cannot override it. At no time did we promise the consumer a full refund because this was a 3rd party warranty. The warranty was purchased thru another dealership who is no longer in business. The consumer needs to contact the insurance company for full disclosure on the refund.
. Sales Mg.

08/14/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: We purchased a 2012 honda civic may 11,2012, and had customer service issues from the time we started to deal with sales person. It is 6/7 no title.
We went to west county honda saw the civic we wanted and worked out price we would purchase the car for. We questioned our salesman about why the car was considered used with only 2500 miles on it, and said it was used because of the mileage. Asked if it was a demo said no, so once he brought out ****** we read it, and i told him it was considered used because it was a leased car for a few months.asked salesman how the econ button would affect gas mileage, and he couldn't give an answer. Worked on filling paperwork out and once we finished then we had to wait for another employee to come and try to sell us more options. Then it was time for financing the car, and we had to wait for over an hour to see the finance man. During this entire time they were suppose to take the car back to be detailed, and it sat until right before we got into the finance man. Time to take our car home,and our salesman didn't go over any features, or how anything works. We got a letter in the mail from the president of west county honda, and it basically said if we had any concerns to please call him. We did call and left 2 to 3 messages, and he never called back. A gentleman called said he was under him, and we voiced our concerns and problems, the president never did call. On june 5,2012 i went to the license bureau to pay sales tax and transfer the plates from the old car to our new car, and after waiting in line there for 45 minutes i was told i needed the title to our new car. West county honda never sent us the title to the new car. I was furious so i called the dealership asked to talk to the president, and not to be put on his answering machine. Guess what a women was put on phone he was in a meeting, i asked if he would be finished shortly she said she didn't know, i asked if he would be finished by tomorrow, next week or next month and she didn't know.
i expressed my concerns and now my major problem no title and taxes had to be paid by june 11. I said i wanted to talk to the president/owner of the dealership, and her response was she would give it to the title person. Another women called and said honda has not released the title, but she will request it and hopefully they would have it in 7 to 10 days. Explained that would not work need by tomorrow leaving for vacation, and sales tax would be late because of them,so she said she would write a check for late fee, and mail it all when they receive the title. I preceded to ask to talk to president/owner again she said he was there he just walked by , so i said i wanted to talk to him and went over how i was told he was in meetings. She said she would give him the message and i left my cell number and home number, and much not to my surprise no call. If west county honda does not change their ways their new business will not last long. We would not recommend this dealership to our worst enemy. When the president/owner cannot call you back, what kind of example does he show his employees and potential customers

Business' Initial Response
I would like to apologize to Ms and assure her that her title is on the way. We have ***************** it to her and she should be receiving it on Monday the 11th. As far as compensation for her time in line, I would like to speak to her, i'm sure we can work something out. Perhaps we can get her an accessory or some kind of service credit for future work. I would also invite her in at her convenience to go over and answer any questions she may have. We truly regret all of the issues and look forward to a better relationship in the future.
***************
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
8/09/2012: After numerous calls the business did offer to answer any questions we may have and offered some option. However, I have been unable to schedule any appointments as the car was in a wreck and ****** be in the shop 3-4 weeks.

05/01/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.