BBB Accredited Business since

Joe Machens Automotive Group

Phone: (573) 875-5000 Fax: (573) 499-1308 500 Vandiver Dr, Columbia, MO 65202 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.Joemachensautomotivegroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Joe Machens Automotive Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Joe Machens Automotive Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Joe Machens Automotive Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 09, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1982 Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated 01/01/1982 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Frank Griesbach, Controller Gary R. Drewing, President Bob Jacaway, Executive Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Frank Griesbach, Controller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Legend Automotive Group Inc--previous name-- Machens Fiat Machens Joe Automotive Group Machens Mazda Machens Mercedes Machens Mitsubishi

Additional Locations

  • 500 Vandiver Dr

    Columbia, MO 65202 (573) 875-5000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is simply I went to Joe Machens for some good service, and most of my town is Joe Machens car dealers. So I assumed it was a good choice. I did a trade and got a used car, but my sales person guaranteed that even tho it was used it was a good car, and that they just didn't sale people any type of cars. I have only had my car since November 2014, and I have to continue to take it to shop. Some things are covered in my warranty and that's good, but I simply ask them to do a over all check everytime. Because I constantly have to bring my car back and $100 deductible's add up, plus with a car payment and other bills as a single parent. Joe Machens assures me they check everything, but then something else always goes wrong. I have talked with my sales person and A Sales manager about them trading it or fixing or even helping fix my car. I have gotten no results. They do little things I guess so I can stop complaining, but I need the issue resolved, because I trusted it was better for me to get a better car that was reliable other than fix my old one.

Desired Settlement: I just would like for them to fix or trade my car, so I can have a reliable car for the car payment I'm making. For the simple fact I think they knew that car had issues and just sold it to me, only giving me a warranty for certain things. Yet I know I didn't tear up any struts in my little time frame of having this car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/19) */ A member of management from Joe Machens Automotive Group will contact Ms. ***** to discuss her options. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They tell me anything at the time and it's never any results.

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a 2012 Nissan Titan from the Joe Machens Automotive Group located at *** ******** ****** Columbia, MO XXXXX on February 28, 2015.During the original writing of the paperwork, the finance manager stated that he was going to throw-in the extended warranty that would extend the warranty time to 94,000 miles. He informed me at that time that the paperwork would have to be re-done and I would have to return to the dealership again.I also was promised that I could get my personal property out of the truck as well as items being taken off the truck. I was also informed since it was snowing and bad weather outside, we would be able to put my old truck inside to remove my property myself. At the time of the transfer of license plates, I found that we were only going to be able to get a few items out of the truck because we were now having to work outside in the bad weather. I was promised that I would get the remaining personal property out when I returned March 3. It was approximately two and a half weeks before I was able to receive the remaining property, and that the truck had already been sold. Therefore since I was unable to do a final physical inspection and be assured that I was getting everything left in the truck, I am not sure that I did in fact receive all personal property.I returned on March 2, 2015 to Joe Machens Automotive Group to sign again another set of papers. I noticed at the time that it seemed that I was under some sort of time limited.I was handed paperwork after paperwork and ask to sign while the Finance Manger continued endlessly asking questions and keeping busy so I would concentrate on what he was saying and distracting me from getting to read contracts and loan papers to entirety. He kept stating man, you got a great deal here, and asking when can we get the co-signer to sign.After a few weeks, I received a notice from a company called CNA out of Scottsdale, AZ. The notice included everything about the recently purchased truck including serial number, my name and address, sellers information. Notice was dated February 28, 2015, two days before final paperwork was completed at the dealership. The notice also include a statement Your contract has been corrected as stated above The notice was to inform me that the length of warranty was now for 60/60000 (60 months/60000 miles). Im asking if the paperwork wasnt finalized until March 27, 2015, how could the warranty have started two days earlier on February 28, 2015? The finance manager also made the statement that the loan company wasnt going to let me add the warranty.I investigated the contract in which I was rushed to complete and kept pre-occupied and found that I was charged for the alleged throw-in warranty in the amount of $2895.00. This notice from CNA also stated that this so-called warranty only covered seals and gaskets.The finance manager at Joe Machens Automotive not only fabricated a lie that he was giving me the warranty, he also lied in telling we this was a full warranty which in fact only covers seals and gaskets.I was misinformed of the length of the warranty as well as misinformed on the exact coverage of same warranty and lied to that the dealership was throwing the extended warranty in. Product_Or_Service: Used vehicle

Desired Settlement: To whom should receive the refund should be decided between the lending party and their customer and not decided upon by the dealership.I am still missing the wiring and antenna from my two-way radio along with several other things. The truck was allegedly sold/disposed of before I could retrieve all personal property.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/05/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@machens.com Mr. ******* had contacted Joe Machens Automotive Group prior to contacting the Better Business Bureau and was advised that he has every right to cancel the service contract that was purchased as part of the purchase of the Nissan Titan. In order to process the cancellation a form must be signed. The dealership has even agreed to cancel the service agreement in full. Mr. ******* must contact the dealership to obtain the cancellation form. If he does not want to come to the dealership the form can be mailed or emailed for his convenience. At the time of delivery Mr. ******* signed three different forms that disclosed the fact that he was purchasing a service agreement and it was being financed as part of his vehicle purchase. Since the service agreement was financed the refund from the cancellation must be returned to the bank that has the loan on his vehicle. Mr. ******* was given an opportunity to remove items from the vehicle he traded to Joe Machens Automotive Group. However, if he feels he did not collect some items from the vehicle he needs to contact the dealership to discuss the missing items and we will do our best to replace or reimburse him.

4/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the car on March 13, 2015, and initially when I purchase the car the payment was $275 and then they pushed it up to $314. They said the lender would only do it this way. I am having trouble with the door locks and they have a recall. The car had an As Is 90 day warranty. I cannot afford the car and want them to take the car back and refund the down payment of $700. They are saying to bring the car back and they will look at the car. I am telling them I do not want the car and do not want my credit messed up.

Desired Settlement: To return the car and receive my down payment of $700 returned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/20) */ Mr. ****** was contacted by a member of sales management of Joe Machens Automotive Group. The issue with the door locks was repaired at no cost to Mr. ******. The terms of the car deal were also reviewed and Mr. ****** had no further complaints.

4/15/2015 Delivery Issues
3/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2006 Saab August 2014 and they haven't given us a title to the vehicle. We went there today and they tell us that they didn't give us the title because our trade in had a lien on it. They never mentioned this as a problem. And we feel this is unprofessional business practice. This is something they should have taken care of before we purchased the car.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to take the Saab back and return our trade in. We also feel we should be refunded at least the down payment we made.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/18) */ Mr. **** did purchase a 2006 Saab from Joe Machens Automotive Group. Following the purchase of the vehicle Mr. **** was contacted numerous times by Joe Machens Automotive Group regarding issues with the title for his trade in vehicle that prevented transfer of ownership to Joe Machens Automotive Group. Mr. **** failed to assist with this matter.

3/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted a price of $8800 and styled at $8100 on Thursday feb 19. Thursday night I find exact car on machens website listed for $7477. Multiple times my wife offered $7500 cash and they laughed in her face saying thats crazy. I then went in at 8 am and got deal voided. By 10 am, we had reached a new deal that I was happy with. $6000cash. They had to tint the windows and re-inspect it. I told them that I would wait in town & go eat lunch. I return at 11:30 & see salesman who says he dropped the car off for window tinting. I wait til about 3:30 & then ask manager "how long is too long to wait". He then contacts salesman who says it just got done. I go with salesman to bring car back for re-inspection. I wait til a few minutes after 5 when he comes to get me & says that it didn't pass & won't be done til Saturday. I ask for money back & they say that it's locked up & they can't give it to me til Saturday morning. Product_Or_Service: 2008 Cadillac sts

Desired Settlement: I had to use a personal day at work Friday night. That's $14.49per hour for10 hours. I feel that they owe me that.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/03/13) */ A sales manager will contact Mr. **** in an effort to reach an equitable solution to this matter Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/03/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) All they're going to do is offer oil changes or something similar. Last thing I want is them touching my car.

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this dealer to buy a car. They took my keys and started showing me used cars. I never got my car keys back. I test drove the car, I told them the idiot lights were on, the tire was low and the blinkers didn't work, and asked them to fix the car. This was in November 2014. They kept me there until 8:30 pm on a Friday Night. I asked to take my own car home and they said "no it'll be ok" and they sent me home in the 2012 Fiat. When I went back on Monday they still hadn't found me a loan. The sold me a $3000 extended warranty and gave me the car with existing problems. I took it back to get it fixed they told me that I would have to pay a $100 deductible, I told them "no" it was that way when I bought it. They found a nail in the tire and they charged me $26.03 to repair the tire. I told them there was a problem with the tire before I took possession of the car. They didn't give me a second key to the car as it should have been provided. They told me they would send the spare key with the the title. That was a month ago. I did get the title and a check of $25 for the penalty for being late. I am very disappointed with this dealership. They gave me a inspection slip with the blinker not working. I was pulled over twice for the blinker not working. This should have been fixed before it was delivered.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $26.03 and provide my other key as it should have been delivered with the car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/01/20) */ As of today all of the customers complaints have been addressed. Reimbursement for the tire repair has been sent, the second key was cut and programmed and the rear tail light was repaired.

11/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Chevrolet Tahoe September 26, 2014 and it did not come with a warranty. There is a dent that I was promised would be repaired, but has not. Three days later the front passenger headlight went out, but I replaced it. The fuel gauge stopped working and I took it to a shop and was given an $800 estimate, the ABS light is on and it needs a tune up. I spoke with ******* at Jone Machens, and he said there was nothing they could do to help.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to assist with the repairs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/18) */ ********* ****** purchased the 2006 Chevrolet Tahoe on 9/16/2014. At the time of purchase Ms. ****** signed the disclosure form that she was purchasing the vehicle as-is and there were no warranties or guaranties given on the vehicle other than the sales manager did agreee to repair dents on the rear quater panel. I will have the sales manager contact Ms. ****** to set an appointment to repair the dent as promised.

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Basically I went in to purchase a car in February. There was a Sales Manager who was absolutely arrogant who got angry when I didn't take the car he needed to move off the lot. I purchased another car from this same company. I was given the run around by the finance guy and was there until late in the evening trying to get this accomplished. When it was all said and done there was 2500.00 tacked on for a service contract. This service contract was put in place OVER the current warranty that was still in place. I never received a service contract in the mail and funding almost didn't happen because of the lack of communication between the salesman(who was texting me), the finance guy and the lender. Product_Or_Service: Service Contract

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a full refund of this 2500.00 service Contract with addition to the sales tax that I had to pay for this when I licensed the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/19) */ The finance manager that prepared the paperwork for Mr. ******* will contact him to discuss his options for cancelling the service contract Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I went to this dealership and they wanted to put me in a different car. I still want the full amount as I went to a different dealership and they explained that it has dropped from 2500.00 to 816.00. I was asked if there was any repairs made and there hasn't been. I feel that buyers need to beware of this. It's not so much to cancel this but I would expect a full refund on this charge of 2500.00 plus the taxes. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/11/05) */ 11/10/14: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 11/12/14: They told me they did not want to lose business over the warranty and they would refund the money, but I would need to fill out paperwork and it would be pro-rated. I am requesting the entire $2,500 refunded to me, since I have not used the insurance. 11/12/14: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 11/13/14: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 11/14/14: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 11/18/14: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. Updated consumer on resolution from business. The dealership will not prorate but refund the entire $2500. They emailed you the form to fill out and return. If there is a current lien, then the refund would go the the loan company per the loan policy. Final Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/11/05) */ 11/12/14: I am willing to refund the entire amount of $2,500. He will need to fill out the cancellation paperwork and if a lien exists the refund will need to be sent to his lending institution per the loan agreement. I will email him a copy of the form.

8/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 2007 Chevy Cobalt from Joe Machens February 27, 2014 and I have had nothing but problems. The car, when I first bought it, came with wrong paper work. Everything on the paperwork had miss information. The car dies on me and there was a safety recall on the ignition. I towed it to the dealership, and it sat there for two months and my temp tags ran out. I get my car back and everything literally is breaking on it. It is going to cost me $600 to get it repaired. I took it in there on 7-24 and they told me I needed a new tire and had a small exhaust leak. I took it to another plan and they said it was a flex hose and two wheel bearings. I thought I bought a nice car and it is literally falling apart around me. They are not willing to help me at all. I gave them a 1,000 down payment, and I still owe them $400 more. I pay my note on time, and I could not even get it registered because the paperwork was not even correct.

Desired Settlement: I want them to either give me a car that works or refund me all of my money back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/19) */ A manager from the dealership will contact the customer to readdress all of her concerns with the vehicle.

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/23/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/31/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Many of Issues, Strong Smoke Smell Interior, Oil Leak, Uconnect Bluetooth Doesn't work and Dealership doesn't have a fix. Tires have broken band in it Many of Issues in my 2011 Jeep Liberty Renegade 18k miles. First issue is when we were test driving the jeep in 40 degree weather, the salesman brought the Jeep around with all the windows down, My Wife and I just thought he smoked a Cigarette when he exited the vehicle. Well come to find out, the people who owned the Jeep before us smoked heavily in this vehicle. After, I have had the Jeep detailed, I have personal shampooed the carpets, cleaned the headliner, and had to change cabin filter (that was black) twice now. Now I have to carry fabreeze on me because I feel like I am allergic to the smell and always sneeze in the Jeep. I barely drive this car because I can't get the smell out of the Jeep. I have missed work multiple of times for the dealership to try and get the smell out. Very upsetting when buying a vehicle for over 20k to have to deal with this. Second issue, the Jeep had a severe oil leak. I had to hurry up and take the Jeep to change the oil after finding the horrible spill on my garage floor with adding oil just to get it to a ***** **** to change the oil the second day I owned it. Third Issue is the Uconnect Radio. I bought this vehicle because I travel a lot and need the Bluetooth. I try to sync the devices together and my Iphone will not find the Uconnect, I even changed to a Samsung Note 3 to see if it was a IOS issues and after this change, I noticed its a Uconnect issue. I made an appointment with Jeep to figure it out and Jeep told me their is nothing they can do because there is an update for the radio. If you have a known issue with these radios, you probably should have a support team working on updates or don't make the radios. How do you advertise Bluetooth on the Radio and then to find out they don't even work. Last of the issues I can think of is the tires. The tires on this Jeep are horrible, They horrible noise as if they were off balanced then my father in law stated that noise is from a broken band in the tire. Awesome the sales man told that is just how the tires are. Thanks Joe Machens, Thanks for the great vehicle you have provided me with. Wonder why this economy sucks is because you force people into cars like these and Now I have to trade in to lose 5k on trade. Thanks but glad you all made the money you needed!

Desired Settlement: I would either like a replacement or just fix the issues. I love my Jeep and this is why I have put so much time into fixing the issues but it makes me mad when I get in my Jeep to smell that smoke when I am a non smoker. Also we have going to have a new born baby in this vehicle in the next couple of months to breathe smoke. Thanks for killing my son's lungs. Even the Fact of I have to use headphones when I am talking on my phone because my Bluetooth doesn't work. Maybe the fact of the tires making the hum sound like I am driving a Monster truck. If I wanted tire hum, I would jack it up and put mudders on it! Come on guys, Think Customer Satisfaction not lets just push another number out of the building.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/26) */ The salesman that worked with Mr. when he purchased the vehicle will make contact with him today to arrange a time for the vehicle to be left at the dealership so the customers concerns can be addressed.

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to preface this complaint with the fact that I was under a lot of pressure put on by the salesmen of this dealership. I did not walk into Joe Machens with the intent of buying a car that day (10/18/2013), and I made this clear to the salesmen multiple times. I had a small panic attack after I was told they could cut me a deal because I was not ready to sign any paperwork, and the general manager actually had to come talk to me in an attempt to calm me down. I felt as though I was unable to leave, even after asking them to let me sleep on it. I was under a lot of stress throughout the entirety of this sale.As part of the deal for my car, I was told Joe Machens was going to write me a check for the sales tax. After trading in my car, signing paperwork, and leaving with my new-used car, the deal changed. I went in to resolve an issue with the loan, and was told that they had to restructure the deal so that my loan could be accepted. I was told this restructuring involved giving me more money for my trade-in, and lowering my monthly payments. I asked the finance manager if I was still getting the check for the sales tax, and he told me yes, nothing else about the deal changed. Today (10/30/2013), I went in to collect my title and sales tax check, but was told that the check wasn't in the new deal. I was not notified of the change in the sales tax check, and was actually lied to about it by the finance manager. I am now forced to pay around $900 in sales tax after this shady deal. I would not have gone through with this purchase if it had been made known to me that I would be required to pay the sales tax.Furthermore, while Joe Machens was attempting to get me a loan, they told me they were going to use ***** ****** Credit Union. However, for some reason, within the past week and a half I have gotten notices of loan denials from at least 4 different banks/credit unions. These are harmful to my credit score, and I was not told that these inquiries were going to take place. Product_Or_Service: **** ********** ******

Desired Settlement: I would like Joe Machens to cut me a check for the full amount of the sales tax as we originally agreed upon.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/18) */ Mr. has been contacted by the general manager of the dealership and a successful resolution to his complaint has been reached.

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deposit not refunded, denied to have documentation, and attempted to walk customer into tax fraud. On 24 July - 29 July, 2013, I had spoken with a Joe Machens Automotive Group associate, first name about a mazda 6 grand touring. I asked to see the Mazda 6 grand touring with specific features and was asked to put a deposit down to see the car. The deposit was 500 dollars charged to USAA MasterCard. The charge occurred on 26th July 2013. A friend of mine, named and I drove down to Joe Machens Automotive Group to see and test drive the 2014 Mazda 6. We arrived on 29th July 2013 and test drove the car. I stated the things that I did not like about the car and a few features that I did like about the car. Afterwards, we went back inside to talk with the sales rep . I stated that the price of the car was a bit out of my budget and tried to work with them about lowering the price, bargaining different offers. I was approached with no lowered prices and eventually the sales rep swapped out for a sales rep, first name, . I asked for the same discounts and possible price to be lowered to 29,000. After I had asked multiple times, the sales rep , approached me on paper with an "option" to lower the car price on my own. He wrote down the incentives of selling my current car and the price that you get back from taxes. He then wrote down the amounts 1,000, 5,000, and 10,000. He further explained that a 1,000 dollar car will receive a 60 dollar tax bring a 5,000 dollar car would get 300 dollars and a 10,000 dollar car would get 600 dollars. He asked me If I was going to sell my car and I replied yes. He told me to claim that I sold my car for 10,000 but really sold it for 1,000 to a friend of mine named ***** I was later informed that this action is tax fraud and that I was being asked to commit tax fraud. I informed the sales rep that I felt like I was being harassed and pushed into buying a car. Immediately after the members of Joe Machens Automotive Group became very hostile towards and I in a unprofessional manner. I also never received the credit report application that had all my personal information on it back. I feel very uneasy not knowing what became of it and feel that my identity might be in jeopardy. After, I stated that I did not want the car anymore and I asked for my deposit back. I was denied my money that I had put to see the car. I asked each time for my deposit back after I was denied it. I asked multiple times for written documentation as proof , and the general manger there on the 29th of July 2013 between the times of 6pm to 10pm had denied giving me my deposit back. I was denied again and beginning to get more hostility towards . I asked for the consent to record for proof that Joe Machens group were denying me my deposit. I was refused any documentation, written, recording, and video to have as proof. At approximately 9:12pm I was given the option to either leave or have the cops called. and I decided to leave the store and wait in the open parking lot.

Desired Settlement: I want the 500 dollar deposit back and no legal action will be taken against them for attempted tax fraud and with holding the deposit.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/13) */ A credit in the amount of $500 has been processed to Mr. credit card.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Joe Machens Automotive Group
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart